Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭robwen

mdwexford wrote: »
    How so?

Genuine question as I didn't watch the verdict, not sure if it was even available to watch.

Part 1

Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Yeah i just thought that Siver went into his shell in that fight but maybe he was just past his best. He didn't seem able to pull the trigger on his shots.

Every time he threw something Conor lit him up. He just stopped throwing at the end. Conor threw 60 strikes in the last 2 minutes of the first round, Insane output.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

In the above videos, scroll to 18:40 of the 2nd video.

It says "McGregor lists on his application that he lives in Irvine, California".

His lawyer responds that he spends the majority of his time between Southern California and Las Vegas and is currently purchasing a house there.

Hmmm. :rolleyes:

That's gotta be for tax purposes he lists his address there?

Also, is it a mistake to have a complete fox of a female lawyer going up against Pat Lundvall? In my head i kept thinking this is a mistake but it was obviously intentional. It may have softened the blow with the male Commission members but Pat Lundvall is a piece of work!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

zuutroy wrote: »
    I was there for 3 days for the fight and while you wake up a bit stuffy due to the dry air from the a/c, it's not an issue a half hour later.
    Pull the other one Zuut, you were propping up the bar, with a free pass around you neck. Not trying to train in that climate. :D:D
    Jake Shields was arguably the worst offender, launching piping hot coffee's and trying to throw laptops!!
    I keep seeing people post this?
    Where are yous getting the idea that the coffee was scalding hot.
    We don't know what was it in. A latte isn't nearly as hot as a black coffee. The press conference was 30mins underway as that stage, if it was bought beforehand it would have been freezing by then.
    If it had of been a piping hot coffee, there's would have been somebody hurt as there's no way the splashes missed everyone.

Sure, he was a mong with the laptop. I don't dispute that. But I don't think there's point in making up stories to fit a narrative.

Calling people "bums" etc has lost any limited originality it did have. On his rise in the UFC he was far more charismatic and original.

Do you agree or disagree?

Disagree.
    The El Chapo schtick was a bit annoying. But the 205 presser, with the "who the fck is hat guy" comment was absolute gold.

That is leagues better than scripted lines. The look around the room beforehand, his comedic timing, etc. Those subtle differences are what makes something genuinely funny, or miss the mark a bit. Stephens was just blurting out whatever he could and the look how he came off.

It was the same with the "I'll rest my balls on your head" to Mendes early on.
    i think the turning point was when he turned up to the RDA press conference resembling 'El Chapo'. For me, he went from funny and charismatic to me rolling my eyes to heaven.

Anyway I wait to be accused of being an armchair psychologist!

I might be missing the joke, but armchair psychologist?
    His lawyer responds that he spends the majority of his time between Southern California and Las Vegas and is currently purchasing a house there.

Hmmm. :rolleyes:

That's gotta be for tax purposes he lists his address there?
    Athletes are taxed where they "work" not where they live. So a NFL/NBA player will pay tax in every state they play in. Listing a residence in California won't affect his fight tax. Who knows what else is going on though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Mellor wrote: »
    We don't know what was it in. A latte isn't nearly as hot as a black coffee.

Athletes are taxed where they "work" not where they live. So a NFL/NBA player will pay tax in every state they play in. Listing a residence in California won't affect his fight tax. Who knows what else is going on though

Conor Wallace said on snapchat he had got a "scalding" hot coffee all over him and John Kavanagh in his 42.ie column said:

"I got hit by a hot coffee and it sprayed onto Orla as well. So there was never going to be anything except an emotional response to that.”

I was just a little curious as to why Irvine, California would be listed as his actual residence on his submission. There must be a reason. If he had wanted to do the community service in Ireland he would have listed Dublin as his home address. Well, Straffan, Co. Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

We don't know what was it in. A latte isn't nearly as hot as a black coffee.

Conor Wallace said on snapchat he had got a "scalding" hot coffee all over him and John Kavanagh in his 42.ie column said:

"I got hit by a hot coffee and it sprayed onto Orla as well. So there was never going to be anything except an emotional response to that.

I was just a little curious as to why Irvine, California would be listed as his actual residence on his submission. There must be a reason. If he had wanted to do the community service in Ireland he would have listed Dublin as his home address. Well, Straffan, Co. Kildare.

He could do some caddying at the K-Club to make up the community service wearing a 'you'll do puttin' T-Shirt.

