Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Reggie. wrote: »
    Got it for €42 a bag. Got ten. Had to engage the puppy dog eyes tho

Steap enough how long will each bag last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    6 on top and 3 in the trailer, weight of each 200kgs(ish) and a tonne of trailer is 2.8tonne. with guestimate figures

Looks more like hay than straw to me.

naughto wrote: »
    Steap enough how long will each bag last

Feeding 6 calves about 4 to 5 days

whelan2 wrote: »
    When are you getting the calves?

Today. Heading up your direction for 2pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

davidk1394 wrote: »
    He had no taco anyway so he was going to be in bother. But i think the guards need to looked into after all the carry on from last week. Some seem to be a law unto themselves

Ah the good oul days of free hair cuts and taxi rides. :)
    Are people only copping on now?
    It's no harm the guard's are being brought into the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Looks more like hay than straw to me.

That'd put it over alright, but it'd be close. (Using 300kg per bale)

ganmo wrote: »
    That'd put it over alright, but it'd be close. (Using 300kg per bale)

Hay would have to be hitting 400kg wouldn't it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Hay would have to be hitting 400kg wouldn't it
    Handy link for weights of straw https://www.teagasc.ie/media/website/animals/dairy/Bale_size.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Ah the good oul days of free hair cuts and taxi rides. :)
    Are people only copping on now?
    It's no harm the guard's are being brought into the 21st century.

A local tradesman always said that Joe public would ask what do I owe you? while a guard would ask do I owe you anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Youngest home from college for the first time since Jan. Setting up for an early start in the morning bringing mammy fishing for Mothers Day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Grueller wrote: »
    A local tradesman always said that Joe public would ask what do I owe you? while a guard would ask do I owe you anything?

Now that you mention it , I did a job for a guard a while back . I had it priced at 900 and when I was finished he told me his mate reckoned it could have been done for 500 and could I wait a week . A good few weeks of unanswered mobile calls before I had to leave a msg at the station he worked out of that the plasterer that did a job for him was looking for him and he got back to me quick enough :D
    Paid me 500 and told me to wait for the rest , I left another msg first thing in the morn and got the rest and a bollicking :D
    I wouldnt mind giving them a discount if you could trust them to do you a favour but I wouldnt trust a lazy guard to tie their laces in the morning not too mind anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Bullocks wrote: »
    I wouldnt mind giving them a discount if you could trust them to do you a favour but I wouldnt trust a lazy guard to tie their laces in the morning not too mind anything else

Always ask a busy person to get something done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Grueller wrote: »

Years ago a neighbour was stopped by the guards in his truck. When the guard was checking the truck paddy said "i was going to join the guards at one stage" the guard said "ooh really and how come you didn't?" Paddy said " I failed the ignorance test" as you could imagine the guard wasn't too impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Years ago a neighbour was stopped by the guards in his truck. When the guard was checking the truck paddy said "i was going to join the guards at one stage" the guard said "ooh really and how come you didn't?" Paddy said " I failed the ignorance test" as you could imagine the guard wasn't too impressed

I witnessed a similar one years ago in a pub at closing time. The guards came in to clear the place and a local told him he was goin to join up at one stage too..... He said he was thick enough but not tall enough.

It's a thankless job all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sold three June bulls at home yesterday for 950, was only getting 600 at the mart for them last November :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Posted on here a few weeks ago about a car crash at the end of our lane, it was a garda chase. They chased the car for over 8 miles before it crashed, within minutes there were 8 squad cars , 4 ambulances , fire brigades etc. Local shop was robbed at gun point had to wait 30 minutes for a squad car to come. When the crash was reported it was a single vehicle collision not a chaes, it was all cleared up really quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

When I was in Dublin, I shared a house with a couple of guards for a while. I used to get into Coppers for free. Just walk in the middle of a group of them while they all flashed their badges. Hated the place. It was like going to war every time you went to the bar.

On a positive note you got in for free :)

The new recruits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The new recruits

Three of each. Ha.
    It's like Munster against the All Blacks.;)
    Nice healthy looking calves.

Before I go. That red calf square on hasn't got a swelled navel or a bit of a rupture??

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Three of each. Ha.
    It's like Munster against the All Blacks.;)
    Nice healthy looking calves.

Before I go. That red calf square on hasn't got a swelled navel or a bit of a rupture??

No. But I thought the same. Looks a bit big

Don't forget to put your clocks forward tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

The new recruits

How long did it take you to get them split according to colour

Actually first time round. The three white heads stayed away from the feeder and I thought they were going to have to be trained. Once encouraged to the feeder they latched on. Bit of a relief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Fecking Meteor and their fecking outages all over the country! Must have turned my phone on and off a dozen times thinking I'd fried it earlier by dropping it on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

The new recruits

How many do you plan on keeping?

IH784man wrote: »
    How many do you plan on keeping?

I'll rear all 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The new recruits
    Best of luck with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

I'll rear all 6

Until what age

naughto wrote: »
    Until what age

22 or 24 months