Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭mickotallow

Deise Gael wrote: »
    I know what you mean Micko. It's laughable really. We're looking at the club debt of over 400,000 posted up in front of us every night we're up in the club and now as members we're being asked to contribute 312 euro each to reduce that debt and then you see what's happening with the senior team and the money being wasted.

Was down in the Ballygunner club house during the year and saw that board with the debt. It's crazy the money clubs pay to train teams especially when they have people in their own club well capable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,602 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A few hangers on will surly join the trip to Kerry for the ML game at the end of January but if we get to a final it will be played the week after so possibly no extra activities will happen

I reckon a lot of experimentation in our ML games and hopefully a few newcomers will impress

Our first 3 NHL games are major with trips to Nowlan Park and Croke Park and a home tie against the All Ireland Champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

PTH2009 wrote: »
    A few hangers on will surly join the trip to Kerry for the ML game at the end of January but if we get to a final it will be played the week after so possibly no extra activities will happen

I reckon a lot of experimentation in our ML games and hopefully a few newcomers will impress

Our first 3 NHL games are major with trips to Nowlan Park and Croke Park and a home tie against the All Ireland Champions.

Who are people expecting to make the breakthrough this season? Hopefully we can see more of Stephen Bennett, with an attacking approach he could be a huge plus. Would hope to see more from Shane and also Patrick Curran come championship too. Sounds strange given that Shane was nominated for YHOTY but I thought he was better the previous year.
    New players I'd like to see given a go would be Harney, Prunty and Kearney. Doubt they'll break into the first team but like to see them given a few league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I know what you mean Micko. It's laughable really. We're looking at the club debt of over 400,000 posted up in front of us every night we're up in the club and now as members we're being asked to contribute 312 euro each to reduce that debt and then you see what's happening with the senior team and the money being wasted.

For the life of me I cannot see why such a great hurler as Fergal needs to surround himself with so many lads,

Wow! That's some debt! Is that down to the arena that was built mainly? How are they paying for trainers / managers when that much in debt? Seems ludicrous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Who are people expecting to make the breakthrough this season? Hopefully we can see more of Stephen Bennett, with an attacking approach he could be a huge plus. Would hope to see more from Shane and also Patrick Curran come championship too. Sounds strange given that Shane was nominated for YHOTY but I thought he was better the previous year.
    New players I'd like to see given a go would be Harney, Prunty and Kearney. Doubt they'll break into the first team but like to see them given a few league games.
    Yeah Stephen Bennett to nail down a place in the starting 15, Curran to continue to progress and Shane Bennett to hit the form of 2015. Conor Gleeson also to push hard for a starting spot, although it will be tough to dislodge Shane Fives and Noel Connors. Darragh Fives to hopefully have seen the last of his injuries and have a clear run at the season. Maybe not a huge amount needs to change in terms of personnel but obviously a more attacking approach as we have seen v KK.

What are peoples hopes and expectations in general for 2017? Obviously an AI is the objective but would it be classed as a bad year if we don't achieve that? An AI final appearance at least would in my eyes be progress.
    Munster will be difficult to get out of. It already looks like it will be Tipp in a Munster semi final so it doesn't get much harder than that so we have to be prepared to go through the qualifiers if need be. It's been a while since we won Munster so it would be great to pick up another title.

It'll be an interesting year all the same. Tipp will be out to show they can do back to back AI's, KK will be mad to put Tipp back in their box, ourselves and Galway out to prove we can go one better than last year. Clare, Limerick, Dublin and Cork all had a disappointing 2016 and will want to get back to a level where they're involved at the business end of the season. Each of them seems to have badly fizzled out the last few years.
    Wexford should improve under Davy, Offaly, Antrim, Westmeath and Laois really just there to make up the numbers tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Some interesting names listed from games recently. Ian kenny midget roche and Eamonn murphy for good club form. Prunty daragh lyons and DJ Foran from under 21s. Two young lads not even on 21 panel Callum lyons and MJ sutton. The senior panel will be stronger. As for starting Harney and Daniels would be the closest. Dara fives and stephen bennett as we all know absolutely crucial they are fit .. maurice too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

What's the management team for the under 21 hurlers for 2017 ???

Hard too see us retaining the All Ireland but we got a kind draw in the Munster semi final at home to Cork. If we win that we have to travel for the final

Looks like power and o gorman again. Why not! The team are almost as good but there will be much tougher opposition. Would be great to do it again

3ships wrote: »
    Looks like power and o gorman again. Why not! The team are almost as good but there will be much tougher opposition. Would be great to do it again

The great Clare team of 2013-2016 were masters of winning back to back under 21s

A lot of quality players from our AI winning team will be overage in 2017 but a few will still be there.

