Mellor wrote: » The $150k is only so high because his pay for the fight was so high. Had been paid $300k there would be no comments about $15,000 fine (5%).
dashoonage wrote: » This. Also i can believe people are defending him here. As we argued earlier Conor has become one of the most recognizable people in ireland and a role model to the younger generations. I for one done want them thinking its ok to go around calling people "ese mother ****er" and lopping cans of monster at them. I also hope Diaz gets a decent fine as well! I also think the UFC should have done something. Mabye the have and i havent heard about it. Honestly lads...some of ye need to climb out of Conors ass and come back to the real world.
Mellor wrote: » Technically it's only a ban in Nevada, as that's there their power ends. But all other states would recognise the ban and not license him. Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » Most international bodies would uphold this as well with one or two exceptions. 100% This Brazil dont recognise bans issued by the commission. They have been know to allow guys banned in other countries fight. Pride was also famous for it too
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » Most international bodies would uphold this as well with one or two exceptions. 100% This
StringerBell wrote: » What does Ireland have to do with anything? The NSAC have no authority to direct him to do a thing in Ireland.
MartyDublin wrote: » Brazil dont recognise bans issued by the commission. They have been know to allow guys banned in other countries fight. Pride was also famous for it too
Depp wrote: » put the fine into context, while it may only be 5% its still 150k, which was eddie alvarez' total disclosed purse against rda, more ridiculous powertripping by lundval and co, that whole mess really needs sorting in a big way.
Mellor wrote: » I don't think they've an authority to direct him to a thing in the states either..
StringerBell wrote: » Mellor wrote: » I don't think they've an authority to direct him to a thing in the states either.. I am pretty sure you understood my point.
StringerBell wrote: » Putting the fine into context is actually saying, though it is 150k it is still just 5% of his disclosed show fee, which is not out of line.
Depp wrote: whether its 5% or 50% its still 150k...which is a ridiculous fee for throwing a few cans, dont get me wrong it deserves punishment it was definitely out of line, just not 150000 dollars out of line.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » I expect Conor might be using the situation somewhat also as a means of avoiding having to fight in Vegas again as he would clearly prefer to fight on the East Coast going forward. Not just with regards to it being closer but even when it comes to the climate it would be far more suitable. Now I know people tend to see talk of such things as making excuses when but fighting in 37 degrees for fighters that are not used to it has to be a disadvantage, especially when the opponent is from Cali, Brazil or wherever. In football there is never any shyness or hesitation about discussing how the heat is tougher on players that might not be so used to it but yet with fighting we rarely ever hear it being referenced. But shorter flights would still be the main reason I'd for preferring the East Coast, for Irish fans as well as himself.
nomadchocolate wrote: » Odd how man worth 300 million and also the boss says the fine is excessive
LollipopJimmy wrote: » Could be worth 300billion, an excessive fine is an excessive fine. If my car gets clamped in Dublin it's €80 to have it released, if Bono's car gets clamped it's €80 to have it released...
Saipanne wrote: » Which means a clamping fine is a deterrent for you and I, but not Bono. Fair?
LollipopJimmy wrote: » You'd need to ask Bono. But personally I don't agree with your point, nobody wants to be ripped off no matter how much, being ripped off is being ripped off
Saipanne wrote: » You'd hate to live in Finland then.http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2015/03/finland-home-of-the-103000-speeding-ticket/387484/
LollipopJimmy wrote: » I'd be grand given I don't have a pot to pi$$ in but I don't agree with the principles of it. Why not apply the same to goods and services then?
weldoninhio wrote: » I've never been to Vegas, but I've been to the West Coast and as far as Tahoe on the Nevada state line in mid summer and all of the casinos are fully air conditioned, you wouldn't know if it was hellishly hot outside or snowing. Wouldn't all of the arenas they use be fully air conditioned or climate controlled??
"Every time I get out here I feel like it takes me a few weeks to acclimatize to the weather, the air is just so dry. “Every morning you wake up feeling dehydrated, it really does take a while to get used to it."
Lukker- wrote: » Problem isn't the 5% it's the 50 hours community service they want him to do in the States. Absolute joke he doesn't live there.
StringerBell wrote: » The total figure is bugging people but it is still a 5% fine which is in line. Of course he is sore about it, throwing the toys out of the pram is common enough for him too in fairness but he will get over it, Vegas is where the money is and he will return, either way the UFC will be putting most of its big shows in Vegas, so if he wants to be part of them he will return. He will have to pay the fine or he won't be able to compete again so the fine will be paid before 205. Sure, its chump change to him, gets fined more then the bums get paid. It will be over and done with by Christmas, he is rattling his cage and thumping his chest, but he isn't an idiot.
martyos121 wrote: » The problem with the heat there isn't how hot it feels in the arena on fight night, it's the fact that the dry air makes you feel constantly dehydrated and that sticks with you all day every day, it's the one thing I don't like about the place and I only spent four days there. You definitely need time to acclimatise to those conditions.