Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dispute with mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

The backlog of reports will only get worse if you are handing our multiple sanctions per post, leading to bans and no appeal funtion. It encourages people to block report and purposely get people banned, which will only increase the workload.

I would also imagine it would encourage you to want to permanently ban people who are reported most, rather than looking at who are doing the most reporting.

By santioning posts which are hardly sanctionable and allowing no recourse, you have allowed the people reporting to become defacto mods, making your job harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭scottser

Hey Yvonne, I was part of those conversations you got warned for and for what it's worth, nothing you posted in our exchanges was worthy of reporting, let alone a ban IMO. I'm genuinely surprised the mods issued such a heavy sanction for what is essentially a nothing burger. I'm banned now myself for a week for stating a simple fact, when no doubt for both of us a simple tug on the coat and a reminder probably would have been sufficient to get us back on focus.

Having said that, I appreciate that if two posters are going at it over what is essentially a silly point then it becomes tedious for others to read and if I was short, snotty or dismissive with you, it was me trying to end the conversation without a flounce and a 'good day to you, sir!', and for that I apologise.

Anyway, don't sweat it. See you back here in a week, maybe..

Hey Scottser,

Thanks for that. I agree completely. But if two posters are kind of spoiling a thread over a silly point, and people are reporting them for it, but the mods don't sanction them for days afterwards, they will have amassed enough warnings to warrant a ban. If I have a greviance with someone, i've been shown it's best to let them amass a few "uncivil" posts and then mass report them.

Silly and counterproductive.

I'm gone for 3 weeks now. But I will see you when I get back.

Now, a mod could see that as uncivil and I'm sure lots would agree with them.

But unfortunately, I don't have a report function available to me because of saying something like you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,544 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It’s the same complaint in all these threads. The mods obviously are not reading every thread for obvious reasons. They only look at reported posts. So those that complain the most about posts have the posts looked at where the poster complained about isn’t bothering to report posts that would be considered objectively worse about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

>Another point I made that has fallen of deaf ears is that because I didn't report most of the posts which were as equally against the rules as mine above were…they aren't liable to sanction.

Yea that's BS and weak moderation. Whenever there's a long comment tree that has multiple reported or actionable comments, the entire tree needs to be assessed as one unit. Sometimes only one side is being reported, for reacting to heavy trolling from the other side.

>There are 2 mods on this site who, since the migration, have done more moderating than pretty much all other mods combined

>Ten of Swords has had some real life issues to deal with and over the psst few weeks I have dealt with around 99% of all reports in CA.

That's not a good thing in more ways than one. Aside from the load, it also means you're operating unchecked with no balance to offer a potential second opinion and mindset.

>In the past week or so that is around 400 reports

laughs in Reddit

>many on mobile

Mobile vs desktop shouldn't matter though? 🤔

>Hence if a post gets reported and then reported again it goes to the back of the queue

Once again, bad Vanilla design. Can you not sort the reports by earliest thread start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭ElitesTeam

Why are the mods coming here crying now ffs, get a grip on your little power trips.

Warning: Uncivil

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Astartes

Can we have a dark mode for the love of God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Maybe so, I found a few threads from 05 and 06 talking about it. Either way it was a long time ago so not relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

I find Beasy grand,had a few run ins with him but he responded promptly and explained his actions,have to say sometimes he is a bit curt, but it's probably just modding fatigue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Its the same victim card that's gets thrown around.

Looking at a post doesn't make the post actionable, you do know that right?

So it posters not reporting posts and not the mods taking actions that you have an issue with?

Post edited by uptherebels on

And I'm sure you would be incorrect.

Like I did? I'll take a leap here and say that's an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,237 ✭✭✭con747

Have you tried this? https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058208910/boardsie-enhancement-suite-browser-extension/p4

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭MacDanger

You know the way when someone new in work starts and they say, "Oh, in my last place, we did it like this" - that's maybe interesting and good to know.

But after a while you feel like saying "Would you ever shut up about your last place or else just go back there"

Given that my other place is currently where most of the users who have become disillusioned and tired of this place since the migration have ended up — I'm basically part of the team dealing with the fallout of this place; so any tips and pointers for this site to get it's act together makes my other role much easier.

And don't think I don't see the various passive-aggressive thanking of various posts, lads of the higher-ups. It's just further highlighting how there is very little active participation from ye in the discussions when it comes to legitimate feedback brought up in these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Dude, you’ve made it clear you’re not a fan of the way things are done here and, over on “your site”, you’ve put the blame, squarely, on one admin here.

This, of course, is patently nonsense. Once again, we have the “vocal minority”, who continually run afoul of the mods, complaining about the way the site is run.

As has been stated, multiple times, previously, the mods cannot sanction anyone for posting an opinion that is posted within rules. Whats happening, here, is a “certain cohort” are, once again, bleating about bias, pile ons and targeting, when all that’s really happening is that they can’t keep their angry, spiteful, posts within these rules.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,087 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

How come it's the same few voices, saying the same old things, time after time on these threads? There are so many forums on Boards working away nicely with not a hint of bans, sanctions or complaints about moderation. The rules were changed recently to suit a vocal minority and yet the complaints continue. So either the site is flawed beyond redemption or some people will never be satisfied. If reddit and other sites are so much better why bother with boards?

