Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Patww79 wrote: »

I think this is the weakest line-up that OTB has had, but all this "society sermons masquerading as sport" is nonsense, because OTB has always been like this. Second Captains is like that. SC dedicated a whole podcast to how grimmed out the three of them were over Trump being elected. Certain posters on here would have had apoplectic fit on here if that happened on OTB. Ken even has his own political podcasts on SC these days. OTB has always been a very liberal show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Dots1982 wrote: »
    Patww79 wrote:
    I don't see a problem with people not wanting a social message shoved down their throats on what used to be a very good sports show.

You hear what you want to hear.
    Sport is by its nature a social engagement. I don't think it's unreasonable that all elements are explored from time to time. They have 20+ hours a week to produce. I don't think it's in any way overly heavy on the social element.

Look at the conversation with Cora Staunton. The part discussing her mother's passing and the part sport played in her overcoming that was very interesting. Would you prefer they didn't discuss that at all?

Maybe just leave it to the banal phrases of "give it 110%", "stick with the game plan" that you get elsewhere.

I would agree with this. Parkinson does a good pod but has 2 hours to fill a week which is a very different ball game. Wooly painting himself as a tactics expert when he's never coached is a pet peeve of mine. Secondcaptains are more liberal lefty than OTB.

Sorry I have to stop you right there. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt for now but why, in the name of sweet jaysus above, do you have to have coached to be considered a tactical expert? Could a top class former player not be good tactician? If he hasn't coached might it be due to any random circumstance like the time investment required, particularly given it could be an unpaid gig? Maybe he decided to take his tactical skills and combine them with the much more rare talent of radio presenting to earn himself a living analysing the game. Please make your reply logical because it's level of implicit assumption is boredering on audacious.

Well if you haven't actually coached your tactical knowledge is just theory. Theory that is impossible to prove or disprove. It's fairly straightforward.

I can give an example on one of Wooly's tactical calls that I found to be extremely dubious if it would help?

No, I don't care about the minutiae of the matter, it's the wider principle I'm talking about. In any case every coach can point to examples of when they were wrong so it wouldn't prove anything for you, or to me. The game is too chaotic and unpredictable to be able to preempt every scenario.

Ok I think anyone can say what they like about tactics but what I specifically dislike about wooly's approach is his tendency to always pick out something a losing manager did tactically and say that the manager should have done the opposite. If you're such an authority wooly give it a go yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    Ken even has his own political podcasts on SC these gays. OTB has always been a very liberal show

In which he interviews prominent members of the LGBT community...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

In which he interviews prominent members of the LGBT community...

He probably will at some stage, but that's not what I meant to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Patww79 wrote:
    I don't see a problem with people not wanting a social message shoved down their throats on what used to be a very good sports show.

Sport is by its nature a social engagement. I don't think it's unreasonable that all elements are explored from time to time. They have 20+ hours a week to produce. I don't think it's in any way overly heavy on the social element.

Look at the conversation with Cora Staunton. The part discussing her mother's passing and the part sport played in her overcoming that was very interesting. Would you prefer they didn't discuss that at all?

Maybe just leave it to the banal phrases of "give it 110%", "stick with the game plan" that you get elsewhere.

I would agree with this. Parkinson does a good pod but has 2 hours to fill a week which is a very different ball game. Wooly painting himself as a tactics expert when he's never coached is a pet peeve of mine. Secondcaptains are more liberal lefty than OTB.

Sorry I have to stop you right there. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt for now but why, in the name of sweet jaysus above, do you have to have coached to be considered a tactical expert? Could a top class former player not be good tactician? If he hasn't coached might it be due to any random circumstance like the time investment required, particularly given it could be an unpaid gig? Maybe he decided to take his tactical skills and combine them with the much more rare talent of radio presenting to earn himself a living analysing the game. Please make your reply logical because it's level of implicit assumption is boredering on audacious.

Well if you haven't actually coached your tactical knowledge is just theory. Theory that is impossible to prove or disprove. It's fairly straightforward.

