Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    This is no shock. Modeligo have been the best intermediate side in the county over the past couple of years. Had Devine been fit to play in the county final last year would have beaten Portlaw for sure. Should have beaten them as it was

"Shock" as in Lismore left a commanding position slip from where they were at at halftime. It wasn't being disrespectful to Modeligo whatsoever. They made a tremendous comeback in the second half and for effort alone deserved the victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

cul beag wrote: »

"Shock" as in Lismore left a commanding position slip from where they were at at halftime. It wasn't being disrespectful to Modeligo whatsoever. They made a tremendous comeback in the second half and for effort alone deserved the victory.
    Fair enough, I wasn't at the game myself. A lot of people expected Lismore to go straight back up as soon as they were relegated. I wasn't, and am still not convinced. We know there's internal problems over the past few years but theres a perception that they are better than what they actually are. A couple of big names players we know about but many of that side would be average intermediate hurlers at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Fair enough, I wasn't at the game myself. A lot of people expected Lismore to go straight back up as soon as they were relegated. I wasn't, and am still not convinced. We know there's internal problems over the past few years but theres a perception that they are better than what they actually are. A couple of big names players we know about but many of that side would be average intermediate hurlers at best.

Agreed - i think that Ballysaggart will beat them next week as well.

The standard in the western intermediate is really good at the moment, it must be the strongest the grade has ever been, its a pity that this grade is not all county from the start though - it would make the champioship even better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

If anyone down at home knows of any unwanted tickets for the All Ireland football final replay knocking around the clubs, please let me know.

Thanks,
    Hardybuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,607 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

found this today

fan made recording of our first U21 All Ireland victory in 1992 with Kierin O Connor on commentary.

Highlights from the drawn game that year play from 1.32

DLS have won the 2015 under 21 country title defeating dungarvan 4-20-4-16

I presume the 2016 under 21 is ongoing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

2015 u21 in September of 2016? Regardless, any report and who played well?

hardybuck wrote: »
    If anyone down at home knows of any unwanted tickets for the All Ireland football final replay knocking around the clubs, please let me know.

Thanks,
    Hardybuck
    Are you doing a bit of touting up there ;0)

What do ye think of Davy Fitz going lads? From a Waterford point of view it s a negative as he was keeping them down the last couple years and were only getting progressively worse. I think with a good manager that Clare team will be a serious force again.

I would totally side with the Clare players. He was never going to step aside without a push. Regardless of the good of Clare hurling Davy wanted to be number 1. He only stepped down from the Waterford job because he saw the Clare job coming on the horizon and the wealth of talent coming through. Otherwise he would have hung around as long as he could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

PTH2009 wrote: »
    found this today

fan made recording of our first U21 All Ireland victory in 1992 with Kierin O Connor on commentary.

Highlights from the drawn game that year play from 1.32

Ah Jaysus, I thought I was done with choking back the tears for this year. I don't think life was ever as vivid as it was on those two days. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

What do ye think of Davy Fitz going lads?

Right decision. He's a good man to bring in for 2 years or so to put a fire under everyone but eventually everyone gets tired of him and stop performing. He won an AI but since then has vastly under-performed given some of the players Clare have.

He could do a good job for Cork, they could give him a 2 year contract and he'd get them competitive again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Are you doing a bit of touting up there ;0)

Just hoping to attend the game!

final round of the Senior Hurling championship takes place this weekend

Group 2- Sat 24th Sep (all games throw in at 14.00)
    Fourmilewater vs Abbeyside- Cappoquinn
    Roanmore vs Cappoquinn- Fraher Field
    Tallow vs Mount Sion- Lemybrien

Fourmilewater and Roanmore are already through to the QFs. The 4 other teams still all have a chance to get the final 2 QF Spots. could come down to points difference

Group 1- Sun 25th Sep (all games throw in at 15.30)
    Ballyduff Upper vs Portlaw- Fraher Field
    Ballygunner vs Passage- Walsh Park
    Dungarvan vs De La Salle- St Mollerans

Dungarvan,Ballygunner, De La Salle and Passage all through to QF so all teams will be playing to improve there final league position. the loser of the Ballyduff Upper vs Portlaw game will have to play in a relagation game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

final round of the Senior Hurling championship takes place this weekend

Group 2- Sat 24th Sep (all games throw in at 14.00)
    Fourmilewater vs Abbeyside- Cappoquinn
    Roanmore vs Cappoquinn- Fraher Field
    Tallow vs Mount Sion- Lemybrien

Fourmilewater and Roanmore are already through to the QFs. The 4 other teams still all have a chance to get the final 2 QF Spots. could come down to points difference

Group 1- Sun 25th Sep (all games throw in at 15.30)
    Ballyduff Upper vs Portlaw- Fraher Field
    Ballygunner vs Passage- Walsh Park
    Dungarvan vs De La Salle- St Mollerans

Dungarvan,Ballygunner, De La Salle and Passage all through to QF so all teams will be playing to improve there final league position. the loser of the Ballyduff Upper vs Portlaw game will have to play in a relagation game

Hard to see anyone but Ballgunner this year.

