Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Reggie. wrote: »
    Another mini

Imagine the level of technology in tractors by the time they get their Licence!
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Imagine the level of technology in tractors by the time they get their Licence!
    :D:D:D

That's all we can do is imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Guess the second tractor may have to wait.....:(

Looks like a new addition to the workforce is in production :)
    Well done, congratulations to you all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

N24 is closed all day, a pedestrian knocked down last night at around 11. I could see ambulances racing down the road last night when i was in bed. The fella that was knocked down was around my age and i kinda knew him, he wasn't wearing a hi Vis jacket when he was walking down the road.The road running down by the house here is chock a block with traffic.
    Be careful out there folks !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

davidk1394 wrote: »
    N24 is closed all day, a pedestrian knocked down last night at around 11. I could see ambulances racing down the road last night when i was in bed. The fella that was knocked down was around my age and i kinda knew him, he wasn't wearing a hi Vis jacket when he was walking down the road.The road running down by the house here is chock a block with traffic.
    Be careful out there folks !!
    Madness not to have hi viz with you especially this time of year, They really make it easy to spot you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭White Clover

Bullocks wrote: »
    Madness not to have hi viz with you especially this time of year, They really make it easy to spot you

I pass a lad every morning all winter, walking in the same direction as the traffic with no Hi viz. I often wonder do lads like these ever listen to the news or heed campaigns by rsa etc

Nearly hit my neighbour yesterday.
    Out with a little petrol hedge clipper on the side of the road, at about 7pm, on a bend on the road.
    Dark clothes and setting sun behind him.
    A split second can change several lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Guess the second tractor may have to wait.....:(

Looks like a new addition to the workforce is in production :)

Is that why you have being so quite on the form you where busy ah keeping her self warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

_Brian wrote: »
    Sore feet ??
    We had a heifer with bad feet and she wasted away on the slats and returned to health on grass. Hoof man said it was a genetic deficiency

Nothing obvious wrong with her feet, it's funny as well, she went out last year for two months, then back in on hay for a month before she calved & she didn't go backwards on the hay at all. Though she was also penned alone too so perhaps it could be timidness and we're not her being bullied.

Congrats Reggie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Was suggested by a friend to use minerals on a few miserable weanlings.

Has anyone used growvite forte or growvite beef?

Is there much difference bar price? Might use it on cows post calving also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

davidk1394 wrote: »
    You sounded like a man who had one thing on his mind ;). Was it a late one ?

Late enough coming right now 😂😂😂

Better living everyone

Was suggested by a friend to use minerals on a few miserable weanlings.

Has anyone used growvite forte or growvite beef?

Is there much difference bar price? Might use it on cows post calving also.

Used to give growvite to the calves here, some would go mad for it and lick it off your hand. But stopped it in recent years and just rely on lick buckets in summer & scatter minerals over the silage in winter.

I'd say definitely give them something if they've not had anything all winter, I see Agridirect are doing a special offer on it at the moment too - https://www.agridirect.ie/product/growvite-forte-25-litre
    There's another one called Tonivet that's similar too, cheaper though, used it a couple of times and didn't notice anything special with cattle after it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Used to give growvite to the calves here, some would go mad for it and lick it off your hand. But stopped it in recent years and just rely on lick buckets in summer & scatter minerals over the silage in winter.

I'd say definitely give them something if they've not had anything all winter, I see Agridirect are doing a special offer on it at the moment too - https://www.agridirect.ie/product/growvite-forte-25-litre
    There's another one called Tonivet that's similar too, cheaper though, used it a couple of times and didn't notice anything special with cattle after it!

I give them access to buckets and in the last month I have been using the sprinkle. I reckon the stuff will do them no harm anyway.

Thanks for thAt.

This is the cow-heifer I was on about last night, the first pic is from December, prob round Christmas.

p0uHRSOl.jpg

And today after being out for a month (She wasn't much fatter than the above pic despite constant feeding every day) It's the colour change in her hair that's baffling me, she literally looked like a blonde x all winter.

H9AhnWHl.jpg

Psychological problems due to being confined to the shed?
    Claustrophobia?

Whatever it is, she had melted!

Hahaha, psychological issues, may get Temple Grandin in! :D
    Either way she'll be staying out this year as long as possible, state of her in the shed, was a fecking embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What was the name of the sheep in father ted? The second photo reminds me of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

This is the cow-heifer I was on about last night, the first pic is from December, prob round Christmas.

p0uHRSOl.jpg

And today after being out for a month (She wasn't much fatter than the above pic despite constant feeding every day) It's the colour change in her hair that's baffling me, she literally looked like a blonde x all winter.

H9AhnWHl.jpg

She looks like a donkey in the first picture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

whelan2 wrote: »
    What was the name of the sheep in father ted? The second photo reminds me of him

Chris the sheep I think. Two completely different sheep!

We used to have a heifer who would always lose condition in winter and then bounce back when on grass.

Odelay wrote: »
    She looks like a donkey in the first picture!

Right fooking donkey alright! She's quiet and her calf did well despite being weaned early so worth another shot anyway.
    einn32 wrote: »
    Chris the sheep I think. Two completely different sheep!

We used to have a heifer who would always lose condition in winter and then bounce back when on grass.

