jimmythedivil wrote: Am I the only person who thinks gym membership is a money racket for people with too much time on their hands? Most gym members I know are jobless and the fittest people I know never went to a gym in their lives.
2nd Row Donkey wrote: » At my gym, they understand that ugliness and fatness are genetic disorders, like baldness or necrophilia, and it's your fault if you don't hate yourself enough to do something about it.
Squatman wrote: » what do you mean by fittest?
razorblunt wrote: » Encountered a situation on Sunday in a gym. I normally don't pass comment to anyone, it's usually earphones in, do my thing, spot when requested and so on. But on Sunday a PT was running a session of compound lifts (with some dodgy form) for a guy and a girl. Well the girl mostly, the guy just seemed to be doing deadlifts over and over again. Now my issue was that when he was lifting, he was dropping the weight from the top of the lift, hip height. This wasn't on the last few reps this was every rep for 6-8 reps. I let the first 3 sets slide thinking that might be it, but he went on and on mainly just for 3-4 reps. That's when I told him to put the weights down properly or at least lower before dropping, for the last few reps before that he seemed to be enjoying dropping the weight and hearing the bang. I also had a go at the PT (employed by the company) for letting him do it too. I got into a bit of an argument with them on, so I made a complaint. Is there any reason why he should be dropping from that height repeatedly? I've been thinking about this since and if I'm wrong I'm happy to retract the complaint. The complaint may also have mentioned he was allowing bench presses go squint, the poor girl was benching like \ almost at one stage and he was calling good!!
CastielJ wrote: » 1. Nudity. The first thing that normally comes to mind when thinking about the locker room is nudity. Yes, nudity is inherently present. It’s a natural part of the experience yet something a bit uncomfortable for many. However, could we keep it to “prep time” before your gym session, as well as during- and after showers? Once dried off, throw on some shorts or a towel as you gather your clothes and begin to change.
leggo wrote: » Main reason I won't train in health clubs anymore. Anywhere with a jacuzzi/sauna/pool just encourages old lads who are only dying to show you their penis.
Squatman wrote: » were they metal plates or rubber? also, whats bench presses that go squint?
Barna77 wrote: » Related to that, guys that seem to linger around the locker room for ever, walking around or just doing nothing, naked or not. I'd try to get a shower, dry off, get changed and leave ASAP specially if the place is busy, while others seem to like to go around, looking at themselves in the mirror, or standing there stark naked while they slowly drink water or a shake in a "here admire my fit naked body" attitude
brianblaze wrote: » I remember once in Northwood one Sunday, I was there a minute before it opened. 4 people hanging out by the door, waiting for the doors to open. 2 women, an old man and me... They open the door, the auld lad goes in first, scans the card, then the 2 women, then me... The auld lad was already in the nip in the change room wandering around wby the time I got in there... He must have had an entire tearaway outfit to just rip off, so he could spend Sunday strutting his mad old ar$e around the cnage rooms. Very disturbing, but equally impressive speed
Giovanni Alive Raincoat wrote: » lads taking selfies in the changing room
brianblaze wrote: » Sure look, when you get into the Gardaí you'll have plenty of sitting around doing nothing to do, you won't need to go to a gym to do it
Zillah wrote: » In Macken St I once came around the corner in the locker room to find a lad posing in front of the mirror holding his towel open so he could see the full show. Instantly snapped it shut and even mumbled an apology when I went passed. I just laughed.
Danjamin1 wrote: » Why not just now take it at home?!?! Love the gym, it brings out the best in people
Alonzo Weak Genius wrote: » If you have a big belly on you that happens to be hard as opposed to soft, you’re not a bodybuilder.
ongarite wrote: » Annoying gym management behaviour: Ban on skipping in all Ben Dunne gyms. Crazy new rule, must have been an injury claim from someone getting hit by a skipping rope.