Always fancy dungarvan too win it but they never can do it

If everything clicked for ballygunner they could do well in Munster and who knows after that. DLS have a good enough Munster record (still heartbroken over that clarinbridge defeat in 2011, DLS would of won the AI that year I reckon).

It's sad too see the decline of mount sion in recent years (2006 was there last title and 2014 was there last county final apperance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

Always fancy dungarvan too win it but they never can do it

If everything clicked for ballygunner they could do well in Munster and who knows after that. DLS have a good enough Munster record (still heartbroken over that clarinbridge defeat in 2011, DLS would of won the AI that year I reckon).

It's sad too see the decline of mount sion in recent years (2006 was there last title and 2014 was there last county final apperance)

2014 is only the year before last! While no title in past few years. Not exactly disappeared.

DeiseDawg wrote: »

2014 is only the year before last! While no title in past few years. Not exactly disappeared.

Agreed they're still there or thereabouts. But will never again be the dominant force of old. The catchment area is an older part of the city with not many young families in that area now. Theyre dependent on players from other parts of the city who have family ties to the club. Aussie Gleeson for example is actually from Erins Own area but his parents were Mount Sion people so that's how he ended up playing for them. In fact Id go as far as to say if there was a parish rule in Waterford City, Sion would hardly have a senior team. Mount sion school aswell has dwindling numbers and not the same nursery for young hurlers as it was historically.

On aside note, whats with the random venue for the Dungarvan v De la Salle game? St Molleran's hardly on the main route for either side....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

12 nominations for the U21 team of the year and all 3 places for the U21 player of the year between Aussie, Curran and Stephen Bennett. Couldnt argue with anyone for those.

Prunty & Foran miss out on nominations from the team that started the final

Edit: And Mark O'Brien. I cant read today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Agreed they're still there or thereabouts. But will never again be the dominant force of old. The catchment area is an older part of the city with not many young families in that area now. Theyre dependent on players from other parts of the city who have family ties to the club. Aussie Gleeson for example is actually from Erins Own area but his parents were Mount Sion people so that's how he ended up playing for them. In fact Id go as far as to say if there was a parish rule in Waterford City, Sion would hardly have a senior team. Mount sion school aswell has dwindling numbers and not the same nursery for young hurlers as it was historically.

There's no doubt that Mount Sion's traditional catchment area is old and in decline for years now. I know Sion lads living in Tramore ferrying their children into Mount Sion for underage training. I suppose the strong family links will ensure they produce good hurlers but the dominance they had is unlikely to be seen again. Mount Sion school is winning soccer competitions these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    There's no doubt that Mount Sion's traditional catchment area is old and in decline for years now. I know Sion lads living in Tramore ferrying their children into Mount Sion for underage training. I suppose the strong family links will ensure they produce good hurlers but the dominance they had is unlikely to be seen again. Mount Sion school is winning soccer competitions these days!

Wish Tramore was more competitive population of 11k with only one club, this partly explains why , but you would think the coco would be doing more to get them up to standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

These days! Mount Sion have won national schools soccer competitions back in the eighties and have generally been more competitive in soccer than hurling for about 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Deisegodeo wrote: »

Tsk tsk, Mount Sion poaching all our young talent. No wonder we can't make a breakthrough.

Ahem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭redlead

Wish Tramore was more competitive population of 11k with only one club, this partly explains why , but you would think the coco would be doing more to get them up to standard

Tramore's lack of contribution to county teams is shocking. They must have the second biggest catchment area in the whole county. Very little effort seems to be made within the club to attract new members too as far as I can see. It's an indictment on the county board more than anything. You would think they would be targeting Tramore as a serious area for development. Just look at what the Dublin CB and an interested club membership have done with say the likes of Cuala.

Grp 2 results
    Mount sion 0-14- Tallow 1-11
    Roanmore 1-09- Cappoquinn 0-07
    Fourmilewater 3-14- Abbeyside 2-10

1 Fourmilewater 9
    2 Roanmore 7
    3 Mount Sion 5
    4 Abbeyside 4

5 Tallow 3

6 Cappoquinn 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ballygunner 2pts down at halftime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭IanVW

Waterford SHC Quarter Finals
    Ballygunner v Abbeyside,
    De La Salle v Mount Sion,
    Dungarvan v Roanmore,
    Passage v Fourmilewater

IanVW wrote: »
    Waterford SHC Quarter Finals
    Ballygunner v Abbeyside,
    De La Salle v Mount Sion,
    Dungarvan v Roanmore,
    Passage v Fourmilewater

There will be skin and hair flying in the Dls vs Mount sion game and its a hard one to call. Ballgunner should have enough for abbeyside, others 2 games are hard to call

Id go with DLS, Ballygunner, Roanmore and Passage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

There will be skin and hair flying in the Dls vs Mount sion game and its a hard one to call. Ballgunner should have enough for abbeyside, others 2 games are hard to call

Id go with DLS, Ballygunner, Roanmore and Passage
    Roanmore will beat Dungarvan?

cul beag wrote: »
    Roanmore will beat Dungarvan?

There's always a few shocks every year and dungarvan can be shaky