Louise O Neill on rape culture.

nullzero wrote: »
    Ah the perpetually offended on the behalf of others Conor74.
    He really should change his name to Helen Lovejoy; "won't someone please think of the travellers/suicide bombers/social justice warriors?"

Protest a little louder please.

Just for my amusement.

Thanks.

I never knew I had so many hanging off my every word. On an anonymous forum. 'Tis only opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I can't say I remember any post by you. Happy to see my posts are an event in your life.

I find them very entertaining. Keep up the good work. I'm sure the previous circa 15,000 posts were top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Protest a little louder please.

Just for my amusement.

Thanks.

I never knew I had so many hanging off my every word. On an anonymous forum. 'Tis only opinions.

Your opinions are almost universally incorrect, although you are entitled to have them, you do seem to ride to the defense of a lot of causes, go you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Ah sure we know it doesn't exist so his post didn't happen. No one said shove a cock in her mouth to shut her up, assuming it was gas.

Conor you are really proving nothing quoting that ejits post. We already know there are rapists in this country and people who think like him. But there isn't support for him or people like him. They are in a tiny tiny minority. That's the point. How many thanks will he get for that post I wonder.. not many if any I'd imagine.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    So you've witnessed women being raped at a party and you did nothing?!

Nope. Not at all. Know of about 12-15 fellows who did. The Gardai know about it too, as heard the rumours and know a couple of Gardai who were certain it happened. Sadly the victim was too drunk to advance the matter.

Liger and Nullzero, don't get too worked up about me, let's stick to the topic and stay off the ad hominem. Unless you've run out of points about the issue and are reduced to constantly referring to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,171 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Ah no. As I've said already I've relied on a lot more, friends being groped, who can't seem to get men to understand their refusal, drunk women being raped at a party in front of others egging them on, dick pics and so on.

But you have to concede that the whole shove a cock in her might to shut her up type take might not say this stuff is prevalent...but it's a bit of a blow to those who believe it doesn't exist in any shape or form at all at all.

I think I recall you saying several of your friends were cheating on their wives. Your circle of friends and experiences are highly unusual. Get new friends.

What happened was an idiot decided to wind up people, and the cultural reaction was revulsion and disapproval, the reporting of his post and his banning in short order. Its actually evidence that rape culture does not exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

Please stay on topic and leave out the personal remarks.

Any issues report them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Nope. Not at all. Know of about 12-15 fellows who did. The Gardai know about it too, as heard the rumours and know a couple of Gardai who were certain it happened. Sadly the victim was too drunk to advance the matter.

I don't believe this as if there were 12-15 witnesses to a rape, it'd be prosecuted no matter what the victim remembered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    So if I look at a girl and say to my friends 'Jesus lads she's some ride' I'm a cultural rapist?

Yes Dr. Yes you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

ligerdub wrote: »
    When that rape culture tag might land a load of innocent men in prison and tags men as predators in development then people have a right BS on her rubbish. They can clutch their handbags all they want.

How does it land men in prison? Please explain what you think rape culture is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Am I reading this correct????
    12 to 15 People you associate with witnessed what was effectively bordering on a gang rape, done nothing to intervene and instead of them all trying to stop it, let alone anything else, they decided it would be more fitting to just use the event for a little passing gossip with you!!
    Eh, the witnesses (ie 12 to 15 fellows you refer to) surely would report it??? There is more than enough evidence to advance the matter (even the way you say it was a matter, like a parking fine, it is (if this story was any way credible!) a horrific crime!)
    You are claiming people were egging them on. Sorry, this story has zero credibility. The casualness the way you just threw it in amongst the other acts is hilarious in itself!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I guess his experiences taught him to expect an appreciative audience for his "shove yer cock in her mouth to shut her up" quip.
    Wind up merchants exist. It then logically follows we have a Wind up merchant culture, where trolls are encouraged. Or not. As I said earlier some people are so invested in this notion of perpetual victimhood and paranoia that they breathe confirmation bias and it would come as a terrible disappointment to realise it doesn't exist to nearly the degree they are convinced it does. Hell Ms O'Neill lets out primal screams from the depths of her psyche over complete fabrications(all too common). The very definition of hysterics. Dodgy and rare enough in a schoolgirl, utterly ridiculous in an apparently grown woman.

We see this in so many factions today, particularly on the interwebs. You have the Red Pill crowd many of whom are convinced that all women are out to get them in some way or other. Other groups are convinced that there's a Syrian ready to leap out from under the bed and take their jobs/kill/rape them. Others are convinced that it doesn't matter how large an influx of people and cultures come in. And we have the rape culture types convinced that they must stay in a constant state of fear and paranoia because men rape y'know. Tis all mad Ted.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Wibbs wrote: »
    Wind up merchants exist. It then logically follows we have a Wind up merchant culture, where trolls are encouraged. Or not. As I said earlier some people are so invested in this notion of perpetual victimhood and paranoia that they breathe confirmation bias and it would come as a terrible disappointment to realise it doesn't exist to nearly the degree they are convinced it does. Hell Ms O'Neill lets out primal screams from the depths of her psyche over complete fabrications(all too common). The very definition of hysterics. Dodgy and rare enough in a schoolgirl, utterly ridiculous in an apparently grown woman.

We see this in so many factions today, particularly on the interwebs. You have the Red Pill crowd many of whom are convinced that all women are out to get them in some way or other. Other groups are convinced that there's a Syrian ready to leap out from under the bed and take their jobs/kill/rape them. Others are convinced that it doesn't matter how large an influx of people and cultures come in. And we have the rape culture types convinced that they must stay in a constant state of fear and paranoia because men rape y'know. Tis all mad Ted.

