Stellar lumens ring a bell from years ago? They are actually worth something now.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Sappy404 wrote: »
    Converted, all info copied and saved, stellars are now showing as lumens. Happy days! Now to obsess over this for months and pray it does a bitcoin. I might start wearing those blue shirts with a white collar, and suspenders.

Convert it into ripple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Damie

Convert it into ripple

This is the thing, for those that were lucky enough to have a few hundred, what is the next step? Sit on them and see what happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

I have 3,000 Lumens (seemingly worth around €2,200 currently)

and 375 Ripple - converted from Lumens (seemingly worth around €1,200 currently)

Do I have a clue what I'm doing? Absolutely jaysus not. Bit of craic though trying to figure it all out...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Convert it into ripple
    Careful with that advice.

Lumens have quadrupled in the last week. Even ripple haven't done that well.

I suggest anyone get set up on an exchange so you are ready to quickly shift your Lumens into something more stable if you need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Can anyone advise what exchange they used to convert lumens into either bitcoin or ripple? Appreciate any suggestions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Stay away from Changelly folks. Tried to convert some Lumens back in December and still hasn't happened. Going around in circles with their support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

If you're looking to sell, buy more or exchange your crypto then I have done up a simple guide for anyone new to this sort of thing:

How to setup required accounts and get trading in crypto

*This guide is for Ripple but the fundamentals are the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭kindalen

Just found a mail in spam from November which offered 2500 lumens to do something taking seconds, offer expired now. Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

kindalen wrote: »
    Just found a mail in spam from November which offered 2500 lumens to do something taking seconds, offer expired now. Ah well.

what would you have had to do out of interest? I never got an email like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Sappy404

Wow, how much were they worth back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭long_b

Same as that. Wasn't for that much but was something similar.

It's kind of like meeting your ex who's turned into a knockout since you broke up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭kindalen

No idea what were worth then, you had to try out there payment platform. Pity it went to spam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

These went up but took a slight dip. Ive around 1500 that are worth almost a grand at current prices.
    I was planning on selling them for Ripple the other day but couldn't get verified on CoinBase. Just as well now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭uli84

Haha, also received it, damnnnnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

The_B_Man wrote: »
    These went up but took a slight dip. Ive around 1500 that are worth almost a grand at current prices.
    I was planning on selling them for Ripple the other day but couldn't get verified on CoinBase. Just as well now...

Stay clear of coinbase. Fees alone will kill you.
    Binance is a pretty good exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭cruizer101

gerryk wrote: »
    Stay clear of coinbase. Fees alone will kill you.
    Binance is a pretty good exchange.

But can you buy direct on Binance with euros?
    I thought you could just trade existing coins you have, so you would need to buy some BTC or ETH on coinbase and then transfer it to Binance to allow you to trade on it.
    There may be alternatives to coinbase but I thought it was one of the easiest ways to go from euro to crypto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

cruizer101 wrote: »
    But can you buy direct on Binance with euros?
    I thought you could just trade existing coins you have, so you would need to buy some BTC or ETH on coinbase and then transfer it to Binance to allow you to trade on it.
    There may be alternatives to coinbase but I thought it was one of the easiest ways to go from euro to crypto

You're correct...
    How to setup required accounts and get trading in crypto

*This guide is for Ripple but the fundamentals are the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I was looking into Stellar original view which showed 600 lumens

After upgrading I didnt know my security key and thought all was lost.

Low and behold I have found my security key so can now view in Stellar account viewer.

LikableBoilingIndianskimmer-max-1mb.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

How did you find it?

maximoose wrote: »
    How did you find it?

I had it noted it in One Note on my old laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭sham69

clueless about this stuff to be honest.
    I have 750 xlm and want to sign up to an exchange just in case I want to shift them in a hurry.
    The few suggested on here are not taking new registrations at the moment.
    I tried Kraken but it doesnt seem straightforward?

Can I simply sell them and then withdraw to bank account once setup?
    if so, which is the best exchange to use?
    Thanks, hopefully my questions make sense as this is all new to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

I was looking into Stellar original view which showed 600 lumens

After upgrading I didnt know my security key and thought all was lost.

Low and behold I have found my security key so can now view in Stellar account viewer.

LikableBoilingIndianskimmer-max-1mb.gif

I just found my Key myself. Sitting on 4050 Lumens.

To sell or to wait????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

sham69 wrote: »
    clueless about this stuff to be honest.
    I have 750 xlm and want to sign up to an exchange just in case I want to shift them in a hurry.
    The few suggested on here are not taking new registrations at the moment.
    I tried Kraken but it doesnt seem straightforward?

Can I simply sell them and then withdraw to bank account once setup?
    if so, which is the best exchange to use?
    Thanks, hopefully my questions make sense as this is all new to me..

Binance are back taking registrations I think

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Binance are back taking registrations I think

nope :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Think it was a limited thing this morning

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Think it was a limited thing this morning

ah ok thanks, I'll keep an eye out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/stellar/#markets

All the Markets. As pointed out a few are closed but try a few near the top. Off the top of my head i know bittrex and binance are closed, not sure about poloniex or kracken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Verification is halted on Kraken for some time now.

Thanks for the replies folks.

For the noobs like me who have no idea whats happening but own Lumens

Should we be waiting for FairX to launch before doing anything with our XLM