Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did something to my car (volume 2)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Wheels won't fit if I lower it

I think you just need slightly lower offset on the wheels and they would tuck in the arches, as it is now you may face nct troubles :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Top Dog

breadbin wrote: »
    Nice looking car for a ****box! Mine is a real ****box. Poxy clearcoat coming off in clumps!
    I have a bit of that too on the boot door by the wiper. Along with rust at the bottom edge and on all 4 arches.
    so instead of respraying front end i said id give it the old rustoleum treatment with rollers ,matte black,car was black anyway just not matte. anyway.. came out just as id hoped it would.
    I normally wouldn't be much of a fan of matte paintjobs, but have to admit that looks quite well. Did you seriously manage that with just a roller? Did it take much to cover the car? Any prep work or did you just roll it on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Ballast box on my bangernomics Volvo v50

One rusted bolt on the box had to be drilled out got a spare one from a car dismantlers €40 and she worked a charm

Also done the cabin filter which has been in since day 1 in 2005 absolute PIG of a job

Had to unclip most of the CEM ( electric module) bent the bracket holding it and 3 7mm bolts ( which we're subsequently replaced with 1 white wing nut by volvo)the old one was in bits made up an attachment on the end of the hoover to get the excess out and new filter and she was brand new

Also done the air filter oil and plugs next

• Registered Users Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

rex-x wrote: »
    I think you just need slightly lower offset on the wheels and they would tuck in the arches, as it is now you may face nct troubles :(

Ya I'll put the standard wheels on for test,got these at a price I couldn't refuse so said fck it,knew what I was getting.

Top Dog wrote: »
    I have a bit of that too on the boot door by the wiper. Along with rust at the bottom edge and on all 4 arches.

I normally wouldn't be much of a fan of matte paintjobs, but have to admit that looks quite well. Did you seriously manage that with just a roller? Did it take much to cover the car? Any prep work or did you just roll it on?

90% is just rollers and Rust-Oleum, plastic mesh on rear bumper and lower part of front bumper where fogs go I used rattle can Rust-Oleum,also inner door handles and window frames/joins ,just to get in the gaps,went over again with the rollers where I could, prep was palm sand the whole car with 120 grit,mask,paint. 3 coats of mix 1/4 ratio thinners +paint, 2 coats no mix on top, cost bout 150 all in,to paint.

Sorry, 4 tins of paint needed

90% is just rollers and Rust-Oleum, plastic mesh on rear bumper and lower part of front bumper where fogs go I used rattle can Rust-Oleum,also inner door handles and window frames/joins ,just to get in the gaps,went over again with the rollers where I could, prep was palm sand the whole car with 120 grit,mask,paint. 3 coats of mix 1/4 ratio thinners +paint, 2 coats no mix on top, cost bout 150 all in,to paint.

Sorry, 4 tins of paint needed
    Fair play to you - from the photos anyway it looks like a decent job.

Don't suppose there's a silver version available? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

That car needs slamming, looks like it's on stilts tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I don't hate that at all. The only thing I might have done differently is not to do the petrol cap matte black, they look quite cool with the factory finish.

Top Dog wrote: »
    Fair play to you - from the photos anyway it looks like a decent job.

Don't suppose there's a silver version available? :D

Have done matte black ,and white, vw lads use it on the old schoolers

I don't hate that at all. The only thing I might have done differently is not to do the petrol cap matte black, they look quite cool with the factory finish.

One thing I hated on the car was the silver cap lol

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

One thing I hated on the car was the silver cap lol

I think the matt black looks fantastic, especially with the gold alloys! :cool: Fair play!

De-modified the center console today. Delighted to discover it was just some vinil wrapping rather than the dipping stuff, so once I'd the trims removed it was just a case of removing the switches and peeling it all off. :)

The whole skulls & graffiti might be to some peoples tastes, but I'm not one of those people. Went from ...

431800.jpg

To this ...

431804.jpg

Sadly the double-din panel I ordered isn't playing ball and there's no way it'll work with my stereo unless I cut it up, so now I'm on the hunt for another one :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,572 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Pics not working for me. :(

joujoujou wrote: »
    Pics not working for me. :(
    Even the attachment links?

Was having issues uploading but thought I'd sorted it :(

Unregistered Users

Attachment links give 1x1 pix gifs, each.

Will try from phone and see if it's any better ...

Unregistered Users

Tis better, although on my default browser I'm still getting 1x1pix gifs, but OK on secondary browser.

