I think it will be FF/FG again with god knows who. Hopefully a left wing party
It will be November 15th
Bookies obviously have their hands on the latest opinion poll. Boyles have election betting off the site at the moment.
"Recalculating" 😄
The figure is contained in the section of the manifesto which looks at how much Fine Gael would spend over the next five years. It shows that the party has not allocated enough money to cover its new spending commitments as well as what is estimated to be needed to maintain the existing level of services. The research also found significant – albeit smaller – gaps in Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin’s spending plans.
The figure is contained in the section of the manifesto which looks at how much Fine Gael would spend over the next five years. It shows that the party has not allocated enough money to cover its new spending commitments as well as what is estimated to be needed to maintain the existing level of services.
The research also found significant – albeit smaller – gaps in Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin’s spending plans.
Thank you for your service Trinity economics professor Dr Barra Roantree 😃🤣🤣
He only went back when he realised it was filmed.
The wastage in NGO's is phenomenal.
Peter mcverry is the tip of the iceberg.
Proper financial oversight of the HUGE number of "disability" organisations combined with merging many of them would see savings of millions.
But it will never happen as a certain cohort in those organisations will protect their very cushy and overpaid jobs at all costs.
We will see if he will be leader, the only thing that is enticing me to vote is to vote FF so hopefully MM is Taoiseach and nkt the boyscout. About ten of my mates and five family members, Fg voters generally, certainly up to two elections ago, this election, they are done with Fg, Harris too much of a liability, and if fg have abandoned prudence, rewarding the taxpayers and adopted a welfarers first policy, despite the fact near zero unemployed vote for them.. well, you can't lie forever and not expect consequences...
Electric buses aren't noisy or smelly...
Honestly, they have all blurred into one nearly, woke, left wing nonsense. There is no optionality to properly stoke debate .
Pouring money in doesn't equal results and as I have stated unless you actually need these services your not qualified to criticize those that do. Numbers don't equal the reality of living it, and I can tell you from my experience it's gone backwards in the past 15 years.
If Harris can't handle the tough questions, move over for someone who can. This woman has every right to challenge him, his party has promised results and haven't delivered.
It was a pretty poor exchange on his part.
Usually I end up on the side of the politician when they are "rude" when someone ambushes them but he was just so bad in his reaction.
They took the therapists out of the schools and created local CDNTs (children's disability network team) but that has proven to be an absolute disaster.
uh-oh
https://www.thejournal.ie/fine-gael-five-billion-euro-black-hole-spending-plan-6551579-Nov2024/
Of course she shouldn’t be taken literally- everyone knows the government is not “doing nothing” - but the Taoiseach should have given her the real answer- that the government is pouring unprecedented amounts of money into disability services.
It is absurd that no one - no politician, no journalist, not even the Taoiseach himself - will mention this fundamental fact.
When it comes to kids I'm sure it's tough when your child is diagnosed and you can't access services but we are going from 0 to 100 on this. When I left school 20 years ago nobody was diagnosed and and no school had any sort of facilities or care for people on the spectrum.
It's not that I think the current government are amazing but no party in Ireland would have been able to suddenly pull a nationwide number of disabilities workers out of their arsses for all the schools we have. It's like everything in Ireland from nurses to Guards to buses. We have way more demand than willing or qualified workers and it's not an easy fix.
Although affordable housing would go a long way especially if we had housing Co-ops like Peabody in London who prioritise people who work for the public service.
Of course the government aren't doing 'nothing' that was an emotional response fuelled by anger and frustration and completely understandable by the woman, its not 'nonsense on self righteous stilts' - no need to be so disparaging to the woman. There are massive issues with services the length and breadth of the country and it is incredibly tough if you're trying to access services and they're either not there or are there but you're child is on a waiting list for months or years depending on the service.
You say therapists have been removed. Do you mean they were in the job and had the funding for the job pulled and the therapist fired or they just didn't/couldn't fill vacant slots ?
When my oldest started in his primary school 10 years ago, we had therapists in the school, it was stretched but they were there. Under FG therapists have actually been removed from special schools.
They government came out last summer announcing a pilot program for reintroducing therapists in specials schools, my son's secondary was one of them. I'll spoil the surprise, not a single therapist has been hired to date. 6 schools that's all they had to follow through on.
So that woman in Kanturk is exactly right and anyone criticizing her hasn't a clue of the reality of been a carer of a disabled or special needs person. Have a bit of respect for her opinion and emotions.
…and the most disturbing part of it is the connection with the harris family and this reality!
Autism services are appalling here, I have 2 kids with it, I've been looking for services for 15 years. So I know exactly what I'm talking about, don't throw out meaningless figures to me "that we are doing everything and making a difference". The services were actually better 11 years ago, at least I could get an assessment then for my oldest lad, I just paid out 2k for my youngest one's last month.
I roll my eyes when a politician says " we can't fix things over night", especially when this particular party has been in power for the last 14 years.
This.
Optics is everything though, facts really come a far second.
Yep, Sindo/Ireland Thinks , clickbait 'taster' for it here
Could be others too…
Is there an opinion poll this weekend?
Yes I Heard that too. Of all the interviewers, I must mention Sarah McInerney on Drivetime. In the main She misses nothing.
Claire Byrne had MLMD spinning, looking for answers in vain. So not everyone has answers at the ready.
Surprising that he didn't have a proper answer and ended up in the wrong.
Her claim that the "Government is doing nothing for disability" is nonsense on self-righteous stilts. Here's an interesting paper by the non-partisan Parliamentary Budget Office which says that this year alone the Government will spend €9,320 Million directly on disability services and another €2,951 Million which is partially attributable to disability. In addition, "forgone revenue from tax credits and relief that can be associated with disability was as much as €722 million".
Admittedly, a disability epidemic is spreading in this country. Tragically, the younger generation is most affected.
Amongst those now in their mid-20s, 6 per cent were reported as having a disability. For those now in their teens, the proportion is 23 per cent. That is a horrifying statistic but no politician dares mention it.
Of course that would have been the right thing to do. But I think yesterday highlighted why SH ought not to be Taoiseach, that coupled with his ‘performance’ last Monday night, where he looked perplexed at times.
it ll leave a sting alright, but it ll be grand come friday
to be fair, the campaign is a draining one, so a miss step is understandable, but….
I think yer one attacking him for doing 'nothing' for care workers probably hit a raw spot - given it is a particular interest of his. He should of got one of his aids to take details with a promise to follow up ASAP.
i think you could be right, i think it was one of the main reasons
I think it was the plight of his brother's condition that drew Simon into politics. I could be wrong though.
poor Taois, having to apologise publicly through the media, and this makes the main story on RTE repeatedly today