Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel closing their embassy in Dublin *Read OP for Mod Warning added 19/12/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭chicks4free

The Irish government is supporting Palestine to get votes.

The Left should have pushed on in recent local, European and general elections - but FFG have robbed their lunch by coming out strongly in support of Palestine. This has up to now been at no cost.

Also, by not muzzling Michael D they were able to look cool with the woke left and pick up some more easy votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Presumably you have sources for that?

Or perhaps the Irish Government is simply calling out war crimes and genocide?

Perhaps it's just handy to find any other reason to support what is going on in Gaza rather than face the inhumanity being perpetrated there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Francis McM

It is you that continually made up things. For example, in post no. 1100 you wrote that in S.Africa " They quickly installed quotas to stop Jews escaping to South Africa when the writing was on the wall in Europe.". I had to point out to you that in the 1930 "they" allowed about a hundred times more Jewish refugees in to S. Africa from Germany than we did. As far as I'm aware, S.Africa let in something like 6500 Jews between 1933 - 1939. We in Ireland only let in approx one per cent of that. And S. Africa fought on the side of the Allies during the war. Our Taoiseach and President gave their condolences to the Germans on the death of Hitler : of course S. Africa did not. I'm not saying S. Africa was perfect, far from it, but I remember a Jewish friend once telling me 90% of the Jews in Africa live in South Africa - so S. Africa is not as anti-Jewish as you may like to make out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Oh I see and somehow you've managed to connect it to my post.

Just to say, your posting tactics sucks. If you wanna run some kind of campaign, do it, but stop being dishonest in answering to others posts. It certainly doesn't help your arguments.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Suckler

You're consistent in your lack of understanding and ability to flit between points, if nothing else.

For example, in post no. 1100 you wrote that in S.Africa " They quickly installed quotas to stop Jews escaping to South Africa when the writing was on the wall in Europe.". I had to point out to you that in the 1930 "they" allowed about a hundred times more Jewish refugees in to S. Africa from Germany than we did. 

You cant seem to comprehend that 'quota'; meant they effectively (and quickly) capped the numbers they would accept, and this was (you might find I mentioned this) systemic antisemitism in South Africa, which you were completely ignorant to before you embarked on your "benevolent South Africa" nonsense.

On your numbers; you're again wildly off - Ireland let in more than 1% of "that" as you put it. 1% is 65 people. We accepted between 400-500 people. But lets face it; you and numbers isn't a strong suit.

And let's be clear on your information; you're not 'pointing anything out'; you're desperately scanning easy articles without the understanding of them; you pull a number yet ignore the critical content. You're not interested in fact's only a childish need to be 'right'.

As for the rest of it, I previously addressed it but instead you quoted another post that you again seem unable to comprehend.

Now; are you ever going to back up your claims or can we now all conclude this charade and agree you were just telling lies again?

Post edited by Suckler on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭1123heavy

Would you say European countries putting quotas on how many Middle Eastern refugees they will accept is "Islamophobic"?

People are fast to label everything as "anti semitism", yet when the shoe is on the other foot, the same standard does not seem to apply. This reminds me of an article I saw today, where a pro Israel Belgian Jewish MP claims he is going to fight against Israelis in Europe being "collateral damage" in the ongoing political isolation. This, from the very makers of "collateral damage is unavoidable" when questioned about children literally burning alive in missile strikes.

Europeans are slowly but surely seeing through the psychological guilt imposed on them as a means of accepting the unacceptable from that country, and it's about time. Turns out massacring people en masse and rounding people up naked in Auschwitz style exercises doesn't endear you to the world. People are sick of the BS and the audacity.

Would you say European countries putting quotas on how many Middle Eastern refugees they will accept is "Islamophobic"?

That's an oversimplification of what my post was about; context is key. Quota's in and of themselves are not necessarily based in any ethnic prejudices.

People are fast to label everything as "anti semitism", yet when the shoe is on the other foot, the same standard does not seem to apply. 

Except the label "Antisemitic" does apply to the South African Union's Quota Act and Aliens Act that were the point of my posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,474 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I don't think anyone can accuse Ireland of being fair minded.

If a gaggle of Loyalists cross the border and murdered over 1000 Irish citizens and then kidnapped hundreds more one wonders how willing to be restrained Irish people would be in those circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,081 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hard to know really, especially if we had been shooting them and stealing their land for 75 years, imprisoning them without trial and generally treating them like s***.

Yeah because the conflict is that simple and was solely instigated by one side on Oct 7th 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Odhinn

This started many years ago. It's not that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

We've been repeatedly told by the pro-zionist crew that failure of neighbouring countries to open their doors wholesale to a fleeing population is nothing more than incontrovertible proof that the fleeing population are just inherently undesirable, and troublemakers, and thus not deserving of help from others.

We have to assume they apply the same logic back to the point in history you are talking about.

If you criticise Ireland for not opening its doors way back then, then presumably you must also be one of these people who will criticise Ireland in the modern day for not taking in enough people fleeing from persecution in the Middle East for example.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Avoiding my point again. My point was; the remarkably consistent and repetitive accusation levelled at the Irish educational system on social media and referenced here by you, purposely cropped a page of an Irish history book to make it look like said educational system wilfully played down or even ignored The Holocaust that took place there. The full page specifically mentioned The Holocaust against the Jews of Europe that sprang from that hateful ideology and went on to detail it within the following chapters. That adds quite a bit to the story and well you know it, or should.