Aye Chris the sheep! I thought she might be teething a bit as well as her cohort was slobbering while cudding too but haven't looked in her gob and seems to be no point now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Lady Haywire.

Read this. It may be of interest.
    https://www.canadiancattlemen.ca/2014/11/12/case-of-vitamin-deficiency-in-calves-cracked/

Especially the saved forage as opposed to the fresh forage.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Lady Haywire.

Read this. It may be of interest.
    https://www.canadiancattlemen.ca/2014/11/12/case-of-vitamin-deficiency-in-calves-cracked/

Especially the saved forage as opposed to the fresh forage.

It's possible! Though all the cows were getting pre-calver mineral on top of the silage. Though she was eating nuts in the back locked off from the cows while she ate, so unless they got all the powder or it scattered to the concrete before she got there :confused:

Any other difference from the rest of your stock?

Is she homebred?
    Is she out of a heifer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Right fooking donkey alright! She's quiet and her calf did well despite being weaned early so worth another shot anyway.

Aye Chris the sheep! I thought she might be teething a bit as well as her cohort was slobbering while cudding too but haven't looked in her gob and seems to be no point now.

She used never get stuck in to the silage. Just always picking and nosing at it. She would be thin, poor coat and get very shaky on her legs. But out on grass she would put on weight, shiny coat and feet would be fine. She was a character too!

Any other difference from the rest of your stock?

Is she homebred?
    Is she out of a heifer?

No other difference at all, none of the rest are underweight one bit, the opposite in fact. She is indeed homebred, out of that pb cow I sold last week and she was ooooh 5/6yrs old having her.
    einn32 wrote: »
    She used never get stuck in to the silage. Just always picking and nosing at it. She would be thin, poor coat and get very shaky on her legs. But out on grass she would put on weight, shiny coat and feet would be fine. She was a character too!

That's interesting! Ours would horse into the silage though, plus never acted ill, always had shiny eyes & wet nose, just that dull, staring coat and thin.

No other difference at all, none of the rest are underweight one bit, the opposite in fact. She is indeed homebred, out of that pb cow I sold last week and she was ooooh 5/6yrs old having her.

We might be getting somewhere now?

Is that the cow that had the small calf?
    Have you kept any other stock out of this cow?

Bear with me on the questions.:pac:

We might be getting somewhere now?

Is that the cow that had the small calf?
    Have you kept any other stock out of this cow?

Bear with me on the questions.:pac:

Yeah, the cow that had the small calf. No other stock but there's a breeding bull somewhere over in Galway that was born the year after this girl, all others were exported or slaughtered.

You're grand, don't mind the questions! D'ya reckon it could be something genetic?

Yeah, the cow that had the small calf. No other stock but there's a breeding bull somewhere over in Galway that was born the year after this girl, all others were exported or slaughtered.

You're grand, don't mind the questions! D'ya reckon it could be something genetic?

Sorry about the delay.

But yes it very well looks like it could be a genetic influence on how this animal and no others seem to be effected.
    There are some cattle breeds more prone to showing vitamin E deficiency than others and obviously some individuals will show it and others not from the same food source.
    But this is going beyond my paygrade.

https://books.google.ie/books?id=s5LmBwSwwGsC&pg=PA364&lpg=PA364&dq=vitamin+e+deficiency+in+cattle+and+genetics&source=bl&ots=49RluhBraA&sig=GiRVL_zJFIuuKFEhAliNSpI2-Cc&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiBybj7wO3SAhUMLsAKHRrAACsQ6AEIJDAC#v=onepage&q=vitamin%20e%20deficiency%20in%20cattle%20and%20genetics&f=false

But what needs to be looked at are Vitamin E, selenium and then maybe vitamin A.
    She looks to be getting Vitamin E on grass and the man made source inside is not cutting it.

Sorry about the delay.

But yes it very well looks like it could be a genetic influence on how this animal and no others seem to be effected.
    There are some cattle breeds more prone to showing vitamin E deficiency than others and obviously some individuals will show it and others not from the same food source.
    But this is going beyond my paygrade.

https://books.google.ie/books?id=s5LmBwSwwGsC&pg=PA364&lpg=PA364&dq=vitamin+e+deficiency+in+cattle+and+genetics&source=bl&ots=49RluhBraA&sig=GiRVL_zJFIuuKFEhAliNSpI2-Cc&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiBybj7wO3SAhUMLsAKHRrAACsQ6AEIJDAC#v=onepage&q=vitamin%20e%20deficiency%20in%20cattle%20and%20genetics&f=false

But what needs to be looked at are Vitamin E, selenium and then maybe vitamin A.
    She looks to be getting Vitamin E on grass and the man made source inside is not cutting it.

No delay at all! You're definitely getting somewhere with diagnosing her faster than me anyway! That's quite interesting, I wonder as well if the fact that she was so thin meant she had feck all fat left in her to break down in order to absorb it?
    Worth a try making sure she's well conditioned going into the shed this winter anyway.

No delay at all! You're definitely getting somewhere with diagnosing her faster than me anyway! That's quite interesting, I wonder as well if the fact that she was so thin meant she had feck all fat left in her to break down in order to absorb it?
    Worth a try making sure she's well conditioned going into the shed this winter anyway.

I'm not sure on that one.

I'm delegating that one to Greysides.:pac: