Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2024 World Championships

• Registered Users Posts: 18,354 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It will be interesting to see the psychological dynamic now in the next session. Jones should be very relaxed with nothing to lose. Kyren will have a job to keep his concentration.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

At least it wasn't a white wash session, but Wilson could really end this tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭fran38

• Registered Users Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Even if Jones were to win each of the next 2 sessions 5-3, he would still be 13-11 behind, that's how much damage he's done himself already. But he's bite your hand off now for that scoreline going into the final session.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Jimmy White talking about the 1992 final and two brothers arguing about wanting to come on stage if he won and he had to leave his hotel to sort it out, and he felt that distracted him, hope they weren't shady hoors.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Good to see Jones get the last one, looks like it'll be a brief fourth session tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,990 ✭✭✭✭walshb

9 frames this evening?

Yeah, that is what Hendry said. During the interval. Hendry said he saw him on the phone giving out to his mate about the situation he is in.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭fran38

Yeah heard that. Nice to get a bit of behind the scenes stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

Jones hasn’t been able to get stuck into Wilson yet.
    I can’t see Wilson keeping this up even though he has played well all tournament.
    If Jones can win one or two slow, broken up frames this evening, Wilson might start to struggle or get frustrated.

On a separate note, numerous pundits have said how cool and composed Jones it.
    I think he’s the opposite. Any time he misses, his face turns completely red and he looks FURIOUS in his seat.
    I reckon he could explode if the game continues in this vein

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭mrunsure

They have cameras in the dressing rooms and they showed Jones on his phone looking agitated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Jones failing to keep Wilson in his seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Jesus that black was well wide, shouldn't of went in on any table.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Crucible is nowhere near full. Why does it need to move Barry?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

super red

Jones has the game, but just needs the concentration/consistency

He's full of wisdom is John Virgo.

"But as I always say: Where's the cue ball going? If you pot the ball, you get to play the next shot."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Great pot there massive frame .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Jones is his own worst enemy

I knew straight away Jones wasn't going to get that long pot. He's awful at long potting, one of the worst I've ever seen. He should have played a safety shot, stick within your limits.

If the lads on commentary and in the studio were honest, they'd be calling it out. But they probably don't want to admit that a player who is very deficient in a lot of areas, is playing in the World Championship final.

####### hell. BBC focusing on Kyren's family during the interval. Where's the remote?

Must be deflating losing a frame like that ,a two frame swing to tie the session instead of the win that he needed .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Jones really needed to win that Frame.

Wilson hasn't been great this evening but is still 6 ahead.

Proberly needs a four one win in this session.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It looks like this is going to be a short final.

Hendry being somewhat honest. I'd say if he wasn't on camera he'd be really honest.

"Let's be honest, it's not been a vintage World Championship, for whatever reason, whether it's the table, tight pockets, or whatever."

He's not going to run the game down and definitely not on the BBC.

That long red over the pocket shows you just how bad Jones is at long potting. It wobbled in the jaws and barely went in.

Another chance blown by the looks of things .

Calm down John(Virgo).

Or not

This must be the worst standard final in many decades. Can anyone think of any worse?

Postional play all over the shop, lack of composure. Poor shot selection etc. It is club player stuff a lot of the time.

Interesting to watch though, as it is a bit of a novelty to see both pros playing so poorly.