Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

It's a fact that you brought up for me deriding Kerry's success in yet another Munster title and the fact that they almost by default have a spot in the AIQF and the AISF in the past.

I said what I said in response to a previous poster's comments about Kerry which followed on from the nauseating discussion about the Leinster Championship. So yes, you can throw out these statistics alright but they fail to take from the fact that Munster is a joke and always has been.

I never said anything to say Leinster was better (which seems to be something that might have gotten your back up) nor was that implied anywhere.

So thanks for the facts. Munster is a still a pile of shoite. There has been no change in that FACT.

I didn't say anything to deride Leinster, in fact I've said that I think it's a pretty decent competition here and/or elsewhere.

I was just pointing out that while Kerry are miles ahead of the rest, Munster is actually improving.

The thing about Kerry historically getting to the AISF easily, I don't think anyone really buys that that was a major contributor to their historical success? Sure everyone says the biggest problem for Dublin now is the lack of competition before the QF/SF.

The fact that Dublin win the tough games when they eventually come around is the proof that they are the best team around for the last few years, the same as Kerry routinely beating whoever came out of the other provinces in the past.

Clare and Tipp have done pretty well to build themselves up from a low base over the last couple of years. We are all football people, it wouldn't be the worst thing to cast that in a positive light rather than fall over ourselves to get a cheap dig in at a (supposed) rival.

Anyway, you might disagree but to my eyes the vast majority of those being bitter about Dublin's current success are from places that wear different shades of green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

At least he doesn't sound like an idiot on national radio. Ye might have to put a gaggingorder on Connelly if he comes out with anymore clangers like today

I actually think it's a pretty admirably thing to take the blame for the incident on himself rather than complaining that 'they were at me'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

At least he doesn't sound like an idiot on national radio. Ye might have to put a gaggingorder on Connelly if he comes out with anymore clangers like today

From da Indo:

“I think the referee dealt with it there and then. I was a bit frustrated, but look, that’s part and parcel of the game as well."

He added that his rash reaction was down to how he had failed to get into his stride rather than any attention he was receiving from the opposition.

“No. It was a yellow card offence.
    “I don’t think that was a factor [goading from Westmeath players], I was just more frustrated with how I was playing myself and that’s what happened.”

It's called taking responsibility for your actions a lesson others can learn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

100 percent. Just like Keegan coming out last year and saying he did what he did

Far more respect for a player from anywhere coming out and telling it like it happened. Much better than denying it.
    He didn't need to say he was targeted as the Westmeath manager already said he was, Connelly did the right thing and said it had nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I liked Dermo's comments, That type of honesty is definitely instilled by JG and comes through the entire team.

What I really don't like and to be honest is driving me nuts is the fact that refs know other teams are going out targeting the likes of Dermo and don't do anything to protect them until they retaliate.

For example, he was kicked in the head right in front of the ref against Meath and nothing was given.

Dangerous play is not being clamped down on, full stop. There was a flying clothesline by a Donegal lad that was a red all day long but gets a yellow while 2 Tyrone lads get the line for far less.

Don't get me started on some of the diving we witnessed at the weekend as well. The two lads from Longford and Cork should be ashamed of themselves. A slight tap and they go down holding their faces like they'd been shot. Same for the Derry defender, walks up throwing shapes and then falls like a sack of spuds when he gets touched.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭corny

He's wrong about it being a yellow card offence though. Black should have been the colour.

Reminded me of Seamus O' Se pulling Johnny Cooper to the ground last year.

corny wrote: »
    He's wrong about it being a yellow card offence though. Black should have been the colour.

Reminded me of Seamus O' Se pulling Johnny Cooper to the ground last year.

That's true .. the double yellow is a right cop out and is quite prevalent as some attempt at balancing the scales .. Black for DC nada for Dolan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

DoctaDee wrote: »
    That's true .. the double yellow is a right cop out and is quite prevalent as some attempt at balancing the scales .. Black for DC nada for Dolan

Yeah, it was a black card alright and you could tell by his reaction at getting the yellow that he got away with one.

What's needed is a TMO to assist the refs because they must get the sideline judges and umpires from the school for the blind. It would sort out an awful lot of the off the ball nonsense fairly lively.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    Yeah, it was a black card alright and you could tell by his reaction at getting the yellow that he got away with one.

What's needed is a TMO to assist the refs because they must get the sideline judges and umpires from the school for the blind. It would sort out an awful lot of the off the ball nonsense fairly lively.
    I assume the officials thinking was something had happened to provoke the reaction with DC and because they weren't able to convulsively determine what it was they tarred both with the same brush. As you say a video ref could have sorted it in the time it took to give back the players their handbags after the schmozzle

If McCarthy is out for 8 weeks then we are in big trouble.
    He had three big games against Kerry since 2011 and with him out and McCaffrey gone the halfback line that was imo the best in the country is now average only O'Sullivan remains as a proven option. McCaffery was a big loss, but we could suffer a pebble in our shoe but not two.
    We're going to end up with Kilkenny or Flynn at halfback some mad option that will hopefully work.

