9726_9726 wrote: » Grass seeds?! Impressive. So when they are going across fields, are these new runs or existing copper runs? Aerial or underground?
Gonzo wrote: » this section is in Ratoath and doesn't appear to be started yet, it starts on the R125 in Ratoath and crosses a field to get to rural houses. I'm guessing it would be a new run and would probably have to be just slightly under the surface of the field, they will probably resow the grass over it when finished. There are probably more examples of areas like this in other parts of the blue line rural rollout. This method will definitely come into play more when doing some of the one off's in the NBP.
Grumpypants wrote: » The telling thing is, none of the guys working near me are KN or Eir. They seem to have brought in a few additional companies. Hopefully this points to their desire to speed things up and hit their dates, and not that they are incredibly far behind.
damienirel wrote: » Hopefully it does - they are "incredibly far behind" considering they are to have all blue lines finished by end of 2018. - Which I call bull**** on bigtime.
Johnboy1951 wrote: » .... and some of us have an equally opposite viewpoint at this time.
superloopy wrote: » Let's not start this again. Some people work for Eir and some people work with facts. Can we just leave it there?
superloopy wrote: » Let's not start this again.
BandMember wrote: » The rollout will be completed and some people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc. :rolleyes:
Johnboy1951 wrote: » Here ye go
damienirel wrote: » whatever about the rollout being completed - I agree with the 2nd part of your statement - "people here will still be arguing about the numbers, speed, facts etc" kinda what the forum is for I would have thought??;)
Gwynston wrote: » Keep up! - 2 weeks and 10 pages ago:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101839814&postcount=2443
PaulieBeef wrote: » There was a KN van (with a working on behalf of Eir sign) on the Castlebar Road outside Westport yesterday. The van was parked at the cabinet at the top of the Lodge Road with a reel of orange cable, and there was a group of lads working at a manhole about 150 metres up the road. I take it this means they're probably running the fibre out that direction? I was also on to Eir yesterday and the customer service rep said I should hopefully get fibre by February. Here's hoping!
Gonzo wrote: » the rollout did appear to be going very slowly and falling massively behind schedule up to November, however it does appear that they have finally got the ball rolling much quicker this month. Every time I take a journey I see a KN van somewhere. On Saturday afternoon I saw them working away near Trim. Today on the way to Navan I saw them working at the Tara exchange area pulling yellow cable and saw them again on my way into Navan, working in horrible conditions. I think we might be pleasantly surprised around February and March when many more exchanges currently being worked on will become live and number of premises passed will increase steadily.
BandMember wrote: » In an effort to veer away from the current row, I'll resurrect another one! I hope that you are in a major urban city, because culchies or anyone outside Dublin have no rights getting those speeds!! Now. Where did I leave my popcorn? :P
BandMember wrote: » @damienirl @Gwynston Just to be clear, I am a culchie so know all about sh*tty broadband!!
Gwynston wrote: » However, you might be right - us culchies won't know what to do with all that speeeeed! I'll probably just go with Eir's cheapest, slowest fibre offering to avoid getting nose bleeds!