If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Extreme cold weather from Feb 25th on, and now St. Patrick's Day on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Why is that some people just ignore the forecasts? And I don’t mean forcssts by posters here but Met Eireanns forecast.

Many people in a big surprise next week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,726 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Villain wrote: »
    Why is that some people just ignore the forecasts? And I don’t mean forcssts by posters here but Met Eireanns forecast.

Not around here in Wexford anyway.
    Just got a delivery of fertilizer now even though I won't be spreading till it warms up again as I don't want to waste the nitrogen in it and after getting a call about meal delivery coming in 2 hours.
    These are guys that normally don't work weekends but are doing the time and deliveries today because they're afraid of the weather next week.
    The word is well and truly out there.

Just a few contrarians who like to look at their own posts and wind people up on boards.
    Don't judge the outside world on them.

Many many thanks to the boards posters who have got the warnings out there in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Some people just want to bury their heads in the sand snow and claim their backsides are sunburned.:p

Prepare for -10 in your own yard and if it's warmer than that then you're on a winner:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

George you obviously have a passion for all things weather. And thats great. But you really shouldn't be forcing your speculations and opinions down other people's necks. There are no thicks here in F&F. Everyone knows how best to manage their own situation. Give us zome credit. And if the sh*t hits the fan it will be nobody but ourselves that will get us out of it. It wont be a keyboard we will want anyways.

Might be hard to believe, but some people, like myself, might actually like cold dry weather! And we should be entitled to our opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,277 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Not around here in Wexford anyway.
    Just got a delivery of fertilizer now even though I won't be spreading till it warms up again as I don't want to waste the nitrogen in it and after getting a call about meal delivery coming in 2 hours.
    These are guys that normally don't work weekends but are doing the time and deliveries today because they're afraid of the weather next week.
    The word is well and truly out there.

Just a few contrarians who like to look at their own posts and wind people up on boards.
    Don't judge the outside world on them.

Many many thanks to the boards posters who have got the warnings out there in time.
    Meal lorry was to deliver here on Monday 2weeks ago. Lorry driver rang on Sunday night for directions. Gave him postcode. Told him there was snow here and roads are bad, also there's a hill on each side of our entrance. I've been driving lorries over 20 years and am well able for a bit of snow....work away I said. Anyway Lorry skidded by the entrance and he had to wait 4hours for the road to defrost to try again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Muckit wrote: »
    George you obviously have a passion for all things weather. And thats great. But you really shouldn't be forcing your speculations and opinions down other people's necks. There are no thicks here in F&F. Everyone knows how best to manage their own situation. Give us zome credit. And if the sh*t hits the fan it will be nobody but ourselves that will get us out of it. It wont be a keyboard we will want anyways.

Might be hard to believe, but some people, like myself, might actually like cold dry weather! And we should be entitled to our opinion.
    Jesus Mary and Joseph ,advising people what the weathers going to be like is forcing an opinion down people’s neck?
    I truly have heard it all now :D
    I’m not forcing anyone to read this thread and I didn’t start it either!

There’s a title on the main forum page and if you’re not interested you tell your pc mouse or your phone finger not to touch it
    It really is that simple
    That way people who want to know can
    I’m not making any of this stuff up,you’d swear I was.,,

whelan2 wrote: »
    Meal lorry was to deliver here on Monday 2weeks ago. Lorry driver rang on Sunday night for directions. Gave him postcode. Told him there was snow here and roads are bad, also there's a hill on each side of our entrance. I've been driving lorries over 20 years and am well able for a bit of snow....work away I said. Anyway Lorry skidded by the entrance and he had to wait 4hours for the road to defrost to try again...

Meal lorry is just after delivering there now. He said it's crazy now atm with everyone ringing up about meal. But he doesn't mind as he'd rather deliver now than get the lorry broken up. He said during the last bad snow the lorry was stuck in a farmers yard for 3 days.
    They had two tractors pulling it but they were just spinning. So no go.
    He said the main roads could be fine but it's going on laneways or into farmers yards where the trouble starts.
    He said cars and lorries have no place on a road when there's frost and snow about.

As far as I can see most of the meal companies are delivering today going by the lorries on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Meal lorry is just after delivering there now. He said it's crazy now atm with everyone ringing up about meal. But he doesn't mind as he'd rather deliver now than get the lorry broken up. He said during the last bad snow the lorry was stuck in a farmers yard for 3 days.
    They had two tractors pulling it but they were just spinning. So no go.
    He said the main roads could be fine but it's going on laneways or into farmers yards where the trouble starts.
    He said cars and lorries have no place on a road when there's frost and snow about.

As far as I can see most of the meal companies are delivering today going by the lorries on the road.

got mine last night about 9 last night , he had another delivering in waterford city after me . looks like i am going to be snowed in by the end of the week

Looks like we're in for it here (wexford) alright.
    Pray for us poor folk up in the mountains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭I says

Muckit wrote: »

Will Galway bate Mayo?

whelan2 wrote: »

Was your call sign big jugs

I’ll get me coat.:):):)

Jesus Mary and Joseph ,advising people what the weathers going to be like is forcing an opinion down people’s neck?
    I truly have heard it all now :D
    I’m not forcing anyone to read this thread and I didn’t start it either!

