Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Bonniedog wrote: »
    That's just mad Ted! I remember when you'd at least have seen Marys starting a mill!

32 teams is just not practical or justifiable. They need to severely cut it.

Even the Whitehall/Boden result tells a tale. Boden second team would beat most teams in senior A.

Funnily enough I'm heading out to Boden in the morning for what'll be a waste of time......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

EICVD wrote: »
    Funnily enough I'm heading out to Boden in the morning for what'll be a waste of time......

Steal some balls or something :)

(That was joke rebel girl....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

plunketts knock seemed to be feisty

If you only got to one game this weekend (I only got to one game this weekend - damn kids and chicken pox!), this was the game to go to. It had everything. A little bit of dirt, not much though. Plenty of questionable decisions from the ref. A sloppy give away of a goal from a kick out. Tonnes of hard running. Plenty of scores, and the right result at the end (blue and yellow tinted glasses here).

6 down early in the second half, six or seven wides in the second half, just squeezed a draw in normal time. Went on to win extra time.

Niall Walsh was the most effective from Plunketts ER. Our half back line were probably the difference despite O'Carroll and Kilkenny scoring 2-12 of our 2-18. 5 of the other six points came from our backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,041 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Past30Now wrote: »
    If you only got to one game this weekend (I only got to one game this weekend - damn kids and chicken pox!), this was the game to go to. It had everything. A little bit of dirt, not much though. Plenty of questionable decisions from the ref. A sloppy give away of a goal from a kick out. Tonnes of hard running. Plenty of scores, and the right result at the end (blue and yellow tinted glasses here).

6 down early in the second half, six or seven wides in the second half, just squeezed a draw in normal time. Went on to win extra time.

Niall Walsh was the most effective from Plunketts ER. Our half back line were probably the difference despite O'Carroll and Kilkenny scoring 2-12 of our 2-18. 5 of the other six points came from our backs.

Looked like a cracker from the highlights, thought it was a very soft free right at the end of normal time against Alan Brogan. Thought Plunketts had it. Some great place kicking from O'Carroll in extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭corny

Just saw the highlights but the free against Brogan looked an outrageous decision.

corny wrote: »
    Just saw the highlights but the free against Brogan looked an outrageous decision.

The revenge of Na Fianna :)

Looks like Brogans will never get an SFC. They've had some tough breaks over the years in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

corny wrote: »

Alan is a super player, but it could be argued that he brought the tough decision down on himself. He was in the refs face from very early in the game. For the first 20 minutes I felt the ref was giving them everything, but AB was roaring throughout this period. A ref is supposed to be above such emotion, but he must have been sick and tired of the crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Ball In Towards

Macauley apparently gonna be out for a chunk of the Championship...

http://www.98fm.com/Michael-Darragh-Macauleys-Season-In-Jeopardy

If he's back by August, it's grand. If not though... Big chance for Reddin to impress!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Macauley apparently gonna be out for a chunk of the Championship...

http://www.98fm.com/Michael-Darragh-Macauleys-Season-In-Jeopardy

If he's back by August, it's grand. If not though... Big chance for Reddin to impress!

Balls. Thought he was performing better than in recent years.

Actually recall seeing him limping but didn't take much notice. He be huge loss. Would go so far as to say that his absence makes winning AI far less likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Pity. Thought he looked in good shape this year.

That's Flynn in midfield now in my book.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Pity. Thought he looked in good shape this year.

That's Flynn in midfield now in my book.

James surely? Have any amount of half backs. And he's played there for Ballymun. Kerry targeted Fenton in league so they need at least two other options there to support him, including a bit of badness. Reddin is good but this is going to be one tough year. Not sure it is his time yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

James surely? Have any amount of half backs. And he's played there for Ballymun. Kerry targeted Fenton in league so they need at least two other options there to support him, including a bit of badness. Reddin is good but this is going to be one tough year. Not sure it is his time yet.

I've always said get Flynn into the middle and move Jack Mc into the half forwards.

I'm not sure Reddin will cut the mustard.

Slattsy wrote: »
    I've always said get Flynn into the middle and move Jack Mc into the half forwards.

