Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Hearing that JMC sustained a head injury in the AvsB game, how true i don't know.

Slightly troubling to see Diarmuid getting tangled up with that after a good couple of years of going relatively incident free.

The worrying thing is now, that Donegal or Mayo would be looking at that and licking their chops thinking they can get under his skin now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Was it Alan Brogan recently wrote that Connolly seems to have problem concentrating during the handier matches? Seems to be more prone to fluting around like this anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

corny wrote: »
    Kilkenny played left half back in the second half and when MDMA went off Connolly went to midfield. Not for long though, 5 minutes later Bastick replaced him. Weird set up.

Lucky for Small, Ray Connellan broke his leg. Up until that point, he was badly second best. No shame in that mind you. That lad can certainly fetch a ball.

Nerves are getting to ye Stoner.;) If Westmeath are a yardstick we were actually more impressive this year. Won by more and arguably they were more prepared this year. Bookies even had the margin bang on. All to plan..... so far.

I'd like to avoid Mayo in the quarter final. Cork would be ok but Donegal (might eat these words) would be perfect. They'll never give you an easy game but its highly likely they've regressed since last we played them. Coming through a tough game is what we want.

Yeah Connellan on Small was definetely targeted - Westmeath isolated the match up a fair bit on their kickouts as the other players moved away from the contested ball, from an attacking perspective I thought Small was excellent providing countless link ups.

We're back to the old chestnut of MDMAs fitness again - he looked gassed early 2nd half, he was at a gig in our place and was very reassuring about his fitness being better than ever - I'd respectfully disagree.

As for 1/4 final opponents I wouldn't be overly concerned with whoever we pull, they all have their pros and cons - Mayo are ideally placed to offer the best challenge but their sweeper system will be overwhelmed by the fast counter, they may well employ the 14 men behind the ball the way they did in Castlebar but that's a huge problem to their attacking prospects, Diarmuid o'Connor is probably the biggest danger in the country, him playing in the half back line would suit us perfectly ...

Donegal defensively will offer the biggest questions, there's definetely been a tail off in their intensity as the game wears on and the emergence of Fenton is equal to if not better than opponents in an area of the field we used to struggle.

A worthy mention to Galway, their style of football was a joy to watch and wouldn't look out of place in a Dublin or Kerry team, it would be good to see it replicated in Croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Bambi wrote: »
    When did a headlock become a choke hold? :confused:

When the dub fans were trying to justify Connolly getting off against mayo last year... So 'chokehold', 'chokelock', 'attempt to choke' - they were all dished out, now you have to take them back.

I give Westmeath credit for trying to give Dublin a game. By all means, try to target a weakness in their defence, push Connolly's buttons a bit, maybe cluxton too. Let them know they are in a game. This bowing at the Dublin alter is doing nothing for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

When the dub fans were trying to justify Connolly getting off against mayo last year... So 'chokehold', 'chokelock', 'attempt to choke' - they were all dished out, now you have to take them back.

Bould little lee was wrapped around Connollys neck, you won't choke anyone with your arm around their face :)

On a related note: was I the only one notice that lad trying to stick a standing armbar on Rock? The CCCCCCC would want to start paying attention to that stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

But Keegan wasn't sent off or black carded for his headlock/ chokehold/chokelock either he got a yellow card.
    Nothing can happen to Connelly for it now as he like keegan last year got a card for it.

A head lock is choke, but we are all more tuned into MMA now and we know the difference between something that's locked in and something that isn't
    I saw someone mention a Standing Armbar attempt on Rock during the game too. Next time someone gives someone a dig it will be called a TKO, attempting to give the guy brain damage. Like yesterday's attempted neck break that I read on a forum answered with the attempt to break Rocks arm, all exaggerations IMO. By the way the "Armbar" attempt yesterday looked very similar to something that Neil McGee got hammered for recently. McGee is just in the spotlight.

Whatever punishment Connelly should have received yesterday, keegan should have received last year.
    Connelly's red card should have stuck.
    Brolly started with the term chokehold maybe that's what they call a headlock in Derry.

Dolan getting a yellow for his minor part was wrong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Slattsy wrote: »
    Nothing new there DD.

Was nothing in it really, you'd think he stabbed someones Mother the way some were going on about it.

Wasn't it you who said that A O'Shea's "dive" was a disgrace. But here you are trying to defend violence on the pitch. Get your principles in check.

Bambi wrote:
    On a related note: was I the only one notice that lad trying to stick a standing armbar on Rock? The CCCCCCC would want to start paying attention to that stuff

I saw that on the recorded game, it wasn't you I was referring to in my above post it was a comment on the journal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Wasn't it you who said that A O'Shea's "dive" was a disgrace. But here you are trying to defend violence on the pitch. Get your principles in check.

Twas :D

O'Shea is a disgrace. And why is dive in " " - are your implying it wasn't a dive ??

