Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grand Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Patww79 wrote: »
    They did. Used a fake training town and all for it (think it was some fast Merc tested). Was a whole lot better than this most recent one too.

This but I don't agree with it being better both were bit boring at least there was bit of comedy in gran tour one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

First time I've ever fallen a asleep during an episode of TG/GT. When I work up they were still horsing around with guns etc. Didn't enjoy the episode at all. The new track doesn't let them open up the cars at all. Fun for hot hatches but hyper cars need more than 1:15 worth of track.

Completely agree with your views on the new track.

I think season 2 and 3 will be better, they are being cautious at the moment regarding what could be construed as plagiarism of Top Gear.
    ie, a Stig that wont shut up, a track that is ... i dont know what the track is suppose to be, but its complete shyte.

I reckon that over the next year or two they will push the boat out, and soon we'll be back to what we love

Plus they have some serious $$$$ behind them, a lot more than the beeb could ever invest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭ofcork

Didn't Clarkson drive an slk 55 around one trying to avoid being hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

pa990 wrote:
    Plus they have some serious $$$$ behind them, a lot more than the beeb could ever invest.

The beeb still supplied them with a Fair amount of dough is well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,372 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Anjobe wrote: »
    Not just one - apparently in 2009 military personnel spent 141 days filming for Top Gear (https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/nov/25/the-grand-tour-can-jeremy-clarkson-and-his-cronies-keep-up-the-pace).

US military regularly do the same, it's a good recruitment tool for the young folk watching the shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tommurphy73

seen the boys are on YouTube with this called DRIVETRIBE, looks impressive, wonder will it b like behind scenes or unused footage from The Grand Tour or will it be seperate
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQmPSCIUlDQ

If anyone is interested then join my tribe

https://www.drivetribe.com/t/QQRgKyYfRwe_x64r3aD3LQ/flLfdal-RyiOCnxEENAaHQ

access code 906488GTB

Regards
    Tom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Got about 30 seconds into that Clarkson video. Is it for anything in particular or is it just another means for people to show how big time they are?

Advertising a Petrol heads version of Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Just watched episode 3.. quite enjoyable really. I accepted long ago that the 3 lads will always be doing a silly, bit of craic car based show... didn't miss the track or the American that were absent...more please..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

yeah I just watched it a while ago. It was good.

Anyone else notice the blurred windscreen in a lot of the wide driving shots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

The American boils my piss. Nicole Rosberg needs a job now he's out of work so maybe he could be the non stig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

TrailerBob wrote: »
    Just watched episode 3.. quite enjoyable really. I accepted long ago that the 3 lads will always be doing a silly, bit of craic car based show... didn't miss the track or the American that were absent...more please..

I personally prefer the old track at Dunsfold. New one reminds me of a go kart track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Joeface

Seen the first 4 episodes now, first one was good but slowly the episodes feel lazy. The 4th episode was just bad. It started well enough with the gt3 review but very quickly down hill after that. I get it's supposed to be more entertainment than car show.Lowest episode across all the versions of this show past ,present and parallel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

that one wasn't good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭ads20101

Ah come on lads...

What wasn't to like:
    The scripted funny dialog = like

The mud / brick car = like

Dead celebs = like
    I think its brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I liked Episode 1, but thought Ep. 2 was very poor. I'm watching Ep. 3 at the moment. The segment of the three boys in Italy is pretty okay.

Clarkson has mentioned the 'Kilkenny cats'... random!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I liked Episode 1, but thought Ep. 2 was very poor. I'm watching Ep. 3 at the moment. The segment of the three boys in Italy is pretty okay.

Clarkson has mentioned the 'Kilkenny cats'... random!!

That was painful. Hammond clearly isn't stupid, he does multiple shows per year on engineering topics and just don't play the fool very well. They should have just got three GT cars and had at it. I'd put money on they got a windfall for featuring an American car and Amazon tied their hands on it.

Interestingly enough, Episode 2 was filmed first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I wonder why James and Richard haven't reviewed any cars..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,350 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Just watched it.

Enjoyable show... sound was out of sync, had to fiddle with audio settings and delays the audio by 1sec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Finished Episode 4 last night, it was actually ok if you didn't take it too seriously. However I have noticed that an incredible amount of time is being taken up by talking. In contrast to TG, you had maybe 15 mins of studio talking per episode with fast cuts to the next film, but now I feel like fast forwarding in the studio as it just seems to take so long to get to the next point and film.

Also, anyone know what the gag is with Alfa Romeo and JC in Conversation St? Its always the last point and is always dismissed before being discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

They're not actors, they're journalists.
    This script-joke-Hammond/May-idiocy is grating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

1 was good.
    2 was pish.
    3 was better than 2 but still not good.
    4.....don't think I'll bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

theteal wrote: »
    1 was good.
    2 was pish.

Forth has its brilliant moment when Hammond hides in the TT.

Rest is just miserable, I actually prefer watching old episodes of Greys Anatomy than TGT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,707 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

theteal wrote: »
    1 was good.
    2 was pish.

I'll probably finish out this series but unless I see a review of massive changes I don't think I'll bother with the next one.

When you look back at James May's first appearance on Top Gear, you really appreciate just far down this show has gone. I know technically it's a different show, but I don't think the people who were disappointed by these three leaving Top Gear wanted this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,184 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    They're not actors, they're journalists.
    This script-joke-Hammond/May-idiocy is grating.

It's a scripted show so they are journalists trying to be actors.

I've watched them all so far but I think I'll be going back to the way I used to watch the old TG, surfing till something interesting happens. Most times I surfed the whole hour.

As said Richard and James aren't stupid but the show is making them out to be. You could see every "mishap" coming a mile off and they are so stupid they aren't funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Del2005 wrote: »
    It's a scripted show so they are journalists trying to be actors.

I've watched them all so far but I think I'll be going back to the way I used to watch the old TG, surfing till something interesting happens. Most times I surfed the whole hour.

As said Richard and James aren't stupid but the show is making them out to be. You could see every "mishap" coming a mile off and they are so stupid they aren't funny.

If only they'd drop the scripting, producers tell the three generally what they want out of a show, and allow their natural comedic/slagging friendship to ad-lib the shows..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Will be cancelling my trial month of Amazon Prime tomorrow - I only bothered as the kids were mad on TG, but they have lost interest rapidly in this new format. Good luck to the trio and their die-hard followers.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I think people are taking the show too seriously.
    I'm glad they are back but I want them to get rid of the American talking **** and that track needs to be changed.
    We need to remember though that it's the first season and they will then see at the end what works and what doesn't.
    The 2nd episode was utter crap but the rest I've enjoyed.
    4th made me think of them on top gear and I liked it so it's a good episode in my books.
    Prefer this than the new top gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,184 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

bear1 wrote: »
    I think people are taking the show too seriously.

If it was 3 lads on YouTube I wouldn't be taking it seriously but this is a multi million Euro show that's badly repeating what they did on the BBC for way less money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Biglad

mikeecho wrote: »
    Just watched it.

Enjoyable show... sound was out of sync, had to fiddle with audio settings and delays the audio by 1sec

I noticed the audio issue as well. Found that hitting the rewind button once it put the audio back in synch. I'm watching it on an Amazon box.