Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Striking Out [RTÉ1]

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

elastico wrote: »
    He was portrayed as loaded but got a public room?

Which would happen a lot I think . As his surgery was an urgent emergency, he would have gotten any bed. It's really only when operation is scheduled that you would be guaranteed a private bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I am a little confused. Where did the CCTV footage come from? The private detective person was at her laptop and suddenly discovers something and then calls Ray. Did she discover that Corinne and yer man were at the jewelry shop? If so, how did she find this out? And was she telling Ray to go to that shop to obtain the CCTV? Why would a jeweler just give out CCTV? None of it made any sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,988 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I am a little confused. Where did the CCTV footage come from? The private detective person was at her laptop and suddenly discovers something and then calls Ray. Did she discover that Corinne and yer man were at the jewelry shop? If so, how did she find this out? And was she telling Ray to go to that shop to obtain the CCTV? Why would a jeweler just give out CCTV? None of it made any sense!

She has a feed to all CCTV in the city don't ya know :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Anyone know who the actress was who was dressed in the barrister gear sitting behind neil morrissey in the court room? she was hot!

There were so many cartoonish elements to last nights episode that you simply have to just shake your head..... A gangster commits bigamy and ah sure its no hassle, it solved a big problem by getting rid of one wife so he can live happily ever after with his step son (who recovered from surgery pretty quickly, never mind yer man after a life saving op up eating a big feed of turnips) and his other wife and 2 kids, no hassle at all, everybody best friends, sure its fine we have bags of cash round our house....wtf????

Also, the cctv footage, come off it, the hacking wizzard working out of her kitchen can somehow hack into someones cctv and a random guy off the street can just pop into the jewelers and they will print him off a load of copies and a dvd no problem at all???? seriously???

Also, i dont know how many solicitor practices are in dublin, there could be a couple of thousand, and in dunbarrs there could be 50 to 100 solicitors yet hubermans comes up against her ex in every single case??? i've seen more plausible story lines in bob the builder....

also do timelines mean anything???

I dont know too many barristers who can spend the morning taking drink and drugs and get himself in tip top condition by 5pm to win a case??

and the son of the bigamist just decides to wander around dublin at night and just on the off chance decides at midnight to take a wander around to the shed hubermans uses as an office just on the off chance a lad might be sleeping there so he can tell him the story so he can help his cause??? really???

Its like a cross between buffy the vampire slayer and lovejoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Radio5

The plot was pretty crap but that's to be expected at this stage.

Maybe CAB will come to visit Barry O'Brien and his new liver next week and Tara will be called to help................

The only bit of acting that was any good was when Tara met Eric and his 'colleague' at riverside place with the red sticks that seem to feature in every episode. She pretended that working together had made her see a new side to him. And then put the boot in that he was really only trying to protect Daddy....

Would've liked the scene with her mother to develop more or be continued later, to find out more about their relationship. It was too short.

Cafe guy is totally the love interest and Vincent is v.jealous.............

Radio5 wrote: »
    The plot was pretty crap but that's to be expected at this stage.

Maybe CAB will come to visit Barry O'Brien and his new liver next week and Tara will be called to help................

The only bit of acting that was any good was when Tara met Eric and his 'colleague' at riverside place with the red sticks that seem to feature in every episode. She pretended that working together had made her see a new side to him. And then put the boot in that he was really only trying to protect Daddy....

Would've liked the scene with her mother to develop more or be continued later, to find out more about their relationship. It was too short.

Cafe guy is totally the love interest and Vincent is v.jealous.............

those red sticks, every scene seems to start with them in it....

on that scene, yes the bit you describe was good but if i was her and i see the guy i found in bed with yer one, walking along having bants with yer one i would be a little more pissed off, plus why doesnt she put the boot in on auld dunbarr to fcuk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I'm watching it now to see how bad it can be.

The good wife-bad wife stuff was ridiculous. Screaming at us from the start that Corinne was going to get her come uppance.

Also, this business of everything being solved by Meg's magical computer skills. What's the point of even having Tara around? Meg can tell you exactly where everyone was at any given time, exactly what they said etc etc.

And if Julie knew damn well that her marriage was bigamous why would she happily produce her marriage cert? Surely she knew the game would be up immediately.

I'm watching it now to see how bad it can be.

The good wife-bad wife stuff was ridiculous. Screaming at us from the start that Corinne was going to get her come uppance.

Also, this business of everything being solved by Meg's magical computer skills. What's the point of even having Tara around? Meg can tell you exactly where everyone was at any given time, exactly what they said etc etc.

And if Julie knew damn well that her marriage was bigamous why would she happily produce her marriage cert? Surely she knew the game would be up immediately.

There are more holes in the storyline than a tramps vest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

jezzer wrote: »
    Its like a cross between buffy the vampire slayer and lovejoy!

And fair city and countless other stuff at this stage. Pure mish mash.

Are the RTE family still singings it praises?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭eamonnq

When Fair City wife informs the 'kids' she has to go somewhere, shouts out the window "Kids, I have to go somewhere"??

Does anyone address their kids like that?

elastico wrote: »
    And fair city and countless other stuff at this stage. Pure mish mash.

