Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eir rural FTTH thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

9726_9726 wrote: »
    Grass seeds?! Impressive.

So when they are going across fields, are these new runs or existing copper runs? Aerial or underground?

this section is in Ratoath and doesn't appear to be started yet, it starts on the R125 in Ratoath and crosses a field to get to rural houses. I'm guessing it would be a new run and would probably have to be just slightly under the surface of the field, they will probably resow the grass over it when finished. There are probably more examples of areas like this in other parts of the blue line rural rollout.

This method will definitely come into play more when doing some of the one off's in the NBP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Gonzo wrote: »
    this section is in Ratoath and doesn't appear to be started yet, it starts on the R125 in Ratoath and crosses a field to get to rural houses. I'm guessing it would be a new run and would probably have to be just slightly under the surface of the field, they will probably resow the grass over it when finished. There are probably more examples of areas like this in other parts of the blue line rural rollout.

This method will definitely come into play more when doing some of the one off's in the NBP.

Saw R125 mentioned and got excited as its the main road near me and then noticed that the R125 goes from Kilcock to Swords :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

The telling thing is, none of the guys working near me are KN or Eir. They seem to have brought in a few additional companies.

Hopefully this points to their desire to speed things up and hit their dates, and not that they are incredibly far behind.

Hopefully it does - they are "incredibly far behind" considering they are to have all blue lines finished by end of 2018. - Which I call bull**** on bigtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

damienirel wrote: »
    Hopefully it does - they are "incredibly far behind" considering they are to have all blue lines finished by end of 2018. - Which I call bull**** on bigtime.

.... and some of us have an equally opposite viewpoint at this time. ;)

Of which you're entitled to! Never seen Eircom/Eir/Open Eir meet any deadlines in the past. So not sure why people on here expect them to this time?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 superloopy

Let's not start this again.

Some people work for Eir and some people work with facts.

Can we just leave it there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BandMember

The rollout will be completed and some people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

superloopy wrote: »

Some people work for Eir and some people work with facts.

Can we just leave it there?

Are you implying there are eir employees posting in this thread without declaring their true status, and are posting misleading information?
    If not I do not understand what you mean.

superloopy wrote: »

No better way to guarantee we start this again, than to suggest we don't start "this" again. :D:D:D

BandMember wrote: »
    The rollout will be completed and some people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc. :rolleyes:

whatever about the rollout being completed - I agree with the 2nd part of your statement - "people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc"
    kinda what the forum is for I would have thought??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

He's behind you.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Oh! no he's not.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Oh! yes he is.

Right has anybody been able to order eir extreme - have they been connected? - is it a new FTTH live exchange?
    Must be somebody? - anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

Keep up! :D - 2 weeks and 10 pages ago:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101839814&postcount=2443
    Here ye go ;)

5843048946.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭brock92

:eek::eek::eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

the rollout did appear to be going very slowly and falling massively behind schedule up to November, however it does appear that they have finally got the ball rolling much quicker this month. Every time I take a journey I see a KN van somewhere.

On Saturday afternoon I saw them working away near Trim.

Today on the way to Navan I saw them working at the Tara exchange area pulling yellow cable and saw them again on my way into Navan, working in horrible conditions.

I think we might be pleasantly surprised around February and March when many more exchanges currently being worked on will become live and number of premises passed will increase steadily.

damienirel wrote: »
    whatever about the rollout being completed - I agree with the 2nd part of your statement - "people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc"
    kinda what the forum is for I would have thought??;)

Ah, you know what I mean Pedantic Pat! :P :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 PaulieBeef

There was a KN van (with a working on behalf of Eir sign) on the Castlebar Road outside Westport yesterday. The van was parked at the cabinet at the top of the Lodge Road with a reel of orange cable, and there was a group of lads working at a manhole about 150 metres up the road. I take it this means they're probably running the fibre out that direction now?

I was also on to Eir yesterday and the customer service rep said I should hopefully get fibre by February. Here's hoping!

Gwynston wrote: »

Keep up? That's ages ago! with the timelines given for winter 2017/spring 2018 we should be seeing a lot more posting speeds like that on this thread.

PaulieBeef wrote: »
    There was a KN van (with a working on behalf of Eir sign) on the Castlebar Road outside Westport yesterday. The van was parked at the cabinet at the top of the Lodge Road with a reel of orange cable, and there was a group of lads working at a manhole about 150 metres up the road. I take it this means they're probably running the fibre out that direction?

I was also on to Eir yesterday and the customer service rep said I should hopefully get fibre by February. Here's hoping!

Eir sales/customer service reps are full of $hit!

Like the speed test though "faster than 99% of ie" - lol - wouldn't be too hard would it!

Gonzo wrote: »
    the rollout did appear to be going very slowly and falling massively behind schedule up to November, however it does appear that they have finally got the ball rolling much quicker this month. Every time I take a journey I see a KN van somewhere.

On Saturday afternoon I saw them working away near Trim.

Today on the way to Navan I saw them working at the Tara exchange area pulling yellow cable and saw them again on my way into Navan, working in horrible conditions.

I think we might be pleasantly surprised around February and March when many more exchanges currently being worked on will become live and number of premises passed will increase steadily.

Ever the optimist Gonzo! I really hope you're right - we'll see how fast they will be to connect you now too - as I've a feeling that might be the slowest part for most people - passing the premises might prove to happen fairly quickly then we'll be left waiting for ages until such time you get connected - as the areas that they're rolling out to are craving faster internet so I can imagine a backlog happening pretty rapidly. Hope they've planned for that.

In an effort to veer away from the current row, I'll resurrect another one!

I hope that you are in a major urban city, because culchies or anyone outside Dublin have no rights getting those speeds!!

Now. Where did I leave my popcorn? :P

I hope that you are in a major urban city, because culchies or anyone outside Dublin have no rights getting those speeds!!

Fraid that was a wexford spudmuncher exchange BandMember. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

Well, that post wasn't mine - it was from user Elroter in killinick Co. Wexford:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101839653&postcount=2439

I wish! But I am hoping to get FTTH during the round of rollouts called "Winter 2016 / Spring 2017".

However, you might be right - us culchies won't know what to do with all that speeeeed! I'll probably just go with Eir's cheapest, slowest fibre offering to avoid getting nose bleeds! ;)

@damienirl @Gwynston Just to be clear, I am a culchie so know all about sh*tty broadband!! ;)

I think people who have faster than 15mb can do a runner from this thread (culchie or jackeen)cause they're not getting any sympathy from me.:P

I've got 45 down, 18 up and a ping of 8.

I'll get me coat. :D

Problem is, ye will be laughing at me in the long term as my area is not a blue line area so once the FTTH rollout and NBP is complete, they're going to have to start all over again and do something for those people stuck on what will then be very low speeds. Hence my reason for following this thread.

Well, that and to laugh at the Dubs and their really slow 360Mb Virgin speeds.... :P

However, you might be right - us culchies won't know what to do with all that speeeeed! I'll probably just go with Eir's cheapest, slowest fibre offering to avoid getting nose bleeds! ;)

Ahh you're no craic! Bottle of pop for Gwynston. Everybody else pint yeah?