Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,433 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Am I the only person who thinks gym membership is a money racket for people with too much time on their hands? Most gym members I know are jobless and the fittest people I know never went to a gym in their lives.

At my gym, they understand that ugliness and fatness are genetic disorders, like baldness or necrophilia, and it's your fault if you don't hate yourself enough to do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

At my gym, they understand that ugliness and fatness are genetic disorders, like baldness or necrophilia, and it's your fault if you don't hate yourself enough to do something about it.

At Globo gym we’re better than you, and we know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Squatman wrote: »
    what do you mean by fittest?

Can wrestle an ornery ewe like he was 45 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Encountered a situation on Sunday in a gym.

I normally don't pass comment to anyone, it's usually earphones in, do my thing, spot when requested and so on.
    But on Sunday a PT was running a session of compound lifts (with some dodgy form) for a guy and a girl. Well the girl mostly, the guy just seemed to be doing deadlifts over and over again.
    Now my issue was that when he was lifting, he was dropping the weight from the top of the lift, hip height. This wasn't on the last few reps this was every rep for 6-8 reps.
    I let the first 3 sets slide thinking that might be it, but he went on and on mainly just for 3-4 reps.
    That's when I told him to put the weights down properly or at least lower before dropping, for the last few reps before that he seemed to be enjoying dropping the weight and hearing the bang.

I also had a go at the PT (employed by the company) for letting him do it too.
    I got into a bit of an argument with them on, so I made a complaint. Is there any reason why he should be dropping from that height repeatedly?

I've been thinking about this since and if I'm wrong I'm happy to retract the complaint.
    The complaint may also have mentioned he was allowing bench presses go squint, the poor girl was benching like \ almost at one stage and he was calling good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Dropping a barbell from hip height is unforgivable.

Edit: unless you’re doing olyimpic lifts in a gym that’s catered for that type of lifting

I think it was the right call. Some people seem to slam the bar into the ground like they have a grudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I believe cross-fit advocates dropping the weight so you aren't wasting energy on the eccentric portion (since you are going for reps above all else, form, strength, etc!)

But if your gym floor isnt designed for that you shouldnt be doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

razorblunt wrote: »
    Encountered a situation on Sunday in a gym.

I normally don't pass comment to anyone, it's usually earphones in, do my thing, spot when requested and so on.
    But on Sunday a PT was running a session of compound lifts (with some dodgy form) for a guy and a girl. Well the girl mostly, the guy just seemed to be doing deadlifts over and over again.
    Now my issue was that when he was lifting, he was dropping the weight from the top of the lift, hip height. This wasn't on the last few reps this was every rep for 6-8 reps.
    I let the first 3 sets slide thinking that might be it, but he went on and on mainly just for 3-4 reps.
    That's when I told him to put the weights down properly or at least lower before dropping, for the last few reps before that he seemed to be enjoying dropping the weight and hearing the bang.

I also had a go at the PT (employed by the company) for letting him do it too.
    I got into a bit of an argument with them on, so I made a complaint. Is there any reason why he should be dropping from that height repeatedly?

I've been thinking about this since and if I'm wrong I'm happy to retract the complaint.
    The complaint may also have mentioned he was allowing bench presses go squint, the poor girl was benching like \ almost at one stage and he was calling good!!

were they metal plates or rubber? also, whats bench presses that go squint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭CastielJ

1. Nudity. The first thing that normally comes to mind when thinking about the locker room is nudity. Yes, nudity is inherently present. It’s a natural part of the experience yet something a bit uncomfortable for many. However, could we keep it to “prep time” before your gym session, as well as during- and after showers? Once dried off, throw on some shorts or a towel as you gather your clothes and begin to change.

2. Deodorant sprays are for your underarms only, not your butt or the rest of the co-occupants in the locker room.

3. Locker rooms are not that well known for their freshness. Despite the fact that you are in the company of other men, please do not audibly break wind. There are toilet stalls available and while you are at it, please make use of the flush mechanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

CastielJ wrote: »
    1. Nudity. The first thing that normally comes to mind when thinking about the locker room is nudity. Yes, nudity is inherently present. It’s a natural part of the experience yet something a bit uncomfortable for many. However, could we keep it to “prep time” before your gym session, as well as during- and after showers? Once dried off, throw on some shorts or a towel as you gather your clothes and begin to change.

Main reason I won't train in health clubs anymore. Anywhere with a jacuzzi/sauna/pool just encourages old lads who are only dying to show you their penis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

leggo wrote: »
    Main reason I won't train in health clubs anymore. Anywhere with a jacuzzi/sauna/pool just encourages old lads who are only dying to show you their penis.

Hmm, think you might have wandered into a gay spa rather than a gym. Easy mistake to make, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Ben Dunne is opening up a line of gay saunas now is he? The man doesn't miss a business opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

A couple of new screamers in my gym in Barcelona recently. These lads are huge and absolutely ripped but **** do they want you do know about it when they're doing a Smith machine shoulder press with 30kg on it.

