Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Mellor wrote: »
    The $150k is only so high because his pay for the fight was so high.
    Had been paid $300k there would be no comments about $15,000 fine (5%).

This. Also i can believe people are defending him here. As we argued earlier Conor has become one of the most recognizable people in ireland and a role model to the younger generations.

I for one done want them thinking its ok to go around calling people "ese mother ****er" and lopping cans of monster at them.

I also hope Diaz gets a decent fine as well!

I also think the UFC should have done something. Mabye the have and i havent heard about it.

Honestly lads...some of ye need to climb out of Conors ass and come back to the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

dashoonage wrote: »
    This. Also i can believe people are defending him here. As we argued earlier Conor has become one of the most recognizable people in ireland and a role model to the younger generations.

I for one done want them thinking its ok to go around calling people "ese mother ****er" and lopping cans of monster at them.

I also think the UFC should have done something. Mabye the have and i havent heard about it.

Honestly lads...some of ye need to climb out of Conors ass and come back to the real world.

100% agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Ben Fowlkes wrote an article on the whole affair and summed it up pretty well. The NSAC are an absolute joke and how they deal with these cases is a farce. It's nothing to do with having heads up Conors hole. They're a kangaroo court with muppets presiding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Pay the fine and do some community service in Ireland where is popularity would have more of an impact.

If the NSAC kick up a fuss about him doing it in Ireland they look worse for it. If Conor spent 50hrs here doing anti bullying, promoting exercise, and positive mental health. ( it would make a great part of ''The Mac Life'' ) in Ireland. They'd lose credability enforcing a suspenstion denying him a license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,342 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

What does Ireland have to do with anything? The NSAC have no authority to direct him to do a thing in Ireland.

What he is being punished for happened in the States, quite clearly the penalty is going to be carried out in the States, a few hours of it, and half the money is being used to do an anti bullying ad. They will pocket the rest though for sure

The total figure is bugging people but it is still a 5% fine which is in line. Of course he is sore about it, throwing the toys out of the pram is common enough for him too in fairness but he will get over it, Vegas is where the money is and he will return, either way the UFC will be putting most of its big shows in Vegas, so if he wants to be part of them he will return.

He will have to pay the fine or he won't be able to compete again so the fine will be paid before 205.

Sure, its chump change to him, gets fined more then the bums get paid. It will be over and done with by Christmas, he is rattling his cage and thumping his chest, but he isn't an idiot.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

put the fine into context, while it may only be 5% its still 150k, which was eddie alvarez' total disclosed purse against rda, more ridiculous powertripping by lundval and co, that whole mess really needs sorting in a big way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 131 ✭✭MartyDublin

Technically it's only a ban in Nevada, as that's there their power ends. But all other states would recognise the ban and not license him.
    Most international bodies would uphold this as well with one or two exceptions.
    100% This
    Brazil dont recognise bans issued by the commission. They have been know to allow guys banned in other countries fight. Pride was also famous for it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,390 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What does Ireland have to do with anything? The NSAC have no authority to direct him to do a thing in Ireland.
    I don't think they've an authority to direct him to a thing in the states either..
    Brazil dont recognise bans issued by the commission. They have been know to allow guys banned in other countries fight. Pride was also famous for it too

CABMMA (Brazil) might have let some banned fighter fight on some small promotion, but I can't recall the UFC ever going around a ban in Brazil.

With Pride/Venator/KZC etc, if they aren't planning on holding events in the states then they'll ignore the bans.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Right folks, some of the previous warnings seem to have gone on deaf ears. Let me point out again - this is a thread for discussing McGregor, you dont have to love him, you dont have to hate him but if you are going to come in here and talk about him at all you do so under the forum rules. Respect people opinions - just because someone doesnt agree with you does not make them wrong. If someone posts a valid comment about McGregor that is 'negative' there is no need for 10 people to jump on them defending McGregor, its childish. Respond with your own valid point or keep quiet.

There will always be trolls, always people who will drop in fight week to say how much they hate McGregor or hope he loses. Some of you though who consider yourselves regulars arent acting much better. Cut out the bull****, the backseat moderation and the personal insults. A few of you really need to grow up a bit if you plan on staying on the forum.

Consider this a warning across the forum - any nonsense and you will be going on a break of a week minimum and it will only keep getting longer until people start to have a bit of cop on.

Depp wrote: »
    put the fine into context, while it may only be 5% its still 150k, which was eddie alvarez' total disclosed purse against rda, more ridiculous powertripping by lundval and co, that whole mess really needs sorting in a big way.

