Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what you playing at the mo? Retro Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,557 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I saw some gameplay footage of the N64 on YouTube a while ago. Couldn't believe how nice it looked with some good connections and in 60hz. I always rememeber it looking really blocky and crap back when i played it. I must pick up one and get an everdrive

I always thought that about the N64 in general tbh.

Have really been getting stuck into some games though with the RGB modded one I picked up a year or two ago. It makes such a colossal difference. You can actually see the bloody games!

Was playing Goldeneye last night and I have to say, it wasn't actually too bad at all :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I have an N64 Everdrive, great pieces of kit.
    I have an NTSC N64, which means I can get the proper speed and less/no borders from my games.
    My one is keyed to the region, though the new one is region free.
    You can also patch games to remove the anti-aliasing too, which can improve some games too.

Master of the Universe

The one I got is a Jap console with both the RGB and automatic region switch mod. The LED displays a different colour dependant on region. Really is a lovely bit of kit and if I remember correctly it wasn't mental money either.

Yeah I'd really love to try out that Vaseline blur removal patch on a few games. Anyone here ever give it a go on real hardware?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Freedom Planet (alternatively, other-Sonic 4).

The whole experience improves if you switch off the cut-scenes and whatnot.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Freedom Planet (alternatively, other-Sonic 4).

The whole experience improves if you switch off the cut-scenes and whatnot.

Must try that again.
    I have it but it feels like a Sonic hack and not even a good one to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Must try that again.
    I have it but it feels like a Sonic hack and not even a good one to me.

So, like Sonic CD?

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    So, like Sonic CD?

Ha, very good... :)

Threw myself into the original Legend of Zelda last night.
    I've never played it before and though an oldie it's still good fun.
    Figure I'll get through it before the new one lands with the Switch in just over two weeks time.

Followed that session with an hour of shooters on the Megadrive, mostly Truxton, great game too

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Threw myself into the original Legend of Zelda last night.
    I've never played it before and though an oldie it's still good fun.
    Figure I'll get through it before the new one lands with the Switch in just over two weeks time.

Followed that session with an hour of shooters on the Megadrive, mostly Truxton, great game too

Good luck with LoZ. The game gets insanely tough later on and if you are playing without a guide finding some of the dungeons can be very tough.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Good luck with LoZ. The game gets insanely tough later on and if you are playing without a guide finding some of the dungeons can be very tough.

Well, I have a date of completion set for the 2nd of March.... can't think why!

Master of the Universe

Got my WiiU set up and running this evening for the first time in about two years. Started Xenoblade Chronicles X - what a gorgeous looking game. I'm a bit taken aback that the oul WiiU can output something as nice as that.

Also started Freedom Planet, anyone ever give that a go? It's pretty much a 2D Sonic game without Sonic.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

o1s1n wrote: »
    Got my WiiU set up and running this evening for the first time in about two years. Started Xenoblade Chronicles X - what a gorgeous looking game. I'm a bit taken aback that the oul WiiU can output something as nice as that.

Also started Freedom Planet, anyone ever give that a go? It's pretty much a 2D Sonic game without Sonic.

Yeah Xenoblade X is very impressive indeed. The Wonderful 101 is another gorgeous looking game - to be fair the Wii-U has tons of great games.

Closest I'm getting to retro gaming these days is watching the lads play Super Meat Boy and other 360 games on the XB1. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

I'm playing vice city via the ps3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Inviere

Still battling through Super Metroid, it's some game. Very enjoyable, and while I'm not using any guides or faq's, I will admit to using save states :o

Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Yeah Xenoblade X is very impressive indeed. The Wonderful 101 is another gorgeous looking game - to be fair the Wii-U has tons of great games.

Closest I'm getting to retro gaming these days is watching the lads play Super Meat Boy and other 360 games on the XB1. :)

How are they faring at Super Meat Boy? good game to hone their skills, they'll be 1CCing shmups before you know it :D

I've been playing the Sega Nomad quite a bit the last few days. It was in a lockup for a year and a half and the battery still seems to have a full charge :D
    Inviere wrote: »
    Still battling through Super Metroid, it's some game. Very enjoyable, and while I'm not using any guides or faq's, I will admit to using save states :o

Save states? not using that Jap cart no? :eek:

The battery and screen mod for the Nomad is a boss alright.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Save states? not using that Jap cart no? :eek:

Nope, unfortunately. No space for a CRT, & my new tv doesn't even have a scart socket - that means scalers & the whole cycle back to an Xrgb again. Way too dear, so will wait patiently until I can go back to using a proper CRT. Until then, it's a Pi 3...and faring, very, very well it is at that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Playing Diablo(s) at the moment (the original on an old PC and latest one on PS4)

Cidonalad is currently p1ssing his way through Dark Souls...
    If he beats the Hydra easily I will give up gaming to play only finger tapping games on my phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Fair play to him, i took back up Dark Souls 2 recently, slowly getting through it.
    Too many options for my liking, give me Dark Souls in arcade mode, one shield and one sword that you can upgrade.

Ha!
    He is stuck on both Capra Demon and Hydra!
    Smugness increased!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Everyone gets stuck there. We'll see if he is better than his dad soon enough :)

Master of the Universe

Ah the Capra Demon, more a fight against bad boss design/random chance than anything else. Pain in the tits! God speed, Cidona Jr :)

Everyone gets stuck there. We'll see if he is better than his dad soon enough :)

We'll know if he sells the game first, then re-buys it to finish it later on...

He beat him already, lobbed a firebomb over the wall then went in and bate the sh1te out of him.
    I'm now going to put all my games in his name and spend my lifetime perfecting my Candy Crush scores....
    I'll be resigning of course and Cidonalad will be the youngest Mod/CatMod ever....

He beat him already, lobbed a firebomb over the wall then went in and bate the sh1te out of him.
    I'm now going to put all my games in his name and spend my lifetime perfecting my Candy Crush scores....
    I'll be resigning of course and Cidonalad will be the youngest Mod/CatMod ever....

As Eamon Dunphy would put it.

'Nothing but a casual player Bill. A showboater. Found out tonight.'

As Eamon Dunphy would put it.

'Nothing but a casual player Bill. A showboater. Found out tonight.'

He is lashing through the blasted thing.
    Just got the Blight town key and is on course to mill through it.

My Candy Crush scores have reached a standstill.
    I am possibly just going to play Tiger LCD handhelds from the 80's....

He still has the Anor Londo archers and Ornstein and Smough.

Once he gets far enough you should tell him about some of the hidden areas and the DLC, they are very easy to miss.

He still has the Anor Londo archers and Ornstein and Smough.

Once he gets far enough you should tell him about some of the hidden areas and the DLC, they are very easy to miss.

Sadly he is farther along than I ever was, so I have no help to give.
    Feck him anyway... He's finished more games in the last month than I did last year!

To be honest... he's kind of on the home stretch now.