There’s a title on the main forum page and if you’re not interested you tell your pc mouse or your phone finger not to touch it
    It really is that simple
    That way people who want to know can
    I’m not making any of this stuff up,you’d swear I was.,,

I have absolutely no issue with you or anyone else for that matter forecasting the weather.

Sure It's like Christmas here in this house. Can't wait for next week!! I love snow and cold dry weather. It's rare that we get it. No need for anyone to be scared of it. Embrace it l say. When life gives you snow, build a snowman!

Come here and l give you a big virtual hug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,277 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I says wrote: »
    Was your call sign big jugs

I’ll get me coat.:):):)

:) I think he was of the attitude what would a woman know about lorries. I did say to him I told you so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Got the bins filled up here. Loader decides to give trouble so hopefully it's sorted by the time the real severe weather comes. I'm hoping the coast proximity will ease the severity here.

In a global sense it's probably not that severe but Ireland isn't really set up for this weather.

In the middle here will get the brunt of it will be busy Monday getting ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I have read and reread met eireanns forecast and don’t see anything to get excited about? Good dry hardy weather with chance of snow showers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Looks like we're in for it here (wexford) alright.
    Pray for us poor folk up in the mountains.

Uncle said there's lots of work being done as it dried up with slurry/ploughing etc going on. Some lads even sowing beans!
    Looks like being baltic cold down to -8 at night but no snow so crack on at field work here, hope ye're not too badly affected. The minions might even have to turn the aircon off and heaters on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭memorystick

Willfarman wrote: »
    I have read and reread met eireanns forecast and don’t see anything to get excited about? Good dry hardy weather with chance of snow showers.

People love drama and overhype. Yes, it will be cold, dry and hash. It's not like we're surrounded and in Stalingrad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

what effect will this weather spell have on ground (soil ) temperature ? I’m in the west and hope to escape some of the snow. If it turns out freezing at night but sunny at day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I says wrote: »
    Will Galway bate Mayo?

Not if they have Willie Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Not if they have Willie Joe!

Get that wasp off my sandwich!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I think you missed the last paragraph:
    Wednesday through to Friday: Extremely cold with penetrating severe frosts and temperatures struggling to get above zero by day especially in eastern counties. Widespread snow showers at times, most especially in eastern, southern and northern counties and some disruptive accumulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Spent the day here moving silage for a man from a field a few miles away to his yard in preparation for the upcoming snow. He usually brings a few on a trailer every day for his sucklers, but his outfit wouldn't be much use now in the bad weather. Moved his last 90 bales home to his yard there. At it since 8 this morning, and only stopped for a leak! Always nice to leave a mans yard and he content that his cows won't go hungry if the worst of the weather comes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I think you missed the last paragraph:
    Wednesday through to Friday: Extremely cold with penetrating severe frosts and temperatures struggling to get above zero by day especially in eastern counties. Widespread snow showers at times, most especially in eastern, southern and northern counties and some disruptive accumulations
    No one can forecast that far ahead with any accuracy. It's a welcome break from the mild wet. Good for land man and beast..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭BigSteaks

No one can forecast that far ahead with any accuracy. It's a welcome break from the mild wet. Good for land man and beast..

Exactly, 18 pages of amateur drama here. Jesus be great to get a nice cold spell and kill germs and dry the ground. Crown man and beast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Well don't say you weren't warned!:rolleyes:

https://www.netweather.tv/

https://www.theweatheroutlook.com/

Go into the menus on each site and look at the weather models. The GFS is run by the Americans. The ECM is run by the Europeans.

Dont forget to defrost yer cars before ye start driving them in the mornings.

And when ye do start driving them, for God sake don't be racing the roads or looking in over ditches to see who got the slurry out over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

No one can forecast that far ahead with any accuracy.

Actually you are wrong
    They can when there is full model agreement on the position of the Scandinavian high pressure,the temperature of the air advecting into Ireland and what happens when it picks up moisture over the north and Irish Sea

Go learn a bit about weather science instead of rushing into a thread with ill informed views
    OR better still don’t click on the thread if you don’t like or want the facts of the current weather situation

There is model agreement out to Friday but divergence after that
    Up to Friday it is expected parts of Leinster east Ulster and Munster could receive several inches of snow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭BigSteaks

Actually you are wrong
    They can when there is full model agreement on the position of the Scandinavian high pressure,the temperature of the air advecting into Ireland and what happens when it picks up moisture over the north and Irish Sea

Go learn a bit about weather science instead of rushing into a thread with ill informed views
    OR better still don’t click on the thread if you don’t like or want the facts of the current weather situation

There is model agreement out to Friday but divergence after that
    Up to Friday it is expected parts of Leinster east Ulster and Munster could receive several inches of snow

Jaysus fella stop attacking him. Relax and have a beer or something. 18 pages of this and no decent thread on cap, ifa thread closed. Holy hell whats happening on f&f...