Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers and #ad #spon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

@Anna Yeah exactly like. Just felt like that comment was so unnecessary, it's pretty clear why she has been reported. I also saw some replies from FBG fans, quote: ''[font=Arial, sans-serif]****e thing to do, especially to someone with a small child who suffers from anxiety - last thing she needs is this nonsense! '' This is in response to FBG being reported. Yeah coz if you have a kid, and anxiety, it makes you immune to rules and laws?? Deadly, can't wait to use anxiety as an excuse for everything now myself :):):)[/font]

@Jude agree RMC is just sticking her oar in for no reason. RMC is v good about declaring, so don't really understand why she is on the defense for FBG, who really doesn't do it right at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Ray37 wrote: »
    @Jude agree RMC is just sticking her oar in for no reason. RMC is v good about declaring, so don't really understand why she is on the defense for FBG, who really doesn't do it right at all.

I think she was just getting a passive aggressive dig at MUF, dressed up in faux concern for Grace.
    It's clear she heavily dislikes MUF. And please with the anxiety nonsense! Such bull. Do we all get to break the rules at work because we have kids and anxiety? Do we sh!te.

Anna you are right! Defo a dig at MUF, I didnt cop that. MUF doesn't have any sponsored gigs at the mo does she, what with being in London, and launching her lip products? I know she's signed to a modelling agency over there now too, think they handle blogging stuff too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

Anyone follow SiobhanOH? She's now working with some tan company and she had snaps up yesterday saying she would #ad it now, then continued the first few without it, then used it, then didn't and then wrote "whoops forgot to #ad that". Like just go back and delete the few snaps and do it again properly with the #ad? Its what she's getting paid to do? She was only saying yesterday she isn't allowed train as much this week and was bored, so like she had plenty of time to fix her mistakes!

Also, FBG said she had a meeting with her agency today, wonder is it to smooth things over!

Never even thought of Rosemary and MUF, good point!!

The agencies need to also be held accountable for the correct hashtags/disclosure. They need to take responsibility and act if the person they are working with can't follow these simple rules. Let's remember, it's not rocket science, it's literally adding a total of THREE characters to a snap/image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

anna080 wrote: »
    I think she was just getting a passive aggressive dig at MUF, dressed up in faux concern for Grace.
    It's clear she heavily dislikes MUF. And please with the anxiety nonsense! Such bull. Do we all get to break the rules at work because we have kids and anxiety? Do we sh!te.

Definitely RMC finding a way to get a dig at MUF although she's not wrong MUF is nearly as bad as grace . Surely over the past few months grace has realised she needs to make big changes she is actually the worst offender for not declaring #ad or #sp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Lisas lust list is one that I find very questionable as she constantly promotes different boutiques and now Bellamianta tan but never ever flags as an ad. Surely she must be getting some kind of money to promote these brands and shops constantly?

Cria wrote: »
    Definitely RMC finding a way to get a dig at MUF although she's not wrong MUF is nearly as bad as grace . Surely over the past few months grace has realised she needs to make big changes she is actually the worst offender for not declaring #ad or #sp

She's not wrong no, but she used the opportunity of defending one blogger in order to throw another one under the bus. Seems counter productive considering what her point even was. Not surprising anyway. I cannot read anything RMC writes anymore without cringing to the core.

Anyway it's good to see that Snapchat is being monitored. Hopefully it'll make others cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Grace's fans on any of the articles about this are embarrassing. It's literally "leave grace alone!"

Apparently anyone who has a child shouldn't be "singled out" :rolleyes: and the person who reported this is "beyond sad".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

Everything I was about to say has been said by anna080, sometimes I think we're the same person!
    I thought RMC was giving her cynicism a break but MUF must've really done something to bother her cos she likes to get a dig at her loads.
    Wasn't it faces who made fun of her at awards? I know they made up but why is Rosemary trying so desperately to get her approval?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

What did RMC say about MUF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

I've always thought MUF was honest with her hashtags. But apparently the Miss Fit people told Grave she didn't have to hashtag due to being an amcassador. I actually believe that (I've never actually followed her but have grown to dislike her on the basis of what I've read here) but surely MUF would have done ad for them aswell but was probably told she didn't need to.
    It's amazing how brands wash their hands of their former ambassadors once their integrity is called into question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

laylag wrote: »
    Lisas lust list is one that I find very questionable as she constantly promotes different boutiques and now Bellamianta tan but never ever flags as an ad. Surely she must be getting some kind of money to promote these brands and shops constantly?
    This one does my head in. Come here now lads til I tell ya, I'm doing ye a huge favour but look at this dress here now, sure what am I like!!! or Chris made me join the gym he did yeah more like you're lining your pockets. She declares nothing and acts like she's your best pal giving you a massive surprise. The worst at being deceptive and downright sneaky

I've had no time for grace since currysgate, she's reaping what she sowed. Hopefully now she'll realise the rules also apply to her.