And we have George, O'Brien and O'Carroll playing ball in the states.
    I know Nicky Deveroux is not everyone's favourite but I'd like to see him on the panel if possible rather than BK D Byrne. Ger Brennan will hardly be fit , willing and ready. I'm losing my head at the McCarthy news. Panicking. Good night all. I'm going to watch some MMA in YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Stoner wrote: »
    And we have George, O'Brien and O'Carroll playing ball in the states.
    I know Nicky Deveroux is not everyone's favourite but I'd like to see him on the panel if possible rather than BK D Byrne. Ger Brennan will hardly be fit , willing and ready. I'm losing my head at the McCarthy news. Panicking. Good night all. I'm going to watch some MMA in YouTube

Stoner, I'd have been licking my lips with McGuinness generally with ROC and Jack Mc gone. But we are doing nothing and this is predicated on beating cork anyway which isn't a certainty.

Should we qualify, you'll have a game you will win against good opposition to bed in the new wing back. For all intents and purposes Dublin will have 6 weeks to work on how they're going to prepare for the change and fine player that he is I'm not sure the loss of McCarthy is fatal to any grand ambition of wining Sam.

He is a loss no question but Dublin have the panel to cope. Drop Flynn back covering too if needs be. Be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Stoner, I'd have been licking my lips with McGuinness generally with ROC and Jack Mc gone. But we are doing nothing and this is predicated on beating cork anyway which isn't a certainty.

Should we qualify, you'll have a game you will win against good opposition to bed in the new wing back. For all intents and purposes Dublin will have 6 weeks to work on how they're going to prepare for the change and fine player that he is I'm not sure the loss of McCarthy is fatal to any grand ambition of wining Sam.

He is a loss no question but Dublin have the panel to cope. Drop Flynn back covering too if needs be. Be right.

Dublin dont have the panel to cope. You are def missing your two best backs and could be missing the next best. Dublin dont have the players to replace those that are missing contrary to popular opinion. The likes of Small etc look good coming off the bench when the games are over but different story in tight games from the start.
    Dublins midfield while hardworking are not particularly good. You have McCauley who doesnt look fit and Bastick is an honest player but limited. Up front Rock isnt worth a sausage in big games as we saw last year against Mayo. Connolly is a class player but hard to believe Dublin will win an All Ireland with Kevin mc starting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

The thing about our remaining defenders (O'Sullivan, Cooper, McMahon, Small or Byrne) is that bar McManus from Monaghan, no forward from Division 1 took them to the cleaners this year. I'm hoping that McCarthy will be fit for the quarter final (particularly if we're facing Donegal and Murphy), but if he's not I'd have a lot of confidence in whatever option JG selects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I assume the officials thinking was something had happened to provoke the reaction with DC and because they weren't able to convulsively determine what it was they tarred both with the same brush. As you say a video ref could have sorted it in the time it took to give back the players their handbags after the schmozzle

Feck the video refs. Do you really want to completely lose the schmoozle from the game?

Jayop wrote: »
    Feck the video refs. Do you really want to completely lose the schmoozle from the game?

With all the nostalgia flying around, it's hard to believe it's 10 years since the greatest of all schmozzles in Omagh - and not an RUC officer in sight to restore order :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

With all the nostalgia flying around, it's hard to believe it's 10 years since the greatest of all schmozzles in Omagh - and not an RUC officer in sight to restore order :rolleyes:

We were fairly caught on the hop by Dublin that day.

Edit : wouldn't Meath Mayo back in 94 (iirc) be the best of all time? Actually that wasn't a schmozzle, that was a downright riot.

Jayop wrote: »
    We were fairly caught on the hop by Dublin that day.

Edit : wouldn't Meath Mayo back in 94 (iirc) be the best of all time? Actually that wasn't a schmozzle, that was a downright riot.

Yeah '96 replay .. proper men :D .. there was a trend for settling scores in replays at that time .. I remember O'Rourke mentioning in the '88 replay he gave a Cork fella a box to remind him he was still alive after the box he received in the drawn game !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yeah '96 replay .. proper men :D .. there was a trend for settling scores in replays at that time .. I remember O'Rourke mentioning in the '88 replay he gave a Cork fella a box to remind him he was still alive after the box he received in the drawn game !!

That was a decent schmozzle!Even if we ended up losing the war.

seligehgit wrote: »
    That was a decent schmozzle!Even if we ended up losing the war.

Finnerty da pox ;) .. could've saved youse all the grief of the intervening years .. saw him last year or the year before waltzing down Jones' Road into Croker without a care in the world :D .. he could've had a bypass named after him and Maughan would probably be a saint by now .. the fickle finger of faith ..

Edit .. wrong manager - wrong year :D .. I'll let my mistake stand !! .. no ninja edits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

JRant wrote: »
    The article states that Dublin recieved €1.46 out of €9.5 million in development funds, which a long way off "all the other counties combined" nonsense in the headline.

