Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    Stephen Bennett starting

Ya in for Colin Dunford. Im a little surprised by that but not unhappy. Are Waterford going to work some goals? Interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ya in for Colin Dunford. Im a little surprised by that but not unhappy. Are Waterford going to work some goals? Interesting.

Where is this confirmed??

Hope he lives up to this u21 scoring rate...

Fcuk all wind here so far.....cold enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Where is this confirmed??

Hope he lives up to this u21 scoring rate...

Fcuk all wind here so far.....cold enough

Its not confirmed officially the news comes from within the camp.

Very disappointing. Great effort from the players but completely lost their shape in the 2nd half. Really hope brick stays for another year. Himself and Austin Gleeson Waterford's two best players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Devastated, always the nearly men, that KK team is beatable we just never seem to come out on the right side of a close SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

mezitozil wrote:
    Need to find a few backs for next year if we are ever to win an all ireland. Conor Gleeson was a mismatch with Wally Walsh, but the likes of Gavin O' Brien as cover on the bench are not good enough to bring on. Coughlan struggled too.

Your right there, I blame Gavin O'Brian. Wtf?

In fairness Conor Gleeson is still very young, he had a bad day today but i wouldn't write off the lad and start screaming for a replacement yet, besides if Fives was fit Gleeson prob wouldn't start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

Mark Bergin, Larkin and Blanchfield to start is what I heard tonight in the lions den.

Fennelly center forward, fogarty center back and Reid and hogan center field. Could be absolute bollocks lads but its what was said tonight.

And nobody believed you

Roll on the 21s! Badly need to deliver that this year otherwise it's a bad year all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

Roll on the 21s! Badly need to deliver that this year otherwise it's a bad year all round.

What are u on boy! This is a beginning. Let on the 21's to do their business. They're the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Meh KK were the better team today, we should have put it to bed the last day. A decent performance but a couple of lads in the backs got roasted, just as well we have tadhg back there hoovering up or we'd be really exposed.

Hopefully they kick on now, still a young team and another year of conditioning will stand to them. We need our full forward line to win a bit more ball as well, that'll help the backs get a breather when they are up against it.

Aussie was immense again as was Jamie Barron. If them two keep up this kind of form we just need another 1 or 2 of the youngens to kick on and we will be there or thereabouts. Pauric Mahony good again he was unlucky with the free at the end, he shouldn't feel too bad about it he's contributed plenty over the last few games. Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Robson99

Devastated, always the nearly men, that KK team is beatable we just never seem to come out on the right side of a close SF.

Galway unable to beat them when it matters too. We feel year pain. Gutted or ye

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Listening to Derek there on newstalk it didn't sound like he felt it was a beginning . The semi final hoodoo lives on . Gutted for the players after their hard work all year it must be soul destroying. Fair play to Cody he got tactics right again and no manager will ever come close to him. Feel for Pauric especially with the late free - just wasn't meant to be . I suspect Derek will pack it in and hand it on to someone as maybe that's as far as he can take them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Heart broken.....taught waterford had the measure of em in the end
    If had gone to extra time we'd beaten em imo. ...but fair play to them nonetheless

Seen enough to give mcgrath an extra year anyway.....thoughe dara fives would've been a huge addition on for Walter walsh
    It sickens even more letting them off the hook last week

This should once and for all put to bed the notion Kilkenny don't bring players back to defend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Was sitting beside a drunk kilkenny lad who nearly blew me ear drums out bawlin and roaring, jesus it was wicked hardship altogether for the lad that we were in the game. Got to say the other Kilkenny people around me were grand tho, pleasant out and best of luck to them. Not the best of Kilkenny teams, but they're still beating whats put in front of them in fairness.

There was serious pressure on our puckouts and Kilkenny won alot of the rucks this time. The last two games have been two of the best we've played in a while, hope we keep playing this kind of way cos it's great to watch. Shame we seemed to lose our way a bit in the ten mins either side of half time but great resolve to come back into it.
    Absolutely fn gutted tho, where do we go from here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,609 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Disappointed but proud of the team and thank them for giving myself and all of us a great summer and the under 21s are still there

Can't blame pauric for the missed free to level the game, Murphy done great to save it.

Do the elder lemons go now (brick, SOS, Iggy etc). Brick is still am unreal player and mite have another year left In him

Heard McGrath was in tears on TV, we gave out about him recently but the man lives and breeds Waterford hurling and has sacrificed a lot (job, family time etc) to manage the team. If he forgot will be a shame

A tricky game next Sat foe the under 21s but hopefully they get the show back on the road. Antrim will be physical and will be out to do a job on Aussie (amazing performance tonight and we are so lucky to have him)

It's hurts but we went out fighting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Hard luck to Waterford tonight, that one could have could have went either way. Ye have a terrific young team there that will have their day in the Sun very soon. Special mention for brick Walsh tonight I thought he had an awesome game. Best of luck in the 21's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Charlie69 wrote: »
    Hard luck to Waterford tonight, that one could have could have went either way. Ye have a terrific young team there that will have their day in the Sun very soon. Special mention for brick Walsh tonight I thought he had an awesome game. Best of luck in the 21's.

