Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

cul beag wrote: »
    While we all bask in the glory of last Saturday I think a special mention must go to all those underage club trainers and management teams that put these guys on the road from their tender underage years. These are the mainstay of any future glory days that may lay ahead for us and include then the work done at secondary school level that furthered their raw materials as hurlers into fabulous players. All these people are unsung heroes and while the county management team polish off the rough diamonds it is these people that give up years of their lives putting young fellas through their grasp all for the hope of success at club and ultimately county level.

Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

I'm going to get carried away about last Saturday, thanks. I'm not so deluded to think a team that scored nearly 10% of the points that Waterford have scored in the entire history of the Under-21 competition are typical of what we are producing and what the future holds. It was a wonderful coincidence that they all came together when they did and we won't see the like again. However, it wasn't entirely an accident. To put things into context, in 1986 Waterford lost at home to Mayo in the League. We didn't score in the first half, if memory serves me correct. In 2016 . . . things have gotten better, the plans put in place in the 1980's on the back of humiliations like that ensured it got better. And I think we can be confident that while there will be troughs ahead, there are going to be plenty of peaks too. And boy, what a peak we had in Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

http://www.the42.ie/hurling-league-dublin-tipperary-2976974-Sep2016/

Away to KK first round of league ,at least there won't be a guard of honour this time

Saturday 11 February

Division 1A: Kilkenny v Waterford.

Sunday 19 February
    Division 1A: Waterford v Tipperary.

Saturday 4 March
    Division 1A: Dublin v Waterford (tbc).

Sunday 12 March
    Division 1A: Waterford v Cork.

Sunday 26 March
    Division 1A: Clare v Waterford,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

http://www.the42.ie/hurling-league-dublin-tipperary-2976974-Sep2016/

Away to KK first round of league ,at least there won't be a guard of honour this time

Saturday 11 February

Division 1A: Kilkenny v Waterford.

Sunday 19 February
    Division 1A: Waterford v Tipperary.

Saturday 4 March
    Division 1A: Dublin v Waterford (tbc).

Sunday 12 March
    Division 1A: Waterford v Cork.

Sunday 26 March
    Division 1A: Clare v Waterford,
    Christ I can't remember when we last had Dublin away

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Christ I can't remember when we last had Dublin away

Been Living in Dublin since 2012 , and we've played em 3 times at home i think (given 2015 we were in 1B) as I recall , as well as in Thurles last year in championship,I can't ever recall having to play them in Crokerin recent memory be glad to have ye all up, for once don't have to travel for a game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Super u21 performance by Waterford's well deserved. Hope Waterford can push on now and win an All Ireland at senior level in the coming years.

We last played Dublin away in 2009, which we lost because Davy committed the atrocity of letting the players go to the Bernard Dunne fight. We've played them six times at Walsh Park since, including the 2014 relegation playoff. As for Croke Park, our last League game there was in the 1992/3 season. Dublin won by 0-17 to 3-7.

You can all go back to sleep now.

deiseach wrote: »
    We last played Dublin away in 2009, which we lost because Davy committed the atrocity of letting the players go to the Bernard Dunne fight. We've played them six times at Walsh Park since, including the 2014 relegation playoff. As for Croke Park, our last League game there was in the 1992/3 season. Dublin won by 0-17 to 3-7.

You can all go back to sleep now.

Haha Forgot about the Bernard Dunne fight debacle,

notice on the football list the Dublin footballers down for the 11th vs Tyrone(also TBC), also with home advantage so could very well be in Croker as a double header .

Sounds about right. Friday Night Lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Christ that's a tough start to the league campaign, being honest i hope we use the league the same way Tipp and KK use it and that is to blood new players, we'll have a few lads from u21 on the senior panel next year, we need to use the league to integrate them into the setup, One criticism i have of McGrath especially in the league is playing the same fellas always or doing the opposite and making 8-9 changes one game, I don't really care about winning the league next year, if we get to a SF then ok pick the strongest team but provided we avoid relegation i'd be happy coming away from the league knowing we have 20 + lads in contention to start depending on the game. We need to move away from picking the same 15 with one or two exceptions every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,613 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No it's Dublin vs Mayo pencilled in for the 4th March in the NFL. A repeat of the All Ireland final. Hopefully the double header goes ahead as it would nice to get a league date in Croke Park and the bonus of seeing the AI football champions in action. As it's tbc they could easily swap dates and move us to face Dublin week 1(in Parnell Park), Kilkenny Week 2 and Tipperary week 3. That would mean Tipperary would face Dublin in Croke Park on the 4th March and start out there campaign against us in Walsh Park.

