Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread VIII - ** MOD NOTE POST #4781 **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

aloooof wrote: »
    Clegg wrote: »
    We were talking about Joe throwing on Carbery for Kearney. That If Sexton were to get injured it would lead to another reshuffle in the backline. Bette to keep Joey as the 22 only.

Ah, fair enough then. I do wonder if one of Henshaw of Aki got injured who'd fill in at centre? Stockdale maybe?
    Possibly or Sexton moves to 12 with Carbs at 10.
    Stockcube stated in his early days (academy) his preferred position was centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

prawnsambo wrote: »
    One benches and the other starts?

Well that's not an example of "picking his best players on the pitch any way he can"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Carbery is an absolute brilliant prospect in either position but I really feel that from the start of the 18/19 season he has to have settled on one position otherwise he could go down that versatile bench option route. The position Ross Byrne is in is perfect for developing a ten and he'll have a huge amount of ground on Carbery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Well that's not an example of "picking his best players on the pitch any way he can"
    Well since it's all crystal ball gazing, you'd suspect that at some point it's going to be necessary for them both to be 10s.

Unless someone else comes along in the meantime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

stockdale almost certainly would move to 13

Wegians89 wrote: »
    Carbery is an absolute brilliant prospect in either position but I really feel that from the start of the 18/19 season he has to have settled on one position otherwise he could go down that versatile bench option route. The position Ross Byrne is in is perfect for developing a ten and he'll have a huge amount of ground on Carbery

what bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

mistdub wrote: »
    Clutch that ball in your stomach as if it is a fancy new television you have just looted. Blow out your cheeks (the illusion of added size will intimidate opponents) and sprint intently, but not too quickly, towards the closest I repeat CLOSEST member of the opposing team. Now this last step is all about timing, as you approach the defender duck and perform a half pirouette to ensure you are facing backwards with minimal momentum at the moment of contact, you don’t want to break that telly!

you nailed it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

you nailed it :D
    Funny that when Kearney does that, it's open to ridicule, but when Zebo does it, it goes unremarked. :rolleyes:

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    He could be a great 10 or 15.  personally if Jackson does come back Carbs should focus on 15.  It will be a problem area for us with Zebo gone.

I don't think he needs to make decisions by looking at who else is playing where. He seems very intent on being a 10 and at the moment being a second playmaking 15 is fine and is getting him game minutes and caps but I think within the next 2 years he will emerge as a dedicated 10. It seems quite cut and dry from his perspective at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I think people are reading into Carbery playing 15 this season way too much.

We've had no other standout option at 15 with Kearney only making brief appearances, and the appearances he has made are when Sexton has been in the team.

Next season with Larmour in his 2nd year and Lowe coming in to the back three we should see more of him at 10 for the games Johnny's rested/injured for.

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    We've had no other standout option at 15 with Kearney only making brief appearances, and the appearances he has made are when Sexton has been in the team.

We played Montpellier with Nacewa at 12 and Ross Byrne at 10.

Where he ends up is completely up in the air. Alex Goode at his age would have sworn he would end up at 10, but things change.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,338 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

i think we will keep dropping bombs on top of Leyds... Stockdale has a good 4" over him and 6" over cotezee at FB.

Murray is an excellent kicking 9 and id expect a lot of kicking from between the 10m lines.
    Keep the SA forwards turned as often as possible.

They are going to target our line out and we definitely need POMs ability here... we need our back row to be on point though. Kolisi and Lowe are quite destructive and Du Toit is essentially a third lock. Keep them moving.. pull them all around the pitch.. and i think kicking is the best method to do that.

Aki on de Allande is mouth watering... two powerful guys.. so a lot depending on how Aki reacts to his debut cap.
    Look out for Marx at 2.... a prime example of the modern day hooker... a good jackler in defense.. hes like a limpid if hes first to a tackle. His basics are very good and while hes no speedster in the loose, hes powerful and has good link play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Granny15

brinty wrote: »
    so Kearney has feck all game time and still gets picked
    favouritism much there Joe ???

Can't argue with that - tried and tested.

What I am surprised about is Conway on the wing. Really don't think he has the ability for international level - heart yes - ability no.

More kicking means more set pieces. Even kicking in-field. We will only lean on kicking contestables if we are confident in being able to contest scrums without conceding penalties. If SA have the upper hand in both set pieces then kicking will put us at a disadvantage and will not be an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭durthacht

Where he ends up is completely up in the air. Alex Goode at his age would have sworn he would end up at 10, but things change.