The brick certainly looked like he's still well able for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,609 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Saw an elderly man crying after the game on the way out as well as a few kids.

The kids are the ones to feel sorry for, some are still too young to understand winning and losing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭taytobreath

jeaasus im more gutted than id usually be, im sick. i was right behind the goal when mahony took that free i was full sure twas over the bar, next thing i see murphys paw going up it just made me fall to my knees when i saw he caught the ball.

but i'm an optimist and i think those two matches will drive them on even more now that they know they arent a million miles from beating the best team in the country.

we'll be back definitly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

So heartbroken for Derek and the lads... but they have made us all so proud. What a fantastic bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Waterford were excellent over the two games, one of the most talented and definitely the team with the most bottle that we have played on the run we have had since 2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Last week was your chance.felt we were the better team tonite.cody again brillant tj and richie at midfield.mick fennelly immense at center forward.padraig walsh mom for me.we are so lucky in kilkenny to have a team and manager with the spirit these boys have.as for waterford I think you should believe in your players and maybe give your u21 management a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Gutted for you guys,marvellous effort.Keep knocking on the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Disappointing but we'll be back. The Brick was unreal tonight. What a performance!
    Well done Kilkenny.

If the blonde Waterford woman from old stand 209 row p seat 23 reads this, please wash your mouth out and stop embarrassing our county and exposing children to your awful language and tantrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 ObiwanKenoby

Well done to Derek and all the lads. Also well done KK in all fairness. Unbelieveable performance from Brick - played a special edition of Reeling in the Years tonight, but suspect he's not finished just yet. Tadhg, Jamie, Austin, Maurice & Pauric also excellent. Hope Derek stays for another year. He certainly puts his heart and soul, blood, sweat and tears into it. Finally, the lads never gave up tonight, and if we can take positives out of the game going forward that will surely keep us all believing...Hon the U21s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Hard luck tonight lads, was a shame someone had to lose in one sense, brought a dead championship back to life. I thought kk were the better team on the day, and a lot of individuals we much improved from the last day. But Waterford could have as easily stolen a draw at the end the same way we stole one last week. A lot of people saying ye will be back but I think opportunities are never guaranteed to return. A young team with plenty of scope to get even better though, so no reason not to have belief in future. But it's a little early for that kind of talk, I know the feeling after a big loss like that. Fair play to ye, your team is a credit to the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Completely and absolutely disappointed tonight (can't imagine what the team feel like) but very proud of the effort put in by the team over the two matches and going to to toe with Kilkenny. Pity the victory was left behind us last week in Dublin.
    For me the three points conceded between the 35th and 37th minutes was crucial in terms of the final result, how many times do you see KK tagging on handy looking points just before half time. The scoreline changed from level to -3 in two mins and it proved almost impossible to reel in against a team of Kilkenny's quality.

I was critical of Brick earlier in the year but my God he was immense again this evening and surely he will have to be convinced to stay on for another year. Mahoney was unlucky with that final free but he has been brilliant over the last few games so hard to be too critical. There is definitely an All Ireland in this team if they stick together, we are not far away at all. Let's hope the hurt and disappointment can be put to good use and the u21s can use it to push on in their campaign.

We WILL have our day in the sun, let's keep supporting this team and the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Hurling people from all around the world who could not attend this game were looking forward to watching it on TV. and it not disappoint.

Great to see the hurling season coming to an end with everything that's great about the game on display !

Hard luck to the Deise, 31.25 of all counties hope that you make the break through soon !

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Deise2016

Very very brave performance from Waterford with no lack of quality either.

Maybe, maybe should have let Austin Gleeson hit a couple of the longer range frees that we missed, remember the point he hit in Thurles to win the league game v Tipp.

Austin was immense as always, the lad has everything and we need to appreciate how lucky we are to have him.

Jamie Barron has been fantastic all year and again today, Brick was excellent, pauric mahony had another very good game and worked very hard too, jake dillon super work rate and took his goal well, shane bennett scored a couple of excellent points and Maurice caused them plenty of problems (should he have started?)

We are a coming team and will improve from this disappointment.

Austin, Tadgh de Burca, Barron, Curran, Devine, Conor Gleeson and the two Bennetts will all be another year older, stronger and more experienced next year, hopefully the likes of Brick and Moran will stick around and Colin Dunford with his confidence back again next year will be a big addition, he scored 0 4 from play against KK lasy year, didn't go his way this year but starting fresh next year he could be a massive player for us.

Plenty to be optimistic about, hopefully the U21s can go on and win the all Ireland and hopefully Derek, Dan and Fintan give it another year or two.