Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers mentioning/promoting products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Nikkid27

In terms of the car deal regarding Munster Rugby as the players are paid by Munster they are staff so would pay BIK on those cars. GAA players is a different story as technically GAA is amateur so they shouldn't be paid so I don't know how that would work and would be relatable to bloggers. It's frustratingly when I see people get away with it when I have to take my personal mileage from company mileage to see what percentage of BIK I will pay and they don't pay anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭scarbouro

blairbear wrote: »
    I find it interesting that Rosanna Davison is on instagram promoting fitness equipment from Lidl with #sp (the most ambiguous of advertisement tags.)
    She says she picked it up this morning and that it was all for under 45 euro.
    She's definitely implying that she paid for it herself but she clearly didn't if the post is sponsored.

I'm fond of Rosanna and I do think she's a good fitness ambassador; she's in amazing shape, but the post is quite misleading.

It definitely seemed like an ad to me as she was even wearing the sports bra and giving all the information on prices ect and then said she would show the equipment in more detail tomorrow as she was off out. Not once was there any mention of #ad. I find her particularly bad for not declaring things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

What's really ironic is that one of the reasons I like Rosanna is that I thought she paid for almost everything herself! Clearly not. More power to her if she gets sponsored by Lidl for this but just say that. And not with one little apologetic #sp on Instagram. Write #advertisement or #sponsoredpost.

She's an inoffensive lady and I do love her style and make up but it has me wondering how often before she wasn't declaring ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

Four bloggers have shown trilogy products today. Must have been a press drop.

I don't follow that many anymore so there could be more than the 4 I noticed :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

heyjude88 wrote: »
    Four bloggers have shown trilogy products today. Must have been a press drop.

I don't follow that many anymore so there could be more than the 4 I noticed :cool:

I'm pretty certain Pippa mentioned a few months back that she is working with Trilogy so her snaps today def should have been #ad.

Grace has said on snapchat she will be on spin talk today talking about the new blogging rules that were introduced yesterday. She then went on to speak about that she always #ads etc.

She should really know the old rules if she is being invited on to talk about the new rules.

Hope this post is on topic.... as she is talking about bloggers promoting stuff....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Lol at grace, got to admire the cheek of her though. She has more front than trinity college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

James K did #ad on his Bank of Ireland snaps yesterday, he's never done that before. Hopefully it will continue with all bloggers being more transparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Ladyleigh88

Spin 103.8 are now talking about bloggers using # and the new asai rules for anyone interested!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

Considering that Grace is the worst offender in all this regarding transparency, I find it incredulous that she's out there doing interviews anywhere she can talking about transparency.
    Mind you she's probably trying to get out ahead and try do some sort of damage control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Considering that Grace is the worst offender in all this regarding transparency, I find it incredulous that she's out there doing interviews anywhere she can talking about transparency.
    Mind you she's probably trying to get out ahead and try do some sort of damage control

I genuinely think she doesnt believe she does anything wrong. Like she cant see that pushing skinny teas she cant drink for the past year or constantly plugging meaghers shouldn't br tagged #ad or #spon.
    Her attitude about mothercare maternity when asked was "im not being paid, they contacted me and asked me to pick things"

Which you didn't pay for! This wasnt like they sent you stuff, you had an agreement to push their maternity clothes in exchange for goods. how is that not an ad and why can't they see that??

She was adamant on the Elaine show yesterday and on snapchat today that she follows the rules and is very transparent. So doubt she is doing damage control :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Is she getting paid for these interviews?

If she's one of the worst offenders, then that's quite shady behaviour.

I think the ASAI should consider doing a seminar on the new guidelines and invite all the well-known bloggers, to clarify what is acceptable, and what they're doing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Is she getting paid for these interviews?

If she's one of the worst offenders, then that's quite shady behaviour.

I think the ASAI should consider doing a seminar on the new guidelines and invite all the well-known bloggers, to clarify what is acceptable, and what they're doing wrong.

Or they should just sanction those doing stuff wrong and then suddenly they will be able to pick up the rules very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭IRE60

Let me chime in here in a timely fashion.