Is every tangle between players now classed as thuggery or "violence" (note the correct use of " " in this instance) or is it just when its DC involved ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Bould little lee was wrapped around Connollys neck, you won't choke anyone with your arm around their face :)

On another related note I must have been the only one who noticed Dermo's ankle being blatantly stood on as the 3 or 4 Westmeath lads tried to haul him off Dolan.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Slattsy wrote: »
    Twas :D

O'Shea is a disgrace. And why is dive in " " - are your implying it wasn't a dive ??

Is every tangle between players now classed as thuggery or "violence" (note the correct use of " " in this instance) or is it just when its DC involved ?

Frome the big man's own mouth. Must make it true.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/aidan-oshea-my-conscience-is-clear-over-penalty-incident-745232.html

He doesn’t “think” he dived. Understandable of course – difficult to know if someone pushed/pulled/tripped you. God, some people are just better off not making comments which get into the public domain. (Note the inclusion of “ “ again. No idea why, just seemed to be in the right context).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Frome the big man's own mouth. Must make it true.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/aidan-oshea-my-conscience-is-clear-over-penalty-incident-745232.html

He doesn’t “think” he dived. Understandable of course – difficult to know if someone pushed/pulled/tripped you. God, some people are just better off not making comments which get into the public domain. (Note the inclusion of “ “ again. No idea why, just seemed to be in the right context).

Is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

EICVD wrote: »
    On another related note I must have been the only one who noticed Dermo's ankle being blatantly stood on as the 3 or 4 Westmeath lads tried to haul him off Dolan.......

I didn't notice that, but did notice that DC overreacted to the smallest provocation. Gavin's line about players having to stand up for themselves while correct, was unnecessary in this instance. DC should have walked away laughing, no need to drag him down, no need to react.

Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone and any other team we might face will do a lot worse in terms of winding him up and his reaction yesterday only encourages them. The fact that the opposition manager was honest enough to confirm he "is excitable" only confirms what we all know. The opposition will target him. They don't bother with Flynn, Brogan, Macker, Kilkenny etc, because they generally don't react. DC does, so he'll continue being targeted. It's up to him.

Even so, he's still one of the first players picked for every game.

Stoner wrote: »
    But Keegan wasn't sent off or black carded for his headlock/ chokehold/chokelock either he got a yellow card.
    Nothing can happen to Connelly for it now as he like keegan last year got a card for it.

To be honest, I wasn't really talking about punishment, I was simply answering the question - when did a headlock become a chokehold.

I see.
    Well then considering he didn't manage to get Rock in the armbar fully, therefore has no case to answer....

Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

I see.
    Well then considering he didn't manage to get Rock in the armbar fully, therefore has no case to answer....

Right?

At what point in time would he have had a case to answer? Do we wait until he dislocates an elbow? Would it be different if Cillian O'Connor was the person in the armbar?

If the ref had seen it the guy would have gotten a card, almost certainly red. As it is, given the lack of fuss about the incident, it's likely that the matter is closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭sgarvan

As the referee took no action WestMeaths number 8 can be investigated. As the incident was seen by officials it will more than likely be mentioned in the referees report allowing the investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I give Westmeath credit for trying to give Dublin a game. By all means, try to target a weakness in their defence, push Connolly's buttons a bit, maybe cluxton too. Let them know they are in a game. This bowing at the Dublin alter is doing nothing for the game.

Have you nothing better to be doing than harping on about choking, you'd swear you were an expert about it, oh no hold on wait.......:) Only kidding.

Honestly though, you should be more worried about Raydenaldo O Shea and the Gang, than the Dubs. Its one thing getting beat by a Division 2 side, but a Division 3, surely thats not on the cards.

sgarvan wrote: »
    As the referee took no action WestMeaths number 8 can be investigated. As the incident was seen by officials it will more than likely be mentioned in the referees report allowing the investigation.

.... And those bloody umpires are useless some shocking decisions in the minor game :D

Past30Now wrote: »
    At what point in time would he have had a case to answer? Do we wait until he dislocates an elbow? Would it be different if Cillian O'Connor was the person in the armbar?

If the ref had seen it the guy would have gotten a card, almost certainly red. As it is, given the lack of fuss about the incident, it's likely that the matter is closed.

At the same point that Connolly's attempted playful headlock was deemed to be the same as keegan's dastardly chokelock of certain death...

You aren't really getting it are you? Im only applying the standards that Dublin fans are setting to others onto themselves. If Connolly's attempted headlock doesn't count because it was poorly executed - as has been suggested here, then the same has to apply for the armbar on Rock.

You cant have everything your own way Im afraid.

STB. wrote: »
    Have you nothing better to be doing than harping on about choking, you'd swear you were an expert about it, oh no hold on wait.......:) Only kidding.

Honestly though, you should be more worried about Raydenaldo O Shea and the Gang, than the Dubs. Its one thing getting beat by a Division 2 side, but a Division 3, surely thats not on the cards.

Well seeing as we 'down the country' are funding Dublin's run for sam with that 50%+ of gaa money, I figure Im only keeping an eye on my investment here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Well seeing as we 'down the country' are funding Dublin's run for sam with that 50%+ of gaa money, I figure Im only keeping an eye on my investment here.

Do you even know what you are talking about.

