Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

monstermag wrote: »
    This thread has gone very slow lately. Even Peter the Ninth seems to have packed it in. I always found him quite entertaining.

Well, no news is good news? OTB has been ok in the last week or so and, from my perspective at least, this is pretty much a complaints thread which I use to rant and rave about the show's PC/Non-sport slant. They even managed to get through the paper review today without mention the word 'doping' and it was a decent show because, other than an evaluation of Northern Irish politics, the topic was mostly sport based. And the guests weren't sanctimonious pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Well, no news is good news? OTB has been ok in the last week or so and, from my perspective at least, this is pretty much a complaints thread which I use to rant and rave about the show's PC/Non-sport slant. They even managed to get through the paper review today without mention the word 'doping' and it was a decent show because, other than an evaluation of Northern Irish politics, the topic was mostly sport based. And the guests weren't sanctimonious pricks.

I' haven't been listening that much lately, dip in and out from time to time, l did manage to catch the Kieran Fallon interview tonight, l must say it was very good, Joe handled it well considering he's not really a racing man. l seen Fallon on the late late show the other night, it was terrible, Tubs was out of his depth. Joe had his research done, in fairness it would be hard to go wrong with such a "controversial" character, absolutely fascinating person. I think Kevin kilbane is finding his feet on the show, good when he talks football and a great co commentator . Like I said haven't been listening as much lately, I've totally tuned out of the football show, I used to love it, but just got fed up of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭VW 1

I'd echo the above, caught OTB last night and compared to the butchers job tubridy did on fallon, joe was miles better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

monstermag wrote: »
    Like I said haven't been listening as much lately, I've totally tuned out of the football show, I used to love it, but just got fed up of it.

The same situation for me. But I did catch a bit where Joe and 'Kev' interviewed Eoin Hand.
    It wasn't too bad.
    Hand always seems like and easy person to interview plenty of talk to him.
    Joe attempted to steer it down the misery route a few times.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

VW 1 wrote: »
    I'd echo the above, caught OTB last night and compared to the butchers job tubridy did on fallon, joe was miles better.

True that. I wouldn't let Tubridy interview my cat though, he's that poor :mad: They had an interesting discussion about on the show too, how writing these books can be cathartic. Then you've got to go out and do interviews and dig up those old skeletons again. A radio studio and Joe, who can be very good at his job, is a much easier thing to face than a TV studio and Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

The same situation for me. But I did catch a bit where Joe and 'Kev' interviewed Eoin Hand.
    It wasn't too bad.
    Hand always seems like and easy person to interview plenty of talk to him.
    Joe attempted to steer it down the misery route a few times.

Probably cos Joe's "not a football man"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Why do they keep referring to "not a football man" on OTB?

Isn't that exactly what Dunphy said about Ken Early recently?

I know it's a common enough cop out argument, but was something specifically said about Joe?

Ol' Donie wrote: »

I know it's a common enough cop out argument, but was something specifically said about Joe?

From reading bits on here it seems to be an ongoing joke about how Joe took real offence to been called a 'not a football man' live on air by two ex-pros prior to the Wales game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Molloy and Kilbane had John Hartson on before the Cardiff game. Molloy engages in low level dickishness that eventually prompts Hartson to call him out as a windup merchant which Joe denies. In the course of an answer on Bale, Molloy talks over Hartson, prompting:
    Hartson: ... we can talk all day about it, I'm a football man, Kevin is a football man --

Kilbane: and Joe's not

Molloy: Sorry, I'm a football man too

[everyone laughs]

Just over a third of the way in - http://www.offtheball.com/listen_back/10/39472/04th_October_2017_-_Off_The_Ball_Part_3/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Why is offtheball.com and tomorrow's roadshow being mentioned on today fm on every sports bulletin all of a sudden?
    I know both stations are owned by big Denis but surely it makes no sense to advertise the roadshow when todayfm have their own show at 7...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

jam83 wrote: »
    Why is offtheball.com and tomorrow's roadshow being mentioned on today fm on every sports bulletin all of a sudden?
    I know both stations are owned by big Denis but surely it makes no sense to advertise the roadshow when todayfm have their own show at 7...
    Seems like Of the Ball are doing the sports news on all the stations, 98fm as well, so they decide what goes in the bulletins I suppose. €20 is a rip off for one of these shows, they have to advertise because they're struggling to sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭Raoul

The whole football man thing is bull****. Anyone can be a football man.

Raoul wrote: »
    The whole football man thing is bull****. Anyone can be a football man.

It used to be just code for those who played the game professionally

But the likes of Mourinho who never played professionally have blurred the lines a bit,

I think the phrase is justified in some cases as it is shorthand for you do not know what you are talking about.

It also seems to be used when players feel threatened by 'non-football men'

But the reality is regardless of the level every one who watches soccer think they are 'football men /women'

Although there are different levels of knowledge and tactics.