Putting the fine into context is actually saying, though it is 150k it is still just 5% of his disclosed show fee, which is not out of line.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I don't think they've an authority to direct him to a thing in the states either..

I am pretty sure you understood my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

dashoonage wrote: »

Never knew that "ese" was a racist term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Im pretty sure you misunderstood mine. I was asking in relation to it being possible for him to offer to do it here rather then nevada.

But thanks for the essay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Putting the fine into context is actually saying, though it is 150k it is still just 5% of his disclosed show fee, which is not out of line.

whether its 5% or 50% its still 150k...which is a ridiculous fee for throwing a few cans, dont get me wrong it deserves punishment it was definitely out of line, just not 150000 dollars out of line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Depp wrote:
    whether its 5% or 50% its still 150k...which is a ridiculous fee for throwing a few cans, dont get me wrong it deserves punishment it was definitely out of line, just not 150000 dollars out of line.

There's also the issue that the prosecutor asked for 25k fine and at one stage the commission were considering 300k because "these anti bullying initiatives are expensive"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I expect Conor might be using the situation somewhat also as a means of avoiding having to fight in Vegas again as he would clearly prefer to fight on the East Coast going forward. Not just with regards to it being closer but even when it comes to the climate it would be far more suitable.

Now I know people tend to see talk of such things as making excuses when but fighting in 37 degrees for fighters that are not used to it has to be a disadvantage, especially when the opponent is from Cali, Brazil or wherever. In football there is never any shyness or hesitation about discussing how the heat is tougher on players that might not be so used to it but yet with fighting we rarely ever hear it being referenced.

But shorter flights would still be the main reason I'd for preferring the East Coast, for Irish fans as well as himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,390 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If you meant the incident/hearing was in America so he'll do it in America, then yeah I got that. I'm not disputing that.
    I'm just pointing out that it's voluntary either way. It's not about him being forced to do it in Dublin, it's about offering to do the hours in Dublin.
    NSAC could except it. Or they could be awkward.

Does he have to do it before 205?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I expect Conor might be using the situation somewhat also as a means of avoiding having to fight in Vegas again as he would clearly prefer to fight on the East Coast going forward. Not just with regards to it being closer but even when it comes to the climate it would be far more suitable.

Now I know people tend to see talk of such things as making excuses when but fighting in 37 degrees for fighters that are not used to it has to be a disadvantage, especially when the opponent is from Cali, Brazil or wherever. In football there is never any shyness or hesitation about discussing how the heat is tougher on players that might not be so used to it but yet with fighting we rarely ever hear it being referenced.

But shorter flights would still be the main reason I'd for preferring the East Coast, for Irish fans as well as himself.

I've never been to Vegas, but I've been to the West Coast and as far as Tahoe on the Nevada state line in mid summer and all of the casinos are fully air conditioned, you wouldn't know if it was hellishly hot outside or snowing. Wouldn't all of the arenas they use be fully air conditioned or climate controlled??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

Odd how man worth 300 million and also the boss says the fine is excessive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Odd how man worth 300 million and also the boss says the fine is excessive

Could be worth 300billion, an excessive fine is an excessive fine. If my car gets clamped in Dublin it's €80 to have it released, if Bono's car gets clamped it's €80 to have it released...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Could be worth 300billion, an excessive fine is an excessive fine. If my car gets clamped in Dublin it's €80 to have it released, if Bono's car gets clamped it's €80 to have it released...

Which means a clamping fine is a deterrent for you and I, but not Bono. Fair?

Saipanne wrote: »
    Which means a clamping fine is a deterrent for you and I, but not Bono. Fair?

You'd need to ask Bono. But personally I don't agree with your point, nobody wants to be ripped off no matter how much, being ripped off is being ripped off

You'd hate to live in Finland then.

http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2015/03/finland-home-of-the-103000-speeding-ticket/387484/

Saipanne wrote: »

I'd be grand given I don't have a pot to pi$$ in but I don't agree with the principles of it.

Why not apply the same to goods and services then?

I'd be grand given I don't have a pot to pi$$ in but I don't agree with the principles of it.

Why not apply the same to goods and services then?

Ok, this is an MMA forum, so I'll write this and leave it. A fine is meant to be a deterrent. If the deterrent costs 5% of your wage and 0.0005% of the next guy, then the deterrent is not equal for all, when you look at it.

Goods and services are not meant as deterrents, and are not (usually) controlled by government. So a bad comparison.

I think McGregor Kos him in the second.

I've never been to Vegas, but I've been to the West Coast and as far as Tahoe on the Nevada state line in mid summer and all of the casinos are fully air conditioned, you wouldn't know if it was hellishly hot outside or snowing. Wouldn't all of the arenas they use be fully air conditioned or climate controlled??