Nowhere in that article or on the GAA financial reports does it state that Dublin receive 50% of all GAA monies, as was claimed. So no, the article does not say that.

That was not what was claimed. What I stated was that Dublin get over 50% of the gaa money that is given out. Not all gaa money is given out to the counties.

This statement is 100% accurate. The article that was posted backs that up, as was also pointed out. Either you don't understand it or you deliberately misrepresented what was stated.

Common knowledge alright, yet its also incorrect.

No it is 100% accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

No it is 100% accurate.

Read the Annual Report.

I'm guessing you failed basic maths in school.

Go haunt some other thread with your conspiracy theories. You might get away with these mad rants in some small town bar, but not here pal.

STB. wrote: »
    Read the Annual Report.

I'm guessing you failed basic maths in school.

Go haunt some other thread with your conspiracy theories. You might get away with these mad rants in some small town bar, but not here pal.

Not for the first time the GAA has found itself defending an apparent bias in funding towards Dublin. Figures released in the 2014 financial report show that Dublin received €1.46 million for games development – more than the other 31 counties combined.

Taken from this article:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-claiming-the-bulk-of-gaa-s-development-funds-1.2091641

It seems both English and Maths are an issue for yourself...

As for 'haunting', you mean dealing in facts backed up with accurate data?
    So the truth is haunting you?

Listen, I have no bug-bear with Dublin, they are a fine team, but this denying reality that so many go on with is not going to wash. You seem to want all the funds you can get (and why wouldn't you), yet bristle when any objective analysis points out a, frankly obvious, imbalance in distribution, or that this might have had an effect on the teams development in relation to their competition. You cant have it both ways. If you don't want the extra money being mentioned, stop taking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Not for the first time the GAA has found itself defending an apparent bias in funding towards Dublin. Figures released in the 2014 financial report show that Dublin received €1.46 million for games development – more than the other 31 counties combined.

Taken from this article:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-claiming-the-bulk-of-gaa-s-development-funds-1.2091641

It seems both English and Maths are an issue for yourself...

As for 'haunting', you mean dealing in facts backed up with accurate data?
    So the truth is haunting you?

Listen, I have no bug-bear with Dublin, they are a fine team, but this denying reality that so many go on with is not going to wash. You seem to want all the funds you can get (and why wouldn't you), yet bristle when any objective analysis points out a, frankly obvious, imbalance in distribution, or that this might have had an effect on the teams development in relation to their competition. You cant have it both ways. If you don't want the extra money being mentioned, stop taking it.

...Páraic Duffy was quick to point out that this was not comparing like with like, highlighting the fact Dublin employs its own coaching and games administrators, while in all other counties they are employed by the province...

---

There was a thread on here where this was discussed ad nauseam last year. Not being dismissive, but have a gander in there.

NB. I'll try and root it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Had an oul root:

If you want to discuss funding in the GAA especially WRT Dublin then I would suggest heading to this thread- I just think doing it in here will make people annoyed. We had some lad on a rampage last year. A lot of us would not agree with your assertions but we will gladly discuss it in the appropriate forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97127923

I linked to some stuff in there. Initial discussion was back in September when we won our 4th All-Ireland in 33 years.

Here's the first page: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057376771

---

Here's some other similar threads that have popped up over time:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=100108568

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057556408

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057540991
    [This one ^^^ is a doozy]

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057498235
    [As was this^^^]

---

There was a thread on here where this was discussed ad nauseam last year. Not being dismissive, but have a gander in there.

Dont see duffy's point. They can obviously afford to employ said coaches en mass and still have multiples to spend that the rest do.

As for it being discussed before, im sure it was, but then im sure diarmuid connolly has been discussed before too, it doesn't mean the cant be again.
    Fact is the advantages dublin get are massively relevant, so it will be discussed often. What i dont get is how some dublin fans try to spin it like this is just begrudgery

---

Dont see duffy's point. They can obviously afford to employ said coaches en mass and still have multiples to spend that the rest do.

As for it being discussed before, im sure it was, but then im sure diarmuid connolly has been discussed before too, it doesn't mean the cant be again.
    Fact is the advantages dublin get are massively relevant, so it will be discussed often. What i dont get is how some dublin fans try to spin it like this is just begrudgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

We discuss Diarmuid Connolly here, as he is a Dublin player, currently playing for Dublin, in their championship games. Where else should we talk about him....After Hours, The Gentlemens Lounge, the Leitrim thread?

There are numerous threads in the GAA forum, that were specifically created to talk about funding & finance in the GAA. So how about you go peddle your conspiracy theories in one of them? God knows, you have loads to choose from. You can also take inflammatory remarks about "checking on your investments" (blatantly all about $hit stirring & nothing else) with you too.

How about we keep this one for talk about the Dublin games & players. Cheers.

ProudDUB wrote:
    How about we keep this one for talk about the Dublin games & players. Cheers.