I'm not sure Reddin will cut the mustard.

Fenton is brilliant player but them fkers are starting to do their usual thuggery on him. He needs a Bastick alongside him. Reddin doesn't have that yet. James would be perfect there, and there is no shortage of half backs including Jack. Kerry and others will be attempting to employ all sorts of black arts this year. No time to be trying out new players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Bonniedog wrote:
    Fenton is brilliant player but them fkers are starting to do their usual thuggery on him. He needs a Bastick alongside him. Reddin doesn't have that yet. James would be perfect there, and there is no shortage of half backs including Jack. Kerry and others will be attempting to employ all sorts of black arts this year. No time to be trying out new players.

IMO.To a degree Fenton can be a luxury player. I thought MDMA was going out of his way to protect him in the league game vs Kerry. Bastic would turn the physicality issue on it's head but wouldn't bring other things to the table that Fenton can. Again it was league form but Fenton has ground to make up, D Moran made it up last year it's doable he's young.

I've never been impressed with McCarthy at midfield for Dublin. He is our best half-back IMO and my favorite Dublin player but he'll leave a hole that's hard to fill and won't plug a MDMA sized gap at 8 either.

I'd rather enter a championship with McCarthy fit in the half-back line and no Fenton in midfield than no McCarthy and Fenton starting. I'm a fan of Fenton, but think maybe he's 80 or 85 percent the player some say he is. Connelly still chips in massively in the championship quarter, as does Flynn to a decreasing level but fingers crossed on that one. Fenton picks it up too but there have been some special players around him.

I do agree that nobody new will be drafted in and that the answer is in the half-back line options

With Small, Lowdnes, O'Sullivan, McCarthy, McCaffery -- Kilkenny*

I'd ask McCarthy to push up and help more.

If fit O'Sullivan into midfield with Fenton​, or Bastic if it's physical, get the yellows up and subbed off early!!

Kilkenny will drop back into the half-back midfield space too

Lowdnes or McCaffery as impact / sub.

Bastic could possibly start too.

There are options don't forget the form Kilkenny is in either he is currently operating at the levels Paul Galvin and Flynn have in the past imo

Three years ago I thought MDMA and ROC were the two players Dublin would find it hardest to win without.

I still think that way unfortunately. But things can be moved around. Best use the options we've seen this year.

I still worry about number 3 but there are four across the back now.

Counting Kilkenny in the half-back line now in my head, I'm now picking forwards without him there.

Half forward line

Rock Connelly Flynn
    FF
    Andrews Brogan Costello

Mannion, O'Callaghan, McManaman, McHugh, Scully as subs

This year McManaman would be a sub. Brogan either starts or sits it out, I don't think being a sub suits him. Mannion is a good sub and questionable starter, McHugh I'm not sure about thought he'd be starting now but there's goals in him. I think O'Callaghan is very close to the real deal

There's room for one O'Gara too.

Bonniedog wrote:

IMO.To a degree Fenton can be a luxury player. I thought MDMA was going out of his way to protect him in the league game vs Kerry. Bastic would turn the physicality issue on it's head but wouldn't bring other things to the table that Fenton can. Again it was league form but Fenton has ground to make up, D Moran made it up last year it's doable he's young.

I've never been impressed with McCarthy at midfield for Dublin. He is our best half-back IMO and my favorite Dublin player but he'll leave a hole that's hard to fill and won't plug a MDMA sized gap at 8 either.

I'd rather enter a championship with McCarthy fit in the half-back line and no Fenton in midfield than no McCarthy and Fenton starting. I'm a fan of Fenton, but think maybe he's 80 or 85 percent the player some say he is. Connelly still chips in massively in the championship quarter, as does Flynn to a decreasing level but fingers crossed on that one. Fenton picks it up too but there have been some special players around him.

I do agree that nobody new will be drafted in and that the answer is in the half-back line options

With Small, Lowdnes, O'Sullivan, McCarthy, McCaffery -- Kilkenny*

I'd ask McCarthy to push up and help more.

