Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Shane Bennett dara fives (will they play though??).. ..their there for the taking ......but are waterford willing enough to go for it.....or just go out to contain and prevent a hammering??

In what way are kilkenny there for the taking if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Sure what have Kilkenny won in the last 20 years? Handy game for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

would you ever forgive yourself if you missed it? when we beat kk ? im not saying itll happen but you cant miss it if it does

No and that's what tipped me over the edge to go:). Had the same story in 2002, woke up and was going to go to the Curragh for the Irish Derby (lived in Limerick at the time) but changed my mind over the weetabix and drove to Cork. Got a ticket in the Tipp section and got soaked in the rain, stuck in a 3 mile tailback in Charleville and stopped by the Garda twice on the road home who just wanted to congratulate me.

Me need new memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

they are always there for the taking we have 15 starters they have 15 starters they are only men ,not gods, if we stop letting them beat us in our minds we might actually get them

ffs wexford beat them regularly enough on their day this psychosis we cant do this has to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Glad to see Dunford in the team should add much needed pace to the team, Dropping Maurice hopefully suggests there not going with the 1 man Full Forward line, Would rather see Curran in the team over Jake Dillon though, I don't give us much hope Sunday but will be cheering them on in Croker non the less, best of luck to the lads i suppose of Leicester can win the Premiership anything can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

they are always there for the taking we have 15 starters they have 15 starters they are only men ,not gods, if we stop letting them beat us in our minds we might actually get them

ffs wexford beat them regularly enough on their day this psychosis we cant do this has to stop

Ah yeah thats fair enough, ye have some super players and I certainly don't think it's going to be as 1 sided as people are making out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

carter10 wrote: »
    We're better off without fellas with your attitude in Croke park on Sunday

Ah sher it's a big day out for all the DLS lads, up DLS, that's why we won't win anything politics! Look at Sean power and the minor team and current u21 team, no politics there

Sounds like youre the one bogged down with politics

Shanahan and Curran both dropped, in my view pound for pound the 2 best forwards in the county. But the system is such that it dosen't really matter who starts and who dosen't. Its so structured that players arent utilised to their abilities anyway. Still 2 unreal lads to have off the bench then throw in the likes of O'Halloran, Bennett, Devine. Even KK themselves havent that much quality coming off the bench but still ive never seen Waterford people so resigned to a defeat before a match. I expect or at least hope Dunford and Dillon both start, to name them in the side then turn around on Sunday and say actually your not playing would send out an awful demoralising message to lads. Id be surprised if both Bennett and Fives start though. 2 lads carrying fairly heavy injuries from what I hear but at least there is plenty cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Hoping that ff line doesnt change but one of them is very under the weather at the min. Tactics from Derek maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Shanahan and Curran both dropped, in my view pound for pound the 2 best forwards in the county. But the system is such that it dosen't really matter who starts and who dosen't. Its so structured that players arent utilised to their abilities anyway. Still 2 unreal lads to have off the bench then throw in the likes of O'Halloran, Bennett, Devine. Even KK themselves havent that much quality coming off the bench but still ive never seen Waterford people so resigned to a defeat before a match. I expect or at least hope Dunford and Dillon both start, to name them in the side then turn around on Sunday and say actually your not playing would send out an awful demoralising message to lads. Id be surprised if both Bennett and Fives start though. 2 lads carrying fairly heavy injuries from what I hear but at least there is plenty cover

Its all about perspective : Two (Kilkenny) James Stephens players dropped for the semis with 17 all Ireland's between them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

We'll wait for the real team to be announced on Sunday! Nowadays is it about the best team starting or the best team finishing? I'm hoping the plan is we'll have our strongest,freshest and best 15 on the field in anticipation of the expected KK second half onslaught? I'm not ready to throw in the towel just yet! I'm thinking there might be a twist to all this........at least I hope so!

KK4SAM wrote: »

Its all about perspective : Two (Kilkenny) James Stephens players dropped for the semis with 17 all Ireland's between them ?

Give yourself a nice pat on the back there sham

Shane Bennett must have had some turnaround given he was on crutches a couple days ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭redlead

It's a very poor forward line named. I don't know where our scores are going to come from.

Dillon - can't score from play
    Brick - can't score from play
    Mahony - can't score from play

If Dunford could learn how to shoot he'd be absolutely brilliant but I haven't seen any evidence of this yet. Maurice is the only player we have that is capable of playing in a one man full forward line. I mean what in the name of Jesus is Jake Dillon going to contribute? As a poster alluded to above, he wouldn't get on the Kilkenny camogie team. Pure useless!

It's okay carrying a lad that can't score if he contributes something else, like Mahony on frees, but nearly a whole forward line of them is lunacy. We're basically hoping that Gleeson and Bennett have the games of their lives and that's if Bennett plays. Haven't been this depressed going into a game since the Davy days. We're just set up to lose. Beginning to wish I didn't waste money on a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Seems like your supporters are getting like clare supporters(fed up of this negative sweeper system.I think you have a 50/50 chance against us if you just go and hurl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

redlead wrote: »
    It's a very poor forward line named. I don't know where our scores are going to come from.

If Dunford could learn how to shoot he'd be absolutely brilliant but I haven't seen any evidence of this yet. Maurice is the only player we have that is capable of playing in a one man full forward line. I mean what in the name of Jesus is Jake Dillon going to contribute? As a poster alluded to above, he wouldn't get on the Kilkenny camogie team. Pure useless!

It's okay carrying a lad that can't score if he contributes something else, like Mahony on frees, but nearly a whole forward line of them is lunacy. We're basically hoping that Gleeson and Bennett have the games of their lives and that's if Bennett plays. Haven't been this depressed going into a game since the Davy days. We're just hset up to lose. Beginning to wish I didn't waste money on a ticket.

