Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hail To The Chief (Read Mod Warning In OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Trump sells himself as the great business man, he gets things done.

No matter what way you look at this, and I agree that in some cases it is being overblown, but in making decisions he does need to take into consideration PR and this is a PR disaster.

He has a good meeting with May, and within 24 hours she is back-peddling furiously from him.

He is only considering what is good for him, not good for the country. Plenty of ways this could have been done to get to the same result without all the crap that is surrounding it. This is nothing more than a PR stunt to suit him and his base, with no consideration of the wider implications.

The man, and those around him, have no experience of politics and it is showing.

Regardless of how one thing Obama did on the economy, crime etc, there is no doubt that US standing within the West improved after the disaster of W Bush. Trump has already started to erode much of that good work.

May had no option but to grovel at the feet of Trump. Much in the same way Tony Blair did with Bush but now she has even less options now that the UK is leaving the EU.

What I really fear is that this is could to jump from one diplomatic crisis to another and could possibly end up with disastrous consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Firefox11 wrote: »
    May had no option but to grovel at the feet of Trump. Much in the same way Tony Blair did with Bush but now she has even less options now that the UK is leaving the EU.

What I really fear is that this is could to jump from one diplomatic crisis to another and could possibly end up with disastrous consequences.

Well some people knew this was going to happen, it amazes me the media and people in high authority thought he was joking. Just like Hitler dictators don't back down they say what they mean.

Its not scaremongering or fear reporting anymore war with China or North Korea Military is coming and can only be stopped if we stop Trump? Any conflict between superpowers is a danger to the our climate, social cohesion, and never mind could trigger another economic crisis.. Media is blind to the real dangers.

China military latest prediction should scare people.

War with the US under Donald Trump is “not just a slogan” and becoming a “practical reality”, a senior Chinese military official has said.

The remarks were published on the People’s Liberation Army website, apparently in response to the aggressive rhetoric towards China from America's new administration.The official also called for military deployments in the tense South and East China Seas and for a missile defence system to guard the Korean peninsula, another regional hotspot, the Post reported.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/china-donald-trump-war-us-military-official-practical-reality-president-latest-a7550601.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

The last guy who knew anything about war in China was Sun Tzu. America would destroy China.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

The last guy who knew anything about war in China was Sun Tzu. America would destroy China.

Well, it's good to see that you're so passionate about provoking a world war.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Here's a good summation of his first week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Do you realise what you are talking about? Millions and millions of deaths. Total economic collapse across the globe.

Trump's acolytes will gleefully great utter destruction. Bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/petition-calling-for-ban-on-donald-trump-hits-100000-signatures-in-less-than-5-hours-a7551756.html

So, basically his Inaugeration crowd :pac:

At least it is to be debated. May is getting into an increasingly tight spot between leaving EU markets on one side and hitching the UK to this firework across the Atlantic. At some point it is probably going to explode in a shower of orange sparks.

Do you realise what you are talking about? Millions and millions of deaths. Total economic collapse across the globe.

Sounds like fake news. Name one war that people have suffered in.

1) - It isn't going to happen
    2) - I actually like China
    3) - Trump should combat Islamism and get China on his side alongside Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

So just a quasi-religious crusade....

Dude just play Age of Empires.

Crusader Kings would be better.

The war has been going on for years. Trump is now in a position to destroy ISIS and support the Assad regime to protect the Christian minorities in Syria. Trump should not let ISIS supporting Rebels win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,832 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Total war would be far better (The game, not an actual war)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

dav3 wrote: »
    I think we're seeing the Streisand Effect in full force against trump. The more people see hysterical posts like the one above or hear steve bannan trying to silence the media, the more they're going to talk about him, it's human nature.

'OMG leave the dear leader alone, stop talking about him!' will just make people talk about him even more.

The same people that have been bleating on about free speech for the past couple of years now want it curbed. If you don't like what someone says on the internet, you should toughen up, you don't get the right to reply and if you do you're referred to as a snowflake. These are the rules laid out by trump, bannon and his far-right internet minions. Live by the sword, die by the sword.

That might hold some merit if the people spouting the opinions had an idea what they were on about. For example, one talking head said that the US government wasn't banning Saudis, Emiratis and Lebanese, despite those being the identities of the 9/11 hijackers, going on to say that the citizens of the countries banned have never taken part in acts of terror against the US.

Of the banned states, Somali refugees have been involved in at least two lone wolf attacks, at least one failed terror plot and have sent dozens of Somali Americans to fight with ISIS and Al Shahab.
    There were Sudanese and Iraqi nationals involved in the 1993 WTC attack.
    There were Yemeni Americans indicted in a post 9/11 plot. Not to mention Anwar Al Awlaki.

Like, criticise all you want if you know what you're talking about, but if you can't even get the basic facts right these lads need to quit embarrassing themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭SkinnyBuddha

if only it was crusader kings....Trumpski would of been disposed off before he reached 16 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Well some people knew this was going to happen, it amazes me the media and people in high authority thought he was joking. Just like Hitler dictators don't back down they say what they mean.

Its not scaremongering or fear reporting anymore war with China or North Korea Military is coming and can only be stopped if we stop Trump? Any conflict between superpowers is a danger to the our climate, social cohesion, and never mind could trigger another economic crisis.. Media is blind to the real dangers.