I think all bloggers know when they are bang out of order in terms of using/not using a #. If they don’t they: a) shouldn’t be doing the blogging and b) sent goods or services by some shady PR company without instructions on its use.

I think the new guidelines do add a much better clarity to the otherwise ‘wild west’. I think they over emphasised the ‘paid element’ and only rarely mentioned ‘free products’ which are covered like here in the pdf: “If however, an advertiser has paid the reviewer (directly or in kind) and where the advertiser has significant control over the content of the review “

It’s good and, to be honest I don’t think it would have come about with the haste it has without the various debates on the boards.ie – which acted as the catalyst to the change.

The age old problem is the ‘no teeth’ of the ASAI – regrettably. Its an industry run body with very limited powers.

However the brands have to take a hand in this and that they should insist that there is a #.

The out, again in the new guidelines, is the free stuff.

The guidelines say:
    “If the product is offered free, but with no expectation that there be a review or that there be a positive review (i.e. the advertiser has no control over any subsequent content) then the material is not marketing communications for the purposes of the ASAI Code” – thus avoiding falling foul of the guidelines

It’s a copout – why are they sent products in the first place – to hide them under the bed? It just wasn’t enough.

ED~ in fairness to the ASAI - I've always maintained that it would be nearly impossible to police 100%. They have at least acted to tighten things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

There are two kinds of beauty bloggers I like when it come to PR packages;

-bloggers that only recommend the few items they genuinely love, and have minimal recommendations in general
    -bloggers who tall about tonnes of products but give negative reviews of products also

If you recommend loads of products all the time that you've got for free and never say a bad word because your afraid of being removed from a PR list then, I'm sorry, but you have no integrity and the big cosmetics companies etc. are using you for cheap advertising!

Why isn't integrity important any more for beauty blogging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

I'm just wondering are the guideline still the exact (looks like to me they are) same except now the ASAI are going to make sure they are followed now? I'm a bit confused by it all to be honest! Maybe I'm missing something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

Had to laugh at Rosie Connolly on Snapchat yesterday saying the was going to working with fewer brands this year and would only be workings with ones she really believed in or trusted or something to that effect. Then she quickly backtracked once she realised it sounded like she was saying previously she worked with brands she didn't really believe in or trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭A_smurf

Toastytoes wrote: »
    Had to laugh at Rosie Connolly on Snapchat yesterday saying the was going to working with fewer brands this year and would only be workings with ones she really believed in or trusted or something to that effect. Then she quickly backtracked once she realised it sounded like she was saying previously she worked with brands she didn't really believe in or trust.

I don't think anyone is surprised with that statement tbh. I don't mind what reasons they work with a brand for as long as they acknowledge when they promote products on snapchat, instagram etc that it is because of the promotion with said brand through pr or whatever. As long as they keep the promotion consistent and clear through all social media that it is an ad, then there isn't a problem.

This whole ambassador not having to #ad is a joke.

Grace literally snapped today she is trying her best this week to loose weight as it just isn't shifting....

Then a few snaps later she is mentioning and promoting the skinny tea she is ambassador for. She is recommending the 28 day challenge they do. She states that she has been following, "not exactly but most of the meals". No #ad.

If she stated she hasn't shifted any weight, then why does she promote the tea and meal plan if it doesn't work for her? In my opinion this is false advertising. There were a few baby snaps in between her comments so if you don't sit and watch it in one go you wouldn't actually realise its not working for her.

Also, Ia Tara make up an ambassador for Meaghers? She did a load of snaps today about getting her intolerence test in Meaghers and no ad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭SpillingTheTea

heyjude88 wrote: »
    This whole ambassador not having to #ad is a joke.

Grace literally snapped today she is trying her best this week to loose weight as it just isn't shifting....

Then a few snaps later she is mentioning and promoting the skinny tea she is ambassador for. She is recommending the 28 day challenge they do. She states that she has been following, "not exactly but most of the meals". No #ad.

