Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Axwell wrote: »
    This is an MMA forum, if you want to discuss mental health in depth there are plenty of other places on boards more appropriate to do so with people looking to engage in that discussion. The focus here is on MMA so lets keep it on track.

And there you have Exhibit A in why we have an endemic problem.

This is an MMA Forum. Last time i checked John was the most famous MMA Coach in Europe.

An argument that i should take my opinions to a Mental Health forum when an MMA coach runs a segment that could impact on others is ridiculous.

Tim Kennedys comments on PTSD in veterans would be discussed in the UFC General Chat Thread. Why? Because he's an MMA fighter.

Back on topic.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Tazzimus wrote:
    I enjoy the fact that there's some legible posting happening for a change instead of the 27 pages a day of McGregor/Mayweather, Dee's pregnant, Conor's a bum he beat no one etc and all the other drivel that fills 99% of this thread

This......... wonderfullife has actually dragged the thread out of the depths and provided some actual insight and stimulated debate on here. Granted I don't posess the intelligence to contribute as much but at least I'm learning something rather than the usual tripe listed above by Tazzimus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Same here. Well spoken Wonderfullife.

Enjoying your MMA articles too. You really should be doing it professionally.

• Company Representative Posts: 64 Verified rep JohnSBG

Apologies for off topic post.
    Although i do feel a lot better that they were they were the 'worst' examples you could come up since youve written so extensively. I could go into the 'why' on those 2 particular ones but it's not needed nor the place for it. Feel free to pm me here but i wont reply on the thread anymore.

Anyway, as apology for said derailment, I'll add my prediction here. I think round 1 will be played out against the fence where eddie will wear himself going for takedowns. Round 2 there will be more opportunities to catch him on the way in or to turn him off fence and strike.
    KO RD2 4mins.

JohnSBG wrote: »
    Anyway, as apology for said derailment, I'll add my prediction here. I think round 1 will be played out against the fence where eddie will wear himself going for takedowns. Round 2 there will be more opportunities to catch him on the way in or to turn him off fence and strike.
    KO RD2 4mins.

Straight to the bookies I go...

Best of luck to the team on the 12th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I think the real question JohnSBG is are you going to sign Wonderfullifes copy of your book or not, he has been asking for ages at this point in various roundabout ways :)

Good luck for the fight, not always the biggest fan of McGregor, or maybe some of his fanbase would be more appropriate, but it would be great to have an Irish two weight UFC champion. I think it will be over in round 1 though not two, Alvarez gets hit wayy too much ;)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Although i do feel a lot better that they were they were the 'worst' examples you could come up since youve written so extensively. I could go into the 'why' on those 2 particular ones but it's not needed nor the place for it. Feel free to pm me here but i wont reply on the thread anymore.

KO RD2 4mins.

Likewise, i won't derail the thread more. I sent ya a PM.

I don't personally see Eddie getting Conor to the fence for much of Round 1. Amade dropped him with a counter check-hook, Chandler did too, Freire wobbled him with a check-hook. I see him getting rocked early with Conor punching on the back-foot.

Eddie's head-first punching style is very similar to Aldo and Brimage. Didn't end well for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

John... this trip is costing me a fooking fortune...will ya ask himself to not pull and aldo on it...a couple of rounds at least would be great :P

dashoonage wrote: »
    John... this trip is costing me a fooking fortune...will ya ask himself to not pull and aldo on it...a couple of rounds at least would be great :P

If there's one thing he never does, it's pull from fights. I'd be more worried about Alvarez. Isn't there something like a 50% pullout record for his opponents or something crazy like that?

i think he meant please don't knock him out in 13 seconds after spending 2 grand on the trip :pac:

He wants a round or 2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

This.
    i think he meant please don't knock him out in 13 seconds after spending 2 grand on the trip :pac:

Ah yes.....pretty obvious reading back now.....was a bit too quick on the trigger...like Conor v Aldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

This is a few days old I think but it was interesting to see Eddie talk about a plan nullifying Conors defensive head movement. I suppose it's easy to forget that Eddie is probably meticulously game-planning this fight a lot more compared to Nate. I wonder how successful it would work for him in the stand-up.

"To me, he’s just a left hand,” revealed Alvarez. “He’s just a guy with a left hand. That’s how I see him. He does something that we call a ‘rock back’ well. Mayweather does it. A lot of Philly fighters do it. [McGregor] lives and breathes off it. A lot of MMA guys don’t know about these boxing things that they do. This is a move that’s very easily taken away and we’re going to dominate every step of the way.

