Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ah no, sure the teachers would start at the same time as well:pac:

Good luck running an 8am school start past the INTO and the TUI !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

whelan2 wrote: »
    That would be totally confusing, would that mean the kids would be an hour early for school or an hour late?

In Kilkenny it used to be extra confusing! Always get a laugh at this article.

http://www.advertiser.ie/kilkenny/article/33627/caught-in-a-time-warp-the-battle-of-the-clocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Good luck running an 8am school start past the INTO and the TUI !
    School will still start at 9.

Just when 9 actually happens will be at a different time:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

It's snowing lads did any of ye know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I said wrote: »
    It's snowing lads did any of ye know that

Ah that's what it is! And there was me thinking I had very bad dandruff this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Ah that's what it is! And there was me thinking I had very bad dandruff this morning.

Psoriasis?

I said wrote: »
    Psoriasis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

reggie and his mates are out walkin the hill today...nearly perfect whiteout conditions with snow and fog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    reggie and his mates are out walkin the hill today...nearly perfect whiteout conditions with snow and fog

Jaysus it def wasn't me today anyways. In such conditions always trust your compass and not your eyes

I've an intriguing cow-heifer here at the moment. She was rake thin all winter, took the calf off her at 5months (December) to see if it would make a difference, was getting 2.5kg of calf nuts per day all winter as well.
    When we were feeding the dry cow outside, we put her out with her for company so have had her outside for the last month or that. There's a bit of picking but not much, still getting maybe 1.5/2kg of nuts a day.
    But the difference in her in phenomenal, she's fleshed over completely, even her hair has lost its dry/pale/brittle look and she's practically putting weight on by the day. Same thing happened her in the shed as a yearling, just went backwards altogether.

Would it be possible that she's not processing the silage correctly? She wasn't being bullied on the slats either. And she was done for rumen/liver fluke/worms twice; in summer & after she was in the shed a month or that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Is she a very timid heifer? Sometimes if they are getting bullied in a shed, they don't thrive at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Would she have been lacking some organic compound, that she can get when outside?
    Was she able to get ivy off trees or something?
    Just guessing here (as you may have spotted!)

Is she a very timid heifer? Sometimes if they are getting bullied in a shed, they don't thrive at all.

Not particularly timid, not bossy either, just holds her own. Was only 3 others in the pen with her too so plenty of space.
    Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Would she have been lacking some organic compound, that she can get when outside?
    Was she able to get ivy off trees or something?
    Just guessing here (as you may have spotted!)

That's quite possible, though the cattle were getting that mineral powder on the silage all winter. She has been at ivy but since Doris knocked a couple of trees there's not much hunting for it. Food for thought there though. I was going to get her blooded but last time vet was out he had no blood tubes, no point calling him out to blood one animal!

But the difference in her in phenomenal, she's fleshed over completely, even her hair has lost its dry/pale/brittle look and she's practically putting weight on by the day. Same thing happened her in the shed as a yearling, just went backwards altogether.

Did she loose any hair?
    How were her feet?
    The hair bit is making me think selenium or zinc.
    Or the fact she's in the shed maybe vit D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I've an intriguing cow-heifer here at the moment. She was rake thin all winter, took the calf off her at 5months (December) to see if it would make a difference, was getting 2.5kg of calf nuts per day all winter as well.
    When we were feeding the dry cow outside, we put her out with her for company so have had her outside for the last month or that. There's a bit of picking but not much, still getting maybe 1.5/2kg of nuts a day.

Would it be possible that she's not processing the silage correctly? She wasn't being bullied on the slats either. And she was done for rumen/liver fluke/worms twice; in summer & after she was in the shed a month or that.
    I wonder did she fracture or sprain a joint when she was a calf or yearling and the concrete brings back the aggrevation.
    I know when I was thirteen I grabbed a whitehead bull calf by the back leg and sprained my wrist. Not broken but sprained. It still pains me sometimes if I twist it the wrong way or put a lot of pressure on it. If it was a break it would have mended properly by now but a sprain can come back to haunt you in the future.

