Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

monstermag wrote: »
    Tax payers fund the stadiums. As a former tax payer in that Country I don't want the NFL shoving that crap down my throat. It started out as a protest against police brutality, but now it's morphed into something else, I don't think even the players know what's it about at this stage.

This was started by one player, in the weekend before Trump rocked up to that Alabama rally only 10 players protested. Now we have basketball players and baseball players joining in. If anyone has morphed this into something else, it's Donald Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Just listened to the Sunday interview with Paul Kimmage and his rant(cos that's what it was) it was akin to Dunphy at his strongest vehemence I'd say Joe needed a spatter guard with the vitriol that must have been flying around the room
    Poor little chicken that he had to wait for 20 minutes while the manager was celebrating with his team after winning three in a row
    Kimmage did himself a disservice in his rant he would have been much better served by just stating his opinion without shouting across other contributors

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

monstermag wrote: »
    When u boil it down, it's the fans who pay the players wage, by buying tickets and merchandise.

The mainly 'white' fans, who arent subjected to the harassment and issues lots of black people are. But I don't want to pull the thread away. Trump made this the big issue it was last week, the player who started it is no longer playing.

The O'Toole interview is worth a listen if ye missed it, no 'craic' or that going on. Great to hear him talk about winning, that his brother is under no pressure that's media made pressure he won't feel it. Not often you hear Irish sports people speak this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

pc7 wrote: »
    The mainly 'white' fans, who arent subjected to the harassment and issues lots of black people are.

Harassment and issues? Tell us what are they exactly?
    Tell us who are responsible for most black people's murders in the U.S.?
    Whites,Cops or Blacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Harassment and issues? Tell us what are they exactly?
    Tell us who are responsible for most black people's murders in the U.S.?
    Whites,Cops or Blacks?

Where do most black people in the US live? Black areas, mixed areas or white areas?

Where are most people most likely to be killed? In their own neighbourhood.

Who are responsible for most white people's murders in the U.S.? Whites,Cops or Blacks? Hint: the answer is not the one tweeted by Trump, which was proven to be complete bull****.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It's a much too complex issue to get into here, I wouldn't have the time or energy.
    As I mention above I found the 13th an eye opener and worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Patww79 wrote: »

I listened. I'm struggling to see what was so bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What's going on?

I don't know as I didn't listen, but having women's sport shoved upon us purely because it's women's sport is enough to know I'm missing very little even if it was mild on the whole.[/quote]

Well you've done the right thing in not listening then. It was sh1te anyway.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Well you're kinda missing a lot and basing an opinion on it.

I listened to it whilst driving so not fully tuned in. On the back of reviewing the women's final last weekend the discussion turned to the promotion of women's sports and how successful it was after having money and advertising injected into it over the last 2 years by Lidl and how successful it was for Dublin having AIG promote both men and women (this doesn't happen).
    It was a half interesting discussion with even, experienced and knowledgable input by level headed panelists.

At least that's what I took from it but then again I didn't read Twitter comments about it. I just listened to it on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

I like Declan Lynch, but calling Donald Trump a white supremacist is uncalled for. All this taking the knee stuff started under Obama's watch. A lot of black Americans have been left disillusioned by the Democrat party.
    I've been reading a fascinating book called The Big Lie, written by Dinesh d'Souza an Asian American writer, he goes into the history of the Democrats and basically how they've played African Americans for Decades. A lot of young woke black and Latino Americans have a whole different attitude to race issues.

He had an awful lot more to say about this peaceful protest than about the actual white supremacist fiasco in Charlottesville a few weeks back.

But whatever you want to think. Go for it.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    He had an awful lot more to say about this peaceful protest than about the actual white supremacist fiasco in Charlottesville a few weeks back.

But whatever you want to think. Go for it.

What happened in Charlottesville was shocking. White supremacist marches are a regular occurrence in the U.S. and for the most part pass off without incident. What was different about this one, Antifa turned up, that's when the **** hit the fan, thus fuelling the fire. Coupled that with a deranged mentally ill man leading to the death of a young woman.
    Trump did condemn it. You will say that Trump has given White supremacist a new lease of life, but I'd argue the media
    are the people giving them a shot in the arm.
    My believe in the freedom of speech/expression is always tested when I see Neo Nazi groups holding rallies, if u pushed me on it, I would say they should be banned.
    I'll give Trump the benefit of the douth for at least the next four years, see how he gets on.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Oh, it was antifa's fault was it?

I tell you this forum is an education and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I ficked through the radio channels and stopped on Newstalk because I heard 'boxer - Galway - world title fight 1984'

It was an interview with this fella

Sean Mannion -
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_Mannion_(boxer)

I got to be honest I never heard of him at all.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Oh, it was antifa's fault was it?

I tell you this forum is an education and a half.

I said the guy who killed the woman, was a raging neo Nazi, he also suffered with schizophrenic, which may have been a contributing factor.
    Are u trying to tell me Antifa are peaceful protesters.like l said engaging with theses white supremacist head bangers is counterproductive.
    What I'm saying is I don't think a person should be called a white supremacist without definitive proof. That's my opinion, I'm not trying to educate anyone, my views are probably unpopular but glad I can still express them whether you like it or not

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I don't think there's any doubt but that trump is a white supremacist. Just adding some balance as us my right apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I ficked through the radio channels and stopped on Newstalk because I heard 'boxer - Galway - world title fight 1984'

It was an interview with this fella

Sean Mannion -
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_Mannion_(boxer)

I got to be honest I never heard of him at all.

I (dimly) remember staying up late to watch that fight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

This is the most cringiest interview ever.
    And joe is not to blame

It bothers me immensely the way they climb over each other to get on the high horse about any issue anywhere that could in any way result in righteous indignation...

...except ex players talking about injuring fellow players, which they think is hilarious. Or "class".

What is it this time round? If they've climbed atop an even higher horse then I shudder to think.

They seemed to think Peter Reid telling a story about being far more preoccupied with clattering a Bayern player than actually beating Bayern at football was just hysterical. Or to quote Joe "class".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

What's the story with these golfers going to college in the US for a few years and adapting full blown Yank accents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭VW 1

Very annoying, I caught it past the start and was wondering why they were giving time to an American out of tour school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    They seemed to think Peter Reid telling a story about being far more preoccupied with clattering a Bayern player than actually beating Bayern at football was just hysterical. Or to quote Joe "class".

And don't forget that calling him a "nazi b*stard" was also hilarious. Are these the same guys who say that flying the confederate flag is racist? I suppose they take offence at so many things at this stage it's hard to keep track so as to maintain consistency.

Oh hold up, an item on migrant workers in Qatar... another social justice issue for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭rrs

The 2 Cork boi's fairly ripped the piss out of Joe.

John Harston was in letting it all out too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

What's the story with these golfers going to college in the US for a few years and adapting full blown Yank accents?

Yeah. I don't get this.

The auld lads on OTB are always looking for a bit of "banter"...

Anybody who moves to another country and adopts its accent in their adult years requires a good slap across the face. Or at least a firm talking to from a family member or a close friend. People moving to Australia have been guilty of this in the past also.