We don't want to be like Limerick who fecked away there chance of back to back Munster finals this year against a average enough Tipp side in the semi final

Tipp and Limerick will be strong enough at the grade next year with Cork, Clare and ourselves a bit of an unknown quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

3ships wrote: »

Will not be as strong as 2016 but we will still be strong. Curran, Bennett, Conor Gleeson, are all still underage. A great chance of getting into a Munster final with the draw we have, more than likely Limerick will come through the other side of the draw. They will be very strong. A lot of their u21 winning side from 2 years ago are still there and had a good minor team this year aswell.
    Power deserves another term given what hes achieved with this years group. But people that see him as a successor to Derek McGrath are badly deluded I'm afraid.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=264413

The Tipp board still annoyed about the POTY voting system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

I'd say Vladimir Putin interfered with and influenced the vote 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/class-of-92-has-made-its-mark-1.172393

pulled this out of the archives , imagine that team had a good run up till 2010 (in my mind)

our current crop should keep us going until 2034 at this rate

Pathetic excuse. Excpected better from a co board chairman. A total lack of respect and appreciation to the 2 players who won the awards. 

Personally couldn't be prouder of Austin. Fully deserved the award, what an achievement to be selected by your peers as the best in the country, none greater than that any player will tell you. Must put a dampener on it for him with all these people telling him he doesn't deserve it. He didn't nominate himself and quite sure he couldn't vote for himself, all he did was hurl like an absolute superstar. Some folk just can't deal with that. Feck the begrudgers Austin, best hurler in the country and were only seeing the beginning of him I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seanvanseanvan

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Pathetic excuse. Excpected better from a co board chairman. A total lack of respect and appreciation to the 2 players who won the awards. 

Personally couldn't be prouder of Austin. Fully deserved the award, what an achievement to be selected by your peers as the best in the country, none greater than that any player will tell you. Must put a dampener on it for him with all these people telling him he doesn't deserve it. He didn't nominate himself and quite sure he couldn't vote for himself, all he did was hurl like an absolute superstar. Some folk just can't deal with that. Feck the begrudgers Austin, best hurler in the country and were only seeing the beginning of him I feel.

You are being a tad dramatic no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 lissgrandma

Billy Nolan; Shane Murray, Conor Gleeson, Eddie Hayden; Jack Mullaney, Conor Prunty, Darragh Lyons; Andy Molumby Colm Roche; Shane Bennett, Cormac Curran, Jordan Henley; Peter Hogan, Patrick Curran, Aaron O’Sullivan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

robopaddy2 wrote: »

I'd say Aussie would consider winning an Ireland a greater achievement to me fair.

Gavlor wrote: »

I'd say Aussie would consider winning an Ireland a greater achievement to me fair.
    Yea but he shouldn't have to apologise for winning POTY either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭redlead

Pretty pathetic that Tipp are still winging about it. Not too surprising though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

If we're been honest they do have a valid point. An all Ireland winning county that has 2 players up for POTY is at a disadvantage to other counties that have one player. It means their own share of votes are split. This is not an attack on Aussie so calm down, it's highlighting a flaw in the system which they do have a point about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If we're been honest they do have a valid point. An all Ireland winning county that has 2 players up for POTY is at a disadvantage to other counties that have one player. It means their own share of votes are split. This is not an attack on Aussie so calm down, it's highlighting a flaw in the system which they do have a point about.
    Sure it's just aswell they only ever win an odd one :pac:

Though on a aside while they were head ano shoulders better than kk.....I taught cody got off with little to no criticism for Callanan running riot in the final and not counter acting it

If this was Derek mcgrath....he would quite rightly be lambasted for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Sure it's just aswell they only ever win an odd one :pac:

Oh the irony.

Sun 29th Jan 2017

AIB All-Ireland Intermediate Club Hurling Championship semi-finals
    1415, O’Connor Park Tullamore, Ath Eascrach/Fothaine (Galway) v Lismore (Waterford)

Final- Sat 18th Feb Croke Park

obv we will be missing the Lismore contingent (not that theres many anyway) for the Munster League and possibily the early rounds of the league if they make the final

Happy Xmas to all here, Overall its been a great year for Waterford hurling and hopefully 2017 will be good

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8vuxra_ta8&t=25s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

I taught cody got off with little to no criticism for Callanan running riot in the final and not counter acting it

If this was Derek mcgrath....he would quite rightly be lambasted for it

Tom, you could also look at it in another way. That Kilkenny FB line had two lads there for the taking all year.

Just imagine if we had the balls that Tipp had and to have an orthodox set up and to take them on with a full forward line of Stephen Bennett, Maurice Shanahan and Patrick Curran with Stephen neutralising to some extent Paul Murphy on the physical stakes and Maurice and Patrick combining against Holden and Prendergast we could have done serious damage.

People give out about Barry Coughlan for us but Joey Holden is a club hurler at best and Prendergast is just about at the same level.

I still believe that if we had the balls last year to have had a right go at Kilkenny there wouldn't have been any drawn game or any need for the would have been or could have been after Paudie's free in the replay.

I'm not advocating for a return of Michael Ryan but in 2013 we got the same result against a far better Kilkenny team while having a cut off them and using pace to open up their back line. We destroyed Kieran Joyce and Jackie Tyrrell in the second half and extra time of that game through sheer pace, yet it took Tipp to show Joyce up for that weakness this year. He held his own against us. Our main problems in our forward line as of now are lack of real pace and our over dependence on Aussie to win primary possession. Brick cannot be expected to do the work of two men any longer and going on last year our other main man to win ball - Maurice - might only be used as an impact sub.