“Without giving away a gameplan or anything, everything’s taken away with the proper preparation. I’m confident in my coaches, I’m confident in our gameplan and our ability to go out there and do it. We’re just following this gameplan step-by-step.”

Conor seems to use a heap of trunk movement as opposed to traditional Muay-Thai/Boxing head movement. He tends to slip punches with his trunk rather than head-bobbing.

He's exceptional at it. The only problem with dynamic trunk movements is that it becomes a lot harder to slip punches when you're exhausted and i think that was the main reason Nate was able to land the 1-2 in the first fight.

Having watched every fight he's been in many times, i can't remember another glaring example of someone landing a flush combination on him. He's very similar to Cruz in the sense it's easy to hit him but very hard to hit him clean. Also testament to his chin that it only rocked him and didn't put him on the seat of his pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

You get what Alvarez means though, he does to that little half step back out of trouble a lot, or even lean back if you prefer, his counter striking off it is excellent and he does have good head movement too in fairness, it is one thing though recognising that and even knowing how to counter act that in theory. It is a totally different kettle of fish when it comes to implementing that plan properly in the heat of the moment when variations are being thrown and adjustments made

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

This is a few days old I think but it was interesting to see Eddie talk about a plan nullifying Conors defensive head movement. I suppose it's easy to forget that Eddie is probably meticulously game-planning this fight a lot more compared to Nate. I wonder how successful it would work for him in the stand-up.

"To me, he’s just a left hand,” revealed Alvarez. “He’s just a guy with a left hand. That’s how I see him. He does something that we call a ‘rock back’ well. Mayweather does it. A lot of Philly fighters do it. [McGregor] lives and breathes off it. A lot of MMA guys don’t know about these boxing things that they do. This is a move that’s very easily taken away and we’re going to dominate every step of the way.

“Without giving away a gameplan or anything, everything’s taken away with the proper preparation. I’m confident in my coaches, I’m confident in our gameplan and our ability to go out there and do it. We’re just following this gameplan step-by-step.”
    Talking about it and actually pulling it off while being punched in the chops by "just a left hand" are two very different things.

Conor has worked a lot on his jab as well so I can see him utilising that to frustrate/distract Eddie
    Also, he's exceptional at range management and being able to slip in and out at will. This will prove to be the bigger problem for Eddie I think.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

And there you have Exhibit A in why we have an endemic problem.

This is an MMA Forum. Last time i checked John was the most famous MMA Coach in Europe.

An argument that i should take my opinions to a Mental Health forum when an MMA coach runs a segment that could impact on others is ridiculous.

Tim Kennedys comments on PTSD in veterans would be discussed in the UFC General Chat Thread. Why? Because he's an MMA fighter.

Back on topic.....

This is an MMA Forum..correct. Johns coaching ability has nothing to do with my comment and wasnt being questioned, so not sure why you are bringing him into it. My comment was aimed at you.

No one is 'arguing' with you to take your opinions anywhere, so adjust your attitude. Mental Health is a serious issue and if people are going to get into in depth disucssion on the subject there are appropriate forums to do so where people can discuss it properly. This forum and this thread in particular is full of childish nonsense, tit for tat between users over who is a bigger fan, thrash talking, trolling comments and other such nonsense. That environment is not the place to have a discussion on mental health.

Agree. The biggest question mark ahead of the fight is to what extent we're going to see a return of kicks from Conors end of things.

In the Nate re-match, it was all about conserving energy and using leg kicks as set ups for counter straight left hands/hooks.

I wonder will we see a return to a more flowy "Flim Flam" as Robin Black likes to call it. Circling Eddie away from his power hand so land the "Celtic Cross".

If Conor truly is in the shape of his life, i have to imagine he's going to revert to using his best weapons - the spinning back kick, the left high kick and obviously his left hand.

For the craic, i would love to see that oblique kick one more time. I've only ever seen 2 i think. It'd be gas.

Agree. The biggest question mark ahead of the fight is to what extent we're going to see a return of kicks from Conors end of things.

In the Nate re-match, it was all about conserving energy and using leg kicks as set ups for counter straight left hands/hooks.

I wonder will we see a return to a more flowy "Flim Flam" as Robin Black likes to call it. Circling Eddie away from his power hand so land the "Celtic Cross".

If Conor truly is in the shape of his life, i have to imagine he's going to revert to using his best weapons - the spinning back kick, the left high kick and obviously his left hand.

For the craic, i would love to see that oblique kick one more time. I've only ever seen 2 i think. It'd be gas.

Do you not think the kicks are high risk against a guy who ultimately wants to take you down and keep you down for five rounds? Although the body kicks worked a treat against Mendes.