Clear indication I have enough internet for today. ;)

joujoujou wrote: »
    Clear indication I have enough internet for today. ;)
    Maybe I have enough too as I had terrible trouble just uploading 2 pics, have a few more from other jobs today but I think I'll save them for another day ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Purchased and fitted a set of these to my Avensis. 5 wheels with tyres and flat faced nuts for barely 3 figures, winning!

It's dark out, might get a pic in daylight

Only problem is the tyres... I've gone from Luckylands to Triangles and Austones.

The car is actually slightly better in the wet, but it still lights up the tyres. The road noise is horrendous. It shimmys all over the road

Nothing to burn them off with either so stuck with them for the moment :(

To oponeo to see what tickles my fancy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Purchased and fitted a set of these to my Avensis. 5 wheels with tyres and flat faced nuts for barely 3 figures, winning!

It's dark out, might get a pic in daylight

Only problem is the tyres... I've gone from Luckylands to Triangles and Austones.

The car is actually slightly better in the wet, but it still lights up the tyres. The road noise is horrendous. It shimmys all over the road

Nothing to burn them off with either so stuck with them for the moment :(

To oponeo to see what tickles my fancy :D

I've those wheels on my one. They're the 17s? I think they suit the car very well. I had cheap ditchfinders on mine when I got it, and it was hilarious. The first drop of rain and you could slide the front and rear at the same time with ease. I put kumho 215/45/17s on it and it never slid again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

In the thick of it here. New springs and shocks for the front. Stiffer and lower but worried now might be too low as the difference in the spring height is significant.

IMG_20171029_151305.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Quick change of drop links this afternoon while the weather was half decent, there was some clunking from the front end and seems to be sorted now. Next up are the front Thrust and Control arms along with rear drop links.

AEwKVuJh.jpg

ZJSNRUhh.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭rizzee

The e90 is in for a diagnostic in the morning.

Have to see if my warranty covers what is wrong.

So far it's the bulb problem ( see thread https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057796272/2/#post105060514 )

And the last week or so engine/ gearbox/ exhaust is rattling like crazy especially when idle :( The car on ramp warning light is up as well s the clock (time) being reset and the warning for rear fog and rear parking bulb on. I hope I can get the car back to normal soon and it's nothing major :(

Any ideas what I am in for?

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭the merchant

Quick change of drop links this afternoon while the weather was half decent, there was some clunking from the front end and seems to be sorted now. Next up are the front Thrust and Control arms along with rear drop links.

Have you done the rear links in the touring yet? I did mine recently and they were a nightmare to get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Have you done the rear links in the touring yet? I did mine recently and they were a nightmare to get out.

No, my touring is gone but they're the same setup as the saloons bar the air struts. They're not the worst but if you don't have a small enough socket/driver or spanner you're going to have issues!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,246 ✭✭✭✭blade1

vintagevrs wrote: »
    In the thick of it here. New springs and shocks for the front. Stiffer and lower but worried now might be too low as the difference in the spring height is significant.

The case of the disappearing brake line :eek:
    259zm7c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

He is censoring out the porn mags. He is so obsessed that he cannot work on his car with looking at them.

Haha,

Its the other way around....

Just had a look, my super fancy phone has a setting where it tries to add depth of field by blurring stuff it thinks is at a different distance to the area of focus. It thought the brake line was part of the floor.

Screenshot_20171106-192102.png

Just an update on this. I have now got sport shocks and springs in the car and it is a pleasure , more so than it was. One of the front shocks was bust completely and the other was pretty snookered.

However, the job itself was a pain as little did I know that the shocks I bought wouldn't fit my struts. So I had to buy another set of struts, 51mm vs 45mm that I had which I wasn't happy about as I now have struts in the garage that are sitting doing nothing. Although they are perfect for a set of coilovers should that itch ever need scratched.

And with the new struts, I've discovered that the bearings in them need replaced now ffs so more money needed there.

One worry I had was that the car would be too low or look like it was messed with but it's sitting just right in my eyes.

Since I've picked it up last year it's got new suspension and bushes all round as well as an LSD which I rebuilt a few weeks ago. So it's great fun and makes the right noises.

Would love to drive it again the way it was when I picked it up to really feel the sum of all the little changes that have been made over the last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,410 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Can anyone confirm for me definitively if this is the correct ATF for my 2006 9-5 2.0t?

SJjj56ll.jpg
    (Larger image on clickthrough)

New oil and filter this afternoon. 3700 odd miles since last change.

My 4 year old son gave me a hand which was great, might let him at it himself the next time.