"I got hit by a hot coffee and it sprayed onto Orla as well. So there was never going to be anything except an emotional response to that.”
    I don't think they meant that literally. That's also part of the emotional reaction that John refers to.
    If it was actually scalding hot they would have all been, well scalded. Maybe it warm/hot enough to give them a nasty fright, which is completely understandable. But actual fresh hot coffee is on another level, and Shields should have charged if that was the case imo.

My brother had fresh hot black coffee split on him as a child, did horrible damage. He's in his 20's now but still has the faint scarred skin on his tricep and back.
    Was this something that was filed specifically for the hearing. For just his the 202 license paperwork? (I turned off the hearing after a bit, farce)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Still up at 3:30am playing with his dog. Getting used to living on New York time already.

https://twitter.com/TheNotoriousMMA/status/786757032435146752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

We don't know what was it in. A latte isn't nearly as hot as a black coffee. The press conference was 30mins underway as that stage, if it was bought beforehand it would have been freezing by then.
    If it had of been a piping hot coffee, there's would have been somebody hurt as there's no way the splashes missed everyone.

Sure, he was a mong with the laptop. I don't dispute that. But I don't think there's point in making up stories to fit a narrative.

think tbh wether the coffee was hot or only warm makes no real difference, not like shields considered all that and only decided to throw it when he determined it was safe, the intent was still there and it was a scummy thing to do.

Re the commission, I think the worst part of it is how they pretend to be an actual legal entity when in reality for the most part the ''prosecution'' and the ''defence'' make their case on deaf ears then Lundval pulls a punishment out of her arse and the other spineless geeks go along with it. Either fix the whole mess or come out and call it like it is, get rid of the mock trial and just have lunvall announce her decision

also, have shields and co been given hearings for their part in it or was it just conor and nate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Agree with everything except Siver, don't think he let his emotions get to him at all

Thought mendes wasn't too bothered either. Just laughed through the whole thing.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Thought mendes wasn't too bothered either. Just laughed through the whole thing.

thing with mendez though is he only had two weeks of it really so didnt have as much time to get in his head, if you think back to the thing they were both on on bt sport aswel, chad got very flustered in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

A latte isn't nearly as hot as a black coffee.

Unless of course you buy it in 99% of places serving coffee in Ireland, where the default temperature seems to be the 'hotter than the ****ing sun' setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

I always laugh at Conor's immediate response to Eddie telling him to take his glasses off at the 205 presser before he starts saying "Make me" over and over.

"Eyor!" Pure knack haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Unless of course you buy it in 99% of places serving coffee in Ireland, where the default temperature seems to be the 'hotter than the ****ing sun' setting.

Hate that! Guess I'm not drinking this for another 20 mins :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Depp wrote: »

Re the commission, I think the worst part of it is how they pretend to be an actual legal entity when in reality for the most part the ''prosecution'' and the ''defence'' make their case on deaf ears then Lundval pulls a punishment out of her arse and the other spineless geeks go along with it. Either fix the whole mess or come out and call it like it is, get rid of the mock trial and just have lunvall announce her decision

This x 10000000000000000.
    This is the real problem folks. Not whether 150k is "a bit harsh".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I always laugh at Conor's immediate response to Eddie telling him to take his glasses off at the 205 presser before he starts saying "Make me" over and over.

"Eyor!" Pure knack haha

He shouldn't have talen them off, it looked like randomly conceding the argument... Still not sure what that was about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

He shouldn't have talen them off, it looked like randomly conceding the argument... Still not sure what that was about

Ah you can't stare someone down with sunglasses on!

Depp wrote: »
    think tbh wether the coffee was hot or only warm makes no real difference, not like shields considered all that and only decided to throw it when he determined it was safe, the intent was still there and it was a scummy thing to do.
    I think it makes a huge difference tbh. But I'm no suggesting he considered anything. Maybe he knew it was an hour old and freezing, or maybe he gave no fcks and was throwing it no matter what when it kicked off. I've no idea, I'm just saying that (thankfully) nobody was scalded.
    That's true. For some reason coffee in ireland gets confused with lava. Grand in winter to keep the whole car warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Gotta love this thread, is a latte more lethal than a black coffee? Should be a fun few weeks coming up to this event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

Pat Lundvall is dangerous alright.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Gotta love this thread, is a latte more lethal than a black coffee? Should be a fun few weeks coming up to this event.
    I don't think that was ever part of discussion tbh.

