Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Right night last night at the saw doctors in Kilkenny. Back to reality fairly quick. Had to get a vet out this morning to get 2 lambs out of a ewe. But their both alive and well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Two calves as right as rain today. The amount of little ailments I manage to detect at that time of night is huge by comparison to when I am actually running around the yard getting stuff done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Muckit wrote: »
    Well did the little man sleep in new surroundings? And more importantly did mammy and Daddy get to sleep? I find that takes the good out of the few pints !

Did he fcuk. Going on mini holiday with kids is not a holiday. Its just stress. Wasn't able to enjoy pints as i knew the kids would be awake half the night in the hotel room. Came back home tired.

Had a funeral tp go to yesterday, the mother of one of my friends. Some session afterwards, sick as a small hospital today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I'm in ribbons went for one last night the usual story filled it,and back to work tomorrow after a week off the horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Right night last night at the saw doctors in Kilkenny. Back to reality fairly quick. Had to get a vet out this morning to get 2 lambs out of a ewe. But their both alive and well

What a night so it was I'm in a bad state today though

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Went to the big smoke to see the gruffalo and room on a broom with music performed by the national concert orchestra.

Second we hit Dublin, small ladies temp went to 40c and she three up. Lucky there was a bus stop to sort her.

She demanded to go to the concert and really enjoyed it.

Temp down now.

Dunno how people do long drives everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Did he fcuk. Going on mini holiday with kids is not a holiday. Its just stress.

I couldn't agree more. I said this at work and got quare looks, but it's the truth. And IMO when they're small they don't get the good out of it. A few day trips are better. And reserve the night away for mammy and daddy. It's a previlige that we still can avail of with family help and having just the one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Went to the big smoke to see the gruffalo and room on a broom with music performed by the national concert orchestra.

Second we hit Dublin, small ladies temp went to 40c and she three up. Lucky there was a bus stop to sort her.

Temp down now.

Christ, you drive from Clare to Dublin for the day? How long is that - must be 3 hrs each way (depends on what part of Clare I suppose)

Glad to hear all ended well... fair play for doing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Temp down now.

Daughter had a high temperature here last week. She went sleepwalking. Ended up downstairs. Brought her to doctors. Sinus infection. €99 between doctors and chemist. She's 13!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Christ, you drive from Clare to Dublin for the day? How long is that - must be 3 hrs each way (depends on what part of Clare I suppose)

Did it myself Friday going up to Croker. Basically 3hrs alright from North Clare, you'd be sick of the car by the time your home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Did it myself Friday going up to Croker. Basically 3hrs alright from North Clare, you'd be sick of the car by the time your home.

Now you know how mayo fans feel every September with the loss and long drive;)

whelan2 wrote: »
    Daughter had a high temperature here last week. She went sleepwalking. Ended up downstairs. Brought her to doctors. Sinus infection. €99 between doctors and chemist. She's 13!

Story could be worse Whelan, local man went sleep walking last week and fell down the stairs. Broke a few vertebrae, collar bone, jaw bone, something else in his shoulder and ruptured his ear drum. A very very lucky man not to be paralysed.

I went from very west Clare to Dublin for an hour!!! Well an hour walking around shops and getting there and the show was an hour.

Either that or the small one would only have the trad side of culture.

Works out about 3 hours straight driving but we always stop for grub and coffees to keep me going.

Now you know how mayo fans feel every September with the loss and long drive;)

I wouldn't have much sympathy for them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I

Either that or the small one would only have the trad side of culture.

Jaysus, now you're making me feel bad. I am not sure my crew here get any culture 'tall, never mind just the trad side... ;):(

Story could be worse Whelan, local man went sleep walking last week and fell down the stairs. Broke a few vertebrae, collar bone, jaw bone, something else in his shoulder and ruptured his ear drum. A very very lucky man not to be paralysed.
    Ye its normally the young lad who sleepwalks here. We put the stair gate back on the stairs but she opened it :rolleyes:

Jaysus, now you're making me feel bad. I am not sure my crew here get any culture 'tall, never mind just the trad side... ;):(

''Twas a New Years resolution- to do stuff and not regret not doing it.

I try to get her to experience a few things. She's 2 and a quarter and been to a few things. Next thing is a band called the specks who sing nursery rhymes to trad music. Then back to concert orchestra in may for roald Dahl short stories. That, the fleadh and a bit of willie Clancy.