Same. I lost a lot of respect for her after that. Kind of had a soft spot for her before that but that occasion made me think omg how awful, treating your followers like absolute morons. It's just not on. What grinds my gears is the victim act after she's caught out doing anything wrong.
    She throws herself a pity party like nobody I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

This one does my head in. Come here now lads til I tell ya, I'm doing ye a huge favour but look at this dress here now, sure what am I like!!! or Chris made me join the gym he did yeah more like you're lining your pockets. She declares nothing and acts like she's your best pal giving you a massive surprise. The worst at being deceptive and downright sneaky

Oh that is exactly what it's like! I actually really loved her page at the start and I think she has a lot of good point i.e. she won't stand for people commenting on people's weight etc.
    But!!!! The amount of promoting she does is unreal. Nothing is declared as an ad which it must be. It's a shame she doesn't declare anything as an ad but maybe she thinks that would take away from the whole "sure lads I'm just doing ye a favour showing ye all these dresses" aesthetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Assuming affiliate links aren't an ad. Fine, no need to declare them. But allegedly RMC ( I don't follow her anymore since she lost the run of herself but I checked to verify) said she doesn't disclose affiliate links on FB because the posts are shorter (?) and assuming most people know. Didn't she say it was because people don't click them? Why now pretend otherwise?
    I never clicked them because her taste in clothes is brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Wexy86

Assuming affiliate links aren't an ad. Fine, no need to declare them. But allegedly RMC ( I don't follow her anymore since she lost the run of herself but I checked to verify) said she doesn't disclose affiliate links on FB because the posts are shorter (?) and assuming most people know. Didn't she say it was because people don't click them? Why now pretend otherwise?
    I never clicked them because her taste in clothes is brutal.

When did RMC state this about the shorter posts? She said it a few times that if its noted as affiliated her income goes down. Affiliates don't bother me in the slightest abd if I'm buying from an affiliate site I'll usually use an aff link to give the blogger an income, doesn't cost me anything.

What does bother me is when they only link affiliates, the likes of Pippa and JJ are always at this. A lot of Pippas stuff comes from Zara who don't do affiliates but you'd never seen a post on Pippa.ie full of Zara items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Some of the bloggers do my head in and in a way i dont blame advertising authority or revenue going after them...the stories ive heard about JJ are crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Wexy86 wrote: »
    When did RMC state this about the shorter posts? She said it a few times that if its noted as affiliated her income goes down. Affiliates don't bother me in the slightest abd if I'm buying from an affiliate site I'll usually use an aff link to give the blogger an income, doesn't cost me anything..

She said on a recent FB post that it's due to shorter posts but previously she said it was because they got less clicks (and she made less money) if she disclosed they were affiliate.

She also preachs about fast fashion destroying the planet while at the same time incessantly posting affiliate links for fast fashion retailers :rolleyes:

Toastytoes wrote: »
    She said on a recent FB post that it's due to shorter posts but previously she said it was because they got less clicks (and she made less money) if she disclosed they were affiliate.

She also preachs about fast fashion destroying the planet while at the same time incessantly posting affiliate links for fast fashion retailers :rolleyes:

It's hilarious. An advocate for labour ethics and morally dictates about fast fashion being wrong- as long as it's not affecting her income then all principles go out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Rosemary makes the point ( presumably as a defense?!) that she does declare some affiliate links as such on Facebook. To my mind this is actually worse because when people see you # some and not others, it's reasonable to assume that the non # one are not affiliated. Because why would you only # some and not all affiliated links? It just seems sneaky to me while dressing it up as "oh I'm more honest that the other bloggers cos I disclose some".

I had to unfollow her a few months back, tho I do check in for her latest spat every now and again. I just find her content too preachy and while at the same time being totally hypocritical on many issues.

Just Jordan snapping all day about some tan, not a #ad in sight.

Pink hair does not suit her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

heyjude88 wrote: »
    Just Jordan snapping all day about some tan, not a #ad in sight.

Pink hair does not suit her!

She mustnt be getting the 600/800 euro she generally demands for things to appear on her pages

I asked JJ if her tan snaps are ads and she said no so I'm inclined to take her at her word and think she just really likes the product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

The #ad #spon thing really grates on me. I find it hard to believe anything FBG says to be honest.
    What was this about?

I asked JJ if her tan snaps are ads and she said no so I'm inclined to take her at her word and think she just really likes the product

there's absolutely no way today it is not an ad!

she got put up in a hotel overnight, picked up in a fancy car, that happened to have bottles of the tan in all the drinks holders, brought to body and soul while snapping about running a facebook competition with the tan company for 12 people to win 12 bottles, and then taking over the tans own snapchat account for the day?

I'm sorry, but I don't believe that this wasn't an ad? She promoted the tan all day long. I wouldn't be leaving my husband and baby to go up to Dublin for a night then a festival just because I loved a certain tan.