We have a tough fixture list the way it is. First 2 games away and home to the AI runners up and champions. Week 3 in Croke Park against Dublin where it's hard to beat Dublin. Week 4 home to Cork prob the easier game but you knw how Waterford/cork games go and finally week 5 we travel to Ennis to face Clare

Check list for the management for the 2017 NHL

1 Get a win over Kilkenny in Nowlan Park
    2 Redeem overselves against Tipperary
    3 Win 1 our other away games
    4 aim for a top 3 finish and stay away from that dreaded relagation playoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

thesultan wrote: »
    What crap. Davy brought us to an all Ireland , won a Munster and played in about four semis.
    we also suffered some of the biggest beatings ever under davy ,all bar two of those games we lost ,also a big point was ,davy,s first game was in qualifier vs Offaly ,then Galway a week after each other the other was a semi vs Tipp all in a couple of weeks of each other ,when he had a few weeks to put his influence on the team ,he poisoned them with disgusting tactics and bull**** ,you see now the pattern played out the same in Clare ,lads needed a change unfortunately we got Davy ,look back over his results with Waterford most of them shocking ,and throw in the Bankruptcy of the Co Board and you get the picture ,also if i remember back Paul Flynn wrote in one of the local papers that Fitzgerald had brought us back 30 odd years but hey what would he know

PTH2009 wrote: »
    No it's Dublin vs Mayo pencilled in for the 4th March in the NFL. A repeat of the All Ireland final. Hopefully the double header goes ahead as it would nice to get a league date in Croke Park and the bonus of seeing the AI football champions in action. As it's tbc they could easily swap dates and move us to face Dublin week 1(in Parnell Park), Kilkenny Week 2 and Tipperary week 3. That would mean Tipperary would face Dublin in Croke Park on the 4th March and start out there campaign against us in Walsh Park.

We have a tough fixture list the way it is. First 2 games away and home to the AI runners up and champions. Week 3 in Croke Park against Dublin where it's hard to beat Dublin. Week 4 home to Cork prob the easier game but you knw how Waterford/cork games go and finally week 5 we travel to Ennis to face Clare

Check list for the management for the 2017 NHL

1 Get a win over Kilkenny in Nowlan Park
    2 Redeem overselves against Tipperary
    3 Win 1 our other away games
    4 aim for a top 3 finish and stay away from that dreaded relagation playoff

good call had KK on the 11th feb stuck in my head 04/03 it is,worth staying aorund for the football too, surely therell be an appetite that will need croke park opening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

we also suffered some of the biggest beatings ever under davy ,all bar two of those games we lost ,also a big point was ,davy,s first game was in qualifier vs Offaly ,then Galway a week after each other the other was a semi vs Tipp all in a couple of weeks of each other ,when he had a few weeks to put his influence on the team ,he poisoned them with disgusting tactics and bull**** ,you see now the pattern played out the same in Clare ,lads needed a change unfortunately we got Davy ,look back over his results with Waterford most of them shocking ,and throw in the Bankruptcy of the Co Board and you get the picture ,also if i remember back Paul Flynn wrote in one of the local papers that Fitzgerald had brought us back 30 odd years but hey what would he know
    He inherited a team well past their peak and our greats were going. We got the same beating under Derek this year. The county board were hardly good at looking after their books.

yep that team were past their best ,
    WATERFORD GAA:
    1 Clinton Hennessy
    2 Eoin Murphy
    3 Declan Prendergast
    4 Aidan Kearney
    5 Tony Browne
    6 Ken McGrath
    7 Kevin Moran
    8 Michael Walsh (c)
    9 Jamie Nagle
    10 Dan Shanahan
    11 Seamus Prendergast
    12 Stephen Molumphy
    13 Eoin McGrath
    14 Eoin Kelly
    15 John Mullane all stars ,K mc Grath ,,2,,T,Browne,3,, E,Kelly,1,,J,Mullane,1,,D,Shanahan,2,,E,Murphy,1,,M,Walsh,1,S,Molumphy,,1,P,Flynn,1, this is the amount of all stars in the bag heading into 2008 season