This.

Plenty of players start their careers in one position but find their more suited to another as they develop.

Carbery and Byrne are both developing fine. No need to stress about where they will play in a few years time.

Personally I very much like having them both developing in the team, having two play makers, using two very different styles of play maker, using the better goal kicker, and having Carbery exploit a little more space which he gets at full back. It's working well and I don't see a problem.

Besides lots of the best players are versatile so specialize in one position and can perform very well in another. It does not have to stop their development, and Carbery can do that.

I honestly don't see a problem for either Leinster or Ireland.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,338 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

More kicking means more set pieces. Even kicking in-field. We will only lean on kicking contestables if we are confident in being able to contest scrums without conceding penalties. If SA have the upper hand in both set pieces then kicking will put us at a disadvantage and will not be an option.

yes fair point.
    Id trust out lineout to at least get parity if all parts are working.

id be very worried however of our incision if our kicking game doesnt work. from 11 - 15 we have 4 players able to play full back... but none of whom would be considered a playmaker from that position.

If our kicking game isnt working we will need to go to either 10 Carbery 12 sexton or straight swap joey for rob.

in the scrum i think Furlong will relish going up against the beast. Healy has a point to prove and an unmissable opportunity. a lot will come down to this young kiwi refs intrepretation here ... hopefully he'll get good help from his touch judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

And Carbery at 15 because Isa was coming off the back of a calf injury and seems to have dropped a good bit of pace this season.

Goode changed to 15 a couple of years earlier, around 18, Saracens pushed him out of 10 after he was behind Gordon Ross and Glenn Jackson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I don't think Byrne is at the level of one of Leinster's best players at the moment. Prospects, yes.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

On the left wing podcasts one of the journalists said that Carbery explicitly sees himself as a 10. He even himself pointed to B Barritt as the example he is following.

Brad Barritt? So he is going to play 12!

I don't think Byrne is at the level of one of Leinster's best players at the moment. Prospects, yes.

whats he lacking? performances in big games?

Well I don't think either Carberry or Byrne are at the level of one of Leinster's best players really. That'd apply to both, neither would start in a fully fit backline. Which is hardly surprising given Sexton is at 10 and Kearney/Nacewa are at 15. They're both prospects.

irishfan9 wrote: »
    whats he lacking? performances in big games?

For me, he lacks consistency. He performed against Montpellier but struggled in lesser games this season, so its not just a big game problem.

It's just experience he's lacking. And he'll build that up over time. I'd say he's firmly 2nd choice at 10 at the moment.

Well I don't think either Carberry or Byrne are at the level of one of Leinster's best players really. That'd apply to both, neither would start in a fully fit backline. Which is hardly surprising given Sexton is at 10 and Kearney/Nacewa are at 15. They're both prospects.

Nacewa's days at 15 are done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

For me, he lacks consistency. He performed against Montpellier but struggled in lesser games this season, so its not just a big game problem.

It's just experience he's lacking. And he'll build that up over time. I'd say he's firmly 2nd choice at 10 at the moment.

Yeah he's still growing into the role. He has played well at times but I don't think he's yet delivered a real stand out performance. With a bit more confidence and experience I'd like to see him take it to the line a bit more. There's been flashes of his ability to do that at times. Glasgow for ROLs try or against Monty last season in the RDS for the Ringrose try. But I'm pretty happy with how he's developing overall. He's a bloody strong defender!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Granny15

I think Byrne's coming along nicely. Lovely at setting up line breaks and accurate pass. Nice kicker as well. Needs a tactical dominance he doesn't have yet but well along the curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Granny15 wrote: »
    Can't argue with that - tried and tested.

What I am surprised about is Conway on the wing. Really don't think he has the ability for international level - heart yes - ability no.

Conway is a player that really disappoints me. all the injuries early in his career really prevented him reaching his progression. when he was 19 he would have been consideed a banker if anyone was trying to name a squad for lions 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Let's have your best captions...

DORWgH0W0AIxl3i.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Bazzo wrote: »

DORWgH0W0AIxl3i.jpg

Murray - "me and Tadhg played 3 tests last summer"

On a different note
    Aki 16-1 first try scorer.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Murray - "me and Tadhg played 3 tests last summer"

On a different note
    Aki 16-1 first try scorer.

Toner - you'd think he'd have his collar sorted before getting his picture taken

Bazzo wrote: »

DORWgH0W0AIxl3i.jpg

Toner: "He's written his name in French...!"