China military latest prediction should scare people.

War with the US under Donald Trump is “not just a slogan” and becoming a “practical reality”, a senior Chinese military official has said.

The remarks were published on the People’s Liberation Army website, apparently in response to the aggressive rhetoric towards China from America's new administration.The official also called for military deployments in the tense South and East China Seas and for a missile defence system to guard the Korean peninsula, another regional hotspot, the Post reported.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/china-donald-trump-war-us-military-official-practical-reality-president-latest-a7550601.html

I assume that the US is not that crazy to invite a war with China. One thing for sure is China won't go to war to save North Korea. Taiwan is another matter though.

1941-1945 was the last time America fought an enemy that was its match. Since then, America has fought enemies who were vastly inferior to it. A war with China, a vast army and a nuclear power, would be in no one's interests and unless the US becomes a total dictatorship lead by a large group of madmen, I cannot see it happening. If the president ordered it, the orders would be disobeyed by the other parties involved. I feel relations between the US and China could enter a cold war mode though.

War with China would destroy large parts of the world and lead to a Mad Max style economic breakdown elsewhere. Scarcities, war and revolution would happen everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭tigger123

That might hold some merit if the people spouting the opinions had an idea what they were on about. For example, one talking head said that the US government wasn't banning Saudis, Emiratis and Lebanese, despite those being the identities of the 9/11 hijackers, going on to say that the citizens of the countries banned have never taken part in acts of terror against the US.

Of the banned states, Somali refugees have been involved in at least two lone wolf attacks, at least one failed terror plot and have sent dozens of Somali Americans to fight with ISIS and Al Shahab.
    There were Sudanese and Iraqi nationals involved in the 1993 WTC attack.
    There were Yemeni Americans indicted in a post 9/11 plot.

Like, criticise all you want but if you can't even get the basic facts right these talking heads need to quit showing themselves up as the clueless buffoons that they are.

Most terrorism in the US is carried out by US citizens.

This hair brained b*lloxology wont make the US any safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,063 ✭✭✭conorhal

tigger123 wrote: »

Oh well as long it's 'most' terrorism I suppose they should import a little foreign terrorism, just for balance like.. wouldn't want to discriminatory :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

ISIS is dead in a matter of time anyway. They are continuously losing ground and rely on random people being inspired by them to get anything done.

conorhal wrote: »
    Oh well as long it's 'most' terrorism I suppose they should import a little foreign terrorism, just for balance like.. wouldn't want to discriminatory :rolleyes:

Think you're missing my point. He claims it's going to make the US safer, and it won't, not by a long shot. It's nonsense.

ISIS is dead in a matter of time anyway. They are continuously losing ground and rely on random people being inspired by them to get anything done.

Like Al Qaeda before them? Every time you think you've dealt with islamic extremism, like a virulent cancer it metastasizes, spreads and comes back worse then ever before. I dread to imagine what their next incarnation will look like.

US citizens of recent foreign origin, or converts.

There hasn't been a credible militia movement attack since the Atlanta Olympics.

Think you're missing my point. He claims it's going to make the US safer, and it won't, not by a long shot. It's nonsense.

Not giving visas to people from parts of the world that are terror hot spots isn't nonsense, it's common sense. The eejit badly needs to add Pakistan and Saudi to the list.

So why doesnt he?

Because all the blacklisted countries are either failed states or hostile states. Saudis have too many financial interests in the states to go blacklisting- a significant percentage of Trump's fortune probably originates from the princes gambling their endless supply of money in his casinos.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

So why doesnt he?

Nukes/vested interests?

Because all the blacklisted countries are either failed states or hostile states. Saudis have too many financial interests in the states to go blacklisting- a significant percentage of Trump's fortune probably originates from the princes gambling their endless supply of money in his casinos.

So he's already using the office of the President to safegaurd his own financial interests. What a guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,832 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The point is that refugees aren't dangerous.

I read somewhere that there's more americans fighting with ISIS than there are ISIS members in the US. Iraq is actually an ally in fighting ISIS.

The number of people in the US that are killed by terrorism is tiny. Should measures be taken to lower that number? Of course. No-one is saying we should ignore terrorism. But this response is like using a sledgehammer to crack a walnut. It's excessive and won't do any good at all.

So why doesnt he?

Money and back scratching, the same reason Clinton grounded organ transplant flights on 9/11 but allowed Saudi royals to fly out.
    Not that we can talk, after lowering our flags on state buildings to half mast as a token of respect to their odious regime when the last king died.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,381 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

peasant wrote: »
    Meanwhile, while nobody's looking, Trump appoints his alt right advisor Joseph Göbbels Stephen Bannon as permanent member to the National Security Council while putting the chairman of the joint chiefs of staff and the director of national intelligence on the back benches

http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheats/2017/01/29/bannon-joins-national-security-council.html?via=desktop&source=copyurl

So the national security policy of the USA will now be decided by the alt facts of the alt right.

Am I the only one who's scared by this? :eek:

He's also given Jared Kushner a regular seat on the NSC. So basically what Trump is saying is that his son-in-law knows more about national security and intelligence than the two most senior security and intelligence officials in the country. It's beyond mind-boggling trying to work out what thought processes are running through that little straw covered head of his, but it's inconceivable to think that this will end well.