If fit O'Sullivan into midfield with Fenton​, or Bastic if it's physical, get the yellows up and subbed off early!!

Kilkenny will drop back into the half-back midfield space too

Lowdnes or McCaffery as impact / sub.

Bastic could possibly start too.

There are options don't forget the form Kilkenny is in either he is currently operating at the levels Paul Galvin and Flynn have in the past imo

Three years ago I thought MDMA and ROC were the two players Dublin would find it hardest to win without.

I still think that way unfortunately. But things can be moved around. Best use the options we've seen this year.

I still worry about number 3 but there are four across the back now.

Counting Kilkenny in the half-back line now in my head, I'm now picking forwards without him there.

Half forward line

Rock Connelly Flynn
    FF
    Andrews Brogan Costello

Mannion, O'Callaghan, McManaman, McHugh, Scully as subs

This year McManaman would be a sub. Brogan either starts or sits it out, I don't think being a sub suits him. Mannion is a good sub and questionable starter, McHugh I'm not sure about thought he'd be starting now but there's goals in him. I think O'Callaghan is very close to the real deal

There's room for one O'Gara too.

Kerry have grown a pair and are starting to target specific players, notably Fenton who ironically is classic midfielder in O'Connell, Jack O'Shea mode. Not a dirty bone in his body.

Not that that ever bothered them! They'll throw the kitchen sink at Dublin this year so they need some steel there. give it back to them. Fenton in my humble opinion is best midfielder we've ever had including Mullins but Mullins took no shyte from them.

No harm to Reddin but I don't think he is what is needed this year. They have laid down a marker and others will follow suit. Dublin need to get down into the gutter if needs be.

Kerry have grown a pair and are starting to target specific players, notably Fenton who ironically is classic midfielder in O'Connell, Jack O'Shea mode. Not a dirty bone in his body.

Not that that ever bothered them! They'll throw the kitchen sink at Dublin this year so they need some steel there. give it back to them. Fenton in my humble opinion is best midfielder we've ever had including Mullins but Mullins took no shyte from them.

No harm to Reddin but I don't think he is what is needed this year. They have laid down a marker and others will follow suit. Dublin need to get down into the gutter if needs be.

I know you've a chip on your shoulder with Kerry but they're doing nothing Mayo haven't been doing for years. In fact they're in ha'penny place when it comes to aggression and physicality. The Mayo lads normally force an attritional game on us that Kerry could only dream of matching. Also, they just avoided Fenton with kick outs and build up play in Croke Park. Thats how they targeted him. Correct me if i'm wrong but i don't remember a glove being laid on him in that match.

Full team without Michael Dara i'd go for:
    Cluxton
    McMahon
    Fitzsimons
    Cooper
    McCarthy
    COS
    Small
    Flynn
    Fenton
    McCaffrey
    Connolly
    Scully
    Rock
    KK
    Con O' Callaghan
    (Mannion to play a big part too)

I think we need a real shake up in the forwards. KK's possessions around midfield seem important but they aren't vital imo. His endless energy and ability to win any type of ball would give us a great boost in the FF line though. Don't think we'll see that team but i hope loyalty won't be a factor when the team gets picked. If the likes of BB and Andrews continue their league form they shouldn't be picked. I'd rather we take a chance on the young lads than keep going with established players who've done it in the past but aren't getting it done in the present.

corny wrote:
    I know you've a chip on your shoulder with Kerry but they're doing nothing Mayo haven't been doing for years. In fact they're in ha'penny place when it comes to aggression and physicality. The Mayo lads normally force an attritional game on us that Kerry could only dream of matching. Also, they just avoided Fenton with kick outs and build up play in Croke Park. Thats how they targeted him. Correct me if i'm wrong but i don't remember a glove being laid on him in that match.

I thought they targeted him. As you say nothing more than Dublin , Kerry, Donegal , Mayo ,Tyrone haven't done haven't done to specific players and we've seen lads try it and fail with Kilkenny too. He is being given special treatment, hammer the hammer.
    It happens, it's part of the game but it was not as you said it was IMO Corny. That's my 8 am attempt at correcting you.
    I was level with play the first day and I saw plenty of it. It's up to Fenton to adjust his game.