I can give an example on one of Wooly's tactical calls that I found to be extremely dubious if it would help?

No, I don't care about the minutiae of the matter, it's the wider principle I'm talking about. In any case every coach can point to examples of when they were wrong so it wouldn't prove anything for you, or to me. The game is too chaotic and unpredictable to be able to preempt every scenario.

Ok I think anyone can say what they like about tactics but what I specifically dislike about wooly's approach is his tendency to always pick out something a losing manager did tactically and say that the manager should have done the opposite. If you're such an authority wooly give it a go yourself.

Well I do think that's a fairer comment. Still though, at least he runs a GAA show that talks GAA. He's cleverly layered it too. Starts off with the wider issues in the sport and becomes more game specific as the podcast continues on. I've usually had my fill by that stage but many people like that level of detailed analysis and politics is kept out of the equation. Where's Wooly's media award?

Patww79 wrote:

Well I do think that's a fairer comment. Still though, at least he runs a GAA show that talks GAA. He's cleverly layered it too. Starts off with the wider issues in the sport and becomes more game specific as the podcast continues on. I've usually had my fill by that stage but many people like that level of detailed analysis and politics is kept out of the equation. Where's Wooly's media award?

I like wooly's show but it has issues. There's a bit of a "wooly is always right" vibe. I think wooly is an absolutely excellent MC at live shows as well as a good pod presenter so overall I think he is very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

I used to really enjoy Joe but these days he's hanging around with Chris Donoghue too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

I used to really enjoy Joe but these days he's hanging around with Chris Donoghue too much.

I don't know what it is or if it's uniquely Irish but I find it the most baffling thing about Boards.

Check out the the thread on unfunny Irish comedians. Apparently we've never had a funny comedian but are a nation of experts on why they're all so bad.

People are entitled to their opinion, get that but I can't figure out why people listen to a show if they hate everything about it.

I stayed away from this thread for a few weeks because I found every post was just whinge whinge whinge.
    Doesn't seem to have changed alas.
    People are free to express their honestly held opinions of radio shows, be that negative or positive: both are welcome here

There are some threads on this forum where the feedback is almost invariably enthusiastic and positive... e.g. the John Creedon Show

The fact is, that people who actively dislike a show may be more likely to post than those who don't really care about it. But nobody's opinion is 'wrong' here, whether they like a show or not.

Please do not dismiss others' opinions as whinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The fact is, that people who actively dislike a show may be more likely to post than those who don't really care about it. But nobody's opinion is 'wrong' here, whether they like a show or not.

Never said that an opinion was wrong.
    People are entitled to their opinion, get that but I can't figure out why people listen to a show if they hate everything about it.

I'll leave ye to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Kimmage on the paper review.... And Kieran Cunningham... I think he's the guy that sounds like David Walsh, so this could become a bit confusing.

They spend 10 minutes knocking Trump from their high horse, and yet don't have any opinions on Frampton joining MTK promotions.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/1557088/boxer-carl-frampton-signs-for-controversial-gym-linked-to-kinahan-crime-cartel/

I guess it's popular and easy to do the former, but the latter would require some bravery

lol Kimmage is really going off on about Jim Gavin's press conference. :pac:

Hard to see his point. It was hardly disrespectful to Mayo what Gavin said.

They haven't mentioned the whole episode with Connolly and the fact that this may have contributed to Gavin's attitude to the media.

Is the big argument something people care about? Can't say I go to bed worrying what Jim Gavin does when they win Sam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I reckon along with pulling him up on his language, Mrs Kimmage needs to keep an eye on how many double espressos Paul has before he goes on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Jesus, why would Jim Gavin give the media anything - anything at all - when he gets this b*llocks when he says nothing?

Paul was crazy there. Gavin's job is to manage a sports team. Not entertain journalists. A fella as high and mighty about doing things the right way as Kimmage is should surely support that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭VW 1

I thought his outburst in relation to the press conference very strange. Complete overreaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Didnt agree with a lot of what Kimmage said but hadnt heard that Gavin compared Mayo's losses to a league final defeat, that lacked humility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I have a lot of time for Kimmage and I think he's a fantastic journalist.

