Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I thought the show would maybe involve interviews with the DPP, gardai etc and try to explain why so many reported rape cases arent sent to the dpp, so many cases sent to the dpp arent prosecuted and maybe some specific insights into why there are lots of acquittals in criminal trials.

They had a barrister who tried to explain it to her, but the presenter seemed more interested in making politicial/social points about how bad the criminal justice system is rsther than trying to actually understand how things are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Yep, she seemed to frame to documentary in such a way that her conclusions came first, i.e. 'Rape culture exists in Ireland: I'm going to check this out', rather than 'is there a problem, it might be _____what's the evidence?' Had this been Prime Time/Prime Time Investigates it would have been a very different piece.

Not to say there were no good points or speakers. There were, but if it was more factual than entertainment they could have made a two part series. I was disappointed she didn't speak to second level students even though they don't get info on consent.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Yep, she seemed to frame to documentary in such a way that her conclusions came first, i.e. 'Rape culture exists in Ireland: I'm going to check this out', rather than 'is there a problem, it might be _____what's the evidence?'

Rape culture, in the white ribbon sense of "if guys talk about attractive girls in a jocular way it leads to a pervading sense that rape is acceptable" is too vague to be analysed based on evidence.

Meanwhile, rape culture in the sense of systemic sexual abuse in Irish institutions and the church is far too serious for this style of show.

The examples she uses, some of which are from the US e.g. brock turner, are used to show how people are, rightly, upset by certain low prison sentences. She then extrapolates the general from this, ignoring the significant sentences for rape handed out in Ireland on an almost weekly basis. Effectively, she is using a skewed sample to prove her conclusions.

I honestly believe that what really discourages genuine rape victims from coming forward and potentially emboldens rapists are these media programmes and articles that trivilaise the criminal justice process.

What she does is selectively skew the facts tomaking it seem like most rapists get away with it! If anything is "rape culture" surely her programme is.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I thought the show would maybe involve interviews with the gardai, gardai etc and try to explain why so many reported rape cases arent sent to the dpp, so many cases sent to the dpp arent prosecuted and maybe some specific insights into why there are lots of acquittals in criminal trials.
    A full and rounded investigation? Ah look, who needs that? Instead, we were treated to a completely objective interview with two lads from Right On online publications (the only lads featured IIRC), who shockingly enough, completely shared her worldview, and waxed lyrical about the dynamics of the modern man that nicely fitted her preconceived idea of men. Sure, we don't need to be digging into any the complex legalities at play, especially when there is an axe to grind. Get with the program.
    They had a barrister who tried to explain it to her, but the presenter seemed more interested in making politicial/social points about how bad the criminal justice system is rsther than trying to actually understand how things are.
    The interviewees were quite interesting, but there was an element point scoring going on there. I think this did more harm than good. It would have worked better if it had been more conversational, rather than trying to get the digs in at the justice system. The viewer would have gotten a hell of a lot more information. We already know what Louise O'Neill thinks, so it would have been better to focus in a lot more on the people she was speaking to and their knowledge of the intricacies of why exactly conviction rates are so low. In general, the reasons were given, but not in an in-depth fashion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

If anything, there's a culture of promiscuity in Ireland. But dare you even mention it.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

mzungu wrote: »
    We already know what Louise O'Neill thinks.

Yes and she is clearly a biased journalist. I would view anything she writes or broadcasts through a very sceptical eye. If she tried to be objective she may well have got through to both men and woman. As it was she went down the usual north American feminist route of collectively blaming men for rape. The vast majority of men are not rapists, know they would never rape and are repulsed by rape. She is instantly losing the ear of those men with her message. And why did she not focus a little boys and men who have been raped. The numbers are quite high.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

If anything, there's a culture of promiscuity in Ireland. But dare you even mention it.........

I disagree. Ireland has finally broken from the shackles of the Catholic Church, and that's a good thing.

Sex isn't anything to be ashamed of.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Yep, she seemed to frame to documentary in such a way that her conclusions came first, i.e. 'Rape culture exists in Ireland: I'm going to check this out', rather than 'is there a problem, it might be _____what's the evidence?' Had this been Prime Time/Prime Time Investigates it would have been a very different piece.

