Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election to be called Fri - predict outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭MFPM

Of course the government aren't doing 'nothing' that was an emotional response fuelled by anger and frustration and completely understandable by the woman, its not 'nonsense on self righteous stilts' - no need to be so disparaging to the woman. There are massive issues with services the length and breadth of the country and it is incredibly tough if you're trying to access services and they're either not there or are there but you're child is on a waiting list for months or years depending on the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,658 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

When it comes to kids I'm sure it's tough when your child is diagnosed and you can't access services but we are going from 0 to 100 on this. When I left school 20 years ago nobody was diagnosed and and no school had any sort of facilities or care for people on the spectrum.

It's not that I think the current government are amazing but no party in Ireland would have been able to suddenly pull a nationwide number of disabilities workers out of their arsses for all the schools we have. It's like everything in Ireland from nurses to Guards to buses. We have way more demand than willing or qualified workers and it's not an easy fix.

Although affordable housing would go a long way especially if we had housing Co-ops like Peabody in London who prioritise people who work for the public service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Caquas

Of course she shouldn’t be taken literally- everyone knows the government is not “doing nothing” - but the Taoiseach should have given her the real answer- that the government is pouring unprecedented amounts of money into disability services.

It is absurd that no one - no politician, no journalist, not even the Taoiseach himself - will mention this fundamental fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

They took the therapists out of the schools and created local CDNTs (children's disability network team) but that has proven to be an absolute disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,658 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It was a pretty poor exchange on his part.

Usually I end up on the side of the politician when they are "rude" when someone ambushes them but he was just so bad in his reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Pouring money in doesn't equal results and as I have stated unless you actually need these services your not qualified to criticize those that do. Numbers don't equal the reality of living it, and I can tell you from my experience it's gone backwards in the past 15 years.

If Harris can't handle the tough questions, move over for someone who can. This woman has every right to challenge him, his party has promised results and haven't delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Honestly, they have all blurred into one nearly, woke, left wing nonsense. There is no optionality to properly stoke debate .

Electric buses aren't noisy or smelly...

We will see if he will be leader, the only thing that is enticing me to vote is to vote FF so hopefully MM is Taoiseach and nkt the boyscout. About ten of my mates and five family members, Fg voters generally, certainly up to two elections ago, this election, they are done with Fg, Harris too much of a liability, and if fg have abandoned prudence, rewarding the taxpayers and adopted a welfarers first policy, despite the fact near zero unemployed vote for them.. well, you can't lie forever and not expect consequences...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭JVince

The wastage in NGO's is phenomenal.

Peter mcverry is the tip of the iceberg.

Proper financial oversight of the HUGE number of "disability" organisations combined with merging many of them would see savings of millions.

But it will never happen as a certain cohort in those organisations will protect their very cushy and overpaid jobs at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

He only went back when he realised it was filmed.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,275 ✭✭✭✭zell12

The figure is contained in the section of the manifesto which looks at how much Fine Gael would spend over the next five years.  It shows that the party has not allocated enough money to cover its new spending commitments as well as what is estimated to be needed to maintain the existing level of services. 

The research also found significant – albeit smaller – gaps in Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin’s spending plans. 

Thank you for your service Trinity economics professor Dr Barra Roantree 😃🤣🤣

Bookies obviously have their hands on the latest opinion poll. Boyles have election betting off the site at the moment.

"Recalculating" 😄

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

It is amazing how many anonymous posters have voted for party ….. along with their family and friends but now because ….reasons …. they are done with that party and now they will vote for party ….. because they offer so much more.

Of course, they are genuine. [Or perhaps not.]

Its not because they are offering more , its because fg totally misled them and morphed into a different beast...

I'm having a go at Fg because I thought they were slightly better than the rest a slightly alternative option, but they aren't... I knew the rest were useless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Bookies obviously have their hands on the latest opinion poll.

Surprised it isn't out yet. Would the Sindo not already be on sale in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

it’s never been more over for Fine Gael! Will be laughing watching their tears on results day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

?? Do you think they will not be in govt after the election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

I’ll just be happy to see the live reactions of a few fine gaelers losing their seat regardless of whatever coalition is created

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭REDBULL68

No wonder Leo legged it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

The same review also found a 2.5 billion shortfall in SF and FFs budget planning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,207 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The Education and health budgets have climbed out of control during the lifetime this government. Both are in the care of FG….sorry FF. The therapist fiasco is a HSE/Dept of Education spat. However getting children diagnosed is now an industry. It's allows access to multiple social welfare benefits for many parents. The system is overcome from within as it is designed notbto withhold benefits. If your SW benefit is minimal or non existence you are a less urgent case

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

Sinn Féin up two points, level with Fianna Fáil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭rdser

-4 for FG....and that doesn't reflect the Harris mess since Friday. Not going well for FG really.

Great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

The poll is interesting. It would be highly amusing if FG finishes 2nd/3rd on seat numbers. It would be very nice to see Harris fall flat on his face too.

I think FF will be the largest party, and there could be a bit of a gap between SF or FG. If this happens, it'll be interesting to see FG's approach. Will they negotiate and support MM for Taoiseach for a full term, or will they insist on rotating Taoiseach again? The seat gap will be important here. However, it'll be interesting to see if they play a game and push FF towards SF, particularly if SF gets more seats than FG.

If you study constituency betting which is usually a better barometer than a telephone interview poll like Ireland Thinks, FF will come in with 45-50, FG 41-46 and SF 24-28.

If parties were clever, they'd be copying the US and concentrate in the constituencies where they are scrapping for the last seat.

No use for SF to be in Donegal as they have 2 seats in the bag, but Chris Andrews is borderline in Dublin rathdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Caquas

The €1,290 Million we spend annually on disability services is just a drop in the ocean of HSE spending. What do we get for it? That bike shed is an apt symbol.

Do you mean that I have no right to a critical opinion unless I use disability services? Think about how disastrous that rule would be in a democracy!

As I said, the Taoiseach mishandled the situation but no one is talking about the root issue - we have an epidemic of disability especially among our young people, which would destroy our society if it continues to spread. At least RFK Jr. has highlighted this issue even if his analysis is wrong. No politician or journalist or expert in Ireland will address this epidemic- instead we have the Taoiseach apologising but for what?

Indeed, he could have said that and added for full accuracy that it's still not enough to fix the neglect of said services by successive governments involving his own party over decades and when there were cuts to be made it's often those services that were cut.