Well, I was at the Takeover Q&A last year after the Mendes fight and he was talking about the difficultly acclimatizing. I'm sure I read it was 40 degrees on the day of the last Diaz fight too. I'm sure there is some air conditioning but would it really bring it down 20-25 degrees or wherever? I'm sure I read Kavanagh saying they went out earlier to Vegas to acclimatize for the Aldo fight than they did for the Mendes fight, or maybe it was for the first Diaz fight, one or the other.

Artem said the following about the heat though:
    "Every time I get out here I feel like it takes me a few weeks to acclimatize to the weather, the air is just so dry.

“Every morning you wake up feeling dehydrated, it really does take a while to get used to it."

Either way, surely the East Coast climate would just mean he has one less thing to contend with and that has to be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Of course the arenas have a/c. Virtually every building in Vegas has a/c and yes it brings them down to 20 C or so. It was 40 the day of the Diaz fight but that has no bearing on anything.
    I was there for 3 days for the fight and while you wake up a bit stuffy due to the dry air from the a/c, it's not an issue a half hour later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The problem with the heat there isn't how hot it feels in the arena on fight night, it's the fact that the dry air makes you feel constantly dehydrated and that sticks with you all day every day, it's the one thing I don't like about the place and I only spent four days there. You definitely need time to acclimatise to those conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Lukker- wrote: »
    Problem isn't the 5% it's the 50 hours community service they want him to do in the States.

Absolute joke he doesn't live there.
    His lawyers response to that question has been completely overlooked on this forum and in the media.

The Commission asked would it be a hardship for Conor to do the community service in Nevada and noted that on his fighter paperwork, they pointed out his Residence is listed as USA, not Ireland.. His lawyer said,

"Conor is in the process of finalising the purchase of a property in Southern California and spends most of his time in America, but he is currently in Dublin".

She went out of her way to avoid saying Conor lives in Ireland. Now, this could be to do with tax reasons i don't know.

But that's why the Community Service was applied for America.
    The total figure is bugging people but it is still a 5% fine which is in line. Of course he is sore about it, throwing the toys out of the pram is common enough for him too in fairness but he will get over it, Vegas is where the money is and he will return, either way the UFC will be putting most of its big shows in Vegas, so if he wants to be part of them he will return.

He will have to pay the fine or he won't be able to compete again so the fine will be paid before 205.

Sure, its chump change to him, gets fined more then the bums get paid. It will be over and done with by Christmas, he is rattling his cage and thumping his chest, but he isn't an idiot.

The problem i have is simple. A fine based system is completely unfair.

Jeff Roman fought on the undercard of WSOF 30 under the same jurisdiction. It was in Vegas.

He was paid $500 show money. Even by WSOF standards this is incredibly low.

Under the same fine-based system, he would have received a fine of $25 for the exact same infraction that McGregor was fined $150,000 for. And if Floyd Mayweather was fined for a similar incident against Manny, he'd have been fined $5,000,000.

You can't have a situation where 3 fighters, committing the exact same infraction are fined a) $25 b) $150,000 and c) $5,000,000.

Obviously it's inconceivable they would fine Roman 150 grand he can't afford. But it's equally inconceivable that the exact same offence can yield fines ranging between $25 dollars and $5 million dollars.

I believe that there should be no, or little, monetary punishment.

More to the point, the McGregor fine isn't really $150,000.

He's being compelled to film an anti-bullying advert. His rates for the Budweiser commerical or similar would have been $500,000.

50 hours of his time, well how do you put a value on time? But it's safe to say if he put those 50 hours into photo-shoots for magazines, for paid-interviews, for tv appearances, that 50 hours could be worth another $500,000.

The fine is $150,000 but the true nature of the fine is well over $1 million.

That's an egregious abuse of power.

The community service element i'm ok with as long as there's no fine on top of it. That way all fighters can be treated equally because the loss of their time has a uniform impact on their lives.

martyos121 wrote: »
    The problem with the heat there isn't how hot it feels in the arena on fight night, it's the fact that the dry air makes you feel constantly dehydrated and that sticks with you all day every day, it's the one thing I don't like about the place and I only spent four days there. You definitely need time to acclimatise to those conditions.

Yeah, I think that's what Conor was saying in essence also and that it was the main reason he was glad to be home, to breath fresh air again.

Has there been a date set for the next 205 presser?

Be interesting to see when he flies out or is he happy enough training here until he has no option but to head out.

Just over four weeks out. Wish I was heading out to it. Salt Hill be the closest I get to New York.