Squatman wrote: »
    were they metal plates or rubber? also, whats bench presses that go squint?

Rubber, they were being dropped on an elevated platform used for lifting. The thing is, it's an industrial site gym on the 1st floor so the vibrations from the drops were significant, I could feel it in my arms doing bench presses.

Bench press wise, her form was basically like this (from a hands perspectibe, she wasn't falling off!).

bad-bench.jpg
    No exaggeration, her form was like that and yer man was calling "good, 2 left".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

CastielJ wrote: »
    Related to that, guys that seem to linger around the locker room for ever, walking around or just doing nothing, naked or not.
    I'd try to get a shower, dry off, get changed and leave ASAP specially if the place is busy, while others seem to like to go around, looking at themselves in the mirror, or standing there stark naked while they slowly drink water or a shake in a "here admire my fit naked body" attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Barna77 wrote: »
    Related to that, guys that seem to linger around the locker room for ever, walking around or just doing nothing, naked or not.
    I'd try to get a shower, dry off, get changed and leave ASAP specially if the place is busy, while others seem to like to go around, looking at themselves in the mirror, or standing there stark naked while they slowly drink water or a shake in a "here admire my fit naked body" attitude

I remember once in Northwood one Sunday, I was there a minute before it opened. 4 people hanging out by the door, waiting for the doors to open. 2 women, an old man and me... They open the door, the auld lad goes in first, scans the card, then the 2 women, then me...

The auld lad was already in the nip in the change room wandering around wby the time I got in there... He must have had an entire tearaway outfit to just rip off, so he could spend Sunday strutting his mad old ar$e around the cnage rooms. Very disturbing, but equally impressive speed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

brianblaze wrote: »
    I remember once in Northwood one Sunday, I was there a minute before it opened. 4 people hanging out by the door, waiting for the doors to open. 2 women, an old man and me... They open the door, the auld lad goes in first, scans the card, then the 2 women, then me...

The auld lad was already in the nip in the change room wandering around wby the time I got in there... He must have had an entire tearaway outfit to just rip off, so he could spend Sunday strutting his mad old ar$e around the cnage rooms. Very disturbing, but equally impressive speed

Oh we've still a few infamous willy watchers hanging around the changing rooms in Northwood.

Doesn't bother me too much, but one thing which wobbles my tits is lads taking selfies in the changing room ~ put the fvcking camera away in a changing room.

A few of the older lads here might remember an incident in TotalFitness (Clarehall) when a known willy watcher was caught taking photos on his phone and was promptly shown the door and barred from the gym.

Ha ha, Willy Watcher.
    Sounds like the fella doing the rounds in UCC Mardyke gym a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

lads taking selfies in the changing room

In Macken St I once came around the corner in the locker room to find a lad posing in front of the mirror holding his towel open so he could see the full show. Instantly snapped it shut and even mumbled an apology when I went passed. I just laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

brianblaze wrote: »
    Sure look, when you get into the Gardaí you'll have plenty of sitting around doing nothing to do, you won't need to go to a gym to do it

Just saw that response now Brian.....thanks for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Zillah wrote: »
    In Macken St I once came around the corner in the locker room to find a lad posing in front of the mirror holding his towel open so he could see the full show. Instantly snapped it shut and even mumbled an apology when I went passed. I just laughed.

Why not just now take it at home?!?!

Love the gym, it brings out the best in people

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Why not just now take it at home?!?!

Love the gym, it brings out the best in people

Gotta get that pump shot.... Em, maybe pump is the wrong word....

New OTT Podcast, Joey discusses (very vaguely) the Justy situation but it's actually a good listen. Better than his AoW podcast appearance and great insight into the business over here.

http://ottwrestling.podbean.com/feed/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

If you have a big belly on you that happens to be hard as opposed to soft, you’re not a bodybuilder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

If you have a big belly on you that happens to be hard as opposed to soft, you’re not a bodybuilder.

But probably strong as fcuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Lol.

Three other letters: HGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,504 ✭✭✭ongarite

Annoying gym management behaviour:
    Ban on skipping in all Ben Dunne gyms.

Crazy new rule, must have been an injury claim from someone getting hit by a skipping rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

ongarite wrote: »
    Annoying gym management behaviour:
    Ban on skipping in all Ben Dunne gyms.

Crazy new rule, must have been an injury claim from someone getting hit by a skipping rope.

I know, introduce skipping areas let, members get into it and then ban skipping because too many members are skipping (on their FB page they said that was the reason for the ban)

Some something, never skip (leg days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Zillah wrote: »

I was at the gym last night and came out of the toilet cubicle to find a guy in the tiniest of pants doing a front lat spread pose with his mate trying to take a picture. He was obviously looking for the best light but it was just kinda awkward becasue I had to squeeze past and he was standing in the way of the hand dryer.