This was my primary issue with her and the show when I saw the ad.

I recall from the most high level academic research I undertook that there were certain protocols to follow and what were the things which made up a poor research project. A key one there was the level of bias of the researcher and electing to focus on or ignore certain aspects observed depending on personal preference.

To me this was absolutely central to this piece of work, and why she has absolutely no credibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

It is the way i do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

The examples she uses, some of which are from the US e.g. brock turner,........

I don't see how people can explain away her lack of interest in crimes against women in the Middle East or grooming and abuse gangs in England, when she's doing this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

I don't see how people can explain away her lack of interest in crimes against women in the Middle East or grooming and abuse gangs in England, when she's doing this.
    Her whole modus operandum is to rile men, not to help women in any way. It's how the modern feminist makes a living.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I disagree. Ireland has finally broken from the shackles of the Catholic Church, and that's a good thing.

Safe sex is nothing to be ashamed of.

Except for revenge porn apparently...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Her whole modus operandum is to rile men, not to help women in any way. It's how the modern feminist makes a living.

Aside from that, if you look at any of her articles she seems to think that a paragraph is merely one sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

This.

If Louise wants to really make an impact on discussions around rape culture and further expand the discourse in a meaningful way, then she needs to become as outspoken about overt rape culture closer to home i.e. in the UK in Rotherham, Rochdale etc as she does about US cases such as Duke Lacrosse or the Revenge porn scandal in UCD she mentioned in one of her articles.

She's not the only Third-Wave feminist to fail to do so. I mentioned in a prior post that most of the leading commentators in this movement have also not done so.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As I've said about her and her various media and political bedfellow's internal logic, it always comes down to this mantra, nay axiom; Women are always agentless victims and it is always men's fault.
    Put any of this "philosophy" through that sentence and it will always come out in agreement.

Certain men are given somewhat of a free ride. Gay lads generally speaking, though certainly not always as it's the gay lads who are more likely to call out their shít as they have no skin in the game. Mewling "male feminists" that agree with their insanity and insecurities and constantly support and flatter them(while often hoping to get the roooide). Non White lads up to a point, if they see them as victims. Working class men are like working class women, mostly seen from the window of daddy's Audi and only regarded if at all as quaint parishioners down the back of the Most Holy Church of the Perpetual Victim. And Daddy of course. Though he's usually the marmite figure in such things. Either hated as the cause of all her problems(see axiom above), or the Man who can Never be replaced(™)(with a side order of the Electra complex). Mainly because he sees and still treats them like a child and will take their nonsense out of a sense of parental love. The Irish Mammy© comes in for some awful stick in how some Irish men turn out, but the Irish Daddy(™) is just as bad as far as indulgence and extending adolescence goes.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

This.

If Louise wants to really make an impact on discussions around actual rape culture and further expand the discourse in a meaningful way, then she needs to become as outspoken about overt rape culture closer to home i.e. in the UK in Rotherham, Rochdale etc as she does about US cases such as Duke Lacrosse or the Revenge porn scandal in UCD she mentioned in one of her articles.

She's not the only Third-Wave feminist to fail to do so. I mentioned in a prior post that most of the leading commentators in this movement have also not done so.

That would involve going after a target other than straight white middle class males.

Her and her ilk never stray outside their comfort zone.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Irish Daddy(™)

Stop posting my Grindr username please.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

One interesting aspect to this thread is that there is very little (if any?) people agreeing with or defending Louise and her attitude.

py2006 wrote: »
    One interesting aspect to this thread is that there is very little (if any?) people agreeing with or defending Louise and her attitude.

Normal people are getting fairly sick of this type of **** at this stage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

She's not the only Third-Wave feminist to fail to do so. I mentioned that most of the leading lights in this movement have also failed to do so.
    Makes perfect sense UG, when one considers the cultural environments and echo chambers most of them grew up within and inhabit. White, middle class, educated and cosseted. They only eat what is fed to them as it were. Their Oracle of Delphi is American University Left wing philosophy.