Further BS on the socials mostly aimed at ill informed or ignorant Americans or general anti-Irish feeling included among others the usual "the Irish supported Hitler/DeValera signed the book of condolence for Hitler/The Limerick pogrom". They clearly didn't/There was no book and he visited the German ambassador, a personal friend(mostly to rile up Gray the US ambassador, and to offer the German asylum, as he was no nazi)/The Limerick "pogrom" was defined as a boycott up until quite recently. It was also a piss poor pogrom by the horrific standards of the rest of Europe where murderous pogroms were almost national sports. Nobody died, some Jews fled to Cork and then to the US, but many stayed. Indeed many stayed in Limerick afterwards. Never mind the major pushback from pulpit and politic against the prick of a priest who kicked it off.

It was all purposely designed to illicit the desired response and work the current politics to paint the picture that the Irish and the Irish government are fundamentally anti-Semitic(with a large sideorder of they've always been), because the government dared to break the cardinal rule of criticising the Israeli government over their actions in Gaza. They also criticised Myanmar in the same document, but of that not a peep from the Israeli troll factory, and feck all about all the other European nations and beyond that have laid similar criticism at Israel's current actions.

Why did this in particular rile them up? I mean most of the online trolls were also quick to state Ireland and the Irish don't matter. Much like the jilted lover who claims they're not bothered, clearly enough in Jerusalem were bothered. I suspect some of it is down to Irish peacekeepers in Lebanon for decades, but more about being English speakers with a massive diaspora throughout the world, particularly in the US and they wanted to nip that in the bud before it gained traction.

Oh and I'm long enough on Boards to have quite often seen half dozen posts to their names Israeli trolls rock up and try and pull this anti Semitism stuff against Ireland and the Irish any time there was a hint of criticism of the Israeli government.

Oh and guess what; I support the state of Israel. I consider Hamas et al murderous bastards and it's amazing how few in the Arab world have offered safe haven to Palestinians over the years, and those that did like Jordan often ended up ruing the day. The fence at the Israeli/Egyptian border is higher on the Egyptian side… Arab "support" too often is along the lines of the Palestinians being pawns to screw with the state of Israel, but god forbid in their own countries.

Still, when I see political trolling dressed up in victim garb claiming bullshít I call it as I see it. Regardless of source. Imho of course.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Re letting Jewish refugees enter Ireland, when you read back accounts of the time, it almost completely mirrors views held today of Muslim refugees seeking asylum in Ireland, which many people (particularly in right wing circles) are against - mainly because there was a belief that the Jewish were incapable of assimilating.

I'm not saying that is right, but that is the same discourse we are hearing today. Those who criticize us for not taking in more Jewish refugees after ww2 are also strongly against us taking in Muslims. One can only imagine if those people were alive in the 1940s where their opinions would lie...

Below seems like a very balanced view of Jewish history in Ireland. Naturally we didn't get everything right, just as we don't get everything right today with any immigrant group coming into the country, but all in all we have been a good and fair home for the Jews who have resided here...

https://www.myjewishlearning.com/article/history-of-jews-in-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's a really silly attempt at a comparison. Jaysus.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Woah there horsey. You are the one that has been making up fake statistics and making spurious claims. Credibility in tatters this week.

You have been asked several times to define the "a lot" statement and you run away from it each time. It's extremely disingenuous.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Actually we took in very few refugees post war, from anywhere. A little later on we "let" under a thousand Hungarians and gave them short enough shrift and the majority left for better welcomes. Even later on we effectively had to have our arm twisted by the UN to let in a couple of hundred Vietnamese "Boat People".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Miniegg

I'm sure you are right, which adds to the point - if we didn't let anyone in we can be accused of being heartless or overly pragmatic (given our own poverty at the time), but not anti semetic.

Those with a clear vendetta against Ireland will cherry pick isolated incidences to build a narrative, whilst ignoring all else going on.

That FrancisMccm persons cut and paste posts, of which last describes Jewish boys feeling uncomfortable in a school is sad for them, and I have no doubt it happened (against my better instinct given that posters other "facts")... but I'm sure there is not one immigrant group who has a child who can't claim they have never felt uncomfortable or picked on in an Irish school.

I'm sure plenty of Black/Polish/English/Muslim...whatever... kids have felt this way. It isn't nice for them, but it shows there can be a general level of ignorance here amongst kids, not targeted to Jewish kids.

Irish kids have felt the same way in UK, Australia, USA - but we wouldn't try to use that as proof that those countries are rabidly anti Irish.

But for some reason, that is what posters here are doing. They have the negative image they want to portray, and are trawling the internet for "proof" to affirm it. They post in bad faith and it is extremely transparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Well yes, UNIFIL was connected to your post. You stated Ireland has done nothing but taken some Palestinian kids. I pointed out that Ireland has done a lot more than that.

So, perhaps check out your own posting "tactics"?