So it has to exist simply because it just has to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

Which is pretty flippin' rich from the guy who waited for one (immediately banned) rape joke to make his supposed point about Ireland having a rape culture.

I don't believe this as if there were 12-15 witnesses to a rape, it'd be prosecuted no matter what the victim remembered.

Are you serious? Have you been to a party where things turned ugly, sex, violence, drugs etc?

Not sure if it needs spelling out, but will do. The fellows who were there denied it. Obviously enough...did you think they'd turn themselves in? The friend I have in the group, who was allegedly one of the witnesses, tells me he was downstairs and knew something bad was happening, and regrets not going upstairs to intervene. The Gardai say it definitely happened, but the victim wouldn't go further.

The casualness the way you just threw it in amongst the other acts is hilarious in itself!

There was nothing hilarious about it at all.

But sure if we don't have a rape culture at all, presumably you say it never happened. And as a matter of record, it didn't, no one was prosecuted, no one went public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Ah no. As I've said already I've relied on a lot more, friends being groped, who can't seem to get men to understand their refusal, drunk women being raped at a party in front of others egging them on, dick pics and so on.

But you have to concede that the whole shove a cock in her might to shut her up type take might not say this stuff is prevalent...but it's a bit of a blow to those who believe it doesn't exist in any shape or form at all at all.[/QUOTE

One such comment amongst 24 pages of perfectly normal comments. Such jokes are hardly the prevailing standard of comment.
    It was the exact opposite of prevalent.

You have a big imagination! Slightly warped. Or maybe your friends do! No way that happened. If something like that was reported, no way it wouldn't be fully investigated and very unlikely the Gardai would dismiss such a serious accusation as "it definitely didn't happen"
    Are you honestly saying the girl was so drunk she forgot the whole night even happened??????? .......

Actually, I am not wasting my time with this! Hope your mates had a good party!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Are you serious? Have you been to a party where things turned ugly, sex, violence, drugs etc?

Not sure if it needs spelling out, but will do. The fellows who were there denied it. Obviously enough...did you think they'd turn themselves in? The friend I have in the group, who was allegedly one of the witnesses, tells me he was downstairs and knew something bad was happening, and regrets not going upstairs to intervene. The Gardai say it definitely happened, but the victim wouldn't go further.

Oh so 12-15 people did not witness it then? They in fact denied witnessing it. At least one person was downstairs. Not much of a witness. Bit different from your earlier claim.

No, can't say I've ever been to a party where violent crime was casually taking place.

Actually, I am not wasting my time with this! Hope your mates had a good party!

Rape culture.

Hears about a party where someone was raped. Hopes the party was good craic.

Rape culture.

Hears about a party where someone was raped. Hopes the party was good craic.

Yeah, sure Ted, read it like that. As I said you have a warped imagination to try back up your points. You honestly think people are that gullible to believe that set of events panned out like that?

I'm only repeating what the Gardai said. I wasn't there myself, I have one close friend who was in the house but insists he wasn't in the room. I have posted about it before on other threads, and earlier on this thread. If you don't believe it, you don't believe it. But still, the "hope they enjoyed the party" line was glib.

glib culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Crap joke culture

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I disagree. Ireland has finally broken from the shackles of the Catholic Church, and that's a good thing.

Sex isn't anything to be ashamed of.

Point out to me where promiscuity has ever been a positive trait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

The same people in here claiming there is a rape culture in the country and making up bullsh1t stories are in the multiculturalism thread trying to argue that sure only a proportion of Muslim immigrants are rapists so we're all racist if we don't want to let in thousands of them.
    You don't know what you're talking about and you don't know what you want except to play victim and feel like some fighter for truth and justice. Delusional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

infogiver wrote: »

It mixes the gene pool and provides diversity, increasing the chances of reproductive success. Since always.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,486 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

They had a barrister who tried to explain it to her, but the presenter seemed more interested in making politicial/social points about how bad the criminal justice system is rsther than trying to actually understand how things are.

Yes, the barrister was unapologetic about - I forget the turn of phrase - the standard of proof? Quite right too.
    ligerdub wrote: »
    I recall from the most high level academic research I undertook that there were certain protocols to follow and what were the things which made up a poor research project. A key one there was the level of bias of the researcher and electing to focus on or ignore certain aspects observed depending on personal preference.

To me this was absolutely central to this piece of work, and why she has absolutely no credibility.

She started the doc with 'I wrote a book about rape, rape culture', then shaped the doc to suit her arguments.
    mzungu wrote: »
    To put in mildly, I don't think they would have the journalistic integrity or tact to deal with such a delicate case. It was better that the reporting was left to more seasoned journalists who are there to present the story and are not interested in petty point scoring on the "gender wars" scoreboard.

Not a whole lot of long form journalism around these days, it seems. Probably costs too much to fund.

In my time on this planet 4 women have told me they were raped or sexually abused. Rape is a terrible crime as is the stigma, but it remains the responsibility of certain individual men. Don't ask me to explain why some people shook hands with a men in Kerry, I can't. What puzzles me about the rape culture narratives is what's the end game? It's already become mainstream discourse and questioning it is not good because we just get pointed to this. There is a click bait piece on a certain online news site tonight, it starts fine, then gets into "you should be afraid of these things, be afraid", all sorts of generalities.

If you're saying there's a rape culture, to me, that translates as saying society is pro-rape which is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

infogiver wrote: »

30 years ago when I was in my twenties in Dublin.