If she stated she hasn't shifted any weight, then why does she promote the tea and meal plan if it doesn't work for her? In my opinion this is false advertising. There were a few baby snaps in between her comments so if you don't sit and watch it in one go you wouldn't actually realise its not working for her.

Also, Ia Tara make up an ambassador for Meaghers? She did a load of snaps today about getting her intolerence test in Meaghers and no ad?

My 18 year old cousin follows Grace but her support for her has reduced over the past while, but she said something to me earlier about her being a brand ambassador for Miss Fit Skinny Tea and how it wasn't really a good look for the brand as she can't use the product because she has a baby, but also, Grace was really into fitness before getting pregnant so obviously she was a great spokesperson for the brand then.
    As my cousin is only 18 she was saying that she wouldn't even trust drinking that tea while she was on the pill in case there was an accidental pregnancy.
    Personally I don't put any value on those tea's but there have been stories of accidental pregnancies while drinking this tea while on the pill and IMO, I just don't see how a young mum who can't take the product is a good spokesperson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 minter1234

Why do both Grace & Joanne not have the full title of Miss Fit Skinny Tea on their Insta bio? Joanne's is 'Miss Fit' and Grace's is MFST??!! Because it's a shagging money racket and just shows that they just don't fully believe & trust in the brand. For example: If Joanne was made 'Brand Ambassador' for Sweaty Betty, would you, (if you were the person behind the company )be happy with just the word 'Sweaty' listed alongside the rest of her sponsors/ brands full name? I'm all for being Brand ambassadors/being sponsored for something you really & truly believe in but FFS cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

minter1234 wrote: »
    Why do both Grace & Joanne not have the full title of Miss Fit Skinny Tea on their Insta bio? Joanne's is 'Miss Fit' and Grace's is MFST??!! Because it's a shagging money racket and just shows that they just don't fully believe & trust in the brand. For example: If Joanne was made 'Brand Ambassador' for Sweaty Betty, would you, (if you were the person behind the company )be happy with just the word 'Sweaty' listed alongside the rest of her sponsors/ brands full name? I'm all for being Brand ambassadors/being sponsored for something you really & truly believe in but FFS cop on

Miss Fitt have a range of products though, not just the tea. They have the D vitamin d tablets too.

Edit:my mistake, I just looked up the tablets and they're called The D by Miss Fitt Skinny Tea. I assumed the brand was called "Miss Fitt"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 minter1234

wolfmoon87 wrote: »
    Miss Fitt have a range of products though, not just the tea. They have the D vitamin d tablets too.

Yeah they have a men's tea aswell. Hahahaha. But that tea, surprise surprise doesn't have the word skinny on the product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mekekka

minter1234 wrote: »
    Yeah they have a men's tea aswell. Hahahaha. But that tea, surprise surprise doesn't have the word skinny on the product.
    No way! Such double standards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭aine92

ratmouse wrote: »
    Sue has never been a car brand ambassador has she? Wonder why her with one of the biggest followings has never been made an ambassador for a car brand.

Sue has a big massive white BMW jeep, god forbid she should have to drive a free Renault!

Ignoring the fact that jeeps are completely redundant if you don't have a farm or similar, I really can't see how driving your own car is a bad thing. If she can afford an expensive one so what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

To be honest, unless BMW offered her the brand ambassador thing she wouldn't do it.
    Renault wouldn't fit her aesthetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Your all wondering why bloggers get cars and the ins and outs! And what the point is of it! Then when one doesn't ye give out about that to! I'm not sticking up for either side just saying it's a bit silly! Besides this thread is about bloggers promoting products! Not about them not!!

Sorry for ranting just sometimes people go way of the mark and then threads get closed! I'd be more curious in if Suzanne is promoting the dogs trust out of the goodness of her heart or for some other reason! Only cos on her snap she said about her being on radio and to ask her questions and on the list of stuff was the dog!

Also great to see Marissa carter and maeve madden talk about smear tests hopefully lots of younger girls will listen and go! Fair play!

Renault wouldn't fit my aesthetic either.