yep that team were past their best ,
    WATERFORD GAA:
    1 Clinton Hennessy
    2 Eoin Murphy
    3 Declan Prendergast
    4 Aidan Kearney
    5 Tony Browne
    6 Ken McGrath
    7 Kevin Moran
    8 Michael Walsh (c)
    9 Jamie Nagle
    10 Dan Shanahan
    11 Seamus Prendergast
    12 Stephen Molumphy
    13 Eoin McGrath
    14 Eoin Kelly
    15 John Mullane all stars ,K mc Grath ,,2,,T,Browne,3,, E,Kelly,1,,J,Mullane,1,,D,Shanahan,2,,E,Murphy,1,,M,Walsh,1,S,Molumphy,,1,P,Flynn,1, this is the amount of all stars in the bag heading into 2008 season
    Heading into it but wasn't the same form as the previous year

stop boy will ya,,,, 01/06/2008 Gaelic Grounds, Limeric Clare 0-23 : 2-26 Munster Quarter-Final Irish Examiner
    05/07/2008 Walsh Park, Waterford Antrim 6-18 : 0-15 2nd Round Qualifier
    19/07/2008 Semple Stadium, Thurles Offaly 2-18 : 0-18 4th Round Qualifier
    27/07/2008 Semple Stadium, Thurles Wexford 2-19 : 3-15
    17/08/2008 Croke Park, Dublin Tipperary 1-20 : 1-18,,,,,,yes they were brutal ,an average of 2-39 a game ,

There are 3 shared weekends next year in the leagues

R2 NFL/R1 NHL- Sat/Sun 11/12 Feb
    R4 NFL/R3 NHL- Sat/Sun 4/5 Mar
    R6 NFL/R5 NHL- Sat/Sun 25/26 Mar

For the first time in many years we travel to Dublin and we travel in style with a Sat evening date in Croke Park (4th March) but one thing i noticed that may affect that on the 25/26 March Dublin are at home to Roscommon and Kilkenny in the NHL. This is not penciled in as a Double header and Kilkenny being kilkenny the GAA may decide the cats in a double header would be more attractive than us and they would play Dublin in Croke Park on the 25th March, and we would possibly play Dublin in Parnell Park on Sun 5th March. Another doubting factor is our game is curtain raiser to a repeat of this years All Ireland Football final they may want that as a stand alone fixture which would mean we would play in Parnell Park on sunday 5th March.

its hard to knw how its going to work but hopefully we are croke park bound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

Congratulations to all concerned on Waterford’s great win in Thurles last Saturday. The county needed this and it was delivered in spades. While, hopefully, this group of players will go on to senior glory in the short-to-medium term, there should also be a long-term dividend in the form of the hundreds of hurley-wielding kids who poured onto the field at the final whistle to hail and embrace their heroes.

As the post-match euphoria begins to die down, it is worthwhile casting a cold eye on the campaign and last Saturday’s game. Waterford’s march to the title was undoubtedly facilitated by the fact that they managed to avoid the two teams which (in my view) offered the greatest potential challenge to their championship aspirations. Limerick, the defending champions, with a strong panel again this year, and fresh from a facile win in the first round in Páirc Uí Rinn (although admittedly that doesn’t mean much these days), went to a wet Semple Stadium in a less than positive frame of mind and lost out by two points to a committed and hard-working home side. If they had won, we would have had a tricky assignment against them in the Gaelic Grounds in the Munster final. Dublin, physically strong and with nine senior panel members on board, threw away their semi-final against Galway – some of their 18 wides were really bad.

This, of course, is not to say that Waterford would not have beaten either of these teams, but we would definitely have had to work harder to do so. This is why the feat of the 1992 team, with moderate playing resources, in edging out two teams bristling with subsequent All-Ireland senior winners in the Munster and All-Ireland finals was both more exciting and more satisfying. However, this year’s team could only play what was put in front of them, and in all cases dispatched their opposition with style and plenty to spare.

