Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers mentioning/promoting products

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I'm nearly sure she said on SC during the week if you used her discount code you could get 50 turkey burgers for €50, funnily enough on their site:
    https://www.kerriganmeats.ie/shop/foods-for-fitness/turkey/50-turkey-burger-bundle/

So was she offering another discount on top of this? Or claiming her coupon gave this discount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Did anyone ever establish if being gifted a car makes you liable to any sort of payments and do sports personalities fall under the same ASAI requirements as bloggers . P. Andrews (Dublin GAA) on instagram thanking Nearys Motors in Musk for sorting him and others out with a new Subaru. Nothing to say the motors weren't paid for, just wondering if the guidelines apply across all realms of social media personalities. Dublingaaofficial instagram also has that account mentioning that Subaru are now the official car partners to Dublin GAA. Would this be permitted without #ad or #spon or is it completely different for clubs and associations I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Ginny wrote: »
    I'm nearly sure she said on SC during the week if you used her discount code you could get 50 turkey burgers for €50, funnily enough on their site:
    https://www.kerriganmeats.ie/shop/foods-for-fitness/turkey/50-turkey-burger-bundle/

So was she offering another discount on top of this? Or claiming her coupon gave this discount?

That's their offer and I'd guess you get the discount after? Siobhan ohagan has it on her snapchat to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

It's the same for Munster rugby all the lads get new cars but I assume it's a bik issue

idunno78 wrote: »
    That's their offer and I'd guess you get the discount after? Siobhan ohagan has it on her snapchat to.
    Yeah Siobhan says they have them 50 for 50 as it is on the kerrigans site, I was nearly sure MUF said you got them 50 for 50 with her code?
    It's the same for Munster rugby all the lads get new cars but I assume it's a bik issue

Car companies sponsor the rugby teams as a whole so it would be a different situation. Now the likes of Jamie Heaslip is solely sponsored by Landrover, so I would assume he should be paying tax or bik?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Lunaarli

Haha,
    Facesbygrace on TV (Elaine TV3) right now with James Kavanagh..
    Talking about how you need to be transparent with snapchat!! Gas!!

idunno78 wrote: »
    Yeah Siobhan says they have them 50 for 50 as it is on the kerrigans site, I was nearly sure MUF said you got them 50 for 50 with her code?

Car companies sponsor the rugby teams as a whole so it would be a different situation. Now the likes of Jamie Heaslip is solely sponsored by Landrover, so I would assume he should be paying tax or bik?
    so your saying sponsoring a team is different to sponsoring a person? how does that work?
    its not a different situation, they sponsor the team, the players get cars and they pay BIK on it. its not brain surgery.
    a free car is a free car and BIK needs to be paid on this.

Jesus calm down.
    I'm not saying anything, it would be classed as a different scenario, given there are 3 parties involved.
    It is a different situation, the companies provide a fleet of cars to the rugby club, including kit vans. It will depend on if the cars are assigned to one player for the season, if they are allowed take them home etc.
    If they are given the sole use of one car then they should be charged bik, if the fleet are given to the club to distribute how they like then it is likely the cars are swapped around to avoid the bik, also you're not going to charge bik to the kitman driving the kit van around. There's a lot of loopholes both the car companies and teams could wrangle so players don't pay bik. It would be a grey area, whereas someone like Heaslip who was gifted a car would be in the same class as bloggers, but then again bloggers don't pay bik for their "loan" cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭tatumkelly

so your saying sponsoring a team is different to sponsoring a person? how does that work?
    its not a different situation, they sponsor the team, the players get cars and they pay BIK on it. its not brain surgery.
    a free car is a free car and BIK needs to be paid on this.

A free car is only a free car if the incidental expenses like tax and insurance are paid for by the sponsor. If the individual pays these, BIK can be avoided.

