Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Striking Out [RTÉ1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

vkid wrote: »
    Like that is ever going to happen..

Why do you think half of them have English accents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,011 ✭✭✭✭walshb

thelad95 wrote: »
    Why do all the Irish politicians have upper class English accents??

This started off well but this episode has been dire both in acting and any semblance of realism.

A 4 part pile of pi&s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,701 ✭✭✭Lisha

Solomon's choice

This hipster restaurant owner living on a houseboat is straight out of central casting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 fardoun

Amy's the new perry mason ..never loses a case ..gripping@

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Its like its all closing in on us !

Someone is trying to destroy us !

"Someone is trying to destroy us" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Its like its all closing in on us !

Someone is trying to destroy us !

Is it really possible to write something as bad as this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

That's it?

What was the Tribunal all about? They adjourned in the middle of a hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Wow that ending was written cocksure they'd be given a full followup series!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭swine

That was an abrupt ending. It really does feel like 6 episodes of content crammed into 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I am reminded of this Mitchell and Webb sketch where two writers who know nothing about law write a Legal Drama which makes no sense.

Would be gas if they didn't get a second series, but they most certainly will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Skid X wrote: »
    That's it?

What was the Tribunal all about? They adjourned in the middle of a hearing.
    Like the Moriarty Tribunal, it's probably destined to go on for years and the media won't be able to report on the findings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

swine wrote: »
    That was an abrupt ending. It really does feel like 6 episodes of content crammed into 4.
    They had to leave a few houses for Dermot Bannon to use in his programme next Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Skipped a good few pages in this thread to avoid spoilers as I only watched part .3. tonight - still happy, feel good stuff, Dublin (property) never looked better and I'm surprised the Irish Times and Lisneys weren't the sponsors. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

The end of this was ridiculous. It was like a soap where the story would continue tomorrow night rather than the conclusion of a series.

I kinda liked the twist of Meg stabbing her in the back. But it should've been 'resolved' in this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Would be gas if they didn't get a second series, but they most certainly will.

No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

So, within about 24 hours the father looking for custody has found a job that will be happy for him to work school hours only. Then his solicitor mentions to a friend that he needs a flat and she says 'oh, I have one sitting empty. Did I never tell you?"

It's that kind of lazy writing that really lets this down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Was that supposed to be a cliff hanger until next January? Mystic Meg walking off with auld dunbarr even though we all already knew she went to the dark side because either auld dunbarr has something on her or he offered her more money.....Hubermans to ray "i think someone is trying to destroy us" well no sh1t sherlock..... this show bares no resemblance to reality it reminds me of home and away, hanging around a cafe in a time warp.... the worst part for me was yer man trying to get his kid back....he needs a job....ray "i can call in a favor" goes to a back street garage, can you take this guy on but he can only work school hours, oh no problem at all see you monday..... ffs, hes not even a mechanic, then hubermans mate just so happens to have a second empty house that yer man can borrow for a while??? wtf, if thats the case why isnt tara living there? her mate has two houses and now she has given one to tara to live in and the other to some randomer, the rent prices in dublin, hows he going to afford that? then theres the guy in the cafe, well tara just cost me my lease and business, she doesnt even pay for her scones but never mind i might get her on my boat and get inside her pants..... anyway, tara isnt paying him anything so technically hes not sub letting, you would think a solicitor would know that....
    Then she tells ray she cant pay him..... ray can get some random guy a job yet he cant get one himself and of course neil morrissey just so happens to need a solicitor on the enquiry... i was also wondering when some of the cast of fair ****ty would turn up.... I think this was by far the worst episode, i can see it going like clean break and not getting recommissioned, clean break ended like it was going to have a second series but it never happened, look, fair play to rte for giving it a go but really it was a bad production, plenty of potential but was way off the mark unfortunately...

So, within about 24 hours the father looking for custody has found a job that will be happy for him to work school hours only. Then his solicitor mentions to a friend that he needs a flat and she says 'oh, I have one sitting empty. Did I never tell you?"

It's that kind of lazy writing that really lets this down.

exactly, it was pathetically lazy writing and just ruins the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Radio5

Yes I think it was supposed to be a shocking cliff hanger although it was obvious early on that Mystic Meg was the traitor. Why did genius Tara tell Eric about what his dad was doing or did he just happen to wander past as she was standing outside Dunbars of an evening?

Glad we got a bit of the backstory about Tara's parents, explained a lot about the mother's attitude.

It was all very unreal with the empty house and the job all conveniently available for John.

But at least it was some effort at drama. it's back to business as usual in that slot next week.

Radio5 wrote: »
    Yes I think it was supposed to be a shocking cliff hanger although it was obvious early on that Mystic Meg was the traitor. Why did genius Tara tell Eric about what his dad was doing or did he just happen to wander past as she was standing outside Dunbars of an evening?

Glad we got a bit of the backstory about Tara's parents, explained a lot about the mother's attitude.

It was all very unreal with the empty house and the job all conveniently available for John.

But at least it was some effort at drama. it's back to business as usual in that slot next week.

yep thats the problem, as bad as all that was its over now and we are back to that horrific sh1te with dermot bannon where fame hungry people like dessie dolan go on the show and have a big fake row with bannon like anybody gives a flying fcuk about any of it, cheap tv, normal service will resume...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Radio5 wrote: »

It's pretty bad as cliffhangers go, we knew it was Baby Pouty voice from early on, and now ray , Eric and Amy know. So it's pretty much wrapped up really isn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭JaffaP

Saying something when that was probably the best episode of the series.

Glossy rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Felt like turning the TV off when Amy Huberman said Ministry of Health instead of Department.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

thelad95 wrote: »
    Felt like turning the TV off when Amy Huberman said Ministry of Health instead of Department.

Shows just how out of touch with reality this programme is.

It's pretty bad as cliffhangers go, we knew it was Baby Pouty voice from early on, and now ray , Eric and Amy know. So it's pretty much wrapped up really isn't it!

its like they tried to do a cliff hanger and then after filming they realised oh feck we've already given it away....

Also, i dont hang around commercial legal firms in dublin too much, but would a partner and his wife hit the whiskey of an afternoon in the office? seems a bit Dallas like to me....

it shows that the makers of this program lacked in basic research in many ways, although I have to compliment the scene at the start with the guards bursting into the flat, it was pretty authentic and when the lad asked for the warrant the guard threw it at him and said theres your warrant....most programs go all PC on that sort of thing but they showed the guards being pretty rough which is how it would be in real life....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Tara taking on and winning these cases by last night's episode was predictable. Also, I was expecting to see Ado or Elmo pop out in those flats to meet Nidge!

The last part of the episode was the most interesting of the series. If there is a series 2 the bitterness between Tara and Dunbar and the dirty tricks the latter is willing to play should be the main story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Tara taking on and winning these cases by last night's episode was predictable. Also, I was expecting to see Ado or Elmo pop out in those flats to meet Nidge!

The last part of the episode was the most interesting of the series. If there is a series 2 the bitterness between Tara and Dunbar and the dirty tricks the latter is willing to play should be the main story.