Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

bur wrote: »
    Annoying when one poster wants to dominate an entire thread.

I]McGregor voice[/I Take all the bullshít away he would clean the entire forum out in 3 months.

On a more serious note I enjoy reading something with a bit of depth to it so rather than reply with a petty comment why not add something yourself or bring something up.

I realize I’m probably doing the same now so here’s my contribution:

I think if Conor implements another leg kicking game plan it could end bad for him, he’d be more susceptible to takedowns and judging by the aftermath of Diaz II he would wreck his leg again as he’s not used to that type of volume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

I]McGregor voice[/I Take all the bullshít away he would clean the entire forum out in 3 months.

On a more serious note I enjoy reading something with a bit of depth to it so rather than reply with a petty comment why not add something yourself or bring something up.

I realize I’m probably doing the same now so here’s my contribution:

I think if Conor implements another leg kicking game plan it could end bad for him, he’d be more susceptible to takedowns and judging by the aftermath of Diaz II he would wreck his leg again as he’s not used to that type of volume.

He doesn't need to use leg kicks at all if he doesn't want to

bmcc10 wrote: »
    He doesn't need to use leg kicks at all if he doesn't want to

I know, I was just joining in as someone mentioned do they think he will go back to leg kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Mellor wrote: »
    John was a regular contributor to the forum a few years ago. Posting on local events, general discussion. And later dropping hints about TUF and UFC signings, etc.

Have you been lurking the whole time Richy? Haven't noticed you posting in the last year or so.

I lurk. I read. I flap my gums less these days, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,187 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Head Wreck wrote: »
    "Completely left field" = Mayweather

I think its Mayweather alright, I've been saying that all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Leg kicks while not a priority should most definitely be part of his game plan.
    Leg kicks while they could be used to secure a take down against him.

Can be used to keep alvarez at a greater distance, making getting into clinch range harder, and forcing him to shoot for take downs from further away.

Opens him up conors superior boxing, and can if he holds his hands lower to defend the leg kicks his chin is open for a big left hand.

Leg kicks drain a fighters explosiveness. make it more difficult to push through the corner to secure a takedown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 mmamaestro

Just seen John Kavanagh posts here so I think I will give him advice pro bono

1) The new MacLife videos suck. The production is very poor. I thought McGregor was going to outdo Embedded but he has failed.

2) Eddie Alvarez is a very good wrestler, has a brown belt in BRAZILIAN Jiu Jitsu, has a good a chin and is a strong puncher.

3) Does McGregor have the skillset to beat the Alvarez that has been outlined above?

4) McGregor should train wrestling defence and wrestling offence, grappling defence and grappling offence and boxing.

5) Does McGregor have the mentality to win? It seems like he is taking Eddie for granted. Eddie is the lightheavy weight champion for a reason.

6) Good luck. I think you will need it. Eddie and Mark Henry are insanely good.

MMAmaestro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

mmamaestro wrote: »

1) The new MacLife videos suck. The production is very poor. I thought McGregor was going to outdo Embedded but he has failed.

2) Eddie Alvarez is a very good wrestler, has a brown belt in BRAZILIAN Jiu Jitsu, has a good a chin and is a strong puncher.

3) Does McGregor have the skillset to beat the Alvarez that has been outlined above?

4) McGregor should train wrestling defence and wrestling offence, grappling defence and grappling offence and boxing.

5) Does McGregor have the mentality to win? It seems like he is taking Eddie for granted. Eddie is the lightheavy weight champion for a reason.

MMAmaestro

1. They do suck. Although, I don't think that's a concern for John.
    2. His chin is questionable. He's a good puncher but leaves his chin out to be hit.
    3. Yes.
    4. I'm sure he is.
    5. Eddie is far from Lightheavy weight. I doubt he's being taken for granted somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

MMAmaestro

2zqwo5v.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Mcg used leg kicks against Diaz because Diaz is very heavy on his front foot and doesn't check leg kicks. It had nothing to do with McGs ability to throw them, I mean I could leg kick the sh1te out off Diaz........before running and hiding in the toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

MMAmaestro

1. That's for Conor, I doubt John cares too much
    2. Why is Brazilian in caps? Conor is also a brown belt and a very good one at that.
    3. Absolutely, Eddie is too flat footed for someone as aloof as Conor to trouble him too much unless he spams take downs. Even at that I think there's a danger he gets sparked on the way in for one.
    4. I'm sure he's doing that and more
    5. One thing that can never be questioned IMO is Conor's self belief, it's unmatched by anyone in the UFC.

