Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Inviere

I re-downloaded* P.T. on a new PS4 Pro there a few weeks back, came down quick enough surprisingly. Was expecting it to take ages, though it's small enough I think.

*You've to use a bit of trickery to do this, and even then, you can only do it as long as the game was tied to your account previously & before it was removed from the store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

If anyone wants to look at the Tolkien coin from Token, it's just like a gif
    Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Token was great fun last night - hopefully the cabinets stay in lovely condition and uptime is consistent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Burzum

Any one know anywhere selling scart cable or av cable for 3DO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Batzoo

Burzum wrote: »
    In the market for a CRT, can anyone recommend one that does not have too high of an annoying high pitched ring to it.

Thats the 15khz buzz from the flyback transformer. You are not going mad, you just have good hearing. Its caused by small metallic/magnetic objects (Screw, washers, cans, beads, wires etc.) reacting and vibrating in sync with the 15khz flyback magnetic flux.

Some crt's are worse than others. You can tighten all the screws and apply some hot snot to parts you think may be causing the buzz. Works sometimes. Otherwise it will be a case of plugging in and listening before purchase! But even then, transporting to a new location can work something loose and cause the buzz to become worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Any one know anywhere selling scart cable or av cable for 3DO

Is it modded? If not its standard svideo, rca or rf(eek).
    So you can find them pretty easy.

back1.jpg

Steve X2 wrote: »
    Is it modded? If not its standard svideo, rca or rf(eek).
    So you can find them pretty easy.

Have the rca here so its grand,now to figure out why the disk tray wont eject :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Have the rca here so its grand,now to figure out why the disk tray wont eject :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,266 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Don't think any model 3DO supports Scart. The CDi does which automatically makes it the superior console.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Don't think any model 3DO supports Scart. The CDi does which automatically makes it the superior console.

You're a funny guy Retr0, it's why I'm going to kill you last...

Where's Retr0?

I had to let him go...

Anyone have any experience with 3do problems, Have an FZ-1 here that won't eject when the button is pressed. A link to a solution or guide would be appreciated thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,266 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

All I know is tray loaders are notorious for failing. Maybe get a replacement drive. I got a CDi equivalent from Hong Kong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Anyone have any experience with 3do problems, Have an FZ-1 here that won't eject when the button is pressed. A link to a solution or guide would be appreciated thanks.

Most likely the drive eject belt has just stretched or rotted away over time.

https://console5.com/store/sega-cd-and-neo-geo-cd-drawer-tray-loading-belt.html

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    All I know is tray loaders are notorious for failing. Maybe get a replacement drive. I got a CDi equivalent from Hong Kong.

Actual inside view of the CDi
    box-of-poop.jpg

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    box-of-poop.jpg

Have CDi, can confirm this is accurate.

Most likely the drive eject belt has just stretched or rotted away over time.

https://console5.com/store/sega-cd-and-neo-geo-cd-drawer-tray-loading-belt.html

Nice one ty, will order one and see what happens.

Just open up the console and have a look. It's one of the easier machines to disassemble.

Here's what it looks like with the top case and drive removed. Ignore the yellow wires as that's just my RGB mod, you won't have that.

DSC_3672b.jpg
    DSC_3696b.jpg

Steve X2 opening a 3DO....

giphy.gif

Steve X2 opening a 3DO....

giphy.gif

Soon I'll be able to look inside without opening them up. I'm working on a smoke coloured transparent window to replace the top section(the bit that pops out of the top section to be precise).

001_o.jpg?3199.jpg

Pricey, but still cheaper than some of the high end alternatives(x2 gscartsw etc)

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=197

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,408 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

box-of-poop.jpg

Amazing how similar it looks to the 3DO :pac:

Look I know all this CDi talk is exciting, I need ye to stay calm ...
    Did you hear Bubsy is coming back?
    http://kotaku.com/nobody-wanted-this-but-bubsy-is-officially-coming-back-1795936667

That interview with Bubsy is so cringy. Bang of 90's attitude off it

I love me some 90s tude but Bubsy, no thanks.

I'd be inclined to pick the new one up if the price was right. I used be very fond of the second one for some reason. Probably because I only got to play it in my buddies gaff growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Steve X2 wrote: »
    001_o.jpg?3199.jpg

Pricey, but still cheaper than some of the high end alternatives(x2 gscartsw etc)

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=197

3x of these would be cheaper :) ...as a cheap solution, daisy chaining of those works (I think)

I'd be inclined to pick the new one up if the price was right. I used be very fond of the second one for some reason. Probably because I only got to play it in my buddies gaff growing up.
    It'll probably be at the beers, I'd take I'd take that awful Batman game instead :pac:
    I played the first one and thought I was awful at games not that it was a bad game lol.
    It could be good, it can't be as bad as the rest sure.

I'd be reading a lot about the beers but it's well far away from me. That batman game is hardly batman forever is it? I got that for Christmas and tried to play it until I liked it. Twas futile to say the least

It's the Gamecube one isn't it? I'm too traumatized to remember someone will correct me lol.
    Yeah it's far for me too I've to stay overnight. Maybe if we organize a trip to Token eventually, you could come up for the day.

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    3x of these would be cheaper :) ...as a cheap solution, daisy chaining of those works (I think)

Big difference quality wise. I've got 2 of the gwscarts and they are top notch. I was a big fan of the banbridge ones up until i tried the high end gwscarts.

I'm a fussy fecker when it comes to video/signal quality, the gwscarts are overpriced but do a fantastic job.
    Now I'm not sure I'd go for the 16 port Hydra above, but its not as simple as just the number of sockets you can get.