In last Saturday’s game, when Waterford fell asleep for 20 minutes in the second half, Galway had two great chances to bring the gap between the teams down to five points. In the 42nd minute, Brian Molloy’s well struck 25-metre free (brought into scoring range by Waterford dissent) flew just outside the post. Six minutes later, Galway got a very threatening overlap close to the Waterford goal, and a goal was only prevented by the player in possession losing his footing and then Darragh Lyons making a great interception of his handpass intended for the unmarked Conor Whelan. Had one of those goals gone in, given the fact that Galway were totally on top around the field and were on a scoring roll, who knows what would have happened. In any case, just a minute after Galway passed up this second goal chance, we had Shane Bennett’s beautifully-cushioned tap in from Stephen’s wonderful cross (you wouldn’t see better in the Premier League) and the game was over.

Patrick Curran obviously had an excellent game for Waterford, scoring and setting up a goal and hitting a point in the first half, and nailing all but one of his frees. His move outfield in the second half also played an important role in stemming the Galway tide and he shot two super points from play. However, after the game I thought that Michael Harney deserved the man-of-the-match award, and the play statistics support this. Harney had a marvellous total of 15 possessions, three more than anyone else in the team. These were well-distributed between both halves and Harney generally made good use of his possessions.

This was the best game I have seen Harney play in a Waterford jersey, and will surely put him in line for a senior call-up, especially as there is a vacancy for a ball-winner with go-forward capabilities in the senior half-back line. This performance also makes even more galling the appalling decision to substitute Harney at half-time in last year’s first round game against Clare, a move which in my view possibly cost Waterford an All-Ireland title.

An unsung hero from last Saturday was midfield workhorse Mark O’Brien, especially in the second half when he had nine possessions (three in the first half) and a couple of good ground strokes to boot. However, his use of possession was not as good as Harney’s, as he sent several poorish balls into the forwards and also had some fruitless long-distance potshots at the goal. O’Brien complemented Shane Bennett, who had a very good first half in midfield (9 possessions) but who largely disappeared after the change of ends until popping up with his super goal and a marvellous point from the left touchline in the closing stages.

Another player who may have come to the notice of the senior selectors from this game is corner back William Hahessy, who played well all through, but in the second half in particular. He was competent in 2013, but last Saturday he oozed skill and confidence.

A concern from this game was the poor contribution from the half forward line of Colm Roche, Tom Devine and DJ Foran (apart from his opening burst). They were unable to make much of an impression against a good opposing half-back line and only managed 13 possessions between them (compared with 21 for the full forward line, 18 for the full back line and 26 for the half back line). I have my doubts about Devine’s worth as a forward at this level (never mind senior) as he doesn’t appear to be able to bring his strength to bear in the ball-winning department. Roche was a very effective centre forward in 2013, able to shoot points off both sides. Last Saturday he was marginalised on the wing. I was surprised that more Waterford puckouts were not sent in Foran’s direction, as winning high ball has been one of his great strengths. He showed glimpses of his potential last Saturday, with his ability to run with the ball and open up defences. With careful cultivation he could fill the last piece of the jigsaw in the senior forward line.

Finally, last Saturday’s game showed once again what most people in county were already aware of except Derek McGrath – that Patrick Curran and Stephen Bennett are deadly close to goal and that playing together maximises that deadliness. Their mutual understanding and awareness, and their ability to look up when in possession and to use that possession effectively constitute an unprecedented resource. Derek McGrath appears to see them as exchangeable for one another, and they spend a lot of time far from goal when playing on the senior team. If he had played both of these close to goal, along with Maurice Shanahan, against Kilkenny I am convinced that we would at least have been in the All-Ireland senior final.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    There are 3 shared weekends next year in the leagues

R2 NFL/R1 NHL- Sat/Sun 11/12 Feb
    R4 NFL/R3 NHL- Sat/Sun 4/5 Mar
    R6 NFL/R5 NHL- Sat/Sun 25/26 Mar

For the first time in many years we travel to Dublin and we travel in style with a Sat evening date in Croke Park (4th March) but one thing i noticed that may affect that on the 25/26 March Dublin are at home to Roscommon and Kilkenny in the NHL. This is not penciled in as a Double header and Kilkenny being kilkenny the GAA may decide the cats in a double header would be more attractive than us and they would play Dublin in Croke Park on the 25th March, and we would possibly play Dublin in Parnell Park on Sun 5th March. Another doubting factor is our game is curtain raiser to a repeat of this years All Ireland Football final they may want that as a stand alone fixture which would mean we would play in Parnell Park on sunday 5th March.