Jesus calm down.
    I'm not saying anything, it would be classed as a different scenario, given there are 3 parties involved.
    It is a different situation, the companies provide a fleet of cars to the rugby club, including kit vans. It will depend on if the cars are assigned to one player for the season, if they are allowed take them home etc.
    If they are given the sole use of one car then they should be charged bik, if the fleet are given to the club to distribute how they like then it is likely the cars are swapped around to avoid the bik, also you're not going to charge bik to the kitman driving the kit van around. There's a lot of loopholes both the car companies and teams could wrangle so players don't pay bik. It would be a grey area, whereas someone like Heaslip who was gifted a car would be in the same class as bloggers, but then again bloggers don't pay bik for their "loan" cars
    where am i not calm? mate chill out like i asked you a question on your point..., jesus people here are fecking tightly wound arnt they?
    in the case of the Munster team anyway they are each are given cars for 6 months these are fueled, insured etc and for personal and professional use. they are switched out every 6 months. they are given to each player on the squad and support staff. they pay BIK on this.
    if a blogger is given a ''promotional'' vehicle and they do not pay for it, rent it, or fuel it themselves then BIK must be paid. like Kelly says above.
    either way the idea of someone spinning around in a car they havnt paid for themselves and not being transparent in terms of, this has been gifted to me by 'brand' to see how i like it and tweet, blog, snap about it as a promotion is something the ASA will have to start enforcing. 
    even if brands start approaching bloggers saying listen we'll give you the car you have to pay for all the other ****e yourself but that way you dont have to disclose it or pay tax on it is still unethical.

Jesus calm down.

With Paddy Andrews post, seems like he along with others got sorted out with a Subaru from Neary's, Lusk and gives the impression it is replacing a previous vehicle, a Renault. Again, it all depends what sorting someone with a Subaru actually means. Doesn't necessarily mean he didn't pay, just seems like it.

Lunaarli wrote: »
    Haha,
    Facesbygrace on TV (Elaine TV3) right now with James Kavanagh..
    Talking about how you need to be transparent with snapchat!! Gas!!

Does she understand irony I wonder? Or double standards even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I still don't understand what the car companies are gaining from having a blogger as a brand ambassador? I had a quick nosy at the Makeup Fairy's instagram - since she got the red Renault, she has shown it just once on her instagram (excluding the day she picked it up). I don't follow her on snapchat so I can't see what she's posted there. Maybe she's posted it loads on snapchat, twitter, facebook, her blog, I dunno.

But if I was a car dealer and I had a vehicle out of my showroom, I would expect the depreciating cost of the vehicle to be somewhat balanced with the publicity and promotion of the same.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I still don't understand what the car companies are gaining from having a blogger as a brand ambassador? I had a quick nosy at the Makeup Fairy's instagram - since she got the red Renault, she has shown it just once on her instagram (excluding the day she picked it up). I don't follow her on snapchat so I can't see what she's posted there. Maybe she's posted it loads on snapchat, twitter, facebook, her blog, I dunno.

But if I was a car dealer and I had a vehicle out of my showroom, I would expect the depreciating cost of the vehicle to be somewhat balanced with the publicity and promotion of the same.

I was thinking the same thing. I didn't realise that she even had the red car until someone confirmed here the other day that she was given the red one in the latter half of 2016. Wonder is she ok driving it. It would have been a big step up size wise from her own car that she used to drive and show us.

i dunno, i do wonder who are the people in the world that pick out cars based on 'celebs' driving them though?

i know when i was 17/18 (even during the height of the boom) all everyone wanted was a new mini cooper, but i dont think that was celeb based... just a girl thing... but i dont think i know anyone who'd look at pippa or any of the other bloggers and go oh her car is nice ill get one of those...  8-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mekekka

She randomly shows it on snapchat, going through the carwash and that kind of thing but rarely if ever refers to it being sponsored at those times; however she does mention that she is their 'brand ambassador' a lot - some fashion show on in Renault Belgard this week which she is overseeing by the sounds of things. Just curious, is Rosie Con getting her Renault from the same place or is she 'brand ambassador' for a different Renault branch?

Mekekka wrote: »
    She randomly shows it on snapchat, going through the carwash and that kind of thing but rarely if ever refers to it being sponsored at those times; however she does mention that she is their 'brand ambassador' a lot - some fashion show on in Renault Belgard this week which she is overseeing by the sounds of things. Just curious, is Rosie Con getting her Renault from the same place or is she 'brand ambassador' for a different Renault branch?

Wouldn't follow her on snap chat so I haven't seen her promote the Renault by that means. She has Renault brand ambassador in her blog profile. Is that enough to cover the need to mention her collaboration? When she has the car on snap chat, did you ever notice the display of her N plate, just wondering?

Sue has never been a car brand ambassador has she? Wonder why her with one of the biggest followings has never been made an ambassador for a car brand.

