Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Let's not pretend we don't know what Joe would have said
    ...But he didn't. It literally didn't happen.

I agree with Icemancometh. Nobody is doing their argument any favours by inventing scenarios to get pissed off about.

And no, I really have no idea what Joe Molloy would think of that Ballyraggert GAA players non-story. I haven't met a single person, of any political persuasion, getting upset by it.

It's literally a national scandal!

elefant wrote: »
    Let's not pretend we don't know what Joe would have said had he been around to comment. There really aren't too many options.

Do we know?

You would be a tiny bit biased, you'd have to admit!

I'm biased yes but not wrong in this case. I'd put my house on it that Joe would see this as an affront to women's rights. Despite the fact that said women made an independent decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Do we know?

Sure in fairness to Joe regarding the 'Kilkenny scandal' he would have hired more then just 2 female strippers.

One of every colour yellow / brown / white and whatever yer having yerself.

He also would have made sure to get strippers covering the whole gambit from hetrosexual to transgender.

Then Joe being the true professional he is would ask the strippers how thier profession makes them feel.
    Are they empowered?
    Are they drug-tested?
    Is there a sports club that strippers can join that is adjacent to thier workplace?
    Is there a strippers union?
    Have they ever been to Celbridge? :D
    http://www.newsjs.com/url.php?p=https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/kilkenny-gaa-to-investigate-lewd-images-of-st-patricks-ballyragget-players-celebrating-intermediate-title-36263980.html

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Do we know?

Sure in fairness to Joe reagrading the 'Kilkenny scandal' he would have hired more then just 2 female strippers.

One of every colour yellow / brown / white and whatever yer having yerself.

He also would have made sure to get strippers covering the whole gambit from hetrosexual to transgender.

Then Joe being the true professional he is would ask the strippers how thier profession makes them feel.
    Are they empowered?
    Are they drug-tested?
    Is there a sports club that strippers can join that is adjacent to thier workplace?
    Is there a strippers union?
    Have they ever been to Celbridge? :D
    http://www.newsjs.com/url.php?p=https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/kilkenny-gaa-to-investigate-lewd-images-of-st-patricks-ballyragget-players-celebrating-intermediate-title-36263980.html

This is priceless!!

A national scandal?!

It isn't a scandal. The only comment I've read about the incident which comes within an ass's roar of being outraged, appeared in today's Independent online, by the sportswriter Clíona Foley.

On the other hand, balls.ie (for which Joe Molloy is an occasional contributor) called the apparent investigation "an overreaction". Most articles seem to be poking fun at it, which is also the dominant theme in the After Hours thread on this topic. All of the top tweets on this are also purely mocking in nature, including one from Brian Cody (below). I haven't met a single person in real life who's been offended or scandalised by this silly story. I'm sorry, but I really think it is you who is blowing this out of all proportion, not Joe Molloy.

Again, he hasn't even bloody mentioned it!!

https://twitter.com/BrianCody82/status/923310414821253120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Literally burst out laughing at the Brian Cody tweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I wonder does Brian Cody find that Twitter account funny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

A national scandal?!

It isn't a scandal. The only comment I've read about the incident which comes within an ass's roar of being outraged, appeared in today's Independent online, by the sportswriter Clíona Foley.

On the other hand, balls.ie (for which Joe Molloy is an occasional contributor) called the apparent investigation "an overreaction". Most articles seem to be poking fun at it, which is also the dominant theme in the After Hours thread on this topic. All of the top tweets on this are also purely mocking in nature, including one from Brian Cody (below). I haven't met a single person in real life who's been offended or scandalised by this silly story. I'm sorry, but I really think it is you who is blowing this out of all proportion, not Joe Molloy.

A national scandal?!