Where did you pull that 50%+ from. Your imagination thats were!

Did you ever ask yourself the question. Where does the majority of the gate receipts come from ?

Last year there were 339 Senior intercounty games. 48 were profitable. Which ones were they ?

BKWDR wrote:
    Do we think, Eoghans chance now of post-injury breakthrough are finished now? (save that someone gets injured)

Well made the bench yesterday. He didn't against Meath.
    Has Mannion new build encroached on his position?
    Overall I would have liked to have seen him get 20 minutes yesterday, I thought it was more important to give him time than O'Callaghan whom I don't see doing much more this year although I could be wrong, again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Very good second half performance yesterday. Worried about that first half though we came through in the end. We'll not be able to do that from here on in.

MDM looks all out of sorts. Kept running into contact and losing possession. Think the club escapades have taken its toll on him as he looks a bit mentally jaded.

Small was good as were most of the defense. Really missed McCarthy's presence going forward but Small popped up in much better positions in the second half. Berno was on song and if we can get the ball in to the forwards quicker than we have the beating of anyone.

Dermo probably could and should have had a black for his altercation, can't really condone it. With that said the amount of persistent fouling, pulling and dragging that Westmeath got up to in that game it's a miracle they didn't get at least one themselves.

All in though Gavin has plenty to work on from that first half but must have been pleased with the up in intensity when required.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Well made the bench yesterday. He didn't against Meath.
    Has Mannion new build encroached on his position?
    Overall I would have liked to have seen him get 20 minutes yesterday, I thought it was more important to give him time than O'Callaghan whom I don't see doing much more this year although I could be wrong, again .

Thought yesterday was a perfect chance to give O'Callaghan a good 15/20 minutes myself. Winning by double scores and Westmeath had ran out of steam.

EOG will still have an important part to play IMO. When we come up against Tyrone, Kerry or Donegal and we can't blitz our way through their blanket defense then he will be a vital cog in attack. Gavin may also be holding something back for the bigger challenges ahead and keeping his cards close to his chest, I hope :)

JRant wrote:
    EOG will still have an important part to play IMO. When we come up against Tyrone, Kerry or Donegal and we can't blitz our way through their blanket defense then he will be a vital cog in attack. Gavin may also be holding something back for the bigger challenges ahead and keeping his cards close to his chest, I hope

All the more reason to have EOG some badly needed game time IMO. O'Callaghan is a fine player but i think he got good runs in the OByrne cup at that washed out Wexford game and in the league too. I think Gavin has beem shown to not stick in the younger lads when the real tests come. I'd agree with you 100 percent BTW if EOG had more playing time under his belt this year

I think EOGs size gives the false impression that he's the type of player that's suited to lingering around the square, where as in reality imo he's more of an out in front player that links well with runners - the fact that Rock has now shown that he's able to fulfill that role has marginalised O'Gara to a certain extent.

The last time that I can remember EOG being used as a battering ram against the mass defence was Donegal in 2014 - and whatever our perceived notion is with regard to his physicality he was smothered out by 2/3 men that day - weight of numbers will always win out in that instance.

From speaking with a few lads I know that JG places a big focus on getting his match ups right - I'd imagine EOG will get his chance to shine when the match up dictates he'll play - Mayo spring to mind straight off....

All the more reason to have EOG some badly needed game time IMO. O'Callaghan is a fine player but i think he got good runs in the OByrne cup at that washed out Wexford game and in the league too. I think Gavin has beem shown to not stick in the younger lads when the real tests come. I'd agree with you 100 percent BTW if EOG had more playing time under his belt this year

I wouldn't say he doesn't stick with the younger lads, more to do with coming up against physically stronger opponents IMO. O'Callaghan will be the better player for his game time this year but fully expect EOG to get a decent run in the 1/4's.

Gavin knows what he can do but you're spot on regarding him needing gametime to sharpen up.

Not a bad problem to have if you're a manager. It's the backline that I'm more concerned about and worry how they'll perform especially if McCarthy is out.

It really is a pity that we'll have to wait till the end of July to get our first real test of the championship.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I think EOGs size gives the false impression that he's the type of player that's suited to lingering around the square, where as in reality imo he's more of an out in front player that links well with runners - the fact that Rock has now shown that he's able to fulfill that role has marginalised O'Gara to a certain extent.

The last time that I can remember EOG being used as a battering ram against the mass defence was Donegal in 2014 - and whatever our perceived notion is with regard to his physicality he was smothered out by 2/3 men that day - weight of numbers will always win out in that instance.

From speaking with a few lads I know that JG places a big focus on getting his match ups right - I'd imagine EOG will get his chance to shine when the match up dictates he'll play - Mayo spring to mind straight off....

He's extremely strong on the ball and defenders find it very hard to get it off him, even in heavy traffic. Against a Mayo or Tyrone where they'll bring extra physicality he could be vital to getting any quick ball in to stick and bring in the likes of Berno.

I don't think he's exceptional under the high ball but he is excellent at bringing those around him into the game.

Yeah exactly, that would be my take on what he offers too