I haven't but I'll keep an eye out ;) She usually shows the interior from the driver's seat or if she is showing the exterior she has an arty, half in frame shot going on (to hide the N plate?). Presume, but can't remember, that she has the branding in shot at these times.

Yeah, maybe that's it. Not sure what the problem with displaying an N plate is anyway. If nothing else, it's a legal requirement.

I'm guessing it doesn't fit the aesthetic!!

Imagine trying to explain that if ever reported to and caught by the local guards for not displaying the N plate whilst driving!

ratmouse wrote: »
    Imagine trying to explain that if ever reported to and caught by the local guards for not displaying the N plate whilst driving!

I meant as in she doesn't include it in her pics for that reason! I'm only guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DMarie1210

The make up fairy just explained on her snapchat that unless she is paid to snapchat about a product there is no #ad. So if a product is sent to her and she is not asked to talk about it and she decides to there is need for #ad or #spon.
    Is this just another way of not declaring ads ? I know alot of bloggers do mention at times oh u was sent this for free etc but alot dont. Case in point faces with the currys tv ? While yes she wasnt paid to talk about it she did recive a free tv so was more then likely gonna give them some advertising ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

i dunno, i do wonder who are the people in the world that pick out cars based on 'celebs' driving them though?

i know when i was 17/18 (even during the height of the boom) all everyone wanted was a new mini cooper, but i dont think that was celeb based... just a girl thing... but i dont think i know anyone who'd look at pippa or any of the other bloggers and go oh her car is nice ill get one of those...  8-)

I used to wonder the same thing, but my Dad commented once on Thelma Mansfield or someone who was recommending a particular insurance company at the time and I queried the same thing: 'are people really going to choose a company just because of her?' and he said 'yes'!!

The same can can be said for any sports stars etc endorsing a particular brand or product! It's obviously proven to work and have an effect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

DMarie1210 wrote: »
    The make up fairy just explained on her snapchat that unless she is paid to snapchat about a product there is no #ad. So if a product is sent to her and she is not asked to talk about it and she decides to there is need for #ad or #spon.
    Is this just another way of not declaring ads ? I know alot of bloggers do mention at times oh u was sent this for free etc but alot dont. Case in point faces with the currys tv ? While yes she wasnt paid to talk about it she did recive a free tv so was more then likely gonna give them some advertising ?

That's relying on her goodwill I guess. She doesn't have to declare it. It would be preferable and nice if she did, but she's not obliged to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

This is what I was saying before about SJ's video about her veneers. She offers a 'discount code' but there already was a discount on the veneers. It's shady because you don't get a further discount on top of the other offer because you can't double up.

This is the thing that should have a bigger spotlight on it. It's misrepresentation and I suppose people have to be vigilant themselves and look at everything before purchasing, but it's the influencers and companies that are putting out a claim that you can get this deal solely from using her discount count. It's false advertisement. Yes still is a deal to be had, but not through MUF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

I find it interesting that Rosanna Davison is on instagram promoting fitness equipment from Lidl with #sp (the most ambiguous of advertisement tags.)
    She says she picked it up this morning and that it was all for under 45 euro.
    She's definitely implying that she paid for it herself but she clearly didn't if the post is sponsored.

I'm fond of Rosanna and I do think she's a good fitness ambassador; she's in amazing shape, but the post is quite misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

DMarie1210 wrote: »

You see this is exactly what annoys me. Shes referencing PR post which is stuff thats sent to a bloggers/influencers without prior agreement so on that basis she's right. What they don't declare and what shes purposely distracting from is when they have a deal/agreement with a specific company that they will mention their brand or product repeatedly that they may not be paid cash for but they might be getting free gifts or goods or discounts.

Meaghers, Bella Baby, Kerrigans, MissFit Tea are a few regular ones i can think of where i am all but positive there is an agreement for goods in exchange for social media (as positive as i can be without proof). Theres also loads of one off examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Puggly

blairbear wrote: »
    I find it interesting that Rosanna Davison is on instagram promoting fitness equipment from Lidl with #sp (the most ambiguous of advertisement tags.)
    She says she picked it up this morning and that it was all for under 45 euro.
    She's definitely implying that she paid for it herself but she clearly didn't if the post is sponsored.

I'm fond of Rosanna and I do think she's a good fitness ambassador; she's in amazing shape, but the post is quite misleading.

I was watching her SC and was thinking it was #ad. Maybe the ASAI need to send out information packages to all the bloggers, influencers, pr companies and brands.