Are the RTE family still singings it praises?

they seem to be keeping reasonably quiet about it, as far as i am aware hubermans didnt do the obligatory late late appearance to talk about brian and the kids and how difficult it is to juggle writing and acting and family life but she was on with ian dempsey last week halfway through the series, perhaps the ratings are poor and they wanted to give it a boost...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

eamonnq wrote: »
    When Fair City wife informs the 'kids' she has to go somewhere, shouts out the window "Kids, I have to go somewhere"??

Does anyone address their kids like that?

And she just legged it leaving the kids to fend for themselves.

they seem to be keeping reasonably quiet about it, as far as i am aware hubermans didnt do the obligatory late late appearance to talk about brian and the kids and how difficult it is to juggle writing and acting and family life but she was on with ian dempsey last week halfway through the series, perhaps the ratings are poor and they wanted to give it a boost...

It will be really interesting to see if they bring it back for a second series. Each episode is just so badly developed. Several interesting strands set up at the start and then a load of coincidences, no character development whatsoever, Magical Meg's computer stepping in to save the day, and whoosh, a quick, hasty resolution.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Another lamentable episode last night. The court scene felt like a Scooby Doo sketch where the baddie is unmasked. I half expected the blonde wife to shout "I would have gotten away with it, if it weren't for you meddling kids!", and how come there was no mention of the husband being brought up on charges of bigamy? The ending seemed to suggest they were all going to live happily ever after.

It will probably be given a second series but I think next season it should be advertised as a comedy, not a drama.

It will be really interesting to see if they bring it back for a second series. Each episode is just so badly developed. Several interesting strands set up at the start and then a load of coincidences, no character development whatsoever, Magical Meg's computer stepping in to save the day, and whoosh, a quick, hasty resolution.

I think there definitely is potential there in the series but its so badly developed, its a comedy of errors and yet still it is very watchable i have to admit, as far as sunday night viewing goes its as good as it gets

Another lamentable episode last night. The court scene felt like a Scooby Doo sketch where the baddie is unmasked. I half expected the blonde wife to shout "I would have gotten away with it, if it weren't for you meddling kids!", and how come there was no mention of the husband being brought up on charges of bigamy? The ending seemed to suggest they were all going to live happily ever after.

It will probably be given a second series but I think next season it should be advertised as a comedy, not a drama.

If the wife had decided not to take the stand (as advised by her solicitor) , it would have really messed up the ending!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I'm pretty sure I saw her on the late late with the other bloke promoting it. The British sounding one.

The teenage son seemed remarkably unfazed by the discovery that his father had another 'wife' and two kids.

I'm pretty sure I saw her on the late late with the other bloke promoting it. The British sounding one.

ah your right they were! RTE fail to surprise!

eamonnq wrote: »
    If the wife had decided not to take the stand (as advised by her solicitor) , it would have really messed up the ending!!

or if she said she wasnt sure if that was her in the pics they would have had to get the cops involved to go to the jewelers and confirm it was the same person and the judge would have had to adjourn so the whole ending would have been jepordised. Luckily everything seems to be within short distance of those red spikes so ray or none of them get caught in traffic

The teenage son seemed remarkably unfazed by the discovery that his father had another 'wife' and two kids.

sure he was mad looking forward to meeting them all! :D

or if she said she wasnt sure if that was her in the pics they would have had to get the cops involved to go to the jewelers and confirm it was the same person and the judge would have had to adjourn so the whole ending would have been jepordised. Luckily everything seems to be within short distance of those red spikes so ray or none of them get caught in traffic

or even waited until the husband had passed on before going to order wedding rings!!

Yes, that was absolutely ridiculous. But how handy for Tara and co. Yet another lucky, and unlikely, break in cracking the case!

With the price of rents in Dublin sky high I would be making a beeline for that cafe, Tara is now pretending to want to pay him rent and he is there, ah no I wont take a penny off ya now here's some free wine... Tara is actually a bit tight fisted, she managed to get her mate to put her up and now she has the run of the place, free business premises from the lad in the cafe, she was out with the laptop hacker for wine and the hacker paid and by the sounds of the conversation she hasnt paid her any wages, she is employing cheap labour by getting Ray to do all the leg work, probably has him employed through job bridge, i wonder is Vincent charging or is she paying him in pints?

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭JaffaP

It's so bad it's actually got a comedic value at this stage.

The fact it's supposed to be taken seriously, is actually worrying.

the show is very odd, it began with a load of ridin and porn and now its very wholesome, quite confusing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Having seen three out of the four episodes so far I cannot believe how bad it is. Oh well, there is always next week......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Finally caught up with watching the first 3 episodes. It was not quite what I expected in that there was a different episode specific story per episode. I was expecting a continuation of the one story. Overall, it is watchable if not remarkable.

First off, I think the faults were over-cliched characters such as Tara's domineering mother and the obnoxious 1st wife of the overdose man in episode 3. Then there was the Love/Hate lite dimension with Ray and his friend. And why did Tara's father laugh at her breakup in the first episode? And who is Martha? I recall hearing this name mentioned a few times in the second episode but I can't recall who Martha is.

Overall, this is watchable but ordinary fare. It is on a par with Clean Break and Rebellion but I would prefer Charlie, Amber (underrated imo) and obviously Love/Hate.

Should get the P.I. from this to find Amber!!