Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭superflyninja

Well, "he" seems to be me and your sarcasm in order to take the piss out of me is a bit unnecessary. I was just stating what I was doing so people would know why I was off the bench.

Nah the "he" that you were describing. Not you.You did nothing wrong. Him however...Did he even wipe the bench after he did his showboat sets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭nozipcode

People who go straight from the sauna/steam room into the swimming pool/jacuzzi.

Beggars belief.

I now no longer use the pool or jacuzzi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

nozipcode wrote: »
    People who go straight from the sauna/steam room into the swimming pool/jacuzzi.

Beggars belief.

More Chlorine in there. Be Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Serious question, if he asked could he work in, would it have been ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Beggars belief.

Imagine. Just imagine not realising that you should shower when moving from a room that is designed to make you sweat profusely to a bathing pool?? It boggles my mind that anyone can actually not be aware of this.

When I very first joined a gym, I did so with my whole GAA team when I was about 21... on our first 'team' session, after we'd done our (I now realise, fairly sh*te) workout, a few of us were heading in for a swim. One of the lads (who would've been 25) threw the tshirt in a locker and was heading straight for the pool, not a bother on him... someone said "eh, ye wanna have a quick shower there, man" and he was absolutely aghast! Stood and argued, with an absolutely incredulous look on his face, as to why on earth would that be necessary. His argument revolved around repeating the words "but sure, I'm goin in here to jump into a whole loada water...??"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Nah the "he" that you were describing. Not you.You did nothing wrong. Him however...Did he even wipe the bench after he did his showboat sets?
    Apologies it's just when you quoted the bit at the beginning I thought you were firing shots at me. Sorry.

No he didn't but I didn't take much notice. When I had finished a set he left me waiting to use the bench whilst he did his showboat sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Imagine. Just imagine not realising that you should shower when moving from a room that is designed to make you sweat profusely to a bathing pool?? It boggles my mind that anyone can actually not be aware of this.

When I very first joined a gym, I did so with my whole GAA team when I was about 21... on our first 'team' session, after we'd done our (I now realise, fairly sh*te) workout, a few of us were heading in for a swim. One of the lads (who would've been 25) threw the tshirt in a locker and was heading straight for the pool, not a bother on him... someone said "eh, ye wanna have a quick shower there, man" and he was absolutely aghast! Stood and argued, with an absolutely incredulous look on his face, as to why on earth would that be necessary. His argument revolved around repeating the words "but sure, I'm goin in here to jump into a whole loada water...??"

When I was a teenager I wouldn't have bothered showering. Out of pure ignorance and being young. People grow into being a proper adult at certain ages. In pretty sure my brother still pisses in pools. I still piss in the sea...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

MarkY91 wrote: »
    I still piss in the sea...

I was on holiday drinking on a beach and rather than cross the busy road to use the proper toilets i waded out into the sea to pee.

I couldn't quite piss properly with my speedos on so i (casually and descretely) edged the top of my pants down to free up the old chap..i'd just managed to do so without anybody noticing when i suddenly got bitten on the knob by a small fish which hurt AND bled!

Beware of Greek dick-nibbling fish!:P

MysticMonk wrote: »
    I was on holiday drinking on a beach and rather than cross the busy road to use the proper toilets i waded out into the sea to pee.

I couldn't quite piss properly with my speedos on so i (casually and descretely) edged the top of my pants down to free up the old chap..i'd just managed to do so without anybody noticing when i suddenly got bitten on the knob by a small fish which hurt AND bled!

Or just go for a piss in a urinal or a toilet.

Another one that nearly made me quit using my gym was an older gentleman exfoliating his feet, literally showering the changing room floor with his dead skin cells from his feet. What made it worse is he then takes out the anti-fungal fluid and starts dabbing it on his crusty feet. Whatever about sweat, this kind of thing is not only completely disgusting but also could be passed on to other people.
    Had to say it to the receptionist when I was leaving.
    *vom*

Or just go for a piss in a urinal or a toilet.

That meant crossing a busy road.

If i'd done that and everything went normally i wouldnt have the story or the scar,now would i?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Feckin Greeks, they invented dick nibbling you know!

hqdefault.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

That is absolutely vile and disgusting .......... speedos!??!!! :eek: :confused:

MadDog76 wrote: »
    That is absolutely vile and disgusting .......... speedos!??!!! :eek: :confused:

Do you think? I find they Set off the wifebeater beautifully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I don't understand the fury over people not showering before getting into the pool. Like, I would anyway, but realistically what's the dilution ratio? 1:50,000,000 or more, I'm sure.