If I didn't do, mrs knight and I would keep working and then realise we've nothing done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

What a night so it was I'm in a bad state today though

You sounded like a man who had one thing on his mind ;). Was it a late one ?

''Twas a New Years resolution- to do stuff and not regret not doing it.

I try to get her to experience a few things. She's 2 and a quarter and been to a few things. Next thing is a band called the specks who sing nursery rhymes to trad music. Then back to concert orchestra in may for roald Dahl short stories. That, the fleadh and a bit of willie Clancy.

If I didn't do, mrs knight and I would keep working and then realise we've nothing done.
    Fair play, we went to the local for our tea yesterday evening. One of the waitresses was saying there was a band playing in the evening on St Patricks day, there were kids still running around the bar at 9.30pm, no place for kids at the best of times but to spend their St Patricks day in a pub is wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Went from East Clare to Dublin myself yesterday. Took the train and you wouldn't feel it by the time your up there. 20 mins in to town and 2 and a half hours up.

I was at a st Patrick's parade once and the pub had balloon animals being made to sell to the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

One of the lads at work has a 10 yr old that just started sleepwalking . He has to put up stairs gates again
    He just started playing chess and they reckon he sleepwalks every Wednesday after his chess game !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Talking to neighbour today, an ex Dublin wan. Saying she was to busy to do shopping (well golf can be quite time consuming) and so she would order stuff online from Tesco and they'd deliver it. It was great that the rural area was now as advanced as the city. This was progress she said.
    Not modern at all says I. About 40 years ago, before Internet or any that stuff, a man used to call to my mother with a 'travelling shop'. The vast majority of the stuff that was wanted for the week was in the van. He knew Mrs Brady wanted sugar every week and Mrs Smith only wanted sugar every month (or whatever). If you had no money he waited for a few weeks till you had, or maybe part payment with eggs. If you weren't there he left the stuff anyway cos he had a fair idea what you wanted. I There was never any hassle and you were interacting with a local man and helping a local business. So how is this progress?
    Not sure she agreed with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Out checking the cows tonight and I don't know if what we are at -clearing all furze / scrub/ shelter to avoid penalties is fair on the animals either .. 2 day old heifer calf curled up in a furze bush that I meant to light in Feb but was too wet.. She glad of it tonight not a puff in there !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭visatorro

Talking to neighbour today, an ex Dublin wan. Saying she was to busy to do shopping (well golf can be quite time consuming) and so she would order stuff online from Tesco and they'd deliver it. It was great that the rural area was now as advanced as the city. This was progress she said.
    Not modern at all says I. About 40 years ago, before Internet or any that stuff, a man used to call to my mother with a 'travelling shop'. The vast majority of the stuff that was wanted for the week was in the van. He knew Mrs Brady wanted sugar every week and Mrs Smith only wanted sugar every month (or whatever). If you had no money he waited for a few weeks till you had, or maybe part payment with eggs. If you weren't there he left the stuff anyway cos he had a fair idea what you wanted. I There was never any hassle and you were interacting with a local man and helping a local business. So how is this progress?
    Not sure she agreed with me.

I remember there was a bread man and a fish man going around. The breadman would have milk sweets eggs and bread obviously. Papers aswell. I can't remember what else the fish man sold but I remember we had a pole bolted to the house and they'd leave stuff hanging out of it if there was no one about. That's twenty years ago now. There's still a milkman operating locally. He delivers to shop's but drops off at a good few house's still. Milk is no cheaper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Diarmuid B

Let the cows out from the shed last weekend and I've noticed several bald patches developing on one of the cows. All the others are fine except her. They've all been treated twice with pour on so I'm not too sure what this could be. Any thoughts??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Spent north of €100 on petrol this week.
    January can't come quick enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Spent north of €100 on petrol this week.
    January can't come quick enough!!

What's January.....new job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Reggie. wrote: »
    What's January.....new job?

Shoulda said that.
    I'll be 25 in December. January will be 2018.
    New van!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Diarmuid B wrote: »
    Let the cows out from the shed last weekend and I've noticed several bald patches developing on one of the cows. All the others are fine except her. They've all been treated twice with pour on so I'm not too sure what this could be. Any thoughts??

If last weekend was sunny, if so it could be photosensitisation but wasn't last weekend shíte mainly?. Did your fodder this year have ragwort in it?

What breed is she actually? I've two cows here that go pure bald in spring cause there's blonde in them.