I'm just wondering about everything being sensationalized. It's like a lad throwing a bottle of vinegar in a chipper, and The Sun calling it an acid attack:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ush1 wrote: »

Top 5 most dangerous beverages are

1. Ovaltine
    2. Hot Chocolate
    3. Bovril
    4. Tea
    5. Irish Coffee

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

1. Ovaltine
    2. Hot Chocolate
    3. Bovril
    4. Tea
    5. Irish Coffee

You're welcome.

Yeah but Ovaltine gasses after 8 minutes.

1. Ovaltine
    2. Hot Chocolate
    3. Bovril
    4. Tea
    5. Irish Coffee

You're welcome.

you're forgetting green/herbal tea... the lack of milk to cool it down makes it killer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mooonpie

1. Ovaltine
    2. Hot Chocolate
    3. Bovril
    4. Tea
    5. Irish Coffee

You're welcome.

No way should Ovaltine and Hot Chocolate be ranked that high! Sure they haven't won a bout since all the clamping down on Cocoa replacement therapy!

Ya only need to look at them to see they were full of the stuff, ridiculous they were never caught before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ah you can't stare someone down with sunglasses on!

Sure, but after all the "make me" stuff, he then went and gave Alvarez what he was demanding. Should have either taken them off without bluffing or continued to be defiant.

Maybe this is all part of his evil scheme to lull Alvarez into a false sense of security :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

This thread sucks balls the last 2 weeks
    I'm unfollowing

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Two words - Chocolate Ovaltine

It's all about the superfights these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Rolling Stone interview re: the fine.
    Conor McGregor won't fight in Las Vegas for the "foreseeable future" after the Nevada State Athletic Commission (NSAC) hit the UFC champ with a $150,000 fine and 50 hours of community service earlier this week, he tells Rolling Stone.

The commission felt this was worth of a significant punishment, and on Tuesday, McGregor was issues a 5 percent fine of his $3 million fight purse for the UFC 202 fight with Diaz (which he won by majority decision), as well as 50 hours of community service and the requirement of helping launch an anti-bully campaign.

Aside from a tweet where McGregor bragged: "I get fined more than these bums get paid," the brash Irishman has been silent on the issue. He conducted his first interview on the topic with Rolling Stone, and he confirmed a recent statement from UFC President Dana White revealing that he has no desire to compete again in Nevada.

"I don't see Nevada in my future, for the foreseeable future is how I see it," McGregor says. "I'm free to do what I want. … I'm good. I'm good. New York, New York. That's what I think."

McGregor cannot protest the fine because he called into the NSAC meeting and on top of apologizing for his actions, said he would be willing to accept any punishment deemed fitting. He thought putting himself out there in that way would help his cause, but instead it backfired, as the originally proposed $25,000 fine went up to an outrageous $150,000.

UFC boss White called the $150,000 fine "insane," and McGregor agrees, though he hinted it won't be easy for the commission to collect.

"I thought they might respect [him calling in] a little bit more," McGregor says. "I owned up. I man'd up. I'm here. I apologized. I'm not trying to blame nobody, although they fired the rounds off first. I didn't think they would even go that route because I didn't think this was like a real thing. Are they going to come and arrest me or what the **** is that? I wanted to give them the respect and I felt they would have respected that but they didn't. So, whatever. It is what it is. Good luck trying to get it."

Diaz was originally slated to receive punishment for his involvement in the UFC 202 news conference incident at the same meeting, but his hearing was pushed back to a later date. His day will come eventually, though, and although McGregor thinks his rival shouldn't be handled differently, he said he hopes Diaz isn't raked over the coals the same way.

"I do not wish to see Nate get any more or any less than me," McGregor said. "I don't want to see either of us have something like this happen. But we'll see. I don't know. If they went that way on me I don't know what way they're going to go on him. He threw the bottle first, but I don't wish he get more than me or anything like that. I just wish we'd get it sorted out and get on with it and carry on."

McGregor can't exert too much energy on the situation, though, because he has much grander things to focus on, mainly his UFC 205 main event fight against Eddie Alvarez (28-4, 3-1). McGregor, the current UFC featherweight champ, moves up to lightweight to challenge Alvarez and attempt to become the first simultaneous two-division champion in UFC history.

The November 12th event at Madison Square Garden in New York City is being built up as arguably the biggest in UFC history, and given McGregor's current distain for Nevada, it could be the location of many more of his future fights.

"Respect to them," McGregor said of the NSAC. "They wanted me to pay them and work for them at the same time. How can I not respect that? Good luck to them."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Fairly sure I saw Jake dumping baby oil into hot water before tossing it into the SBG crowd...

The Night Of fans will get that reference...