Just on no.5 as well: I think Eddie may have gotten a bit lucky with his win over RDA. He emptied the tank with that blitz so if RDA had managed to weather it, a la Weidman v Belfort, I think he'd have been in serious trouble.

I realise that he didn't weather it and got pummeled but just something that I'd been thinking of in the back of my mind if he'd been up against someone tougher.

@Wonderfullife

I know the press conference that you are referencing so let me retort.

I have been immersed in the UFC sport for the last 6 months. I have a self-awarded blue belt in BRAZILIAN jiu jitsu and am currently in talks to offer a course online through Udemy.

Alvarez is severely underpriced as 5/6 underdog on Paddy Power and I will be taking advantage of this when my dole money comes through.

People are sleeping on Eddie, but let's just wait to see who Eddie sleeps come November 8th

Mod: Banned for trolling nonsense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

@Wonderfullife

I have been immersed in the UFC sport for the last 6 months. I have a self-awarded blue belt in BRAZILIAN jiu jitsu and am currently in talks to offer a course online through Udemy.

Alvarez is severely underpriced as 5/6 underdog on Paddy Power and I will be taking advantage of this when my dole money comes through.

People are sleeping on Eddie, but let's just wait to see who Eddie sleeps come November 8th

Where does one start :o joke right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

@Wonderfullife

Just to be sure........It is BRAZILIAN jiu jitsu and not Brazilian jiu jitsu you plan on teaching? 5/6 seems like a fair price to me. As for who Eddie will be sleeping on Nov 8th my guess would be sleeping with his wife as he won't be fighting for another four days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

don't feed the troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I genuinely pity Axwell over the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

wont be long before the mma forum is access only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

@Wonderfullife

Hi mmamaestro.,

I'd be very interested in signing up for your course. How much is it? Actually you don't even need to answer that, you can't put a price on learning BRAZILIAN jiu jitsu from the very best (at blue belt level).

Can I just transfer a few hundred quid to you via PayPal and you can refund me the difference at your convenience?

Regards,
    Me.

PS. Is Eddie partaking in some unsactioned street fight on the 8th of November, and if so, won't that put him at a slight disadvantage for his fight in NYC four days later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

@Wonderfullife

wow 6 months? you sure know better than any of us and certainly better than kavanagh! jog on mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Richy06 wrote: »
    I lurk. I read. I flap my gums less these days, I guess.

How's the top game going? Still tapping lads with chest pressure at purple belt?
    Get much of a chance to roll with Danis at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Richie Smullen runs SBG! heel hooks every one of the lads Danis including,Lee Hamond berimbolos them for fun too dont they Rich.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Richie Smullen runs SBG! heel hooks every one of the lads Danis including,Lee Hamond berimbolos them for fun too dont they Rich.

I thought it was otro Ricardo. Never mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

that's Richy Condon as far as i know (Richy09).

Tis who I thought it was so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Yes I know that lads,just wanted his views on the lads running the grappling game in SBG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Depp wrote: »
    wow 6 months? you sure know better than any of us and certainly better than kavanagh! jog on mate

It's a piss take ffs

Does anyone think that McGregor has made himself unmarketable to many demographics?

If he had kept a clean image, similar to GSP, he would have a mass market appeal. I genuinely thought that he could have been the David Beckham of MMA.

Instead he chose this fake gangster persona as his persona. His PPV numbers may benefit from it but his overall marketability goes down and he leaves millions behind.

Also fair play to him for wanting to take time out and strengthen his relationship with Dee. Easy to mock but that is a positive move I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Yes I know that lads,just wanted his views on the lads running the grappling game in SBG.

Joey B is the real killer.