Kilkenny were there for the taking last year and we didn't take them on. They will not be as bad again next year but they will not be anywhere near what they were in the past few years.

The only reason I bring this up is from what I see and hear there is not going to be any change of personnel on the team or change of style for next year and that worries me. We are not going to progress unless something changes.

This year there were only a few players to make progress from last year. Aussie and Jamie Barron were unreal. Paudie Mahoney and Darragh Fives were immense having come back from injury. However, we will be in serious trouble next year if Fives is not fit. Those lads were brilliant but all of our other players either plateaued or went backwards.

A new voice and some new thinking and some new competition for places needs to be brought to the whole set up.

Tipp last year showed everyone how the game should be played and they got their rewards. Michael Ryan rejuvenated them in one season. He brought in Breen and McCormack, got Bonnar Maher going again and showed faith in John O'Dwyer It was the winning of the All Ireland for them.

Unless there is a change of mind set within our setup next year we will further stagnate and we will be in for another groundhog year.

It might not be popular to say the stuff above but I know there are many many Waterford supporters who think the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Tom, you could also look at it in another way. That Kilkenny FB line had two lads there for the taking all year.

Just imagine if we had the balls that Tipp had and to have an orthodox set up and to take them on with a full forward line of Stephen Bennett, Maurice Shanahan and Patrick Curran with Stephen neutralising to some extent Paul Murphy on the physical stakes and Maurice and Patrick combining against Holden and Prendergast we could have done serious damage.

People give out about Barry Coughlan for us but Joey Holden is a club hurler at best and Prendergast is just about at the same level.

I still believe that if we had the balls last year to have had a right go at Kilkenny there wouldn't have been any drawn game or any need for the would have been or could have been after Paudie's free in the replay.

I'm not advocating for a return of Michael Ryan but in 2013 we got the same result against a far better Kilkenny team while having a cut off them and using pace to open up their back line. We destroyed Kieran Joyce and Jackie Tyrrell in the second half and extra time of that game through sheer pace, yet it took Tipp to show Joyce up for that weakness this year. He held his own against us. Our main problems in our forward line as of now are lack of real pace and our over dependence on Aussie to win primary possession. Brick cannot be expected to do the work of two men any longer and going on last year our other main man to win ball - Maurice - might only be used as an impact sub.

Kilkenny were there for the taking last year and we didn't take them on. They will not be as bad again next year but they will not be anywhere near what they were in the past few years.

The only reason I bring this up is from what I see and hear there is not going to be any change of personnel on the team or change of style for next year and that worries me. We are not going to progress unless something changes.

This year there were only a few players to make progress from last year. Aussie and Jamie Barron were unreal. Paudie Mahoney and Darragh Fives were immense having come back from injury. However, we will be in serious trouble next year if Fives is not fit. Those lads were brilliant but all of our other players either plateaued or went backwards.

A new voice and some new thinking and some new competition for places needs to be brought to the whole set up.

Tipp last year showed everyone how the game should be played and they got their rewards. Michael Ryan rejuvenated them in one season. He brought in Breen and McCormack, got Bonnar Maher going again and showed faith in John O'Dwyer It was the winning of the All Ireland for them.

Unless there is a change of mind set within our setup next year we will further stagnate and we will be in for another groundhog year.

It might not be popular to say the stuff above but I know there are many many Waterford supporters who think the same way.

Do you really think the Kilkenny team that drew with Dublin, lost to Dublin and lost to cork were better than last years Kilkenny team? I think they were like a punch drunk boxer in 2013, waiting to be knocked out. The miles caught up with them that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

Mick Mahony not involved with ballygunner this year. he has taken over the job at erins own.

very much a club that has underachieved over the last few years. had a internal manager last year who wasn't up to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭seanvanseanvan

Gardner wrote: »
    Mick Mahony not involved with ballygunner this year. he has taken over the job at erins own.

very much a club that has underachieved over the last few years. had a internal manager last year who wasn't up to much.

Erins Own in Cork, Waterford or Kilkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭big_drive

Anyone here know anything about Peter Flanagan hurleys? Are they any good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Erins Own in Cork, Waterford or Kilkenny?

Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

This Tipp bitterness about Gleeson winning hurler of the year is ridiculous, still moaning about it weeks later. As for this nonsense of splitting the vote, the recent history of the award shows hurlers beating team mates from their own county to the award every year, TJ Reid won it over Richie Hogan in 2015, Hogan beat Reid to it in 2014, Tony Kelly beat Podge Collins to it in 2013, etc, etc.

Looks like Tipp are trying to build a siege mentality for 2017, been talk of retaining the title already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

The great Clare team of 2013-2016 were masters of winning back to back under 21s

A lot of quality players from our AI winning team will be overage in 2017 but a few will still be there.

We don't want to be like Limerick who fecked away there chance of back to back Munster finals this year against a average enough Tipp side in the semi final

Tipp and Limerick will be strong enough at the grade next year with Cork, Clare and ourselves a bit of an unknown quality.
    kk will be strong this year.