corny wrote: » Kilkenny played left half back in the second half and when MDMA went off Connolly went to midfield. Not for long though, 5 minutes later Bastick replaced him. Weird set up. Lucky for Small, Ray Connellan broke his leg. Up until that point, he was badly second best. No shame in that mind you. That lad can certainly fetch a ball. Nerves are getting to ye Stoner.;) If Westmeath are a yardstick we were actually more impressive this year. Won by more and arguably they were more prepared this year. Bookies even had the margin bang on. All to plan..... so far. I'd like to avoid Mayo in the quarter final. Cork would be ok but Donegal (might eat these words) would be perfect. They'll never give you an easy game but its highly likely they've regressed since last we played them. Coming through a tough game is what we want.
Bambi wrote: » When did a headlock become a choke hold?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » When the dub fans were trying to justify Connolly getting off against mayo last year... So 'chokehold', 'chokelock', 'attempt to choke' - they were all dished out, now you have to take them back.
MayoAreMagic wrote: When the dub fans were trying to justify Connolly getting off against mayo last year... So 'chokehold', 'chokelock', 'attempt to choke' - they were all dished out, now you have to take them back.
Slattsy wrote: » Nothing new there DD. Was nothing in it really, you'd think he stabbed someones Mother the way some were going on about it.
Bambi wrote: On a related note: was I the only one notice that lad trying to stick a standing armbar on Rock? The CCCCCCC would want to start paying attention to that stuff
flasher0030 wrote: » Wasn't it you who said that A O'Shea's "dive" was a disgrace. But here you are trying to defend violence on the pitch. Get your principles in check.
Bambi wrote: » Bould little lee was wrapped around Connollys neck, you won't choke anyone with your arm around their face On a related note: was I the only one notice that lad trying to stick a standing armbar on Rock? The CCCCCCC would want to start paying attention to that stuff
Slattsy wrote: » Twas O'Shea is a disgrace. And why is dive in " " - are your implying it wasn't a dive ?? Is every tangle between players now classed as thuggery or "violence" (note the correct use of " " in this instance) or is it just when its DC involved ?
flasher0030 wrote: » Frome the big man's own mouth. Must make it true.http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/aidan-oshea-my-conscience-is-clear-over-penalty-incident-745232.html He doesn’t “think” he dived. Understandable of course – difficult to know if someone pushed/pulled/tripped you. God, some people are just better off not making comments which get into the public domain. (Note the inclusion of “ “ again. No idea why, just seemed to be in the right context).
EICVD wrote: » On another related note I must have been the only one who noticed Dermo's ankle being blatantly stood on as the 3 or 4 Westmeath lads tried to haul him off Dolan.......
Stoner wrote: » But Keegan wasn't sent off or black carded for his headlock/ chokehold/chokelock either he got a yellow card. Nothing can happen to Connelly for it now as he like keegan last year got a card for it.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » I see. Well then considering he didn't manage to get Rock in the armbar fully, therefore has no case to answer.... Right?
Bambi wrote: » On a related note: was I the only one notice that lad trying to stick a standing armbar on Rock? The CCCCCCC would want to start paying attention to that stuff
MayoAreMagic wrote: » When the dub fans were trying to justify Connolly getting off against mayo last year... So 'chokehold', 'chokelock', 'attempt to choke' - they were all dished out, now you have to take them back. I give Westmeath credit for trying to give Dublin a game. By all means, try to target a weakness in their defence, push Connolly's buttons a bit, maybe cluxton too. Let them know they are in a game. This bowing at the Dublin alter is doing nothing for the game.
sgarvan wrote: » As the referee took no action WestMeaths number 8 can be investigated. As the incident was seen by officials it will more than likely be mentioned in the referees report allowing the investigation.
Past30Now wrote: » At what point in time would he have had a case to answer? Do we wait until he dislocates an elbow? Would it be different if Cillian O'Connor was the person in the armbar? If the ref had seen it the guy would have gotten a card, almost certainly red. As it is, given the lack of fuss about the incident, it's likely that the matter is closed.
STB. wrote: » Have you nothing better to be doing than harping on about choking, you'd swear you were an expert about it, oh no hold on wait.......:) Only kidding. Honestly though, you should be more worried about Raydenaldo O Shea and the Gang, than the Dubs. Its one thing getting beat by a Division 2 side, but a Division 3, surely thats not on the cards.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Well seeing as we 'down the country' are funding Dublin's run for sam with that 50%+ of gaa money, I figure Im only keeping an eye on my investment here.
BKWDR wrote: Do we think, Eoghans chance now of post-injury breakthrough are finished now? (save that someone gets injured)
Stoner wrote: » Well made the bench yesterday. He didn't against Meath. Has Mannion new build encroached on his position? Overall I would have liked to have seen him get 20 minutes yesterday, I thought it was more important to give him time than O'Callaghan whom I don't see doing much more this year although I could be wrong, again .
JRant wrote: EOG will still have an important part to play IMO. When we come up against Tyrone, Kerry or Donegal and we can't blitz our way through their blanket defense then he will be a vital cog in attack. Gavin may also be holding something back for the bigger challenges ahead and keeping his cards close to his chest, I hope
Stoner wrote: » All the more reason to have EOG some badly needed game time IMO. O'Callaghan is a fine player but i think he got good runs in the OByrne cup at that washed out Wexford game and in the league too. I think Gavin has beem shown to not stick in the younger lads when the real tests come. I'd agree with you 100 percent BTW if EOG had more playing time under his belt this year
DoctaDee wrote: » I think EOGs size gives the false impression that he's the type of player that's suited to lingering around the square, where as in reality imo he's more of an out in front player that links well with runners - the fact that Rock has now shown that he's able to fulfill that role has marginalised O'Gara to a certain extent. The last time that I can remember EOG being used as a battering ram against the mass defence was Donegal in 2014 - and whatever our perceived notion is with regard to his physicality he was smothered out by 2/3 men that day - weight of numbers will always win out in that instance. From speaking with a few lads I know that JG places a big focus on getting his match ups right - I'd imagine EOG will get his chance to shine when the match up dictates he'll play - Mayo spring to mind straight off....