I'd imagine plenty of inside leg kicks would work a treat and slow Eddie down. Has Conor utilised leg kicks much outside of the Diaz fight?

I would be worried about Conor's ankle too. It looked like he was limping in that October MacLife video.

Axwell wrote: »
    This is an MMA Forum..correct. Johns coaching ability has nothing to do with my comment and wasnt being questioned, so not sure why you are bringing him into it. My comment was aimed at you.

No one is 'arguing' with you to take your opinions anywhere, so adjust your attitude. Mental Health is a serious issue and if people are going to get into in depth disucssion on the subject there are appropriate forums to do so where people can discuss it properly. This forum and this thread in particular is full of childish nonsense, tit for tat between users over who is a bigger fan, thrash talking, trolling comments and other such nonsense. That environment is not the place to have a discussion on mental health.

Ok well that was an untimely post we had gotten things under control in here. :o

No attitude or attitude problem. Josh Samman is dead now and had mental health problems, Tim Kennedy has voiced comments about PTSD, Ronda contemplated suicide.

If or when a mental health issue relating to MMA arises i'd hope it can be discussed on this forum not shunted out to other forums. Mental health is relevant to everybody.

I've taken it to PM with John as he suggested. We're back on track :)

All good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

He destroyed Chad with kicks.

But he did leave himself open to takedowns, but that was more Chad slipping the punches.

Those kicks were lethal.

Do you not think the kicks are high risk against a guy who ultimately wants to take you down and keep you down for five rounds? Although the body kicks worked a treat against Mendes.

I'd imagine plenty of inside leg kicks would work a treat and slow Eddie down. Has Conor utilised leg kicks much outside of the Diaz fight?

I would be worried about Conor's ankle too. It looked like he was limping in that October MacLife video.

I think i'm right in saying he threw 17 leg kicks in the previous 10 fights and threw more than that in Round 1 against Nate.

Conor's whipping motion of kicking, teeping etc makes them very hard to catch. But there's always a danger they are caught and it leaves him off-balance and vulnerable.

I'm sure he's been drilling that to death with Sergey - takedown defence with his left leg already caught.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Ok well that was an untimely post we had gotten things under control in here. :o

No attitude or attitude problem. Josh Samman is dead now and had mental health problems, Tim Kennedy has voiced comments about PTSD, Ronda contemplated suicide.

If or when a mental health issue relating to MMA arises i'd hope it can be discussed on this forum not shunted out to other forums. Mental health is relevant to everybody.

I've taken it to PM with John as he suggested. We're back on track :)

All good.

I am all for discussion on mental health and have plenty of dealings with it to be more than aware of its relevance. But like everything there is usually a right place and time - in this case this thread is not the place considering the usual discussion that goes on here and the levels of immaturity seen daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I think i'm right in saying he threw 17 leg kicks in the previous 10 fights and threw more than that in Round 1 against Nate.

Conor's whipping motion of kicking, teeping etc makes them very hard to catch. But there's always a danger they are caught and it leaves him off-balance and vulnerable.

I'm sure he's been drilling that to death with Sergey - takedown defence with his left leg already caught.
    I think that whipping teep kick will be hard to catch, especially if he disguises it under throwing a punch first.

Only need a few of those to make you want to keep your distance from him/get winded.

Interesting fact:

Eddie Alvarez last 10 fights have seen 131.49 minutes of action. Conor McGregor last 10 fights 66.29 minutes.

So 2 hours 11 of action for Eddie, 1 hour 6 minutes for Conor.

In fact, Eddie has seen more Cage-time in his previous 10 fights than in Conors entire career by about 33 minutes.

In those 10 fights, Eddie was in straight-up wars with Curran, Chandler, Cerrone, Melendez.

Conor, arguably, had one war with Diaz (you can make a case for the Mendes fight being a mini-war)

Eddie's chin has been getting progressively worse with action - in terms of being rocked, wobbled and dropped.

I think this could be a small factor to bear in mind. It's arguable that wars caught up on Robbie Lawler. Obviously the fact Woodley hits like a truck didn't help! But you can't help but feel that the more wars these guys get into, the less they can take clean, hard shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Annoying when one poster wants to dominate an entire thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

KO RD2 4mins.
    For Eddie or Conor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

bur wrote: »
    How many posts have you in this thread?

At least he's adding debate here. I enjoy his posts, personally. I don't enjoy sly digs trying to discourage people from posting, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

This thread is both my most hated and favourite at the same time :pac:

So petty at times, and I love it.

bur wrote: »

Anything to offer here yourself?