So just as Irish "RedPill" eejits take examples from say American divorce stats and stories and wider US culture, which bear scant relation to Irish culture, these eejit's frames of reference also flow from their own US sources.

Rotherham wouldn't be on US campus' radar, or feminist media outlets(Jezebel took six months to report it and gave it a half page) so local Irish "feminists" almost completely ignored it. The UCD scandal that never happened looked like our own watered down for Irish tastes University of Virginia rape culture as reported by Rolling Stone and of course the usual harpies made hay. Sadly it was all too alike as both stories were nonsense and never happened.

Be mindful of this too. Local provocateurs like O'Neill peddling their wares are very aware that their stock is limited in an Irish context, so she is most certainly keeping her wallet's eye on the huge US market, where this victim porn goes over a treat. Or with enough of a treat with enough people to be nicely lucrative ta very much. Her "exotic, while still White presentable mien, with a quaint accent" song and dance would be seen as manna from heaven to US publishers and TV with a segment to fill. A perfect Colleeeeen Carrie Bradshaw for the US millennial. No way will she go against the catechism of their Most Holy Church of the Perpetual Victim and actively look for any truth. It would threaten her potential earnings.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hugh Mungus's victim made a response...well a few responses.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHrvNYUTTpw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

This.

If Louise wants to really make an impact on discussions around rape culture and further expand the discourse in a meaningful way, then she needs to become as outspoken about overt rape culture closer to home i.e. in the UK in Rotherham, Rochdale etc as she does about US cases such as Duke Lacrosse or the Revenge porn scandal in UCD she mentioned in one of her articles.

That would involve talking about brown men preying on white women and girls. It goes against the narrative so it's not going to happen.

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    That would involve talking about brown men preying on white women and girls. It goes against the narrative so it's going to happen.

An absolutely massive issue but never highlighted. White women targeted by Muslim men in UK and black men in USA is underreported. Feminism ignores the issue too which is shameful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

An absolutely massive issue but never highlighted. White women targeted by Muslim men in UK and black men in USA is underreported. Feminism ignores the issue too which is shameful.

Feminists really should start talking about the rape culture which has been imported into Europe.

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    Feminists really should start talking about the rape culture which has been imported into Europe.

Entire families were getting involved in the rape of under age white girls in Rotherham, father's and sons, brothers, uncles etc all getting involved in the abuse. That's a rape culture within the Pakistani community over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Entire families were getting involved in the rape of under age white girls in Rotherham, father's and sons, brothers, uncles etc all getting involved in the abuse. That's a rape culture within the Pakistani community over there.

And...massive collusion by the organs of state (i.e. The Patriarchy) to keep it all hush-hush.

And yet from Feminists.....not a word.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

cursai wrote: »
    Hugh Mungus's victim made a response...well a few responses.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHrvNYUTTpw

Repeating ''internalized oppression'' like a broken record in response to every criticism isn't much of a defense. She's clearly very set in her ways and not open minded enough to take criticism on board. She persistently speaks about what women have experienced and felt while steamrolling over everything women tell her about what they experience and feel. Laughable.And controlling. Comments are disabled just in case anyone wants to disagree with her.

Wibbs wrote: »
    We can even see it here on Boards as it evolved. Boards was/is a more middle of the road environment, not unlike wider Irish society. The proof of this is that you'll have extreme lefties moaning and leaving because "it's becoming too right wing" and extreme righties moaning and leaving because "it's becoming too left wing" and neither see the glaring problem with this logic.
    That's more a case of left and right not meaning what a lot of people think they mean. If you don't want more immigrants but you aren't a racist, which one are you? "Lefties" will tell you that's impossible...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

That's more a case of left and right not meaning what a lot of people think they mean. If you don't want more immigrants but you aren't a racist, which one are you? "Lefties" will tell you that's impossible...

Left and Right in traditional sense mean nothing anymore. Biggest support for allegedly "far right" parties in Europe is from people who used to vote for Communists and socialists. Indeed there is direct correlation between collapse of French CP and rise of FN.

Unfortunately, Ireland has no alternative voice.