A fake Brian Cody twitter account, balls.ie and the After Hours forum on boards are your idea of mainstream conservative media? We clearly consume different types of media. The indo have gone on about it in a negative light all week. I've heard various academics and women's rights champions express their offence on various radio shows, the Last Word being most relevant. It's been headline news and there is talk of the GAA being called in to investigate the goings on of a private party. That's not to mention that the guards are also involved and there is (thus far unfounded) talk that the club will be prevented from moving on to the Leinster championship. I don't think I'm the one making a big deal here and I would hazard a guess that my suggestion that Joe was offended on behalf of womankind is more likely than yours that he was not.

A fake Brian Cody twitter account, balls.ie and the After Hours forum on boards are your idea of mainstream conservative media?
    Mainstream conservative media? Sorry but that expression makes me feel a little nauseated. I didn't say anything about 'conservative media', I'm talking about public opinion generally. Nobody cares. If anything, it's 'liberals' (aka SJWs, apparently) who are least likely to get upset about men and women engaging in some harmless fun at a private party.

Now, isn't it about time you stopped bizarrely imputing things to Joe Molloy, when he hasn't even opened his mouth on this issue? It's not healthy to be so preoccupied with someone's private opinion, when you don't even know what that consists of.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Not too sure about having Aodhan back on the paper review.

He was a bit too much of a politician about everything, which in fairness is what he is.

Paul Kimmage's piece today was excellent and was unashamedly about his experience with what happened. Aodhan coming and saying he thought it should have been more about the victim just made no sense, except that he is a politician looking for political gain.

There were many bits in the piece that genuinely made you feel for the victim in the piece, but it was not a piece completely about the victim. The reason there was no end point is that Kimmage had none bar a question, what would anyone do in his position?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Do they ever have any other politicians on to review the papers?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I didn't think so, Bertie is free tho :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Caught a bit there in the middle of an interview by Joe Molloy an american fella talking about boxer Jake La Motta. Obviously a repeat on bank holiday Monday

http://www.offtheball.com/raging-bull-jake-la-motta-story-thomas-hauser

Turns out it was broadcast over a month ago.
    Credit where it is due it was good interview.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Off The Ball AM, what seems to be a live broadcast from 7.45 to 9 on their Facebook page started this morning.

I missed any lead up to this completely.

Fair play to them, we'll give it a go, see what it's like.

Seems to be Ger & Eoin Sheehan (?) presenting, which might explain where Ger's been lately.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Is there any way to see it if you don't have an account?

Yeah, I don't have an account, you can still watch it.

Seems to be something odd with the title, it stays on the screen for ages, I lost patience and skipped forward a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭IUA14

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't have an account, you can still watch it.

Seems to be something odd with the title, it stays on the screen for ages, I lost patience and skipped forward a bit.

Was also live streamed on Twitter, don't need to have an account to watch. Soon to be coming to OffTheBall.com and YouTube they said, along with an audio only feed.

Quite enjoyed the first show actually. Something different in the mornings!

Did the talk about sport or equality in the work place or all the above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

You'll need to tune in to see if you can be outraged!

I'll pass - the chances are I would be! Time to stop complaining and vote with my feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Were any of ye listening to the fella on last night who was talking about Man Utd? Can't think of his name but he is involved with their fan club or magazine. Anyway, he came across very Graham Hunteresque..quite smug and lots of name dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

siblers wrote: »
    Were any of ye listening to the fella on last night who was talking about Man Utd? Can't think of his name but he is involved with their fan club or magazine. Anyway, he came across very Graham Hunteresque..quite smug and lots of name dropping.

Probably Andy Mitten. Resident Man United "expert".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭siblers

That's the one, heard him a few times before but didn't take much notice but last night he was pretty grating. The Spurs fella on afterwards was much better

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Giles was brilliant talking about Billy Bremner's methods of winding up the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I always listen to the Giles section. We will miss him when he finally hangs up the microphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Joe, going through the Europa league scores tonight, is well worth a listen to anyone who thinks they would like a career in radio but thinks they might screw up. Even lads who win awards can be pure shyte at the basics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭VW 1

Different strokes and all that, but I always feel I lose time of my life listening to him on repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

This thread has gone very slow lately. Even Peter the Ninth seems to have packed it in. I always found him quite entertaining.