Spreading misinformation is not a good look, spreading disinformation is dishonest. And I will continue to correct misinformation and call out disinformation.

If Ireland wants to have any clout at all we should do what Israel has done in the US. It's very doable. Our disapora in the US is multiple that of Israel's.

1. Setup an AIPAC of our own and bribe politicians. Subsequently train those guns on those we have disagreement with like AIPAC.
    2. I see Simon Harris has said we need to seriously beef up our missions in the US. Absolutely.

Two simple steps and suddenly Ireland is important.

No doubt I'll get responses like plastic paddies and all that. F**k that. We need to use what is there which we have never used to it's full potential to advance the interests of our country.

That's what Israel does. We should do the same.

I'd very much agree with this. Outside of business connections, on the hearts and minds front for too long we've relied on little more than pointing to our diaspora, showing up with a bowl of shamrock on Paddy's Day and glad handing presidents who once owned an Irish Setter. We could and should do a lot more.

Just referring to Boards since it's an Irish forum, but I've been here in one guise or another for years, and this specific pattern of hardline unionist/loyalist type or just self loathing Irish person simping for the crown (and a scumbag squaddie one time) defending mass slaughter by the Israeli forces (but they're really anti terrorist 🤷‍♀️) has always been more than blatant. Loyalist paramilitaries have had ties to neo nazis ffs. Yeah that lot all "love" the Jews.

The fakeness is unreal. So transparently "they support this so we'd better pretend to support that." No way could anyone genuinely be ok with all the murdered children.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

So are Oxfam now anti-semetic in claiming that aid deliveries to the Gaza are being blocked, deliberately hampered and targeted by Israel’s military.

https://www.thejournal.ie/oxfam-12-trucks-able-deliver-aid-northern-gaza-6579737-Dec2024/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭ArcadiaJunction

There seems to be some weird denial psychosis in this country that Trump did not win.

That Ireland won't suffer with tariffs, and now being viewed (correctly) as a Hamas terrorism safe house. It really is interesting process to watch a nation collapse into mass mental illness because of Woke/Virtue signalling - which is being dumped everywhere else. I honestly think this country in many ways destroyed itself for future generations in order to get pats on the heads from foreign politicans who are no longer in power.

Israel and the USA will not forget this and regardless of how you feel about the Middle East. Who will feed the 'New Irish' when the economy collapses?

This nation will pay a catostrophic price for knuckle-scrapers wearing Celtic jerseys and waving Hamas flag. All the chips were bet on Kamala Harris winning, Hamas winning and Zelensky winning and especially Woke winning. Gombeen Ireland has well and truly crapped out.

Happy Christmas. It'll be the last happy one we'll have thanks to the 'from the river to the sea' types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,081 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What a load of utter tripe and cowardice. So we should turn a blind eye to mass murder, starvation and pure evil in order to pander to the US and Israel and to allow them to continue on their path of genocide? Evil must be confronted and i'm extremely proud that the leaders of my country have spoken out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,909 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

The only weird denial psychosis is from Israeli apologists. We are on the right side of history. Your post is akin to asking people to be ashamed to protest what the nazis did in World War 2. I wouldn't agree with many things our current government has done, but I am proud of them for not giving into threats and Intimidation and continuing to speak out against war crimes- especially when we know the state you support carried out a campaign of threats and Intimidation against ICC employees for years. I despair for children nowadays if your views reflected the majority of opinion in this country .We would be effectively telling children that wrong doing by the powerful is ok and just to keep quiet about it for fear of economic sanction and punishment. Thankfully most Irish people are not craven cowards, though

I see the Polish PM has stated that Netanyahu will face arrest because of his ICC warrant if he steps foot in Poland, as he was expected to as part of the Auschwitz memorial no less. I suspect the Israeli troll factory might pivot away from their utter scutter aimed at Ireland on the back of this.

If they don't see that as bigger fish to fry, well it'll be interesting…

Wow I think you have subscribed fully to Project Fear. Our economy is not going to collapse because our politicians did and said the right thing. Don't be taken in by the Israel propaganda. The international community know what kind of a lunatic Netanyahu is. History will be very kind to Ireland in this instance.

The rest of my thoughts are in this comment.

Israel closing their embassy in Dublin *Read OP for Mod Warning added 19/12/24* - Page 17 — boards.ie - Now Ye're Talkin'

I think the obsession with this conflict among a minority in Ireland compared to other countries is really unhealthy and it's deeper than just a foreign country doing wrong on to others. Plenty of countries around the world do that.

The leader of the main opposition party in our parliament had for a long time a Palestinian flag at the top of her Twitter account. Not an Irish flag.

That might be a minor thing but I always thought the first priority of elected representatives was to their own country and citizens.

Instead they are damaging the interests of Irish citizens with their posturing and obsession for a conflict that has nothing to do with us that they want to stick their ore in and preach from upon high thinking there'll be no consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Odhinn

"

What need you, being come to sense,
    But fumble in a greasy till
    And add the halfpence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer, until
    You have dried the marrow from the bone;
    For men were born to pray and save:
    Romantic Ireland’s dead and gone,
    It’s with O’Leary in the grave.