If a team of scientist were able to take a sample before and after our sweaty friend's swim and tell the difference I'd be shocked. Which means people are getting bent out of shape over an irrational concern, there is no meaningful impact.

They should indulge you anyway out of sheer social convention, but ease up on the righteousness a little maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Zillah wrote: »
    I don't understand the fury over people not showering before getting into the pool. Like, I would anyway, but realistically what's the dilution ratio? 1:50,000,000 or more, I'm sure.

What's the dilution ratio for someone pissing in the pool? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Aside from the personal hygiene/etiquette issue, it's maybe "fine" dilution-wise if one person does it, but if everyone thinks, "Sure, it's fine for me not to shower, I am only one person", then it suddenly becomes 50 or 100 people or even more doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

If you seen someone spit into the pool would you be ok with it? Surely it's diluted aswell, or if someone pissed into it? Dilution ratio is no reason to not shower for 30 seconds before getting into the pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Aside from the personal hygiene/etiquette issue, it's maybe "fine" dilution-wise if one person does it, but if everyone thinks, "Sure, it's fine for me not to shower, I am only one person", then it suddenly becomes 50 or 100 people or even more doing it.

So it becomes 1:500,000 - still probably below detectable threshold.
    TheSegal wrote: »
    If you seen someone spit into the pool would you be ok with it?

Spit is different, though. It congeals and floats around as an object. It doesn't dilute the way a normal liquid would, certainly not for a long time anyway. I'd be upset if there were floating globs of sweat too, but thankfully that doesn't happen :D

And I am 100% sure I've been in a pool where people have pissed in it, and honestly, I don't care. Again, dilution ratio, chlorine; I'm not worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

unless you own your own pool it would probably be best to just get on with it, there'll always be someone who doesn't have the cop on to use the shower before getting into the pool. and you can bet at least the kids are taking a piss in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

I'm sure those people swimming laps in the pool and exerting themselves aren't actively sweating at all.

brownej wrote: »
    I'm sure those people swimming laps in the pool and exerting themselves aren't actively sweating at all.

What about the people who wade waist deep up and down in the pool,occasionally moving thier arms but not actually swimming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

What about the people who wade waist deep up and down in the pool,occasionally moving thier arms but not actually swimming?

You're right! I forgot about the aqua aerobics classes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Bull76

What's with guys using the hair dryer to dry their toes, seen someone today using it to dry his balls. Just use the towel like a normal person. So off putting walking into the changing room and encountering near naked guy drying his balls with the dryer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Hair drying balls has had the most complaints so far tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Zillah wrote: »

If a team of scientist were able to take a sample before and after our sweaty friend's swim and tell the difference I'd be shocked. Which means people are getting bent out of shape over an irrational concern, there is no meaningful impact.

They should indulge you anyway out of sheer social convention, but ease up on the righteousness a little maybe.

Saw a bandage floating in the depths last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

Bull76 wrote: »
    What's with guys using the hair dryer to dry their toes, seen someone today using it to dry his balls. Just use the towel like a normal person. So off putting walking into the changing room and encountering near naked guy drying his balls with the dryer.
    my towel was wet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Deshi Basara

The old classic will always be lads not putting their plates & dumbbells back.

You'd have to be an awful a**hole to expect others to pick up after you. Last time is was in Northwood gym, the upstairs was like a minefield of dumbbells; took about 5 minutes just to find a set of equal weight.

Also watched a fella doing seated DB shoulder press with 27.5kg dumbbells drop the weights from shoulder height and bounce across the floor.

Whatever about not respecting the equipment - if he upended another member it could end in a claim.

Madness I tell you.

Bull76 wrote: »

That's why they removed the hairdryers from northwood.

Few things are more off putting than watching an elderly man with one leg up on the bench and playing the dryer merrily round his shrunken wedding tackle *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Few things are more off putting than watching an elderly man with one leg up on the bench and playing the dryer merrily round his shrunken wedding tackle *shudder*

You don't have to watch and certainly not for long enough to be able to describe them playing the dryer merrily around their junk.