When one of the rules are as nebulous as one person's interpretation of whether they agree something is uncivil, then it is absolutely possible to be sanctioned for posting an opinion that you consider is within the rules.

You telling someone their opinion is patently nonsense isn't very civil. Either is calling people's opinions spiteful and angry.

But because you regularly stick up for the moderators, and regularly sing their praises, it would be very doubtful that you would run afoul of the same "rule", because the moderator could (or does as per evidenced by your post) interpret it as perfectly fine.

Some might even say your "posting style" is intentional to "encourage" people to "say" something your moderator "could" interpret as "uncivil". But because that "isn't against" the rules, you "are" fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,022 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The Ban referenced above was completely excessive in my view.

I've long had issues with the subjectivity of moderation, and it was almost entirely ignored as when considering outcomes of the recent moderation threads.

But asking a poster to stay out of it here and calling them Mr sjw is doing your argument zero favour's.

Why should it be OK for you or anyone else to comment here but to flat out respond to someone else in this manner?

Thar was a post deserving of a ban in my opinion.

I think it's because the same people like to engage in topics they care deeply about and are contentious but have very different opions which are polarising.

The reason that so many forums run ok is because they don't discuss such contentious topics. I thought that would be obvious.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,563 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I can't help but wonder why the people who dislike this place so much stick around, sometimes even bothering to set up new accounts.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I’m not talking about myself, I’ve seen back a forths where one person gets thread banned while the other poster is still in the thread derailing it and it usually the same few posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

Its patently obvious that the workload is too much for @Beasty . That's no harm, no foul btw, because they should never have put in this position.

The forum desperately needs more mods. At this stage, I think you need to water down what you're looking for in mods and just start asking the other mods left if they're up for it for the next month until the election is done. Failing that, deputise some of the regulars for the month and if they're p*ss poor, take it off them.

I don't get why this isn't happening tbh. It's a sh*t show at the moment. Can't even state the truth in one thread (that Trump is a rapist) without getting banned.

Funny how people of a differing opinion keep getting duped all the time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,563 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Why would anyone want to mod it though? Look at the rhetoric used to deliver feedback for example. Ultimately, you need volunteers who would be sensible about doing the job. When I modded Politics, I'd catch a lot of negative feedback but much of it was fair which was fine and some even contained a grudging recognition about my having been harsh with rules but even handed in their application. I took some of it on board and became a better mod for it. Now, though…

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I made exactly this point to @Beasty this morning, concerning the 24 hour ban I mentioned earlier: I was banned for disagreeing on the thread with a post that was about me.

Of course I now see that I should probably have reported the poster for misgendering me, so that they'd have been sanctioned instead. But then that would have been yet another report, and if mods (or the one mod who's left) are inundated with reports, then it's kind of strange to effectively punish posters for not reporting yet more. Shouldn't we only report the most serious infractions (though maybe misgendering falls into the category of heinous crimes on boards.ie)?

Seems to me that it's all very well to say you're dealing with X number of reports, but if that means sanctioning posters who haven't been uncivil and enabling those who have, it's not going to improve the overall situation.

Second - it seems like a shortage of mods is the real issue. I get that - I moderated another quite fast moving site for some years, and you do get burned out. But the solution is to bring in new mods regularly, enough so that some of them "stick", and I don't see any sign of that happening. Why not?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭The_Macho_Man

Two observations I would like to make from reading moderator BEASTY’s post earlier:

1. The moderator BEASTY is clearly completely burned out and he should allow himself some more downtime from running the site.
    2. Two moderators running the whole site is madness. Absolute madness.

It is in this spirit that I would also like to volunteer my efforts to moderate the Radio forum, like another poster suggested earlier. It is a complete and utter shïtshow in there (this is opposed to Callan’s Kicks which is a shït-show) and I would be delighted to help bring it back to the standards of old.

I have a bit of downtime at work, I have recently been promoted to a position where I have a high salary but low workload so I would be very happy and open to help in this time of complete disarray.

Some things I would say fair enough. Others less so. I had a post deleted from the Palestinian thread when I posted a link to a story of Palestinians celebrating 9/11 when it happened. Which I feel is pertinent to their world view and on topic for the thread.

It only takes a very brief overview of the DRP, Feedback, and Help Desk forums from over the last few months (well, once you sift out all the low-effort spam that is still present) to see that there is a common factor in 90% of cases.

Whether that's because they are doing 90% of all the work; or whether it's because of their particular interactions and warnings being over the top compared to the rest of the moderators mentioned… that's up for debate.

>If reddit and other sites are so much better why bother with boards?

I've been here for ages, as you can tell from the join date. There are still some good communities and useful forums in this place with other long-time users who are still present.

But the sheer amount of strife coming from the likes of CA and AH is negatively affecting the rest of the site.

But DRP's and Feedback are not a representative portion of the site's userbase. I think that that was Emmet's point.