Mahony is the only player who has scored from play in all our championship games this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

redlead wrote: »

It's okay carrying a lad that can't score if he contributes something else, like Mahony on frees, but nearly a whole forward line of them is lunacy. We're basically hoping that Gleeson and Bennett have the games of their lives and that's if Bennett plays. Haven't been this depressed going into a game since the Davy days. We're just set up to lose. Beginning to wish I didn't waste money on a ticket.

I agree the team that's announced doesn't inspire confidence but I just think all is not what we're led to believe! At least that's what I'm clinging to and hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭IanVW

Surely curran has to be in instead of Dillon! Would have alot more to offer especially in croke park i would have thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

It may be illogical but I'm getting more optimistic as the match approaches - felt the same before Munster Final ! Hoping the 2nd half meltdown in that match was an aberration. Wouldn't be too critical of QF win as Waterford looked in control from an early stage.

Tomorrow might be a game of 2 halves - W'ford to keep it as tight as possible in the first and then cut loose in the 2nd half, ie unleash the powerful bench earlier than normal and go for broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Surely Maurice will start? I can't think of any reason other than injury. I'd expect him to be one the pre match 'surprise' changes. Interesting that Darragh Fives and Shane Bennett are named when they are both supposed to be injured. I reckon Maurice will start instead of Bennett. If he was on crutches a few days ago then surely he can't start over Maurice. I won't go bashing the players that are named but I'm disappointed that O'Hallaron or Steven Bennett haven't got the nod. Curran might be a genius sub to bring on in fairness. While showing glimpses of what he can do, I don't think he's been 100% ready.... just yet... so maybe holding him back for the second half might be genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Surely Maurice will start? I can't think of any reason other than injury. I'd expect him to be one the pre match 'surprise' changes. Interesting that Darragh Fives and Shane Bennett are named when they are both supposed to be injured. I reckon Maurice will start instead of Bennett. If he was on crutches a few days ago then surely he can't start over Maurice. I won't go bashing the players that are named but I'm disappointed that O'Hallaron or Steven Bennett haven't got the nod. Curran might be a genius sub to bring on in fairness. While showing glimpses of what he can do, I don't think he's been 100% ready.... just yet... so maybe holding him back for the second half might be genius.

Agree re Maurice, he surely has to start as long as he's not injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

He was the first forward taken off the last day. It's obvious he's not fit and I think its a good decision to start him on the bench. Don't think that team is the one that will start Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

I'd also be surprised to see that team start especially Darragh Fives unfortunately. If that forwardline starts as named i think that Dunford and Bennett will be used to run at the Kilkenny defence. On the rare occasions that Kilkenny have been beaten that's usually the way to do it. I think Dillon is in because when he gets on the ball his first instinct is usually to pass or offload rather than shoot. With Dunford and Shane Bennett as runners you need someone to feed these players. The question though is can Dillon win enough ball for this to be effective.
    As most people are saying id expect us to keep it tight in the first half. At the start of the 2nd half when Kilkenny go at us i think the worst thing we could do is go even more defensive. That would give all the momentum to Kilkenny and once that happens its game over. If Kilkenny go on the attack early in the 2nd half this might create holes in their defence. At the start of the 2nd half Waterford need to gamble and push up on Kilkenny and have a real go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭skaface

Best of luck to Waterford tomorrow
    Hopefully we have a right cut off them
    Up da Deise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Best of luck tomorrow lads, and if kk lose hopefully we'll be able to take our defeat without excuses. I think ye have the players to beat us if, as someone said, you actually take on our full back line instead of giving Paul Murphy free rein. Playing the defensive system all day I just don't see anything other than our lads winning. But that said, if we have to lose, I'd rather see Waterford go and win than any of the other hoors left on the other sure of the draw. Some are against ye winning with that defensive set up, personally I think you'll only win without using it exclusively anyway. Best of luck boys!

(Please ignore my posts in response to the Waterford poster on the Kilkenny thread, he's got me wound up no end)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Hope we'll be celebrating tonight In shortts

But more than that.....I hope Waterford open up and play to the full potential...and it's a good game after a shte championship

I know Ive been writing off our chances, but now that the day has come around I feel that bit of belief coming back again. Its 15 v 15 at the end of the day and history or previous results count for nothing when both teams take to the field. The Third quarter is when this will be won and lost. If we can deal with that onslaugh and hang in there who knows. We have lads to spring from the bench who can win matches. Thats the difference between this team and previous teams. Im hoping Derek has a few tricks up his sleeve as regards tactics to catch Cody off guard. Its a long shot but we live and hope. Up the deise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

So the day is finally upon us. I'd like to have some of the optimism some have here, unfortunately and as much as it kills me to say it but I just see no way whatsoever we can manage to win this game.
    I think the game will either go one of two ways, it'll either be like last years game where KK keep us at arms reach without really getting out of 3rd gear and we fail to really trouble them. Or KK will just blow us away, maybe not to the extent of 08 but hit us for a few goals and take of points to put the game as a contest over. I'd absolutely love to be proven wrong and would gladly eat my words but I'm just consigned to defeat. I guess in a way I'm not expecting anything other than a loss and anything else would be a bonus.

To have any hope we need to stay in touch all through. If KK go any more than even 4pts or more clear at any stage it's curtains. Obviously also vital to concede at the very most one goal. It may not be vital to get one ourselves but it's nice to at least work Eoin Murphy.

Will tune in and pray for the best anyway. The very very best of luck to all the lads and management team, get out there and shock me lads!

Up the Déise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Don't think I've ever been so unenthused heading to Croker before!

Still tho I love these days out, I remember the dark old days when the only way we got to Dublin was a trip to the zoo!!

Up the Deise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I believe we will win, time to start believing. Up the Deise