Rosemary Mac Cabe suggests #yesallmen...then claims she was joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Never heard of her. She's a nobody so I don't care what she says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I wonder what Ronnie Pickering has to say on the subject.....

Who's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

Candie wrote: »
    The kind of snowflake that cares about this is the same kind of snowflake who is outraged and offended at all the snowflakes out there.*

*That's right. I put offended, outrage, and snowflake in the same sentence.

Yes but the kind of snowflake that cares that other snowflakes care about this is the same kind of snowflake who is outraged and offended at all the snowflakes who are outraged and offended at all the snowflakes out there.

It's snowflakes all the way down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

razorblunt wrote: »
    Who's that?

438732.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Free country, say what she likes.

I don't follow her on twitter but I've taken a look just now and she kept the #yesallmen going for quite some time, some guy rightly challenged her on it and she backed her points up. She only played the "it was a joke" card when 98FM called her bluff.
    Pathetic stuff really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,448 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Never heard of her. She's a nobody so I don't care what she says.

You could say that for all of Twitter to be honest. If anyone of actual import has anything meaningful or worth listening to to say then it'll be on the news.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

438732.jpg

hey, that's his joke, let him finish the setup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I wouldn't worry. Her original tweet got 22 likes so the complete horse manure she spouts is no threat to society just yet.
    Gas how she backtracked once someone wanted to discuss it with her though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

anna080 wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry. Her original tweet got 22 likes so the complete horse manure she spouts is no threat to society just yet.
    Gas how she backtracked though.

But... but... but... what about her 'thousands of followers'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

She posted that disgraceful article about "Why I did not report my rapist?" around a year ago..

Then within a few days posted a pic of herself crying, what sort of person takes a selfie of themselves with tears in their eyes.

I shall demonstrate how little I care about this by informing you all that I do not care about this.

Since I do not care, you should all follow my lead and not care.

Did I mention how little I care? I care exactly zero. You can tell because I can't stop telling you how little I care.

Now excuse me while I go and thank all the other posts that express how little they care about this irrelevant topic.

Saruhashi wrote: »
    I shall demonstrate how little I care about this by informing you all that I do not care about this.

Since I do not care, you should all follow my lead and not care.

Did I mention how little I care? I care exactly zero. You can tell because I can't stop telling you how little I care.

Now excuse me while I go and thank all the other posts that express how little they care about this irrelevant topic.

I care that we've reached the stage where somebody obviously cares enough to start a thread about something none of us should care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Come on lads, all this "someone said something on twitter, who cares" crap. She has 30k followers so it's not your standard eejit talking shyte. They may all be the same as her, and tbh I've no interest in what she's saying, but all of this instant dismissal is dangerous in itself IMO. If she's spewing hateful/ignorant bullsh!t she should be called out on it.

edit: "and tbh I've no interest in what she's saying," that's a complete oxymoron. My issue is with the dismissal of her as being just another tweeter. She should be called out on her tweets.

On a serious note though if she's that flippant I'd have serious doubts of using her employer's facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Never heard of her tbh.

I care that we've reached the stage where somebody obviously cares enough to start a thread about something none of us should care about.

Have you looked at AH recently... we reached that stage a long long time ago.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Have you looked at AH recently... we reached that stage a long long time ago.

Don't I know it! I might open a Twitter account and rant about it sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Sartre was right: Hell is other people.

Twitterati feminists should be locked in the same room with board's easily offended men rights activists and they can whinge about each other to death.

Don't I know it! I might open a Twitter account and rant about it sometime.

I'll start a thread for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Thread needs a poll, so I can side with the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I don't follow her on twitter but I've taken a look just now and she kept the #yesallmen going for quite some time, some guy rightly challenged her on it and she backed her points up. She only played the "it was a joke" card when 98FM called her bluff.
    Pathetic stuff really.

Because she's not able to be challenged on her idiocy. It's a running theme with gowls like her. Tweet what you like from the comfort of your couch and then claim lol joking bbz when you're called out on it. Much easier than having to back up your nonsense or articulate any kind of argument.

I'll start a thread for you ;)

Thank you. There's no such thing as bad publicity - even on Boards.
    My follower and I may even thank your post.

Come on lads, all this "someone said something on twitter, who cares" crap. She has 30k followers so it's not your standard eejit talking shyte. They may all be the same as her, and tbh I've no interest in what she's saying, but all of this instant dismissal is dangerous in itself IMO. If she's spewing hateful/ignorant bullsh!t she should be called out on it.

NEVER! I don't care and you shouldn't care either!

What are you, some kind of snowflake?

Didn't you see the first reply on the thread? It was "who?".

That's how little people care. We don't even know who this person is!

Hahaha. I LAUGHED WHEN I SAW IT AND THEN I THANKED IT!

edit: "and tbh I've no interest in what she's saying," that's a complete oxymoron. My issue is with the dismissal of her as being just another tweeter. She should be called out on her tweets.

I think the fact there's 22 likes out of 30k followers is pretty strong evidence the followers base is not predominantly active accounts.

0.07% response

Those are rookie numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,023 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I would be considered a fairly liberal kinda bloke, but when I hear some of the absolute bull spouted by those claiming to be representative of "the left", the worst crime they are committing is making me that some other bloke, who I would have normally considered to be a talker of nonsense, is starting to have a point.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,448 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

But it's not just that. It's the other side feeding off it and just doing the exact same thing the writer of the original tweet said. I'd also add that having followers doesn't necessarily mean much. People often follow things they have little-to-no interest in or to get some opposing views. I definitely wouldn't say that 30,000 people agree with her just by looking at her follower count.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

If her post to her considerable audience was #yesalltravelers, to at least some applause, I would have no problem reading an AH thread condemning her hate speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Dont do twitter. Have no idea who she is.
    No to 'all men'. Load of rubbish. Anyone with a functioning brain knows most men are decent and respectful. Anyone who thinks otherwise is either damaged or attention seeking. Im willing to bet shes in the second category.

I think the fact there's 22 likes out of 30k followers is pretty strong evidence the followers base is not predominantly active accounts.

0.07% response

Those are rookie numbers.

Actually she's doing a bit better than The Donald with that stat.

His latest has 15K likes from 46.7 million followers.

0.03% response.

Actually, maybe we really shouldn't care about Twitter.

I'm bringing Trump into it to show how much I don't care.