I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
So he reckons FG will get 2 seats there…which is probably fair enough given the constituency.
Then he has a horn for some independent who got 3k votes in the locals, who is also a butcher. He reckons he'll get the third seat.
So he reckon the final seat is between Martin and FF's Shay Brennan. The argument he made against Martin specifically was two fold:
I'd be shocked if she loses the seat as I have said all along that it was the one constituency that they were nailed on not to lose.
The coverage of the husbands planning thing (about their kitchen being overlooked) has mostly neglected to mention that he's her husband or that - I assume - its also her kitchen.
It may damage him, in the constituency he doesn't live in; but I don't think it'll damage her much.
I'll absolutely mention it to her brother if he comes canvassing, along with his baffling civil dangerous driving case, and his dangerous local postering, and anything else I can think of about why I just don't like or trust him.
The Irish Times also think an independent will take a seat and it will most likely be the butcher lad.
But they have Fine Gael (1), Green Party (1). Fianna Fáil (1), Independent (1). Their theory seems to be that Madigan retiring will hurt FG a bit.
I'm still thinking FG finish in third place on the day.
Based on the polling figures in this it is quite possible.
FF ahead of FG, who are falling fast.
Independent Ireland's manifesto has just come out with one of the most hilarious pledges yet.
"A Department of Efficiency and reform to target a minimum of €2 billion per year savings in Government departments"
So they want to set up yet another government department to try cut the wasteful spending of government departments 🤣
How could someone sue the government if they fall in the snow on the way to election?
Plus the chances of Ireland having actual snow on the day of election are minimal. We are a week away now and you honestly think with a storm warning anywhere in Ireland will have snow?
Maybe Collins fancies himself as an Irish Elon Musk
Not sure that's as funny as bringing a Luas to every county
One post telling us you don't want to talk about polls, next post you are quoting polls.
Jesus Christ…
Ya. It also helps highlight how full Dr.Evil this country has become.
2 billion isn't even much money these days from a budget point of view. It's like 1 month of the HSE budget and it certainly won't pay for all them LUAS in Leitrim, Longford and wherever else.
Not quite as hilarious as their promise for a Luas in every county.
To be fair to @FrancieBrady he isn't talking about a poll, he is talking about a rumour about a poll. He is a man of his principles so is still refusing to talk about polls, but this rumour about a poll is the most important news of the day.
I lived in Dublin Rathdown till quite recently, and still live very close to it and am involved with 2 sports clubs in the constituency.
Martin hasn't been seen as doing a whole lot locally - she's ignored invites to local events, hasn't engaged with local organisations the way other local TDs have.
I think Shatter might actually damage her a bit, as some of the former FG voters who migrated to Green last time may be inclined to Shatter rather than Martin or returning to FG. He won't do well, but him taking a couple of thousand votes from Martin would do a lot of damage to her changes.
And for your second point - there were two stories on him regarding planning in the last week, on top of him been seen as a bit of a knob to begin with.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/elections-2024/greens-francis-noel-duffy-posed-for-launch-of-new-housing-scheme-he-voted-against/a270284874.html
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/elections-2024/not-overlooking-my-kitchen-green-party-housing-td-objected-to-330-new-homes-on-land-next-door-to-him/a386424897.html
Mick Fleming, the independent candidate, took 33% of the vote in Stepaside-Glencullen in the Locals, and is literally at the opening of every bag in that part of the constituency. It's a constituency with a history of electing indos, with Shane Ross having been the previous Stepaside candidate & TD. Lettie McCarthy will pick up somewhere between 8-12% of the FPV, and she'll transfer strongly to Fleming when eliminated (if he hasn't already reached a quota by then).
Luas for every city like Cork/Limerick/Galway etc would make sense, but every county? they just look stupid
Or maybe like SF they will pull it and fix all the errors
I have always talked about polls here in the right understanding of what a poll is. You haven't quite gotten over being checked when you fooled yourself that a poll is the same as an election, have you?
I said last week when we saw the putative FG vote start to fall that FF could easily out strip them. If this story/rumour is correct then SF might very well too if this were to happen in the GE.
Have SF already pulled their manifesto?
That wouldn't even make sense in real life but it would be a vote winner.
Limerick and Galway are full of fools who are anti bus lane and their solution to public transport is a "LUAS" while happily ignoring that a tram requires a dedicated tram lane on the same road they NIMBY the bus lane on.
I actually couldn't be bothered even checking as Im sure its a total bag of spanners as usual
In a three-legged race, it doesnt matter if the lad on the left or the lad on the right crosses the line first.
They both win the race.
Seems one of the runners has hit the wall blue. Looking forward to next week….all hell will be unleashed. 😁
Will be interesting alright.
My prediction; the govt flag changes from a shade of FFG Green, to a tinge of FFG Red.
I'm expecting a FG onslaught before any gov is formed. Craic is only beginning
Lol! Its going to take them 4 years, to build a less than 4km extension to the luas in Dublin... thats the construction time , could be twenty years in planning here... a luas in every county ? I can see it now, 900 years from now, when 30,000,000 people live on the island...
In the land of the blind the two blind lads holding hands can stumble further than the rest.
trakless trams could be installed a lot quicker and provide a solution for Ireland
The delays in Ireland on all projects are down to planning rejections for everything and anything
I never said to put a Luas in every county, but for the larger cities it would make sense
Even in 900 years I doubt Ireland will have 30 million people living in it
Galway would love a Luas.
They are shiny and modern and frequent. They are not noisy and smelly and unreliable like buses.
Yes, they would love a Luas.
It is a most vanilla election campaign ..media seem reluctant to challenge candidates and won't highlight consistent government failings. Do voters realise they are choosing who governs them until 2030?
Wonder where they got that one..
Things aren’t going too well for FG at the moment. Personally, I found Harris’s performance last Monday very poor, and now this:
https://www.thejournal.ie/simon-harris-general-election-carers-criticism-6551100-Nov2024/