Or else she could just be a bit of a loner cow who likes her own company.
    We had one of them here who would stand on her own and only eat at night when the other cows were away from the feeding barrier.
    Even in the field when bringing in the cows for milking she wouldn't come in with the herd and you would have to go and get her.

Did she loose any hair?
    How were her feet?
    The hair bit is making me think selenium or zinc.
    Or the fact she's in the shed maybe vit D

No, lost no hair at all, just very dry looking, she's a ped limo but is very pale in herself. She got a multivit there in November and we tried her with copper before as well. Feet are 100%, better than my own I'd say. She had a scour that wouldn't clear up back when she first went into the shed, which is why I'm thinking it's the silage. It only cleared up when we put all the cows onto haylage.
    pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I wonder did she fracture or sprain a joint when she was a calf or yearling and the concrete brings back the aggrevation.
    I know when I was thirteen I grabbed a whitehead bull calf by the back leg and sprained my wrist. Not broken but sprained. It still pains me sometimes if I twist it the wrong way or put a lot of pressure on it. If it was a break it would have mended properly by now but a sprain can come back to haunt you in the future.

Or else she could just be a bit of a loner cow who likes her own company.
    We had one of them here who would stand on her own and only eat at night when the other cows were away from the feeding barrier.
    Even in the field when bringing in the cows for milking she wouldn't come in with the herd and you would have to go and get her.

Not a single injury that I can think of, she was a perfect looking animal until she was put into the shed for her first winter, she just went backwards in herself. Then went out for two months and she bloomed up again.
    Would a dung sample shed any light on it I wonder?

No, lost no hair at all, just very dry looking, she's a ped limo but is very pale in herself. She got a multivit there in November and we tried her with copper before as well. Feet are 100%, better than my own I'd say. She had a scour that wouldn't clear up back when she first went into the shed, which is why I'm thinking it's the silage. It only cleared up when we put all the cows onto haylage.

Not a single injury that I can think of, she was a perfect looking animal until she was put into the shed for her first winter, she just went backwards in herself. Then went out for two months and she bloomed up again.
    Would a dung sample shed any light on it I wonder?
    Probably a blood sample would be more accurate.
    But then what to test for?

Anyway here's a handy link.
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~progers/scourall.htm

Probably a blood sample would be more accurate.
    But then what to test for?

Anyway here's a handy link.
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~progers/scourall.htm

Test for everything :pac: If she's still in the field next to the crush when we have a vet out next I'll make sure to tell him to bring sample tubes for blood.

I dunno tbh, she's got everything I can think of, though a dose of Growvite or similar wouldn't hurt I reckon. It's just so strange to see the complete change in her as soon as she went out of the shed. I suppose if her gut was off going into the shed, we started them off on wet silage which wouldn't have helped her.

I wonder has anyone here actually looked at the CSO website?
    Lots of good info.

http://www.cso.ie/multiquicktables/quickTables.aspx?id=aca01_3

What happened in 2011 that gave the bump in payments across most regions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

What happened in 2011 that gave the bump in payments across most regions?

Enda of course

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Vitamin A deficiency? ......... Hardly......

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Vitamin A deficiency? ......... Hardly......

Doesn't sound like it, bar the rough coat. And I wouldn't have a clue how she'd get it and not the others in the pen. Pretty sure the nuts she was/is on has a whole host of added vit/minerals too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Doesn't sound like it, bar the rough coat. And I wouldn't have a clue how she'd get it and not the others in the pen. Pretty sure the nuts she was/is on has a whole host of added vit/minerals too.

Sore feet ??
    We had a heifer with bad feet and she wasted away on the slats and returned to health on grass. Hoof man said it was a genetic deficiency

Guess the second tractor may have to wait.....:(

Looks like a new addition to the workforce is in production :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Reggie. wrote: »

If I decipher that correctly I think congratulations are in order!! :pac:

Parishlad wrote: »
    If I decipher that correctly I think congratulations are in order!! :pac:

I never make things easy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

A mini Reggie?

Shannon757 wrote: »
    A mini Reggie?

Another mini

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Another mini

Congratulations :)