Things that make people think their great for doing. (When in fact they aren't)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

razorblunt wrote: »
    I've mentioned this before but the folk who do this:

Hi (normally at my desk), yeah , eh , razorblunt would you like to sponsor me, I'm cycling across America for babies who born with tails / climbing Kilimanjaro for Hayfever Sufferers
    - I'll sponsor you when you get back
    Well it doesn't work like that, I need to reach a target to be able to get over there.
    - Didn't you cycle cross American last year?
    That's right yeah, for Dogs born with one ear
    - How much did you raise and what was the minimum?
    I raised £3500
    - aaaand the target?
    Was £3300, but it's a very good cause
    - Fock off I'm not sending you another holiday again.

The Kilimanjaro jibe is a bit disingenuous, I know two people that have gone there and raised lots of cash in the process, way past their minimum. It always seems to be cyclists that want the funding.

OMG this above all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

LordSutch wrote: »
    Taz bars?

They were Taz bars before Freddos. Taz bar was a Tasmanian devil shaped chocolate delicacy with caramel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

davo2001 wrote: »
    Having kids.

Congratulations for doing what nearly every member of the human species has done since the beginning of time.

But bringing them up to be high end professionals or dregs of society... not something nearly every member of the human species has done since the beginning of time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

One of the worst has to be when people buy a homeless person a sandwich and then post a big self serving post about it on social media

Plus - the homeless person wanted money for drink, not a sandwich.

So NOBODY thinks they are great. Particularly sad that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Boards sure is grouchy on a monday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Meeoow

People who claim to never watch TV. Apparently they read books all the time. Yet every single new show that comes out, they have watched??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

People who hold the door open for you when you're a little too far away, forcing you to do that awkward half run.
    People not doing that awkward half run and making you wait when you were considerate enough to hold the door open for them.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

People who hold the door open for you when you're a little too far away, forcing you to do that awkward half run.

Happens a lot by accident i guess.
    Go through doors, keep it open and only then realise the person you keep the door open for, wasnt as close as you thought.

Now, that can result in the awkward run, or in you looking like a **** by just letting the door go.

No winning there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

littelady wrote: »
    People who live in council houses that is not in there preferred area and have to drive the kids 15 mile to school!!!

I dont get this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Marathons.

Any kind of "charity" fundraiser where they expect other people to raise a couple of grand for them before the charity actually profits.

People who travel halfway across the world to help the needy when they could stay here and help our own, without having to gouge flight and accommodation money off others.

Holding a door when you are too far away and you have to speed up to catch it.

People who rave about eating blue or medium steaks, pretending to be conoisseurs.

Shaking hands with someone but actually just giving them your germs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

ExParrot42 wrote: »
    People with Range Rovers in town...like they're going on safari in Donnybrook.

Do you think the average Range Rover driver thinks they are making a contribution to society or something by driving one? I presume they just like the cars :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

When people make a big deal about """emigrating""" when their visa is going to run out in a year or two and they can come back and forth as they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Do you think the average Range Rover driver thinks they are making a contribution to society or something by driving one? I presume they just like the cars :confused:

If they liked cars they wouldn't be driving a Range Rover. The RR is a fine statement of status for those who like to wear their sunglasses on their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Buying electric vehicles.
    Power stations will have to burn more fossil fuels to charge your batteries and more mining has to be done to get the raw materials to build the storage batteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

davo2001 wrote: »
    Someone I know said this sentence to me "You literally don't know anything until you have had kids, literally nothing"

My favourite, from someone 2 months pregnant for the first time :

" But you don't know what love really IS yet, you couldn't".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

inforfun wrote: »
    Happens a lot by accident i guess.
    Go through doors, keep it open and only then realise the person you keep the door open for, wasnt as close as you thought.

Now, that can result in the awkward run, or in you looking like a **** by just letting the door go.

No winning there.

I've serious spinal cord injuries and cannot run even one single step - despite the fact I used to be a half decent competitive runner. You wouldn't think looking at me that there is anything wrong.

Feel like an absolute dick when some old dear holds the door for me and all I can manage is a gentle stroll and it takes forever to get there. Its even worse when my legs lock up completely - nearly always when someone impatient is driving at me in a car park. It gets even worse. People see me in difficulty and then see me flying off on my bike and think I was pulling their leg all along - for some reason it never affects me on the bike. One thing it taught me is that not everything you see is actually what it seems :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

18 year old girls and boys who never worked a day in their lives building houses for the Africans. The Africans work through malaria and make their own concrete. In a lot of cases the sentiment is nice but you're not helping the Africans by sending 18 year olds with average levels of fitness to help some of the toughest people on the planet build houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Directing someone into a parking space. grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

steddyeddy wrote: »
    18 year old girls and boys who never worked a day in their lives building houses for the Africans. The Africans work through malaria and make their own concrete. In a lot of cases the sentiment is nice but you're not helping the Africans by sending 18 year olds with average levels of fitness to help some of the toughest people on the planet build houses.

Virtue signalling? Middle Class Kid's burden?

Maybe they were doing family tree research, found some old great great grand uncle ran a plantation in the Caribbean (hence the leafy suburbs res) and are now desperate to ease their guilt.
    Take up the White Man’s burden—

Send forth the best ye breed—

Go send your sons to exile

To serve your captives' need

To wait in heavy harness

On fluttered folk and wild—

Your new-caught, sullen peoples,

Half devil and half child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Giving their much wanted advice on how you should dress, how your hair should be, what career you should have, what you should be eating etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Can't do right for doing wrong it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Anyone who doles out the "well look on the brightside", "just think positive", "at least you it's not X" line to someone with an actual real problem.
    People who'll never say "can I help?" but you just know will give themselves a little pat on the back later for dispensing this ever so useful wisdom.

I put the USB lead in the right way round every single time.

I don't think I'm great for it, I know I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Candie wrote: »
    I put the USB lead in the right way round every single time.

I don't think I'm great for it, I know I am.

Huh, do it with a Scart cable and I'll be impressed.

Stupid feckin things :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

People who share those godawful inspirational quote pics on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

People swearing by mindfulness techniques. It's just a pile of made up sh1t, a money racket with all these courses and books on the subject. Wellness is another one that makes my blood boil. Feck off with all your hippy dippy crap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I saw a painful clip of an Indian guy giving money to a 100 year old street selling lady with all the inspirational music in the background and gay captions. And then the volley of spas saying "all the feels" ..."this guy knows what it's all about" etc.
    ffs
    What a patronising fvckwit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

People posting those Change.org petitions on facebook or any kind of activism online,

I can just imagine them on their couch in their jocks saying "welp that's my good deed for today." piss off I hope you get a bruise from patting yourself on the back

People who do the sponsored cycle to EP and think they're Nelson Mandela, fck off I'm not funding your 3 day long drug binge.