Personally I like the term 'football man' especially when it is said as a put down and with a bit of venom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Joe is a golf man. Anything else he just comes across as a bluffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

styron wrote: »
    Molloy and Kilbane had John Hartson on before the Cardiff game. Molloy engages in low level dickishness that eventually prompts Hartson to call him out as a windup merchant which Joe denies. In the course of an answer on Bale, Molloy talks over Hartson, prompting:

Just over a third of the way in - http://www.offtheball.com/listen_back/10/39472/04th_October_2017_-_Off_The_Ball_Part_3/

Ah Jaysus, I saw someone having a go at Joe about this earlier in the thread and cringed for Joe at the way they described it....listening to it there its absolutely clear he is taking the p1ss out of himself when he says that, sure he's laughing saying it. Some people will twist anything to suit their viewpoint on a person!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Fall_Guy wrote: »

Ah Jaysus, I saw someone having a go at Joe about this earlier in the thread and cringed for Joe at the way they described it....listening to it there its absolutely clear he is taking the p1ss out of himself when he says that, sure he's laughing saying it. Some people will twist anything to suit their viewpoint on a person!

If you listen to the end of the show, Joe actually tries to justify why he is a "football man" and he definitely wasn't taking the piss. I remember listening to it live

Really enjoy Hartson as a guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Joe's lucky Hartson's mellowed over the years:
    Chd2C-CW0AA7M0R.jpg

Fall_Guy wrote: »

Joe did say it 'stuck in his craw' a bit while laughing it off.
    I did not hear it before the boards explanation myself.
    But I agree with you that a previous explanation where it was described as 'a complete meltdown' seems a bit of a stretch! :D

I was a bit disappointed. It was like click bait based on the way it was described.
    I clicked expecting meltdown but it was more just vaguely lukewarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

If you listen to the end of the show, Joe actually tries to justify why he is a "football man" and he definitely wasn't taking the piss. I remember listening to it live

On your advice I listened on (admittedly not to the end of the show, so if he had another lash at it again I'll conded defeat on this one!) but in his justification as you put it, he also clearly says "i'd have no problem with him saying 'you haven't played the game at a high level and dont know what you're talking about' and thats fair enough"....it then reverted to proper fits of laughter from himself and kilbane about yhe tension between Joe and Hartson in the interview.

Something being made of nothing here, the lad can do nothing right for some, the same lad giving out about this piece is constantly giving out about Joe's overly preachy political stuff, this piece couldnt have been further from that and he's still complaining.

#justice4joe

*Edit - it seems that the lad who made a meal of that story has since been banned, justice has been served :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Peter Schmeichel doesn't seem to like Kilbane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

doylefe wrote: »
    Peter Schmeichel doesn't seem to like Kilbane

Is kilbane being bland and boring and adding nothing as per a lot of his talk, or is schmeichel just a big bollox? Can't catch it live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Get a nil all over there and bring it back here and finish them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭siblers

jam83 wrote: »
    Is kilbane being bland and boring and adding nothing as per a lot of his talk, or is schmeichel just a big bollox? Can't catch it live.

Thought Schmeichel was entertaining, few awkward moments but Kilbane offered little. Kilbane only really seems comfortable in those scenarios if it involves players he played with.

Nathan did a very good job overall

At the end I think Joe said to 'Kev' something along the lines of football is his main sport and he was involved in football for years.
    Which was the only other amusing bit, and a glimpse into what he thinks of himself 'notions'.

To me I thought it was Kilbane taking the piss out of of Joe after the Hartson episode

But when all is said and done it was only slightly awkward, and not as bad as it was portrayed by some.

siblers wrote: »
    Thought Schmeichel was entertaining, few awkward moments but Kilbane offered little. Kilbane only really seems comfortable in those scenarios if it involves players he played with.

Nathan did a very good job overall

I like that Nathan fella.
    But he was trying desperately to force the 'fun' and the 'craic' as it was an outside broadcast.
    He survived it anyway.

I would agree with the Kilbane v Schmeichel thing it sounded a bit off.
    Kilbane much more relaxed with the likes Kenny Cunningham, 'do you remember when etc'.
    I thought Shay Given was good as well if they ever replace Kilbane he should be on the list of replacements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Only caught a bit of it last night.

I used to think Kenny Cunningham was a boring fella but a good analyst when he was on the RTE panel a few years back.

Then they had him on the late night highlights show at either the last world cup or the Euros, and he was gas like someone just told him to relax or something. Different fella entirely.

Now he's one of the highlights of OTB, when they have him on. He's just a bit of a header, often very funny. Going on about The Great British Bake Off and that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Enjoying the Saturday panel so far today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

It's great when everyone agrees with each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

humberklog wrote: »
    Enjoying the Saturday panel so far today.

Who's on today? And is the topic sports or sociology?