I also don't rate him as a master fielder or midfielder, he gives Dublin an edge in midfield to allow Cluxton to go long. But it was more a case of getting that type of player into a squad that was very short in that area

corny wrote:
    I think we need a real shake up in the forwards. KK's possessions around midfield seem important but they aren't vital imo. His endless energy and ability to win any type of ball would give us a great boost in the FF line though. Don't think we'll see that team but i hope loyalty won't be a factor when the team gets picked. If the likes of BB and Andrews continue their league form they shouldn't be picked. I'd rather we take a chance on the young lads than keep going with established players who've done it in the past but aren't getting it done in the present.

Fair point Scully would be one I'd like to see here O'Callaghan too in the shakeup. I'd agree with the form of the lads we saw this year but you know how little football they had his year relative to say last year. They'd only started back to serious training so I wouldn't press the exit button on Andrews yet.
    Brogan on the other hand is a different story he's carrying a long period of poor performance with him. The break may bring them back.

I left out Shane Carthy too. He's a decent half-forward imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Fenton was black and blue after the Kerry game .. trust me.

Mark Schutte joined the football panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Stoner wrote: »
    Mark Schutte joined the football panel

Yeah saw that. Damning indictment of Cunningham and the county board. They don't learn and they don't seem to give a f**k.

DoctaDee wrote: »

When Kerry think that another team has their number they will resort to all sorts and have done so for generations. They even have a ballad about beating up Heffo in 1955! The reason the Dublin team of 70s could equal them was because they had chaps who would go through you for a short cut :) Dublin need someone like that now beside Fenton in midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

When Kerry think that another team has their number they will resort to all sorts and have done so for generations. They even have a ballad about beating up Heffo in 1955! The reason the Dublin team of 70s could equal them was because they had chaps who would go through you for a short cut :) Dublin need someone like that now beside Fenton in midfield.

Yeah different times now tho Bonnie - gone are the days when you could have a right good settler during the game and get as many lads involved in as you could.. now there's a slyness to what's going on .. Anton, Larkin,Georgie and the rest wouldn't last 5 minutes under todays rules

Yes, but they would love it if they beat Dublin by seeming to bully them. Anyone who tries to do Fenton needs a good smack. Sounds terrible but that's what it may come down to. That bollix Murphy nearly decapitated him last year but I think it was Jonny Cooper exacted almost immediate vengeance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,041 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

All ye Dubs assuming MDMA is gone... he'll be back at the business end of the Championship with that god awful run of his causing headaches.

The main hope I have is that they fix his knee and discover afterwards that whatever was wrong in the first place, was the reason that made him so effective.

Stoner wrote: »
    I thought they targeted him. As you say nothing more than Dublin , Kerry, Donegal , Mayo ,Tyrone haven't done haven't done to specific players and we've seen lads try it and fail with Kilkenny too. He is being given special treatment, hammer the hammer.
    It happens, it's part of the game but it was not as you said it was IMO Corny. That's my 8 am attempt at correcting you.
    I was level with play the first day and I saw plenty of it. It's up to Fenton to adjust his game.

I also don't rate him as a master fielder or midfielder, he gives Dublin an edge in midfield to allow Cluxton to go long. But it was more a case of getting that type of player into a squad that was very short in that area

I won't ask how you know that DoctaDee.;)

Are we talking about the Tralee game or the league final lads? The Tralee game got out of hand all over the pitch but i honestly can't remember (not that it didn't happen because i've a ****e memory) Fenton even touching the ball in the final. The game largely bypassed him.

PARlance wrote:
    All ye Dubs assuming MDMA is gone... he'll be back at the business end of the Championship with that god awful run of his causing headaches.

Hope for the best plan for the worst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

When Kerry think that another team has their number they will resort to all sorts and have done so for generations.

Not like Diarmuid Connolly or Philly McMahon would ever resort or anything like that :D

Your clear hatred for Kerry is very obvious to everyone and the only question that remains is why, maybe if you talk about it the healing process can begin :D