But when he started SHOUTING to make his point and Joe & Kieran couldn't get a word in edgeways, it forced me to lose respect for him, and I didn't care what he was saying.

I do agree with Kimmage that there is a truth deficiency in what Jim Gavin says. After every game he makes out that it was a difficult match, usually in spite of the fact that they have won by >10 points. Then he tries to make out that them losing the league final was just as disappointing as Mayo losing another All Ireland. And he maintains that Dublin team play gaelic football in the true spirit of the game, when the pulling down and dragging of the Mayo players to kill the clock is clearly not in the spirit of the game. If I was to pick two words to describe a Jim Gavin interview, they would be disingenuous and cynical.

The question is, what is the minimum level of co-operation that is expected of a County GAA Manager by the GAA? Is it enough to just be physically at the press conferences/interviews, even if you say absolutely nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

They spend 10 minutes knocking Trump from their high horse, and yet don't have any opinions on Frampton joining MTK promotions.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/1557088/boxer-carl-frampton-signs-for-controversial-gym-linked-to-kinahan-crime-cartel/

I guess it's popular and easy to do the former, but the latter would require some bravery
    Has the American sports segmnet been binned? Haven't heard it in awhile. Well if it's still going, there's only one story this week and its controversy surrounding some NFL players taking the knee during the national anthem, I don't know how anyone could side with the players, but I've no doubt OTB will and use it as an opportunity to bash Trump, personally I think he was right to have a go at the players and team owners, I think taking the knee is juvenile in the extreme and ill taught out to say the least.
    No problem with OTB covering the story, but I hoped its balanced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,749 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

After every game he makes out that it was a difficult match, usually in spite of the fact that they have won by >10 points.

The question is, what is the minimum level of co-operation that is expected of a County GAA Manager by the GAA? Is it enough to just be physically at the press conferences/interviews, even if you say absolutely nothing?

Managers and players have to protect themselves against the media who always try to make them say something which they can latch on to and seek to destroy the manager or player. Same with politicians.

If any manager said it was a very easy game for us and that is what we expected, then they would be slaughtered unmercifully. Better to trot out the same bland line about how tough the game was. Pep does it regularly every time Man City win 6-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

monstermag wrote: »

Has the American sports segmnet been binned? Haven't heard it in awhile. Well if it's still going, there's only one story this week and its controversy surrounding some NFL players taking the knee during the national anthem, I don't know how anyone could side with the players, but I've no doubt OTB will and use it as an opportunity to bash Trump, personally I think he was right to have a go at the players and team owners, I think taking the knee is juvenile in the extreme and ill taught out to say the least.
    No problem with OTB covering the story, but I hoped its balanced

To me, any idiot who runs away before the anthem is finished, as happens before every single GAA match, is worse.

On Kimmage, don't be fooled. It's just his latest attempt to try to remain relevant. He's a journalist who goes for the low hanging fruit, like doping. When that's not en vogue he thinks shouting the loudest will capture attention, and to an extent he's right. Know well how to put food on the table does Paul.

On an incredible note neither him or Joe mentioned the term 'doping' today (I think) which is a fcuking miracle. I'll need someone to correct me on that one though. Surely one of them squeezed their keyword in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

ziggy wrote: »

Vincent Hogan was at the same sh1te on OTB on Saturday, they seem to think that they have a god-given right to get amusing quotes from Gavin and Cluxton :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Vincent Hogan was at the same sh1te on OTB on Saturday, they seem to think that they have a god-given right to get amusing quotes from Gavin and Cluxton :rolleyes:

Unbelievable lack of awareness from Hogan I thought.

Totally inflated sense of the importance of the media - i think a few texters to the show made this point.

RTE are just as bad - not sure who it was interviewing the Kerry minor Clifford - the chap had barely caught his breath at the end of the final and its straight in with the questions about whether he will be off to Oz, demanding answers, asking the hard questions, yeah right. Aping the likes of Gary Newbon. No wonder players have a tell them nuttin' attitude.