its hard to knw how its going to work but hopefully we are croke park bound

at best a league game with dublin will attract 25-30k what universe would it make more sense to open a second stadium rather than add and extra 5k max ,not to mention costs of setting up cameras and the like. honestly your nonsens egets more nonsensical by the day

stop boy will ya,,,, 01/06/2008 Gaelic Grounds, Limeric Clare 0-23 : 2-26 Munster Quarter-Final Irish Examiner
    05/07/2008 Walsh Park, Waterford Antrim 6-18 : 0-15 2nd Round Qualifier
    19/07/2008 Semple Stadium, Thurles Offaly 2-18 : 0-18 4th Round Qualifier
    27/07/2008 Semple Stadium, Thurles Wexford 2-19 : 3-15
    17/08/2008 Croke Park, Dublin Tipperary 1-20 : 1-18,,,,,,yes they were brutal ,an average of 2-39 a game ,

They only game they won with merit that year was the Tipp semi final. Hammered by a piss poor Clare team signalled the end of Justin. Davys first game against Antrim went as expected. Offaly gave us loads of it in Thurles I remember thinking in the second half that they were going to do us. Lucky to draw Wexford in the quarter instead of Cork and we only beat Wexford because Damien Fitzhenry blasted a penalty over the bar in the last puck of the game. Normally he puts them away and it would have been curtains. Credit where its due we had a massive win over a very fancied Tipp side against all the odds. The final... what happened there I don't remember?
    Even Tony Browne said later on that Waterford got to that All Ireland without having played well at all that year 'but hey what would he know'.

They only game they won with merit that year was the Tipp semi final. Hammered by a piss poor Clare team signalled the end of Justin. Davys first game against Antrim went as expected. Offaly gave us loads of it in Thurles I remember thinking in the second half that they were going to do us. Lucky to draw Wexford in the quarter instead of Cork and we only beat Wexford because Damien Fitzhenry blasted a penalty over the bar in the last puck of the game. Normally he puts them away and it would have been curtains. Credit where its due we had a massive win over a very fancied Tipp side against all the odds. The final... what happened there I don't remember?
    Even Tony Browne said later on that Waterford got to that All Ireland without having played well at all that year 'but hey what would he know'.

Maybe it was a 60-minute game back then :P

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/waterford-board-spending-cant-be-sustained-420907.html Déise chiefs splashed out €664,485 on their various sides in 2015 and Ryan is due to tell county board delegates on Monday this year’s figure will be far higher.
    But Ryan insists Waterford will be debt-free by the end of 2017 — and is confident a €130,000 deficit reported last year will be reduced considerably before annual convention.

Its about time they took the burden of the levy off the clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Its about time they took the burden of the levy off the clubs.

Dead right. When you see the hangers-on at the Munster league game against Kerry on the overnight junket it would make your blood boil.

not having played well and being on the end of some of the biggest beatings ever are two completely different things ,it doesn't take Einstein to work that out

Heard tonight that Jamie Barron planning on taking next year out to hit for Oz. Anyone hear likewise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Heard tonight that Jamie Barron planning on taking next year out to hit for Oz. Anyone hear likewise?

massive loss if true, hopefully not, they have a real chance at winning next year and he could be a major reason in it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

not having played well and being on the end of some of the biggest beatings ever are two completely different things ,it doesn't take Einstein to work that out

Waterford stumbled into that All Ireland final. People got too excited in the hysteria & thought it was our "destiny" to win it, completely forgetting that All Ireland's are won on merit.

There was a quiet fear among some of the more level headed people in Waterford at the time that things weren't as they seemed with the team & feared a KK onslaught. The team was creaking & KK took full advantage of it. What happened that day was not any one thing though, it was a combination of things & as we know it went belly up.

I do think that the team hadn't got over the previous year against Limerick & were poor all year hurling wise in 2008. People forget Kelly dragged us into that final & if it wasn't for him we'd have been beaten 40 points on the day.

massive loss if true, hopefully not, they have a real chance at winning next year and he could be a major reason in it happening.

Agree it will be a huge loss, hopefully it's not true but he's still young and hurling is just a game, life is life

I'd be more worried if he came back in 2018 and was half the player he was before he left

Losing him and brick (through retirement) would be a big blow for us